Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 29 Jul 2014, 21:15
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Quirky 018 feedback
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 11 of 17 [246 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17 Next
Author Message
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Mon 12 Apr 2010, 12:49    Post subject: Save file types issue  

Altho I did a first boot with pfix=ram and selected to save to 3fs, IMHO, this stil doesn't work at the next boot.
Code:
# cat /etc/rc.d/PUPSTATE
PUPMODE=12
PDEV1=''
DEV1FS=''
PUPSFS='sdb7,ext2,/quirky-018.sfs'
PUPSAVE='sdb7,ext2,/quirkysave-R40_quirky_18.3fs'
PMEDIA=''
#v3.97: kernel with libata pata has both sata and pata drives in ATADRIVES...
ATADRIVES='sda '
#these directories are unionfs layers in /initrd...
SAVE_LAYER='/pup_rw'
PUP_LAYER='/pup_ro2'
#The partition that has the quirkysave file is mounted here...
PUP_HOME='/mnt/dev_save'
#(in /initrd) ...note, /mnt/home is a link to it.
#this file has extra kernel drivers and firmware...
ZDRV=''
#complete set of modules in the initrd (moved to main f.s.)...
ZDRVINIT='no'
PSWAPFILE=''
PSAVEMARK=''
FASTPARTS='sda1|ntfs sda2|vfat '
#

as it is mounted as ext2 in my case.

I still think the init script in initrd.gz has to be adapted as well.
Three statements to change from ext2 to ext3.

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Jim1911

Joined: 19 May 2008
Posts: 2445
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Mon 12 Apr 2010, 13:55    Post subject:  

Hi Béèm,
It appears to me that the PUPSTATE is indicating is that your installation is on an ext2 partition. This is what my PUPSTATE indicates for an installation on an ext4 partition.
Code:
PUPMODE=12
PDEV1='sdb6'
DEV1FS='ext4'
PUPSFS='sdb6,ext4,/quirky/quirky-018.sfs'
PUPSAVE='sdb6,ext4,/quirky/quirkysave-018.3fs'
PMEDIA='atahd'
#v3.97: kernel with libata pata has both sata and pata drives in ATADRIVES...
ATADRIVES='sda sdb '
#these directories are unionfs layers in /initrd...
SAVE_LAYER='/pup_rw'
PUP_LAYER='/pup_ro2'
#The partition that has the quirkysave file is mounted here...
PUP_HOME='/mnt/dev_save'
#(in /initrd) ...note, /mnt/home is a link to it.
#this file has extra kernel drivers and firmware...
ZDRV=''
#complete set of modules in the initrd (moved to main f.s.)...
ZDRVINIT='no'
PSWAPFILE=''
PSAVEMARK=''
FASTPARTS='sda1|ntfs sda2|ext3 sda3|ext4 sda4|ext4 sdb1|ext3 sdb3|ext4 sdb4|vfat sdb6|ext4 sdb7|ext3 sdb8|ext4 '
Console output for "mount" command is:
Code:
# mount
rootfs on / type rootfs (rw,relatime)
/dev/sdb6 on /initrd/mnt/dev_save type ext4 (rw,noatime,barrier=1,data=ordered)
/dev/loop1 on /initrd/pup_rw type ext3 (rw,noatime,errors=continue,data=ordered)
tmpfs on /initrd/mnt/tmpfs type tmpfs (rw,relatime,size=101920k)
/dev/loop0 on /initrd/pup_ro2 type squashfs (ro,noatime)
/dev/loop4 on /initrd/pup_ro4 type squashfs (ro,noatime)
/dev/loop5 on /initrd/pup_ro5 type squashfs (ro,noatime)
/dev/loop6 on /initrd/pup_ro6 type squashfs (ro,noatime)
unionfs on / type aufs (rw,relatime,si=7a1229e)
tmpfs on /tmp type tmpfs (rw,relatime,size=3053648k)
none on /proc type proc (rw,relatime)
none on /dev/pts type devpts (rw,relatime,gid=2,mode=620)
none on /sys type sysfs (rw,relatime)
shmfs on /dev/shm type tmpfs (rw,relatime,size=712452k)
none on /proc/bus/usb type usbfs (rw,relatime)
#
What state does the "mount" command show?

