Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 18 Dec 2014, 09:35
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
Manual remaster - GUI, no command line
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 2 Posts_count   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
technosaurus


Joined: 18 May 2008
Posts: 4423

PostPosted: Sat 06 Mar 2010, 17:57    Post_subject:  Manual remaster - GUI, no command line  

I wrote this webpage that explains how to manually remaster an iso using only gui tools - no command line.

Enjoy!

Edit:
Updated to jpeg version using abiword-2.8
manual-remaster-in-gui.tar
Description 
tar

 Download 
Filename  manual-remaster-in-gui.tar 
Filesize  790 KB 
Downloaded  1565 Time(s) 
isomaster-1.3.7-i486.pet
Description  there is a bug in the isomaster in Puppy - use this one.
pet

 Download 
Filename  isomaster-1.3.7-i486.pet 
Filesize  70.59 KB 
Downloaded  1320 Time(s) 

_________________
Web Programming - Pet Packaging 100 & 101

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Aitch


Joined: 04 Apr 2007
Posts: 6825
Location: Chatham, Kent, UK

PostPosted: Sat 06 Mar 2010, 18:01    Post_subject:  

Brilliant

Thanks very much!

Aitch Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
runtt21


Joined: 07 Jun 2008
Posts: 1650
Location: BigD Texas

PostPosted: Sat 06 Mar 2010, 19:15    Post_subject:  

technosaurus , you're the best !!! Laughing

manual-remaster-in-guitar


Rock on DUDE !!!! Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Dingo


Joined: 11 Dec 2007
Posts: 1423
Location: somewhere at the end of rainbow...

PostPosted: Sat 06 Mar 2010, 19:35    Post_subject:  

when is matter to convert all .pet to .tar.gz, instead to to this for any .pet, I think we can use rename

rename .pet .tar.gz *

then extracting with this script

find -type f `*.tar.gz` -exec tar -xzf {} \;

but second script needs verify since is produces some warnings (even it extracts all .tar,gz files)

ISOMaster is bugged in latest Puppy Linux or in all other previous Puppies? (i use 3.01)

_________________
replace .co.cc with .info to get access to stuff I posted in forum
dropbox 2GB free
OpenOffice for Puppy Linux
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
technosaurus


Joined: 18 May 2008
Posts: 4423

PostPosted: Sat 06 Mar 2010, 22:23    Post_subject:  

It has been a while since I have tried 3.01 but this is the first version I have found where I get a working iso, but 4.3.1 for sure.

I didn't add any extra scripts because I was basing it on a default install ... isomaster was just a bugfix that I discovered in the process and recalled a similar issue in a prior version

I should have written the page in abiword-2.8 vs 2.6 (the older version converted all of my jpegs to png)... oh well - no longer have the jpegs

rename .pet .tar.gz *
good point - should add an "if all of your pets are in the same directory..."

_________________
Web Programming - Pet Packaging 100 & 101
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
technosaurus


Joined: 18 May 2008
Posts: 4423

PostPosted: Sat 06 Mar 2010, 22:26    Post_subject:  

runtt21 wrote:
technosaurus , you're the best !!! Laughing

manual-remaster-in-guitar


Rock on DUDE !!!! Very Happy



I think previous versions of puppy used guitar - it is referenced in the pupzip script Smile

_________________
Web Programming - Pet Packaging 100 & 101
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
technosaurus


Joined: 18 May 2008
Posts: 4423

PostPosted: Mon 15 Mar 2010, 19:37    Post_subject:  

Updated with batch rename and converted to using jpeg vs. png (the 2.6 series of abiword did not support saving with jpeg, however 2.8.X does)
_________________
Web Programming - Pet Packaging 100 & 101
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Aitch


Joined: 04 Apr 2007
Posts: 6825
Location: Chatham, Kent, UK

PostPosted: Tue 16 Mar 2010, 09:46    Post_subject:  

technosaurus wrote:
runtt21 wrote:
technosaurus , you're the best !!! Laughing

manual-remaster-in-guitar


Rock on DUDE !!!! Very Happy



I think previous versions of puppy used guitar - it is referenced in the pupzip script Smile


Ha Ha

Wasn't that 'guitar' a tongue in cheek gui.tar as used in your first post? Wink Laughing

Aitch
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Hugh


Joined: 24 Jun 2006
Posts: 136
Location: Imperial Warmongering Dystopia of Amerika

PostPosted: Wed 17 Mar 2010, 19:11    Post_subject:  

Thanks a bunch TechnoSaurus!!

Very well done!

