Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 31 Aug 2014, 06:48
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Taking the Puppy out for a walk » Announcements
Official 4.3.2
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 9 of 31 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, ..., 29, 30, 31 Next
Author Message
tasmod


Joined: 04 Dec 2008
Posts: 1461
Location: North Lincolnshire. UK

PostPosted: Mon 05 Apr 2010, 07:17    Post_subject:  

ttuuxxx,
I've changed initrd.gz on page 5 for a version3 one.

_________________
Rob
-
The moment after you press "Post" is the moment you actually see the typso Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10747
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Mon 05 Apr 2010, 07:26    Post_subject:  

tasmod wrote:
ttuuxxx,
I've changed initrd.gz on page 5 for a version3 one.
Thanks Rob, I'll use it tomorrow, pretty tired tonight.
ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
jpeps

Joined: 31 May 2008
Posts: 3220

PostPosted: Mon 05 Apr 2010, 15:11    Post_subject:  

..can't install a samba networked cups printer. Loading the cups fix didn't help. I haven't seen this problem with other derivatives for the same setup.

Code:

Error:

    server-error-internal-error
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
8-bit


Joined: 03 Apr 2007
Posts: 3364
Location: Oregon

PostPosted: Mon 05 Apr 2010, 15:26    Post_subject:  

Tuxx,
I just got through downloading and installing Pizzasgood's edit_sfs-2.1.pet and installing it on another puppy version of 421 SCSI.
I then used it to make the minor modification to the pup432.sfs file in the /etc/DISTRO_SPECS file.
I then copied the completed file back to my frugal install replacing the original SFS file.
It worked really good.
Now I do not have the message of updating Puppy when I boot.

I never knew of Pizzasgood's file and it looks like it can come in handy to modify a SFS file.
So until your next update release, I am set.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
abushcrafter


Joined: 30 Oct 2009
Posts: 1447
Location: England

PostPosted: Mon 05 Apr 2010, 17:40    Post_subject:  

I forgot the gphoto pet Embarassed:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?search_id=200187322&t=37453
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10747
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Mon 05 Apr 2010, 20:59    Post_subject: Re: kmap-1.14.1 keymaps  

ecube wrote:


Suggestion

Use the woof versions of Keyboard Wizard and rc.country. <-- when you Say Keyboard Wizard, do you mean /usr/local/apps/XkbConfigurationManager folder, please be complete in your directions, I put a lot of effort in this release and can't afford large mishaps

ecube

ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10747
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Mon 05 Apr 2010, 22:57    Post_subject:  

V3 is out page one
**Note**
V2 was the last "Inclusion Version" Meaning no more apps/deps/libs etc will be add, Its in lock-down mode. I'll consider if the keyboard app swap only if its straight forward. Now we are in the testing phase, Basically only bugs and bug fixes related to the updates please, I did want this to be a quick bugfix update and well its not so quick, lol
Something like 47 program updates so far.
I'll build a devx after we are done. Thanks
ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5722
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Tue 06 Apr 2010, 00:06    Post_subject:  

Downloaded v3 and a fresh full install.....on to some testing. Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jpeps

Joined: 31 May 2008
Posts: 3220

PostPosted: Tue 06 Apr 2010, 01:17    Post_subject:  

Samba cups printer now installing with V3. Smile Test printing with Geany (which defaults to Deja Vu Sans 12...Book,) gives warning message followed by another box which I couldn't close out of without killing Geany. My test message was only one word, "testing".

Code:

 Warning
The editor font is not a monospaced font!
Text will be wrongly spaced.


Changing the font (I changed to Currier) solved it.

BTW, Nice work!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10747
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Tue 06 Apr 2010, 01:27    Post_subject:  

jpeps wrote:
Samba cups printer now installing with V3. Smile Test printing with Geany (which defaults to Deja Vu Sans 12...Book,) gives warning message followed by another box which I couldn't close out of without killing Geany. My test message was only one word, "testing".

Code:

 Warning
The editor font is not a monospaced font!
Text will be wrongly spaced.


Changing the font (I changed to Currier) solved it.

BTW, Nice work!

aaa thats because I changed the default settings in Geany, before it didn't display line numbers or have the search box in a handy location, so I just reused my settings from 2.14X because that has the latest geany, but I didn't figure into the mix the font differences, 2.14X has a wider selection of newer/older fonts.
ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
jpeps

Joined: 31 May 2008
Posts: 3220

PostPosted: Tue 06 Apr 2010, 02:07    Post_subject:  

I'm using MSTT fonts, which work nicely for everything.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
DaveS


Joined: 09 Oct 2008
Posts: 3726
Location: UK

PostPosted: Tue 06 Apr 2010, 03:14    Post_subject:  

This is really nice ttuuxxx (V3). No bugs so far. The SM Throbber cracks me up, brilliant! Its the LITTLE things, right?
_________________
Spup Frugal HD and USB
Root forever!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Tue 06 Apr 2010, 03:18    Post_subject:  

v3
Nice. Smile

Setup went OK (puppy pfix=ram) apart from sound
which is normally auto-recognised - had to use the wizard to set it

A small point that applies to all Puppys in the menu . . .
Maybe Jwm configuration should come above
Jwm theme maker
(you are likely to want to configure before making your own theme)

Most of the radio and TV channel streams seem to be working
and gxine seemed more stable

The big test for me will be Seamonkey2
- so far it looks OK - need a day or so of using . . .

Well done Cool

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
jpeps

Joined: 31 May 2008
Posts: 3220

PostPosted: Tue 06 Apr 2010, 03:35    Post_subject:  

I replaced absvolume with Retrovol for essentials like the mic boost (skype).
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
tlchost

Joined: 05 Aug 2007
Posts: 1680
Location: Baltimore, Maryland USA

PostPosted: Tue 06 Apr 2010, 04:34    Post_subject: xvesa error  

Fresh V3 bootable USB Install

Still unable to select screen resolution in xvesa. xorg does not work with my desktop(Dell) or laptops(acer5100).

Thom
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 9 of 31 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, ..., 29, 30, 31 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Taking the Puppy out for a walk » Announcements
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0820s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0088s) ][ GZIP on ]