Jim
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
alec78

Joined: 18 Mar 2010
Posts: 47

PostPosted: Mon 12 Apr 2010, 14:09    Post subject:  

Hi all,
Whilst waiting for Wary (I thought I would have xorg problems with Quirky 018/Samsung x05 laptop ) I downloaded the Q013_Q018 diff file and made an Q018 iso. Needless to say I was very pleasantly surprised to see the desktop come up. I thought I had selected the i810 driver during set up but report-video say that I have the VESA driver?
VIDEO REPORT: Quirky, version 018

Chip description:
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation 82852/855GM Integrated Graphics Device (rev 02)
00:02.1 Display controller: Intel Corporation 82852/855GM Integrated Graphics Device (rev 02)

Driver used by Xorg:
vesa

Video mode used by Xorg:
Resolution: 1024x768 Depth: 24

Cheers
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
broomdodger


Joined: 09 May 2008
Posts: 269
Location: Santa Cruz, CA

PostPosted: Mon 12 Apr 2010, 14:42    Post subject: typo  

menu > utility > cpu frequency scaling tool

typo "OUIT"

should be "Quit"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Mon 12 Apr 2010, 15:44    Post subject:  

Jim1911 wrote:
Hi Béèm,
It appears to me that the PUPSTATE is indicating is that your installation is on an ext2 partition. This is what my PUPSTATE indicates for an installation on an ext4 partition.
What state does the "mount" command show?

Jim

Hi Jim, I have to blush Embarassed
I realize that even after a short 10 days holidays I forgot a lot.
You are right, it's in the mount that it can be seen.
Code:
# mount
rootfs on / type rootfs (rw,relatime)
/dev/sdb7 on /initrd/mnt/dev_save type ext2 (rw,noatime,errors=continue)
/dev/loop1 on /initrd/pup_rw type ext3 (rw,noatime,errors=continue,data=ordered)
/dev/loop0 on /initrd/pup_ro2 type squashfs (ro,noatime)
/dev/loop4 on /initrd/pup_ro4 type squashfs (ro,noatime)
/dev/loop5 on /initrd/pup_ro5 type squashfs (ro,noatime)
unionfs on / type aufs (rw,relatime,si=f935561c)
tmpfs on /tmp type tmpfs (rw,relatime,size=63656k)
none on /proc type proc (rw,relatime)
none on /dev/pts type devpts (rw,relatime,gid=2,mode=620)
none on /sys type sysfs (rw,relatime)
shmfs on /dev/shm type tmpfs (rw,relatime,size=58344k)
none on /proc/bus/usb type usbfs (rw,relatime)
/dev/sdb1 on /mnt/sdb1 type vfat (rw,relatime,fmask=0022,dmask=0022,codepage=cp850,iocharset=iso8859-1,shortname=mixed,quiet,errors=remount-ro)
#
Si it's ok.
Good work of Barry.

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
JustGreg

Joined: 24 May 2005
Posts: 666
Location: Connecticut USA

PostPosted: Mon 12 Apr 2010, 20:04    Post subject:
Subject description: pupradio and MMS stream output
 

I ran pupradio in a terminal window using this url:
mms://thegulch.shacknet.nu:5119/Gulch

Here is what was displayed when it connected but no audio could be heard:
# pupradio
/usr/local/pupradio/func: line 33: gxine: command not found
killall: mplayer: no process killed
MPlayer SVN-r30341-snapshot-4.3.4 (C) 2000-2009 MPlayer Team