_________________
Shuttle Spacewalker HOT-661/P Main Board:
PII-350MHz: 640MB RAM: First Puppy: 2.00
HDD Filesystem: FAT32/NTFS/ext3; Frugal Always
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
technowomble


Joined: 11 Oct 2007
Posts: 76
Location: West Gloucestershire, UK

PostPosted: Sat 28 Aug 2010, 14:25    Post_subject:  

Technosaurus, this is just what I was looking for to allow me to customise Puppy 5.1.0. One question, is the ISOmaster in 5.1.0 fixed, or should I use your bugfix?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
technosaurus


Joined: 18 May 2008
Posts: 4423

PostPosted: Sat 28 Aug 2010, 17:15    Post_subject:  

I really just posted the tarball of the webpage so that one of the webmasters could post it somewhere in the documentation section.

I don't know about 5.X, I would suggest give it a try and report back.

_________________
Web Programming - Pet Packaging 100 & 101
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
gortonc

Joined: 12 Jan 2010
Posts: 39
Location: Costa Rica

PostPosted: Mon 30 Aug 2010, 20:52    Post_subject: What pet packages?!  

I was very hopeful about being able to use this but I am stumped right off the bat. I admit I am a newbie but I am trying to change that. I am using 5.1003 and installed firefox and several other packages without a problem. However the packages seem to be "digested" on installation and I cannot find them anywhere. (using pfind on all files) This has been a problem as I try to tweak my system and break something (as when I added enigmail to thunderbird) I need to re-download the pet and start over. It would be nice to make a local repository, how can I do this?

Following your instructions:

After you tell us to drag and drop the selected folders into the build directory we are told; "Now you will need to convert your pet packages into directory structures." Where are these pet packages?? I assume that they are the ones used to construct the distro, and that by deleting the ones I don't want (slypheed for example) and including the ones I want (thunderbird) I will be able to remaster a custom puppy? If I am in over my head please recomend a place to start my studies.

Despite a few frustrations I am very impressed with this distro, thanks to all who have contributed!

Chris
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
technosaurus


Joined: 18 May 2008
Posts: 4423

PostPosted: Mon 30 Aug 2010, 21:28    Post_subject: Re: What pet packages?!  

gortonc wrote:
Where are these pet packages??
Chris


If you installed them directly from the web... /tmp
or wherever you saved them

if you just want to do pet packages, use petget to uninstall what you don't want and then do the regular remaster wizard (it will give you a chance to do manual tweaks toward the end)

_________________
Web Programming - Pet Packaging 100 & 101
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
gortonc

Joined: 12 Jan 2010
Posts: 39
Location: Costa Rica

PostPosted: Tue 31 Aug 2010, 00:21    Post_subject: What pet packages?!  

Technosaurus, thanks for responding!

Usually I install with the puppy package manager and while it is downloading I can see the cute box with a puppy head in my /root/desktop/ directory. Quickpet puts the same type of file in /temp, but in both cases when the install finishes these file are gone! I had hoped that when I used ppm to uninstall that I would be able to find the .pets to use later, but this has not been the case. Pets that I download manually, such as your isomaster, go to /root/desktop/ where I can uninstall from ppm and reinstall later if I desire.

I would like to create a puppy without slypheed or abiword for example, but I find no corresponding programs listed to be uninstalled in ppm. If I use pfind to search all files for .pet, I am only returned the ones in desktop.

Any advice is appreciated - Thanks

Chris
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4422
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Tue 31 Aug 2010, 01:19    Post_subject: Re: What pet packages?!  

gortonc wrote:
Technosaurus, thanks for responding!

Usually I install with the puppy package manager and while it is downloading I can see the cute box with a puppy head in my /root/desktop/ directory. Quickpet puts the same type of file in /temp, but in both cases when the install finishes these file are gone! I had hoped that when I used ppm to uninstall that I would be able to find the .pets to use later, but this has not been the case. Pets that I download manually, such as your isomaster, go to /root/desktop/ where I can uninstall from ppm and reinstall later if I desire.

I would like to create a puppy without slypheed or abiword for example, but I find no corresponding programs listed to be uninstalled in ppm. If I use pfind to search all files for .pet, I am only returned the ones in desktop.


Any advice is appreciated - Thanks

Chris


Lucid pet packages to save can be found here:

http://distro.ibiblio.org/pub/linux/distributions/puppylinux/pet-packages-lucid/


Use Pfind (all files) and type abiword or sylpheed and you will see
the file locations.

If you have a full install (as opposed to frugal) any files you trash
are permanently gone.

There are 2 files I borrowed from my Fluppy install that let me do a remaster of the full Lucid install, minus apps. I don't want.
(if you're interested)

_________________

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 Posts_count   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0900s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0072s) ][ GZIP on ]