Quirky 010 feedback

Please post any bugs you have found
Message
Author
User avatar
01micko
Posts: 8741
Joined: Sat 11 Oct 2008, 13:39
Location: qld
Contact:

#106 Post by 01micko »

Eureka!

We found the winning post! Got to the pink xmessage which it did not do before and found a connection. Beauty!

Thanks Barry and I'll post the log anyway :)

Code: Select all

STEP1a: ifconfig wlan0 up
STEP1b: iwlist wlan0 scan
          Cell 01 - Address: 00:1D:0F:F8:38:26
                    ESSID:"TP-LINK"
                    Protocol:IEEE 802.11b
                    Mode:Managed
                    Frequency:2.437 GHz (Channel 6)
                    Quality:34/100  Signal level:-74 dBm  Noise level:-96 dBm
                    Encryption key:on
                    Bit Rates:1 Mb/s; 2 Mb/s; 5.5 Mb/s; 11 Mb/s; 6 Mb/s
                              9 Mb/s; 12 Mb/s; 18 Mb/s; 24 Mb/s; 36 Mb/s
                              48 Mb/s; 54 Mb/s
                    Extra:bcn_int=100
                    Extra:atim=0
          Cell 02 - Address: 00:1D:73:55:95:52
                    ESSID:"MyPort Hotspot Southport"
                    Protocol:IEEE 802.11b
                    Mode:Managed
                    Frequency:2.437 GHz (Channel 6)
                    Quality:39/100  Signal level:-71 dBm  Noise level:-96 dBm
                    Encryption key:off
                    Bit Rates:1 Mb/s; 2 Mb/s; 5.5 Mb/s; 11 Mb/s; 6 Mb/s
                              9 Mb/s; 12 Mb/s; 18 Mb/s; 24 Mb/s; 36 Mb/s
                              48 Mb/s; 54 Mb/s
                    Extra:bcn_int=100
                    Extra:atim=0
          Cell 03 - Address: 00:21:91:E1:3B:F2
                    ESSID:"WP"
                    Protocol:IEEE 802.11b
                    Mode:Managed
                    Frequency:2.437 GHz (Channel 6)
                    Quality:20/100  Signal level:-83 dBm  Noise level:-96 dBm
                    Encryption key:on
                    Bit Rates:1 Mb/s; 2 Mb/s; 5.5 Mb/s; 11 Mb/s; 6 Mb/s
                              9 Mb/s; 12 Mb/s; 18 Mb/s; 24 Mb/s; 36 Mb/s
                              48 Mb/s; 54 Mb/s
                    Extra:bcn_int=100
                    Extra:atim=0
                    IE: WPA Version 1
                        Group Cipher : TKIP
                        Pairwise Ciphers (1) : TKIP
                        Authentication Suites (1) : PSK
          Cell 04 - Address: 00:24:B2:7B:70:CE
                    ESSID:"OPTUSA7B70CC"
                    Protocol:IEEE 802.11b
                    Mode:Managed
                    Frequency:2.452 GHz (Channel 9)
                    Quality:31/100  Signal level:-76 dBm  Noise level:-96 dBm
                    Encryption key:on
                    Bit Rates:1 Mb/s; 2 Mb/s; 5.5 Mb/s; 11 Mb/s; 6 Mb/s
                              9 Mb/s; 12 Mb/s; 18 Mb/s; 24 Mb/s; 36 Mb/s
                              48 Mb/s; 54 Mb/s
                    Extra:bcn_int=100
                    Extra:atim=0
                    IE: WPA Version 1
                        Group Cipher : TKIP
                        Pairwise Ciphers (1) : TKIP
                        Authentication Suites (1) : PSK
STEP1c: ifconfig wlan0 down
STEP2: iwconfig wlan0 mode managed
STEP3: iwconfig wlan0 channel 6
STEP4: iwconfig wlan0 essid "TP-LINK"
STEP5: iwconfig wlan0 key restricted 1234567890
STEP5a: ifconfig wlan0 up