Playing mms://thegulch.shacknet.nu:5119/Gulch.
STREAM_ASF, URL: mms://thegulch.shacknet.nu:5119/Gulch
Resolving thegulch.shacknet.nu for AF_INET...
Connecting to server thegulch.shacknet.nu[71.82.110.194]: 5119...
Connected

Alert! EOF
read error:: Operation now in progress
pre-header read failed
Resolving thegulch.shacknet.nu for AF_INET...
Connecting to server thegulch.shacknet.nu[71.82.110.194]: 5119...
Resolving thegulch.shacknet.nu for AF_INET...
Connecting to server thegulch.shacknet.nu[71.82.110.194]: 5119...
Cache size set to 64 KBytes
Cache fill: 12.50% (8192 bytes)
ASF file format detected.
[asfheader] Audio stream found, -aid 1
Clip info:
title: gulch
author:
copyright:
comments: Stream produced by Unreal Media Server
==========================================================================
Opening audio decoder: [ffmpeg] FFmpeg/libavcodec audio decoders
[mp3 @ 0x8431020]Header missing
AUDIO: 22050 Hz, 1 ch, s16le, 24.0 kbit/6.80% (ratio: 3000->44100)
Selected audio codec: [ffmp3] afm: ffmpeg (FFmpeg MPEG layer-3 audio)
==========================================================================
AO: [oss] 22050Hz 1ch s16le (2 bytes per sample)
Video: no video
Starting playback...
/usr/local/pupradio/func: line 33: gxine: command not found
killall: xmessage: no process killed


MPlayer interrupted by signal 15 in module: decode_audio

I terminated mplayer by stopping the playing with pupradio.

I am going to try mplayer by itself and see what happens.

_________________
Enjoy life, Just Greg
Live Well, Laugh Often, Love Much
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
JustGreg

Joined: 24 May 2005
Posts: 666
Location: Connecticut USA

PostPosted: Mon 12 Apr 2010, 20:11    Post subject:
Subject description: Mplayer in terminal window and output with nonplaying mms stream
 

Here is what I got with mplayer by itself:
# mplayer mms://thegulch.shacknet.nu:5119/Gulch
MPlayer SVN-r30341-snapshot-4.3.4 (C) 2000-2009 MPlayer Team

Playing mms://thegulch.shacknet.nu:5119/Gulch.
STREAM_ASF, URL: mms://thegulch.shacknet.nu:5119/Gulch
Resolving thegulch.shacknet.nu for AF_INET...
Connecting to server thegulch.shacknet.nu[71.82.110.194]: 5119...
Connected

Alert! EOF
read error:: Operation now in progress
pre-header read failed
Resolving thegulch.shacknet.nu for AF_INET...
Connecting to server thegulch.shacknet.nu[71.82.110.194]: 5119...
Resolving thegulch.shacknet.nu for AF_INET...
Connecting to server thegulch.shacknet.nu[71.82.110.194]: 5119...
Cache size set to 64 KBytes
Cache fill: 12.50% (8192 bytes)
ASF file format detected.
[asfheader] Audio stream found, -aid 1
Clip info:
title: gulch
author:
copyright:
comments: Stream produced by Unreal Media Server
==========================================================================
Opening audio decoder: [ffmpeg] FFmpeg/libavcodec audio decoders
[mp3 @ 0x8431010]Header missing
AUDIO: 22050 Hz, 1 ch, s16le, 24.0 kbit/6.80% (ratio: 3000->44100)
Selected audio codec: [ffmp3] afm: ffmpeg (FFmpeg MPEG layer-3 audio)
==========================================================================
AO: [oss] 22050Hz 1ch s16le (2 bytes per sample)
Video: no video
Starting playback...
A:1291.3 (21:31.3) of 1844674428928.0 (-24.-Cool ??,?% 0%

MPlayer interrupted by signal 2 in module: enable_cache
nop_streaming_read error : Interrupted system call
Error while reading network stream.


