Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 01 Aug 2014, 05:53
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Taking the Puppy out for a walk » Announcements
Official 4.3.2
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 4 of 31 [459 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, ..., 29, 30, 31 Next
Author Message
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10747
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Thu 01 Apr 2010, 23:17    Post subject:  

FlyingRedGoat wrote:
I discovered that V1 wouldn't power off when I tried to shut down. (I had been rebooting before that). V2 has the same problem. Puppy shuts down, but just doesn't kill the power. When I saw it, I remembered that that was the reason I didn't go with 4.31 in the first place. ( Embarassed Sorry, I'm a bit absent minded sometimes).

When I tried to install V2, the universal installer was unable to see the files on the CD. I tried mounting the CD drive before installing, but that had no effect this time. This was not an issue with V1.

K

cool the reason why I started to move the name from 4.3.1 to 4.3.2, I knew there were a few apps that need to updated, any others, I changed the version number in the etc/version and in initrd.gz
ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10747
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Fri 02 Apr 2010, 00:24    Post subject:  

FlyingRedGoat wrote:
I discovered that V1 wouldn't power off when I tried to shut down. (I had been rebooting before that). V2 has the same problem. Puppy shuts down, but just doesn't kill the power. When I saw it, I remembered that that was the reason I didn't go with 4.31 in the first place. ( Embarassed Sorry, I'm a bit absent minded sometimes).

When I tried to install V2, the universal installer was unable to see the files on the CD. I tried mounting the CD drive before installing, but that had no effect this time. This was not an issue with V1.

K


here's a fix for the installer Smile
a lot less areas need to be changed for version numbering compared to 2 series.
ttuuxxx
puppy-installer-fix.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  puppy-installer-fix.pet 
Filesize  570 Bytes 
Downloaded  279 Time(s) 

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
8-bit


Joined: 03 Apr 2007
Posts: 3357
Location: Oregon

PostPosted: Fri 02 Apr 2010, 00:30    Post subject:  

On the Puppy Browser thing, you might want to check out this post.

Also, Iguleder did a snapshot of 431 upgraded to 432 with SCSI and updated it once. He might have some insight.
His thread is here.

I know this is just supposed to be a quick upgrade, but I also would like to see the auto-connect for network/internet setup as done in Stardust.

An out of the box boot with an autosetup of networking for internet connection would be great.
Of course, one cannot have everything and what works for one may not work for another.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10747
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Fri 02 Apr 2010, 00:38    Post subject:  

FlyingRedGoat wrote:
I discovered that V1 wouldn't power off when I tried to shut down. (I had been rebooting before that). V2 has the same problem. Puppy shuts down, but just doesn't kill the power. When I saw it, I remembered that that was the reason I didn't go with 4.31 in the first place. ( Embarassed Sorry, I'm a bit absent minded sometimes).

When I tried to install V2, the universal installer was unable to see the files on the CD. I tried mounting the CD drive before installing, but that had no effect this time. This was not an issue with V1.

K

hi could you try this shutdown fix, basically its a updated script from Quirky13, Barry has updated 6 time since 431 was released, I tried it and it worked fine for me.
ttuuxxx
Shutdown-fix.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  Shutdown-fix.pet 
Filesize  14.1 KB 
Downloaded  301 Time(s) 

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
DaveS


Joined: 09 Oct 2008
Posts: 3726
Location: UK

PostPosted: Fri 02 Apr 2010, 00:56    Post subject:  

Not sure if its the same issue, but 4.3.* does not shutdown when you just hit the 'off' button like 4.2.* used too. This .pet fixes it:
switchoff.0.10-i486.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  switchoff.0.10-i486.pet 
Filesize  15.72 KB 
Downloaded  299 Time(s) 

_________________
Spup Frugal HD and USB
Root forever!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5685
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Fri 02 Apr 2010, 01:05    Post subject:  

Since you came out with the installer fix pet so quickly, I decided to go ahead and do a full install on my main Linux computer.The installer now works fine. Smile

Haven't shut down yet , but I'll check that in a few.

EDIT:

I click "power-off" and get a complete and orderly shutdown and power off. Only thing I did was add "acpi=force to the kernel line in grub.

Athlon XP 2.0 ghz w/1 gb ram and1 gb of swap
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10747
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Fri 02 Apr 2010, 01:23    Post subject: Re: Search Engine Options
Subject description: Another choice.
 