ERROR, TIMEOUT. Have not got an Access Point.
Result of 'iwconfig wlan0':
wlan0     IEEE 802.11g  ESSID:off/any  
          Mode:Managed  Frequency:5.26 GHz  Access Point: Not-Associated   
          Bit Rate:54 Mb/s   Tx-Power:10 dBm   Sensitivity=0/3  
          RTS thr:off   Fragment thr:off
          Encryption key:1234-5678-90  Security mode:restricted
          Power Management:off
          Link Quality:0  Signal level:0  Noise level:0
          Rx invalid nwid:0  Rx invalid crypt:0  Rx invalid frag:0
          Tx excessive retries:0  Invalid misc:0   Missed beacon:0


STEP5: iwconfig wlan0 key open 1234567890
STEP5a: ifconfig wlan0 up
STEP6a: dhcpcd  wlan0
dhcpcd: version 5.1.5 starting
dhcpcd: wlan0: broadcasting for a lease
dhcpcd: wlan0: offered 192.168.1.105 from 192.168.1.1
dhcpcd: wlan0: acknowledged 192.168.1.105 from 192.168.1.1
dhcpcd: wlan0: checking for 192.168.1.105
dhcpcd: wlan0: leased 192.168.1.105 for 86400 seconds
dhcpcd: forking to background
Cheers
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access

User avatar
Greatnessguru
Posts: 106
Joined: Mon 09 Jul 2007, 21:07
Location: rural McBain MI USA (near Cadillac MI)
Contact:

Getting _wired_ mobile phone modem probing to work

#107 Post by Greatnessguru »

Barry,

If you wish, I can test SNS if you will post more updates
of it to this topic that address my concerns about
Puppy/Quirky users (me) having to enter gahbledygook
to get _wired_ mobile phone modem probing to work
when "usbserial" first needs to be loaded for them.

One idea, of course:
- present a menu of all USB devices with "Cls=ff(vend.)"
- present a menu of modules to load,
including "usbserial" (perhaps as default)
- modprobe the chosen module to the chosen device
- attempt modem probing
- when modem probing still fails, or there are
multiple "Cls=ff(vend.)"s, repeat above

Suggested Internet search:
modem "Cls=ff(vend.)" usbserial

Thank you,
Eddie Maddox

User avatar
BarryK
Puppy Master
Posts: 9392
Joined: Mon 09 May 2005, 09:23
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Contact:

Re: Getting _wired_ mobile phone modem probing to work

#108 Post by BarryK »

Greatnessguru wrote:Barry,

If you wish, I can test SNS if you will post more updates
of it to this topic that address my concerns about
Puppy/Quirky users (me) having to enter gahbledygook
to get _wired_ mobile phone modem probing to work
when "usbserial" first needs to be loaded for them.

One idea, of course:
- present a menu of all USB devices with "Cls=ff(vend.)"
- present a menu of modules to load,
including "usbserial" (perhaps as default)
- modprobe the chosen module to the chosen device
- attempt modem probing
- when modem probing still fails, or there are
multiple "Cls=ff(vend.)"s, repeat above

Suggested Internet search:
modem "Cls=ff(vend.)" usbserial

Thank you,
Eddie Maddox
SNS is for connecting to a DHCP server via a local area network or router -- by wired or wireless interface. Modems are a different thing -- if you are concerned about dialup 3G modems, or analog modems, then it is PupDial you should be looking at, and rerwin is your man for bug reports.
[url]https://bkhome.org/news/[/url]

User avatar
BarryK
Puppy Master
Posts: 9392
Joined: Mon 09 May 2005, 09:23
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Contact:

#109 Post by BarryK »

01micko wrote:Eureka!

