Page 1 of 2

TI4Linux

Posted: Mon 15 Mar 2010, 20:19
by KF6SNJ
I recently downloaded and tried to compile TI4Linux. So far, nothing. On Puppy I get a complaint about not finding the command "make". On PCLinuxOS, I get complaints about code not compliant for C but for Ada95, yet even with Ada95 support it won't compile. Looking at the Makefile I find this line:
archive: clean

@-delete force RAM:TI4Amiga.lha
lha -r RAM:TI4Amiga :TI4Amiga
Now then if this program is supposed to be a TI emulator for Linux, is it possible it won't compile because the code is calling for an Amiga enviroment?

I am now trying to learn C/C++ so I don't quite understand what I am looking at. Any help would be appreciated.


Note: I won't even try to rewrite this COBOL. Learning C/C++ will be easier as by the time I finished rewriting it, I would have learned C/C++ and fixed the source code anyway.

Posted: Mon 15 Mar 2010, 20:22
by KF6SNJ
There are a total of 21 files. 20 if I don't count the "diskrom.bin" file (which I can't seem to open anyway). I suppose that if asked, I could post the code from each the files and we can try to work through it together and those with more knowledge than I can tell me how the code is supposed to work and why. I hope to learn something from this.

Re: TI4Linux

Posted: Mon 15 Mar 2010, 23:42
by technosaurus
KF6SNJ wrote:I recently downloaded and tried to compile TI4Linux. So far, nothing. On Puppy I get a complaint about not finding the command "make".
you will need to download the devx for your version of puppy and read [url]file:///usr/share/doc/HOWTO-program.htm[/url] for starters... more info in my signature - pet packaging

Re: TI4Linux

Posted: Mon 15 Mar 2010, 23:55
by KF6SNJ
technosaurus wrote:
KF6SNJ wrote:I recently downloaded and tried to compile TI4Linux. So far, nothing. On Puppy I get a complaint about not finding the command "make".
you will need to download the devx for your version of puppy and read [url]file:///usr/share/doc/HOWTO-program.htm[/url] for starters... more info in my signature - pet packaging
Using MacPup 4.0 with DEVX_400.sfs

Posted: Mon 15 Mar 2010, 23:59
by KF6SNJ
Ok. I tried mounting DEVX_400.sfs. Here is the result when I tried "make" this time:
cc -02 -c -o ti99emul.o ti99emul.c
cc:error trying to exec 'cc1': execvp: No such file or directory

Posted: Tue 16 Mar 2010, 02:00
by technosaurus
I am assuming you mean macpup dingo?

you need to use the boot manager to load the sfs - you can't just mount it

Posted: Tue 16 Mar 2010, 05:11
by KF6SNJ
Alright, got the Boot Manager setup to load DEVX_400.sfs, then rebooted. Then went directly to rxvt, went to the appropriate directory and ran "make". Results? Exactly the same as before. Wonder what I'm doing wrong. I don't know. Maybe I am too stuck in the past to understand this..... :cry:

Posted: Wed 17 Mar 2010, 09:30
by technosaurus
Can post a link to the source you are using?

Posted: Wed 17 Mar 2010, 14:49
by KF6SNJ

Posted: Wed 17 Mar 2010, 14:50
by KF6SNJ

Posted: Wed 17 Mar 2010, 14:52
by KF6SNJ
I am tempted to copy the source by hand with a pencil into a notebook and, using a book on C++ programming, see if I can't figure out how the program is supposed to work and see if I can find why it doesn't work (at least for me).

Posted: Wed 17 Mar 2010, 15:47
by ttuuxxx
there's another one here http://www.mrousseau.org/programs/ti99s ... src.tar.gz
you need sdl+Dev to compile it plus I edited rules.mak file first and removed the extra O's.
not sure if it will compile, I don't have sdl installed, but from the looks of output, looks like it would work.
ttuuxxx

homepage
http://www.mrousseau.org/programs/ti99sim/

Posted: Thu 18 Mar 2010, 02:30
by technosaurus
It would have been nice if you had shared the info from the README file


This is the source for a TI-99/4A emulator. By no means should this

set of source files be considered complete. I hope some gifted C-Programmers

will examine them thoroughly and make something beautiful out of it.