MPlayer interrupted by signal 2 in module: decode_audio
A:1291.4 (21:31.3) of 1844674428928.0 (-24.-Cool ??,?% 6%
Exiting... (Quit)

I terminated mplayer after 30 seconds and no sound with control C. I am posting this with Quirky 018. I do like it. If someone can suggest another mms stream, I will try it out to make sure it is not a problem with the source. Thanks for any help.

_________________
Enjoy life, Just Greg
Live Well, Laugh Often, Love Much
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4422
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Mon 12 Apr 2010, 22:11    Post subject:  

Just Greg;

Here's a mms test sample:

http://itc.virginia.edu/network/audio-streaming/test-off-grounds.html

With my 4.3.1 or 4.1.2 installs in which I have mms enabled in
seamonkey it works.
With Quirky I just get "mms is not a registered protocol".

Same for any video mms streams at this site:

http://delicast.com/

_________________

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
broomdodger


Joined: 09 May 2008
Posts: 269
Location: Santa Cruz, CA

PostPosted: Tue 13 Apr 2010, 00:35    Post subject: shutdown  

BarryK wrote:
What date does the BIOS have? You should see that during bootup, or run the BIOS setup. Puppy does have a utility that will display all sorts of info about the BIOS -- but I can't recall its name right now.

The kernel is configured not to use acpi for any BIOS dated prior to January 2001. Which might account for your problem.

Sharp PC-PJ2-S2 300MHz
Quirky018 with acpi=force -- shutdown ok
Puppy431 with acpi=force -- shutdown ok
Since the last date I found for the BIOS is 1998, problem solved.

Does anyone know what utility Barry is referring to, that will display all sorts of info about the BIOS?

Edit: A bit of websearch and I found it:
biosdecode lead to dmidecode,
and now I know the BIOS date 1999-06-01
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Keef


Joined: 20 Dec 2007
Posts: 619
Location: Staffordshire

PostPosted: Tue 13 Apr 2010, 01:38    Post subject: Ndiswrapper problems
Subject description: /var/log/messages
 

Barry

The Netgear WG111T usb dongle has worked using ndiswrapper on every pre 4 series pup that I've tried. Used it a lot on 214R and 3.01 (several varieties), and currently on 214X. I think I also got it to work with MeanPup (2.02) as well.
As I mentioned before, if I boot a fresh boot (manual frugal) and use SNS, I get the following:
ERROR: Windows driver does not seem to work, it has been uninstalled

If I try Dougal's nettwork wizard I get;
netwg11t: driver installed
device (1385:4251) present

Nothing happens after this. Looked in Process Manager and connectwizard is still running (two instances) as is net-setup.sh (twice)and connectwizard_2nd

I tried running modprobe ndiswrapper in a terminal, and it just hangs, so maybe the problem lies here.

If I save and reboot, then try the network wizard again, I get;

Loading ndiswrapper failed with the following message:
Maybe try a different driver

Strange thing is I did get it to work the once, but nothing worked after a reboot.
I use WPA-PSK. The router was supplied by my employers, and is set up that way, so can't change it (use it with XP laptop).

Also, it has a hidden ESSID. Your SNS does not seem to prompt for this, so if could not connect anyway.
Usually with 4 series and later, I need Pwireless2 to get a WPA connection.
I have attached the message log from /var/log. Yep, there are plenty of errors showing up.
message.tar.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  message.tar.gz 
Filesize  9.14 KB 
Downloaded  344 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Tue 13 Apr 2010, 04:51    Post subject: Re: Save file types issue  