We found the winning post! Got to the pink xmessage which it did not do before and found a connection. Beauty!
Yippeee! It's good to have a win every now and again.
[url]https://bkhome.org/news/[/url]

User avatar
`f00
Posts: 807
Joined: Thu 06 Nov 2008, 19:13
Location: the Western Reserve

#110 Post by `f00 »

___update-100322/24___

previous p5 post

Save should be working now (my bad edit of /etc/rc.d/rc.shutdown, the save2flash-mod save/nosave section was missing the closing semicolons :roll: time is never wasted, but operator may err at times). All going well (the save2flash-mod may have to be adjusted? it works on reboot but save2flash does not work 'on-demand' while in-session..) as far as reboots/saves go now - some anomalies (the difference in using unionfs as opposed to aufs, perhaps) in a few minor details of new material on the savefile and how it's seen. Wasn't sure if it was tied into increasing the savefile size and doing a 'usual' puppy pfix=fsck acpi=force on the reboot prompt. Finally powered off (why I was using acpi=force, to get a full powerdown on my setup).

Startup from cold and .. back to the initial q010 kybd/locale/tz setup (seems like it can't find the quirkysave or I futzed up the liveCD+usb 'install', it was doing just great on reboots .. almost perfect with the possible exception of those minor anomalies). Eventually I'll get it, but I lose patience on initial screens when they reappear and ...

@rjbrewer
yep, Xorg can be a pitb if it doesn't 'get it proper' (one reason I lose patience, altho I get better with mp practice :) )
ps - dancing in the streets for q011 .. or lucky 13, as seems to be the case (;
Last edited by `f00 on Tue 30 Mar 2010, 03:35, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
divisionmd
Posts: 606
Joined: Sat 14 Jul 2007, 20:42

Where do i unpack the kernel source - testing quircky 10 ?

#111 Post by divisionmd »

Hello all,

I should have posted this question directly here - but i psoted at wrong section but anyways:

- I am testing Quircky 10.

- Just downloaded it and need to compile ATI drivers. And for that to work i need to compile drivers against the kernel.

downloaded this: linux-2.6.33.1-source-patched_loglevel_vortex86mx_rtl8192su_usbstorage_unionfs.tar.tar

But where do i unpack it?

- i tested to unpack it to /usr/src/linux-2.6.33.1/ and then also symlinking to /usr/src/linux but that did not help.

Ati log says:

[Message] Kernel Module : Trying to install a precompiled kernel module.
[Message] Kernel Module : Precompiled kernel module version mismatched.
[Error] Kernel Module : Kernel module build environment not found - please consult readme.


Many thanks for help,

Best regards,
Johan

User avatar
BarryK
Puppy Master
Posts: 9392
Joined: Mon 09 May 2005, 09:23
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Contact:

#112 Post by BarryK »

There is not much point in compiling anything for the 2.6.33.1 kernel, as I'll be moving on from it very soon. Probably Quirky 010 is the only build that will use it.

It seems like you might be missing /lib/modules/2.6.33.1/build symlink to /usr/src/linux-2.6.33.1
[url]https://bkhome.org/news/[/url]

User avatar
divisionmd
Posts: 606
Joined: Sat 14 Jul 2007, 20:42

#113 Post by divisionmd »

Hello Barry,

- Thanks for input.

- I just wanted to test out performance with flashplayer + ATI + GPU acceleration with that linux kernel.

Heard from ATI that newer Linux kernels will include fixes for ATI radeon cards that would ultimately give GPU support for flash movies.

HD 1080 movies from simple EEE PC hardware would/should run smoothly if GPU acceleration works of course.

Really hope your next version will include those new features its truly awesome tested it on Windows machines and it works..

And also NVIDIA Ion cards + GPU + flashplayer should also work on newer linux kernels... .

- Tested to symlink that: /lib/modules/2.6.33.1/build symlink to /usr/src/linux-2.6.33.1

and got this:

# cat /usr/share/ati/fglrx-install.log
[Message] Kernel Module : Trying to install a precompiled kernel module.
[Message] Kernel Module : Precompiled kernel module version mismatched.
[Message] Kernel Module : Found kernel module build environment, generating kernel module now.
AMD kernel module generator version 2.1
kernel includes at /lib/modules/2.6.33.1/build/include not found or incomplete
file: /lib/modules/2.6.33.1/build/include/linux/version.h
[Error] Kernel Module : Failed to compile kernel module - please consult readme.


