Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 23 Apr 2014, 19:51
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Off-Topic Area » Programming
big size puppy for small ram
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [9 Posts]  
Author Message
pri


Joined: 09 Oct 2009
Posts: 330
Location: Bandung Indonesia

PostPosted: Mon 05 Apr 2010, 11:36    Post subject:  big size puppy for small ram  

puppy 4.3.1 is always copied sfs to ram, so ram it mustbe bigger than sfs.

the problem is i made some puppy and make it bigger than ram size. how to make it not copied to ram ?
pfix=noram not work, if work mybe it will be solution Very Happy

i see an other puppy like tenpup that biger than ram size, but can run well on 128mb ram even it more time to boot up but its okey as long it work.

_________________
Learning by Doing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger 
seaside

Joined: 11 Apr 2007
Posts: 878

PostPosted: Mon 05 Apr 2010, 16:56    Post subject:  

pri,

If your SFS file is bigger than the available ram, then the SFS file won't load in memory.

If you want to be sure that it DOES NOT load into memory (even if enough ram is available) then you need to change the puppy "initrd.gz" startup file, since the "NORAM" option has been eliminated.

I think you may have to change the "initrd" code. As I recall, it is set at around 230M.

If you search for "COPY2RAM" in the "initrd" file and then look further for a test for "RAMSIZE", you could change "RAMSIZE" to some lower number.

I'm not sure why you would want to do this, and maybe I don't understand the question.

Cheers,
s
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
smokey01


Joined: 30 Dec 2006
Posts: 1792
Location: South Australia

PostPosted: Mon 05 Apr 2010, 17:14    Post subject:  

If you had a Linux swap partition I believe this would be used like ram although slower.
_________________
Puppy Software <-> Distros <-> Puppy Linux Tips
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
abushcrafter


Joined: 30 Oct 2009
Posts: 1447
Location: England

PostPosted: Mon 05 Apr 2010, 17:29    Post subject:  

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=52596
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
technosaurus


Joined: 18 May 2008
Posts: 4134

PostPosted: Tue 06 Apr 2010, 15:46    Post subject:  

the init in woof already has the fix I proposed in the thread abushcrafter posted - you can build the initrd.gz with woof and manually swap it out using isomaster (just make sure your versions match ... 431 on init requires 431 in the sfs in /etc/puppyversion and /etc/DISTROSPECS)
_________________
Web Programming - Pet Packaging 100 & 101
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
abushcrafter


Joined: 30 Oct 2009
Posts: 1447
Location: England

PostPosted: Wed 07 Apr 2010, 05:12    Post subject:  

technosaurus wrote:
the init in woof already has the fix I proposed in the thread abushcrafter posted - you can build the initrd.gz with woof and manually swap it out using isomaster (just make sure your versions match ... 431 on init requires 431 in the sfs in /etc/puppyversion and /etc/DISTROSPECS)
oh I might do that for my remaster...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
pri


Joined: 09 Oct 2009
Posts: 330
Location: Bandung Indonesia

PostPosted: Wed 07 Apr 2010, 07:30    Post subject:  

build initrd.gz with woof ? i cant find it Very Happy give me a clue Smile
_________________
Learning by Doing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger 
technosaurus


Joined: 18 May 2008
Posts: 4134

PostPosted: Wed 07 Apr 2010, 09:33    Post subject:  

thus far the only way to get woof is to download bones from the quirky repo on ibiblio and follow the instructions at bkhome.org/bones ... AFAIK there are no snapshot tarballs or anything (I think there is a howto in the forum as well)
_________________
Web Programming - Pet Packaging 100 & 101
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sunburnt


Joined: 08 Jun 2005
Posts: 4985
Location: Arizona, U.S.A.

PostPosted: Thu 08 Apr 2010, 02:02    Post subject:  

Same problem I had with MediaPup, it tried to load a 320MB SFS file into 256MB of ram!
If you don`t have a swap Puppy doesn`t account for that, not good...
The pfix=noram is tossed out and ignored during bootup. I had to hack fix it to make it work.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [9 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Off-Topic Area » Programming
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0551s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0083s) ][ GZIP on ]