Béèm wrote:
Altho I did a first boot with pfix=ram and selected to save to 3fs, IMHO, this stil doesn't work at the next boot.
Code:
# cat /etc/rc.d/PUPSTATE
PUPMODE=12
PDEV1=''
DEV1FS=''
PUPSFS='sdb7,ext2,/quirky-018.sfs'
PUPSAVE='sdb7,ext2,/quirkysave-R40_quirky_18.3fs'
PMEDIA=''
#v3.97: kernel with libata pata has both sata and pata drives in ATADRIVES...
ATADRIVES='sda '
#these directories are unionfs layers in /initrd...
SAVE_LAYER='/pup_rw'
PUP_LAYER='/pup_ro2'
#The partition that has the quirkysave file is mounted here...
PUP_HOME='/mnt/dev_save'
#(in /initrd) ...note, /mnt/home is a link to it.
#this file has extra kernel drivers and firmware...
ZDRV=''
#complete set of modules in the initrd (moved to main f.s.)...
ZDRVINIT='no'
PSWAPFILE=''
PSAVEMARK=''
FASTPARTS='sda1|ntfs sda2|vfat '
#

as it is mounted as ext2 in my case.

I still think the init script in initrd.gz has to be adapted as well.
Three statements to change from ext2 to ext3.


The line:
PUPSAVE='sdb7,ext2,/quirkysave-R40_quirky_18.3fs'

...ext2 refers to the filesystem of the sdb7 partition.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Tue 13 Apr 2010, 05:01    Post subject: MESA video experiment  

MESA video experiment

For you guys who have reported issues with the video in Quirky, like a green-tinge screen, or it is just not working, try this.

If you can get it going with the 'vesa' driver, get online and run the Puppy Package Manager.

In the 'Find' box type "mesa", then download and install the mesa 7.6 pet pkg.

Edit /etc/X11/xorg.conf, comment-out the "disable glx" line.

Exit to the prompt and run 'xorgwizard'

...let me know if that makes any difference.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
divisionmd


Joined: 14 Jul 2007
Posts: 606

PostPosted: Tue 13 Apr 2010, 10:45    Post subject:    

Hello,

1. Conky 1.8.0

I tried to compile conky 1.8.0 on Quircky 18 - but it seems a package named "lua5.1" is missing...

how to fix that?

2. ATI drivers

Tried to install ATI drivers.

I have the DevX and kernel source sfs files added / and they are loaded.

But during installation ATI log tells me:

cat fglrx-install.log
[Message] Kernel Module : Trying to install a precompiled kernel module.
[Message] Kernel Module : Precompiled kernel module version mismatched.
[Message] Kernel Module : Found kernel module build environment, generating kernel module now.
AMD kernel module generator version 2.1
Error:
kernel includes at /lib/modules/2.6.33.2/build/include do not match current kernel.
they are versioned as ""
instead of "2.6.33.2".
you might need to adjust your symlinks:
- /usr/include
- /usr/src/linux
[Error] Kernel Module : Failed to compile kernel module - please consult readme.
#

clue to that?


over and out,

Johan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
Fishy

Joined: 26 Jan 2006
Posts: 200

PostPosted: Tue 13 Apr 2010, 11:40    Post subject: Xconfig Issue  

Tried your fix Barry. Downloaded and installed mesa 7.6, controlled out. Edited xorg.config file as directed. Ran xorgwizard. Still have green hue to screen, possibly even darker. Confused Vesa works.

ATI HD 3300 integrated graphics.

Cheers Very Happy

PS. will download Wary and see if X runs properly.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Michalis

Joined: 08 Jan 2008
Posts: 237
Location: Greece

PostPosted: Tue 13 Apr 2010, 13:09    Post subject:  

There is a major problem with quirky and puppy 431 with the latest ayttm. Because of the change in spellcheck to Enchat, it's working only when using english language. I checked with greek, spanish and german and it isn't working at all.

The error in console is:
Code:
# ayttm
terminate called after throwing an instance of 'enchant::Exception'
  what():  std::exception
Aborted


I know it isn't actually quirky related but must be fixed before releasing it. I believe is a problem with the enchant library, possible because it can't find dictionaries for the other languages.

Edit: By the way I will also contact siddheshp and ask him whether he can override the problem
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 11 of 17 [246 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1211s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0087s) ][ GZIP on ]