- If its not to far away in the future i will hold out and wait for your next release then.


Thanks for help,

Best regards,
Johan

User avatar
Greatnessguru
Posts: 106
Joined: Mon 09 Jul 2007, 21:07
Location: rural McBain MI USA (near Cadillac MI)
Contact:

Modem probing, Internet Connection Wizard

#114 Post by Greatnessguru »

BarryK:
SNS is for connecting to a DHCP server via a local area network or router -- by wired or wireless interface. Modems are a different thing -- if you are concerned about dialup 3G modems, or analog modems, then it is PupDial you should be looking at, and rerwin is your man for bug reports.
My mistake. I confused SNS with Internet Connection Wizard that comes up the first time one clicks "connect".

I did run a test, Quirky010, pfix=ram:

cat /proc/bus/usb/devices | grep -A5 "D:" | grep -A5 "Cls=ff(vend.)"
modprobe -v usbserial vendor=0x22b8 product=0x2b24
[Motorola VE465 mobile phone, but works for many others, too]
cat /proc/bus/usb/devices | grep -A5 "D:" | grep -A5 "Cls=ff(vend.)"

Clicked: "connect"
Internet Connection Wizard: "no modem found".

Clicked: "... dialup analog or wireless modem ...", the probing worked!!
Scanning your serial ports for a modem.

ttyS0<*1>: ATQ0 V1 E1 -- failed with 2400 baud, next try: 4800 baud
ttyS0<*1>: ATQ0 V1 E1 -- failed with 4800 baud, next try: 9600 baud
ttyS0<*1>: ATQ0 V1 E1 -- failed with 9600 baud, next try: 19200 baud
ttyS0<*1>: ATQ0 V1 E1 -- failed with 19200 baud, next try: 115200 baud
ttyS0<*1>: ATQ0 V1 E1 -- and failed too at 115200, giving up.
ttyS1<*1>: ATQ0 V1 E1 -- failed with 2400 baud, next try: 4800 baud
ttyS1<*1>: ATQ0 V1 E1 -- failed with 4800 baud, next try: 9600 baud
ttyS1<*1>: ATQ0 V1 E1 -- failed with 9600 baud, next try: 19200 baud
ttyS1<*1>: ATQ0 V1 E1 -- failed with 19200 baud, next try: 115200 baud
ttyS1<*1>: ATQ0 V1 E1 -- and failed too at 115200, giving up.
Port Scan<*1>: S2 S3
ttyS4<Info>: No such device or address
Port Scan<*1>: S4 ACM0 ACM1
ttyUSB0<*1>: ATQ0 V1 E1 -- OK
ttyUSB0<*1>: ATQ0 V1 E1 Z -- OK
ttyUSB0<*1>: ATQ0 V1 E1 S0=0 -- OK
ttyUSB0<*1>: ATQ0 V1 E1 S0=0 &C1 -- OK
ttyUSB0<*1>: ATQ0 V1 E1 S0=0 &C1 &D2 -- OK
ttyUSB0<*1>: ATQ0 V1 E1 S0=0 &C1 &D2 +FCLASS=0 -- OK
ttyUSB0<*1>: Modem Identifier: ATI -- Manufacturer: I: Motorola CE, Copyright 2000
ttyUSB0<*1>: Speed 9600: AT -- OK
ttyUSB0<*1>: Max speed is 9600; that should be safe.
ttyUSB0<*1>: ATQ0 V1 E1 S0=0 &C1 &D2 +FCLASS=0 -- OK

Found a modem on /dev/ttyUSB0.
Modem configuration written to /etc/wvdial.conf.

*** WARNING! Line "115200"
in /etc/ppp/options may conflict with wvdial!

ttyUSB0<Info>: Speed 9600; init "ATQ0 V1 E1 S0=0 &C1 &D2 +FCLASS=0"
Welcome to PupDial, written by Barry Kauler for Puppy Linux.