SouthPaws wrote:
Hey ttuuxxx,

Could you add Altavista as another search engine option?

http://www.altavista.com/

yes it will be v3 Smile
this is the code, save as altavista.src

Code:
# Mozilla/altavista plug-in

<search
   name="altavista.com"
   description="altavista.com Search Engine"
   method="GET"
   action="http://www.altavista.com/web/results"
   queryCharset="utf-8"
>

<input name="q" user>
<inputnext name="page" factor="1">
<inputprev>

<interpret
    browserResultType="result"
    charset="utf-8"
    resultListStart='<html>'
    resultListEnd='</html>'
    resultItemStart='class="L4"'
    resultItemEnd='class="T1"'
>

</search>


ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
8-bit


Joined: 03 Apr 2007
Posts: 3357
Location: Oregon

PostPosted: Fri 02 Apr 2010, 01:26    Post subject:  

Thanks for installing tech's abiword. But... He compiled it without spellchecking.
Is it a simple thing to add?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10747
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Fri 02 Apr 2010, 01:29    Post subject:  

DaveS wrote:
Not sure if its the same issue, but 4.3.* does not shutdown when you just hit the 'off' button like 4.2.* used too. This .pet fixes it:


I'll add it, its a different app. actually compiled by patriot.
ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10747
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Fri 02 Apr 2010, 01:32    Post subject:  

8-bit wrote:
Thanks for installing tech's abiword. But... He compiled it without spellchecking.
Is it a simple thing to add?


yes I had it working before I built the release, must be a broken link, I'll make a patch

here's the spellcheck fix Smile
ttuuxxx
Spellcheck-abiword.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  Spellcheck-abiword.pet 
Filesize  741.5 KB 
Downloaded  291 Time(s) 

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
8-bit


Joined: 03 Apr 2007
Posts: 3357
Location: Oregon

PostPosted: Fri 02 Apr 2010, 02:53    Post subject:  

Thanks again! Spell checking now works.
I also copied my /root/.mozilla file from my 431 pupsave and it saved me having to set up all my bookmarks, preferences, and mail settings again.
It looks like it is very close to release quality!

And you are appreciated!
As a matter of fact, all contributers to Puppy in both making ISOs and PETs for it are too.

Again, very good work!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
DaveS


Joined: 09 Oct 2008
Posts: 3726
Location: UK

PostPosted: Fri 02 Apr 2010, 03:21    Post subject:  

ttuuxxx wrote:
DaveS wrote:
Not sure if its the same issue, but 4.3.* does not shutdown when you just hit the 'off' button like 4.2.* used too. This .pet fixes it:


I'll add it, its a different app. actually compiled by patriot.
ttuuxxx


Apologies to Patriot if the implication was that I wrote it Smile

_________________
Spup Frugal HD and USB
Root forever!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
8-bit


Joined: 03 Apr 2007
Posts: 3357
Location: Oregon

PostPosted: Fri 02 Apr 2010, 03:47    Post subject:  

I just tried to install a printer in CUPS.
I selected Setup-Cups printer wizard and answered yes to installing a new printer. I got the initial page displayed in Seamonkey followed by the Cups page.
I selected Administration- add printer
I went all the way through and at the end I got a message of:
server error - internal error

No printer was installed.
I tried this with 2 different printers and still got the same error.

Am I missing something?

This was with V2.iso.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10747
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Fri 02 Apr 2010, 03:55    Post subject:  

8-bit wrote:
I just tried to install a printer in CUPS.
I selected Setup-Cups printer wizard and answered yes to installing a new printer. I got the initial page displayed in Seamonkey followed by the Cups page.
I selected Administration- add printer
I went all the way through and at the end I got a message of:
server error - internal error

No printer was installed.
I tried this with 2 different printers and still got the same error.

Am I missing something?

This was with V2.iso.


oh its a error with that cups script, I'll fix it

/usr/share/cups/model/gutenprint/5.2/stp-bjc-PIXMA-iP5200.5.2.ppd.gz to /etc/cups/ppd/canon.ppd - No such file or directory!

ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
tasmod


Joined: 04 Dec 2008
Posts: 1461
Location: North Lincolnshire. UK

PostPosted: Fri 02 Apr 2010, 04:57    Post subject:  

ttuuxxx,

xf-prot is still as it was in 431 which doesn't work.

I posted a small pet fix in the additional software section.

_________________
Rob
-
The moment after you press "Post" is the moment you actually see the typso Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 4 of 31 [459 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, ..., 29, 30, 31 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Taking the Puppy out for a walk » Announcements
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0924s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0090s) ][ GZIP on ]