Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 23 Oct 2014, 06:27
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Multimedia
FFConvert - multimedia converter
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 15 of 16 [228 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 13, 14, 15, 16 Next
Author Message
SFR


Joined: 26 Oct 2011
Posts: 1078

PostPosted: Mon 19 May 2014, 07:14    Post subject: Re: ffconvert start
Subject description: start button
 

wrayc wrote:
Sorry, new here

having ffconvert screen capture "start record" button missing

I see the fix is: PG="+$(($RW - $PW))+$(($RH - $PH))"

which file do we need to edit for this fix?

thanks in advance

It's /usr/bin/ffconvert, about line 1409.

Greetings!

_________________
[O]bdurate [R]ules [D]estroy [E]nthusiastic [R]ebels => [C]reative [H]umans [A]lways [O]pen [S]ource
Omnia mea mecum porto.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
wrayc

Joined: 19 Feb 2014
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Mon 19 May 2014, 11:59    Post subject: re:ffconvert video capture  

Thanks so much
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
slavvo67

Joined: 12 Oct 2012
Posts: 441
Location: The other Mr. 305

PostPosted: Sun 01 Jun 2014, 01:25    Post subject: M4V to MP4  

Does anyone know how to convert M4V to MP4. Which preset(s) work? I'm getting the error below with the latest FFConvert:


[buffer @ 0x807f8e0] Invalid pixel format string '-1'
Error opening filters!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2631
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Mon 23 Jun 2014, 00:48    Post subject: UPDATE: ffconvert-1.4.2  

UPDATE: ffconvert-1.4.2.pet (2014-06-23)
http://shino.pos.to/linux/puppy/ or
http://shino.pos.to/party/bridge.cgi?puppy/opt/

#v1.4.2 - 19 June 2014: cleanup for multiusers(mcewanw)
# (SFR)fix was missing capture button, filename with special charactors, add framerate and sampling rate, fix typo

_________________
Google Chrome portable
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
davids45


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 652
Location: Chatswood, NSW

PostPosted: Thu 26 Jun 2014, 03:55    Post subject: flipping upside down video?
Subject description: when phone/pad held sideways or upside-down
 

G'day shinobar,

I believe, after a quick google, that ffmpeg can rotate video recorded from a phone/pad upside-down or at 90 degrees to normal.

Can ffconvert do this rotation as one of its conversion options or pre-sets? I want to view these on my desktop and the monitor is too heavy to hold upside down for too long Embarassed .

Thanks,

David S.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2631
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Thu 26 Jun 2014, 04:04    Post subject: Re: flipping upside down video?
Subject description: when phone/pad held sideways or upside-down
 

davids45 wrote:
Can ffconvert do this rotation as one of its conversion options or pre-sets?

No preset.
I am not sure but try the advanced option. You can type additional options there.

_________________
Google Chrome portable
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
davids45


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 652
Location: Chatswood, NSW

PostPosted: Fri 27 Jun 2014, 00:51    Post subject: -vf transpose= filter for rotating
Subject description: but poor image quality
 

G'day shinobar,

Thank you for the guidance in trying ffconvert-1.4 for rotating a video (taken on a smart-phone held the wrong way).

I added to the 'Advanced options' box, "-vf transpose=1" to rotate a short holiday .3gp video by 90 degrees. The converted video format I chose was mpeg4.

The new video was rotated correctly but the image quality was very pixelated. The original .3gp file was 60MB, the converted mpeg file just 8MB Shocked .

I tried adding the '-crf' parameter but this did not improve the image whatever value I used after the "-crf" ( tried 15 to 36 ).

Can you or anyone else suggest how to keep the image quality using the "transpose=" parameter with ffconvert?

With VLC, I can rotate as needed each video to watch it, but the file itself is still wrongly aligned.

Avidemux works very well (using the "Rotate" option in its "Filters" and its MP4 video option - new file is 50MB with good image quality and the right-way-up), so I can fix all my mis-aligned videos but would like to know more about ffconvert and how to use it also.

Thank you,
David S.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2631
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Fri 27 Jun 2014, 04:04    Post subject: Re: -vf transpose= filter for rotating
Subject description: but poor image quality
 

davids45 wrote:
The new video was rotated correctly but the image quality was very pixelated. The original .3gp file was 60MB, the converted mpeg file just 8MB Shocked

How about increasing Video Bitrate?
Also choose X254 preset if you are going to make MPEG4-AVC.

What is your Puppy version?

_________________
Google Chrome portable
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
davids45


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 652
Location: Chatswood, NSW

PostPosted: Fri 27 Jun 2014, 23:33    Post subject: Rotating Phone/tablet videos [SOLVED]
Subject description: Taken if the phone was not held "normally"
 

G'day shinobar,

Thank you for advising me to look at the Bit-rate of the ffconvert created file when rotating my upside-down and sideways holidays videos from my 'smart'-phone.