There is a configuration file, /etc/wvdial.conf, that is read by
PupDial, and changes made to any of the above boxes will be saved
to wvdial.conf when you click the 'Exit' or 'Connect' buttons.
Note, you can also manually edit wvdial.conf with a text editor.

Some computers have two modems, perhaps one on the motherboard,
and Puppy may have detected the wrong one. In that case, click the
'probe' button. If it is still wrong, manually edit wvdial.conf.
This means the Internet Connection Wizard probing misses some modems that PupDial probing finds.

Thank you,
Eddie Maddox

User avatar
BarryK
Puppy Master
Posts: 9392
Joined: Mon 09 May 2005, 09:23
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Contact:

#115 Post by BarryK »

Eddie,
Internet Connection Wizard is just a frontend. In your case it passed you on to PupDial, the analog and 3G modem dialup application.
Any questions about that, contact rerwin -- there is a modems section in this forum.
[url]https://bkhome.org/news/[/url]

User avatar
Greatnessguru
Posts: 106
Joined: Mon 09 Jul 2007, 21:07
Location: rural McBain MI USA (near Cadillac MI)
Contact:

Defective modem probing, Internet Connection Wizard

#116 Post by Greatnessguru »

BarryK:
Internet Connection Wizard is just a frontend.
If true, how does that explain the Internet Connection Wizard modem probing _not_ finding all the modems that PupDial modem probing finds?

If you can tell me where to find the log of the Internet Connection Wizard modem probing, I'll take a look and post it here.

Thank you,
Eddie Maddox

tempestuous
Posts: 5464
Joined: Fri 10 Jun 2005, 05:12
Location: Australia

#117 Post by tempestuous »

divisionmd wrote:Heard from ATI that newer Linux kernels will include fixes for ATI radeon cards that would ultimately give GPU support for flash movies.

HD 1080 movies from simple EEE PC hardware would/should run smoothly if GPU acceleration works of course.
It's not quite that easy. Once ATi finalises their (MPEG4) hardware acceleration method, they must make this code available to the opensource community so that video player applications can support it.

Hardware acceleration is available right now in the nVIDIA proprietary Xorg driver. It's called VDPAU. MPlayer supports VDPAU, but must be explicitly configured to do so.

OverDrive
Posts: 178
Joined: Mon 02 Jan 2006, 05:07
Location: Cleveland, OHIO,USA

My first step past 4.31, Can't get to the network

#118 Post by OverDrive »

Using Quirky 10 and the new SNS script from this forum, Using the b43 driver and my 128bit hex WEP key I can't make it to the router with Network Wizard or SNS. Here is the log from SNS:

Code: Select all

STEP1a: ifconfig wlan0 up
STEP1b: iwlist wlan0 scan
          Cell 01 - Address: 00:0C:41:6E:2C:DF
                    Channel:6
                    Frequency:2.437 GHz (Channel 6)
                    Quality=56/70  Signal level=-54 dBm  
                    Encryption key:on
                    ESSID:"overdrive"
                    Bit Rates:1 Mb/s; 2 Mb/s; 5.5 Mb/s; 11 Mb/s; 18 Mb/s
                              24 Mb/s; 36 Mb/s; 54 Mb/s
                    Bit Rates:6 Mb/s; 9 Mb/s; 12 Mb/s; 48 Mb/s
                    Mode:Master
                    Extra:tsf=0000000bc13c1188
                    Extra: Last beacon: 632ms ago
                    IE: Unknown: 00096F7665726472697665
                    IE: Unknown: 010882848B9624B0486C
                    IE: Unknown: 030106
                    IE: Unknown: 2A0100
                    IE: Unknown: 2F0100
                    IE: Unknown: 32048C129860
                    IE: Unknown: DD06001018020004
                    IE: Unknown: DD180050F2020101000003A4000027A4000042435E0062322F00
STEP1c: ifconfig wlan0 down
STEP2: iwconfig wlan0 mode managed
STEP3: iwconfig wlan0 channel 6
STEP4: iwconfig wlan0 essid "overdrive"
STEP5: iwconfig wlan0 key restricted 1234567890
STEP5a: ifconfig wlan0 up