Already this code emulates a TI computer almost at its real speed on a

486-DX2-66MHz. Some speed sacrifices will have to be made in order to

emulate any graphics. But I trust the result will be satisfying enough

to make my efforts worth wile.



It is out of my hands now...





Ton Brouwer, February 18th 1994.

e-mail: ersentb@er.ele.tue.nl

or ton2@zld.rws.nl

Posted: Thu 18 Mar 2010, 07:42
by KF6SNJ
@technosaurus, I'm sorry about that. I did not give much thought to the read me as it did not contain any instructions with regards to compiling.

@ttuuxxx, I did not know of that TI emulator. I have now downloaded it. I will attempt to compile it. However, before I do, I will look at the rules.mak file and see if I can figure out what you suggest editting out.

Truthfully, there is a purpose to why I am trying to get this to work and its two-fold. Here it is:

1) My employer has asked me to write two articles for the company news letter. One on sports. The other on nostralgic computing. As it happens, I own a working TI 99/4A home computer. I think it would be a terrific picture if I could have both the 99/4A and the emulator (from my laptop) running side by side.

2) I am seriously thinking of trying to create a new puplet that has a fully emulated TI 99/4A work enviroment. I have not decided yet if I want to cripple it at that or if I want the emulator to run from within an otherwise fully functional modern desktop enviroment.

That is why I have an interest in getting a TI 99/4A up running. Yes, I know, its a bit personal. Still, thank you to both of you for the help and suggestions at this point. It has given me some points to ponder. I will see what I can do after work on Thursday.

Posted: Thu 18 Mar 2010, 10:24
by ttuuxxx
Do you own a commodore 64? I had one as a kid and a TI99/4a but the Ti99/4a on linux look like they all are work in progress, I haven't came across one that works on the other hand I found a commodore emulator that emulates lots of different Commodore machines, I then converted my printer menu in 2.14X to a Commodore selector :) via the games menu
ttuuxxx

Ps a windows TI99/4a emulator with wine might be a better way to go, that would like having a emulated emulator emulator version. lol say that 10 times

Posted: Thu 18 Mar 2010, 11:32
by ttuuxxx
If you wanted to try that Commodore emulator I posted a package on the 2.14X thread located at http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewto ... 169#402169
ttuuxxx

Posted: Thu 18 Mar 2010, 12:43
by KF6SNJ
@ ttuuxxx, I have tried a few different TI 99/4A emulators that were meant for windows. None of them worked with WINE for me. As for the Commodore emulator, I never owned a Commodore. Besides, picture of a working TI 99/4A and a Commodore emulator running from a laptop wouldn't have the same effect. Also, as a member of the TI OLUG, it just wouldn't be right.

I am going to check out what you were saying with regards to that other TI emulator and editting the rules.mak. I have SDL installed in both my tower and laptop, so there might be an option. I'll let you know what I come up with.

Posted: Thu 18 Mar 2010, 13:29
by ttuuxxx
did you try this one with wine ?
http://www.ricks-graphics.co.uk/area99/emulate.htm
ttuuxxx

Posted: Thu 18 Mar 2010, 13:52
by technosaurus
To get it to work - the basic idea is ...

Code: Select all

gcc -I./ -I/usr/include -o TI99 *.c -L/lib -L/usr/lib -lc -lm
(you should probably list out the *.c)

then you will get a bunch of undefined & implicit declaration and multiple definition messages mostly because the #include(s) are not there or they don't match what is expected

these may just require adding the proper includes and tweaking to code to fit with newer structures - updated from the 1994 code.... it may be a lot ... it is doable though... just knock out one error at a time

Posted: Fri 19 Mar 2010, 01:39
by KF6SNJ
ttuuxxx wrote:did you try this one with wine ?
http://www.ricks-graphics.co.uk/area99/emulate.htm
ttuuxxx
The problem is that this requires xmess. I have not been able to get that to compile and I don't know if there is either a .pet or .pup for it. However, I am trying to avoid using emulators to run, well, emulators. However, given that xmess uses fewers system resources than wine, I may look for a precompiled .pet or .pup and give it a go. Still, rather run it directly.