Poor quality transposed video from ffconvert was caused by my Bit-rate being set to 1000 - the original phone video was 9000 [which was being displayed in front of me by ffconvert during the conversion Embarassed ] .

Setting the ffconvert Bit-rate to 3000 gives me very good .mp4 videos from my 9000-bit-rate .3gp originals.

For any other "old dogs" challenged by cameras & devices without viewfinders Evil or Very Mad , so that videos can end up in any orientation on your monitor, the text to add into the 'Adv. options' box of ffconvert's 'Detail' tab for adjusting the original is:

-vf transpose=0 (rotate anti-clockwise 90 degrees and flip vertically; I think the leading '-vf' means a 'video filter' is being called)
-vf transpose=1 (rotate clockwise 90 degrees)
-vf transpose=2 (rotate anti-clockwise 90 degrees)
-vf transpose=3 (rotate clockwise 90 degrees and flip vertically)

-vf vflip,hflip (rotate 180 degrees - camera was upside down)

Working for me in slacko and tahr Pups so I'd expect this is good for any Pup running ffconvert-1.4.

For my .3gp video files, video codec=libx264, audio codec=libfaac, bit-rate=3000, to produce .mp4 files is a working combination among others.

Thanks again shinobar for your help and excellent multimedia package,

David S.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
charlie6


Joined: 30 Jun 2008
Posts: 1015
Location: South of Belgium

PostPosted: Mon 04 Aug 2014, 03:10    Post subject: [SOLVED] FFconvert-1.4.2 screen size field empty  

Hi shinobar,
thanks for this awesome app !
running FFconvert-1.4.2 on wheezy-3.5.2.11:
after having succesfully converted a video to .avi format, and wanting to perform a new conversion, i noticed that the guis screen size field kept being empty: no longer possible to select «same as source» or whatever resolution; definitely empty; even after un-and re-installing FFconvert.

fix:
Exiting FFconvert,
and afterwards deleting /root/.config/ffconvert/ffconvert.rc,
and re-starting FFconvert fixed the trick !

Greetings
Charlie
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeslr


Joined: 16 Jun 2008
Posts: 791
Location: Union New Jersey USA

PostPosted: Sun 17 Aug 2014, 14:26    Post subject: Can FFConvert be modified to also use avconv?  

Hi Shinobar:

With Ubuntu (and I think debian) now building using the avconv fork from ffmpeg, some newer Pups --those based on Ubuntu (and perhaps debian) binaries may lack ffmpeg but include avconv. See my post here: http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=795377#795377 and the links it gives. Although using winff as I suggested there is one possibility, it would be preferable to have a "home-grown" pet usable in most Puppies, regardless of their derivation. I couldn't find any way to configure ffmpeg so that it would alternatively use ffmpeg or avconv.

Thanks in advance,

mikesLr
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
technosaurus


Joined: 18 May 2008
Posts: 4353

PostPosted: Sun 17 Aug 2014, 17:47    Post subject:  

ffconvert doesn't do anything "special" besides wrapping calls to binaries. So long as the 2 different forks still use the same arguments, all you need is a symlink or hard link to the other.
_________________
Web Programming - Pet Packaging 100 & 101
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2631
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Sun 17 Aug 2014, 17:51    Post subject: Re: Can FFConvert be modified to also use avconv?  

ffconvert v1.3 and later supports avconv(libav).

# v1.3 - 17 Jun 2012: support avconv, fix unsupported codec error message, gtkdialog to avoid yaf-splash incompatibility, vcd for the default

_________________
Google Chrome portable
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
panoss

Joined: 31 Oct 2011
Posts: 132

PostPosted: Wed 24 Sep 2014, 06:05    Post subject:  

Can I use FFConvert on puppy to convert mp4 to 3gp?
I don't see such a choice in FFConvert.

I tried and directly with ffmpeg:
ffmpeg -i input.mp4 output.3gp
and returned me an error:
"Error while opening encoder for output stream #0.0 - maybe incorrect parameters such as bit_rate, rate, width or height".
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
panoss

Joined: 31 Oct 2011
Posts: 132

PostPosted: Wed 24 Sep 2014, 07:31    Post subject:  

I did what was suggested here:
/usr/bin/ffconvert:
Code:
source_property "$FILE1" $SKIP || FLAG=$?
Now I get another error (from avconv, I guess FFConvert uses avconv):
"Could not write header for output file #0 (incorrect codec parameters ?)"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 15 of 16 [228 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 13, 14, 15, 16 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Multimedia
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0857s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0080s) ][ GZIP on ]