ERROR, TIMEOUT. Have not got an Access Point.
Result of 'iwconfig wlan0':
wlan0     IEEE 802.11bg  ESSID:"overdrive"  
          Mode:Managed  Frequency:2.437 GHz  Access Point: Not-Associated   
          Tx-Power=20 dBm   
          Retry  long limit:7   RTS thr:off   Fragment thr:off
          Encryption key:off
          Power Management:off
          

STEP5: iwconfig wlan0 key open 1234567890
STEP5a: ifconfig wlan0 up

ERROR, TIMEOUT. Have not got an Access Point.
Result of 'iwconfig wlan0':
wlan0     IEEE 802.11bg  ESSID:"overdrive"  
          Mode:Managed  Frequency:2.437 GHz  Access Point: Not-Associated   
          Tx-Power=20 dBm   
          Retry  long limit:7   RTS thr:off   Fragment thr:off
          Encryption key:off
          Power Management:off
I can reboot with 4.12/4.31 and get right in. Any ideas?

OverDrive
Instant Puppy Fan!!!

User avatar
Béèm
Posts: 11763
Joined: Wed 22 Nov 2006, 00:47
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

#119 Post by Béèm »

BarryK wrote:
Jota wrote:
BarryK wrote: Whew, 01micko you had me worried for a minute. As it's only a JWM issue, it should be fixable.

One thing that I don't think anyone has clarified, do you get this black-background problem for both 16-bit and 24-bit color settings (chosen when you run the Xorg Wizard)?
This problem has been in Quirky since 001!! (ttuuxxx and others report several times about it!)

And yes, it only occurs with JWM, and in 24bits - in 16bits it is ok.
(I think ttuuxxx has more info about it)
I have sent an email to Joe Wing, the JWM developer, this morning. I'll send another one telling him that the problem only occurs for 24-bit.
Barry, can I make a side note. I just discovered this.
I use a wine program which in 24-bit displays correctly the icons in there.
I changed to 16-bit to get rid of the black background in quirky.
When I run that wine program now, unbelievable, the icons in the program have a black background. Not transparent anymore.
What could JWM has to do with this in a wine environment?
Last edited by Béèm on Mon 29 Mar 2010, 11:35, edited 1 time in total.
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
[url=http://puppylinux.org/wikka/HomePage]Consult Wikka[/url]
Use peppyy's [url=http://wellminded.com/puppy/pupsearch.html]puppysearch[/url]

User avatar
01micko
Posts: 8741
Joined: Sat 11 Oct 2008, 13:39
Location: qld
Contact:

#120 Post by 01micko »

Overdrive

Yes that's weird... the key seems lost, sns from bottom of page 7?

Cheers
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access

OverDrive
Posts: 178
Joined: Mon 02 Jan 2006, 05:07
Location: Cleveland, OHIO,USA

#121 Post by OverDrive »

Micko, Yes from the bottom of page 7. I copied it over the existing file....

Seeing as it didn't work on both SNS and Network Wizard, I'm thinking this maybe a b43 problem....
Instant Puppy Fan!!!

User avatar
`f00
Posts: 807
Joined: Thu 06 Nov 2008, 19:13
Location: the Western Reserve

#122 Post by `f00 »

Coldboot is still somewhat of an issue for me (using liveCD of q010 with usb savefile, even blanked the liveCD and reburned it as non-multi since I've decided to keep on trying with that method) - a coldboot using the q010 disc almost invariably goes to the initial kybd/locale/tz rather than finding the usb savefile or responding to puppy [option(s)] .. once it kernel panic'd :| (some background, my bios is one of those relics that doesn't support usb-boot, only floppy/disc/hdd - I prefer disc, floppy and grub have always been rather hit-miss for my limited skillset). Not sure at what point and under what circumstances to try using the "killall acpid" command - is it necessary for a 'proper' hardoff or more of a testing of q010's newish protocols? Use any other pup to coldboot, then reboot with q010 disc/stick is as expected (kind of awkward, but it works).

