Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 24 Oct 2014, 16:38
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Lucid Puppy 5.0.1 - 24 May 2010
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 85 of 87 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 83, 84, 85, 86, 87 Next
Author Message
8-bit


Joined: 03 Apr 2007
Posts: 3382
Location: Oregon

PostPosted: Wed 23 Jun 2010, 18:37    Post_subject:  

Playdayz,
I had downloaded lucid puppy 501, ran a md5sum check on it and created a frugal install.
I booted with pfix=ram and set up networking.
When I selected the nvidia driver from QuickPet, the download failed twice almost like that file had been removed.
I then tried the Nvidia pet I had previously that WORKED with puppy 500 and it failed as well s getting a poor english as to an error statement that some file was in the wrong place that had nothing to do with the files in the nvidia pet.
Needless to say, I was disappointed.
I then tried the 203 version I had downloaded as I did not know of a 204 version.
First, I really liked the popup of simple network wizard for network connection.
Second, I would like to see an option in QuickPet to be able to have the option to save the dowwnloaded pet files that are to be installed rather than the automatic deletion of the downloaded pet after the install.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jackieflorida


Joined: 28 May 2008
Posts: 122
Location: MIAMI

PostPosted: Thu 24 Jun 2010, 06:52    Post_subject:  

Hi playdayz,

I did not try the native PDF printer until after installing Foxit via Quickpet. From other posts about the problem I gather that it exists with or without Foxit.

I first noticed the problem when I tried to print a PDF copy of an online receipt from a web page in the Seamonkey browser. I have not tried to print from Foxit or Abiword. As mentioned previously, I have already deleted the non-working native PDF printer so I can't test it on other apps.

The www.box.net online file storage/sharing is free for a gigabyte or so and filesize somewhat restricted to maybe 100mb, as I can recall from memory. So for smaller files it is a very easy site to use.

Regarding Quickpet: I have not yet found a way to remove an app after installing it with Quickpet. I would presume that there is a command line that would do this.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
smokey01


Joined: 30 Dec 2006
Posts: 1829
Location: South Australia

PostPosted: Thu 24 Jun 2010, 07:09    Post_subject:  

You should be able to remove the application in Puppy Package Manager.
_________________
Puppy Software <-> Distros <-> Puppy Linux Tips
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
jackieflorida


Joined: 28 May 2008
Posts: 122
Location: MIAMI

PostPosted: Thu 24 Jun 2010, 07:31    Post_subject:  

Thanks smokey01.
I had actually looked there a few days ago and for some reason did not see the Quickpet apps among the Pet apps, but since reading your post I went back, took another look, and found them.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
playdayz


Joined: 25 Apr 2008
Posts: 3788

PostPosted: Thu 24 Jun 2010, 18:31    Post_subject:  

Quote:
Second, I would like to see an option in QuickPet to be able to have the option to save the dowwnloaded pet files that are to be installed rather than the automatic deletion of the downloaded pet after the install.


01micko agrees with that.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Thu 01 Jul 2010, 16:31    Post_subject: desktop drive icons show 0GB space
Sub_title: lucid 207
 

Happy to report that desktop drive icons show 0GB space is solved. Thank you playdayz to have incorporated the fix.
_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
paule

Joined: 15 Jul 2007
Posts: 56

PostPosted: Fri 02 Jul 2010, 02:28    Post_subject: Screen refresh / browser scrolling problem?  

Is any progress being made on the Screen refresh/bowser scrolling problem? I have been playing with Lucid 5.0.1 on a Panasonic CF-28 which runs all the other puppy versions I have tired just fine. Unfortunately when using Firefox with 5.0.1 the blurred line problem occurs. I have tried searching all the back messages but can't see anywhere that this problem has been resolved.

cheers, Paul
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Fri 02 Jul 2010, 06:52    Post_subject:  

This is only my wild guess.

On my gear it seems related to if one have the correct driver or not.

It cleared up when I managed to get NVidia driver going. But it was not easy and I ahve no way of retelling how one does it.

I failed several times after the single success so hope others also give their suggestions.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5866
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Fri 02 Jul 2010, 18:18    Post_subject: Re: Screen refresh / browser scrolling problem?  

paule wrote:
Is any progress being made on the Screen refresh/bowser scrolling problem? I have been playing with Lucid 5.0.1 on a Panasonic CF-28 which runs all the other puppy versions I have tired just fine. Unfortunately when using Firefox with 5.0.1 the blurred line problem occurs. I have tried searching all the back messages but can't see anywhere that this problem has been resolved.

cheers, Paul


I've been running the same frugal install of 5.0.1 since the day it was released with no graphics or browser problems.I'm using Firefox,Opera and Arora browsers...no problems.

There have been some graphics driver issues on some equipment so I agree with Nooby.Some equipment works perfectly with Lucid Puppy and some doesn't........hopefully most of the problems will be taken care of in the next release.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
enhu


Joined: 26 May 2009
Posts: 301

PostPosted: Sat 03 Jul 2010, 19:09    Post_subject:  

did anyone ever created a transmission pet for lucid?
please provide me a download link Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
stu90


Joined: 25 Feb 2010
Posts: 1401
Location: England. Dell Inspiron 1501. Dpup

PostPosted: Sat 03 Jul 2010, 20:45    Post_subject:  

enhu wrote:
did anyone ever created a transmission pet for lucid?
please provide me a download link Very Happy


Michalis has Transmission 2.01 pet

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=38969
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
enhu


Joined: 26 May 2009
Posts: 301

PostPosted: Sun 04 Jul 2010, 01:54    Post_subject:  

stu90 wrote:
enhu wrote:
did anyone ever created a transmission pet for lucid?
please provide me a download link Very Happy


Michalis has Transmission 2.01 pet

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=38969


thanks, hope this works on lucid Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
tubeguy


Joined: 28 Aug 2009
Posts: 1326
Location: Park Ridge IL USA

PostPosted: Sun 04 Jul 2010, 08:40    Post_subject:  

enhu wrote:
thanks, hope this works on lucid Very Happy

Works in luci-207, should work in lucid. Thanks for asking about this. I've been using an old version and this is great to have. Cool
transmission201.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   57.36 KB
 Viewed   1988 Time(s)

transmission201.jpg


_________________
Toshiba M115-S1061: PupServer |HP/Compaq D330ST: Dpup 486
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
FloppyDisk1.44


Joined: 30 Mar 2010
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Tue 06 Jul 2010, 01:27    Post_subject:  

Will we be seeing Opera 10.60 through QuickPet or should I start figuring out how to install Opera by "normal" means?
_________________
Lucid Puppy 500 running on:
Dell OptiPlex GX110
Pentium III 733MHz
2X256MB PC100 SDRAM
2X40GB (37.2GB Actual Size) Hard Drive
Originally Ran Win98SE


Puppy User Since Puppy 421
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
stu90


Joined: 25 Feb 2010
Posts: 1401
Location: England. Dell Inspiron 1501. Dpup

PostPosted: Tue 06 Jul 2010, 06:56    Post_subject:  

FloppyDisk1.44 wrote:
Will we be seeing Opera 10.60 through QuickPet or should I start figuring out how to install Opera by "normal" means?


There is Opera 10.60 .pet on this link:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=39444
I'm using the portable version works on lucid 5.0 and the lucid 20x betas.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 85 of 87 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 83, 84, 85, 86, 87 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0972s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0190s) ][ GZIP on ]