Very minor - I usually reset pupx, Screensavertab, Delay: 1800 (1/2 hr to blank rather than 10 min) .. but it seems to disregard that and blanks at 600? pupx cpl ui looks fine and have tried variations but the 10 min blank doesn't change. Another smallish glitch (and yes, I checked the usual globicon rules in /root dir), rox sometimes doesn't display selected icon(s) for a particular OpenWith sym :| and seems to regard .mht webarchive type as plaintext rather than what it is (pretty sure Warren had that fixed at one time but it may have gotten lost in the mimetypes shuffle and possible specialization - as far as I can tell, only opera and ie display this type properly but perhaps other browsers might by now).

save2flash in-session is another (minor) quandary. Does it require a 'normal' jwm/rox/pinboard/'ticked'-eventmanager to work properly? I seldom use the driveicons anymore and rox' pinboard is pretty much off-as-default for me - trying save2flash only results in the yellow YAFsplash (which stays up 'til forcibly killed) and the /tmp/snapmergerequest markerfile. pup_event_frontend_d doesn't seem to act on it... (not a big deal if it's the save/no-save mod to /etc/rc.d/rc.shutdown that's interfering with it, I'd rather have the choice to save/no-save and simply reboot to save2flash than reset my personal setup to conform with 'normal' roxpin&etc).

Bunches of stuff in the lost+found dirs (interesting but I pretty much leave alone) - what causes the creation of these dirs/files?

Other than that, q010's coming along nicely for me.

___edit-addenda
Thank you for the pointer, Barry - will check further (and yes, my q010 is a bit different - several wms&etc so some few standards of a normal rox/jwm setup have been made 'on-demand' to suit the various natures of whichever wm/environment is in use like e-16 or wmx and so forth).
Last edited by `f00 on Wed 31 Mar 2010, 13:48, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
BarryK
Puppy Master
Posts: 9392
Joined: Mon 09 May 2005, 09:23
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Contact:

#123 Post by BarryK »

I recently did a test install of Quirky 010 to usb flash, and I found that the 'save' icon on the desktop works fine.

So, I don't know why there is a report that it doesn't work.

Oh, one thing, the pup_event_frontend_d script does check if time-critical apps are running. If so, won't do things like saving until they are finished. ...took a quick look at the script, the check is line 748.
[url]https://bkhome.org/news/[/url]

OverDrive
Posts: 178
Joined: Mon 02 Jan 2006, 05:07
Location: Cleveland, OHIO,USA

#124 Post by OverDrive »

Hello, Disregard my SNS post about not being able to log in to my network.

Somehow my key text file that I store in Home lost a character. So I was not copy/pasting the correct key. into SNS. :oops:

It does work fine and the wl driver has faster network throughput than the b43 driver in 4.3.1std.

OverDrive
Instant Puppy Fan!!!

User avatar
`f00
Posts: 807
Joined: Thu 06 Nov 2008, 19:13
Location: the Western Reserve

#125 Post by `f00 »

..not bugs per se

Just some light screenies today (after doing the pixman-0.17.14-q 'fix' - q010 already had a less recent pixman libset).
1st one's an embed Image
afterstep 56k
e16 168k
fluxbox 63k
jwm with xcompmgr 203k
jwm 80k

___addenda-edit-100403___
Not a 'problem' but just to confirm new output of report-video version 100401. xorg.conf file in q010 was directly editable at boot to 'known good' values of previous xorg.conf files (and retained user-edits).

VIDEO REPORT: Quirky, version 010

Chip description:
01:09.1 Display controller: ATI Technologies Inc RV280 [Radeon 9200 SE] (Secondary) (rev 01)
02:00.1 Display controller: ATI Technologies Inc RV280 [Radeon 9200] (Secondary) (rev 01)

Driver used by Xorg:
ati

Video mode used by Xorg:
Resolution: 1024x768 Depth: 24

.. once again, appreciate the efforts :)

Post Reply