Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 25 Oct 2014, 04:47
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Quirky 018 feedback
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 3 of 17 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, ..., 15, 16, 17 Next
Author Message
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4422
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Wed 07 Apr 2010, 20:23    Post_subject:  

CHLee wrote:
bug report:
1. hardinfo can not list the kernel module, it was because missing the lsmod in /sbin.
2. gnome-mplayer can not play the file with space, it was because the defaultmediaplayer and defaultvideoplayer script missing the "" for $@, it should:
exec gnome-mplayer "$@"

Thanks!
C.H.Lee


Thank you C.H.Lee

That solved mplayer problems I was having on a full install.
rjb

_________________

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
stu90


Joined: 25 Feb 2010
Posts: 1401
Location: England. Dell Inspiron 1501. Dpup

PostPosted: Wed 07 Apr 2010, 20:38    Post_subject:  

Frugal install on dell inspiron 1501 laptop ext3 save file:

Problem with no double tap /scroll on laptop touchpad pad is back for me - only quirky 13 has had working double tap /scroll so far.

Also have a green tint on entire screen when using 16 bit colour.

quirky18 xorg.conf
Code:
#Special base config file used in Puppy Linux.

# **********************************************************************
# Module section -- this  section  is used to specify
# which dynamically loadable modules to load.
# **********************************************************************
#
Section "Module"
   Load "synaptics"

# This loads the DBE extension module.

    Load        "dbe"     # Double buffer extension

# This loads the miscellaneous extensions module, and disables
# initialisation of the XFree86-DGA extension within that module.
    SubSection  "extmod"
      Option    "omit xfree86-dga"   # don't initialise the DGA extension
    EndSubSection

# This loads the font modules
#    Load        "type1"
#    Load        "freetype"

# This loads xtrap extension, used by xrandr
    Load       "xtrap"

# This loads the GLX module (if present). xorg 7.4/5, need explicit disable to disable...
    Disable       "glx" #LOADGLX

# This loads dri module (if present). 7.4 loads it by default, have to disable...
#    Load       "dri" #LOADDRI
#    Disable "dri"

EndSection

# **********************************************************************
# Files section.  This allows default font paths to be set
# **********************************************************************

Section "Files"

# Multiple FontPath entries are allowed (which are concatenated together),
# as well as specifying multiple comma-separated entries in one FontPath
# command (or a combination of both methods)

    FontPath   "/usr/share/X11/fonts/misc/"
    FontPath   "/usr/share/X11/fonts/Type1/"
    FontPath   "/usr/share/X11/fonts/TTF/"

EndSection

# **********************************************************************
# Server flags section.
# **********************************************************************

Section "ServerFlags"

# Uncomment this to disable the <Crtl><Alt><Fn> VT switch sequence
# (where n is 1 through 12).  This allows clients to receive these key
# events.

#    Option "DontVTSwitch"

# Enables mode switching with xrandr
# There is a report that this can cause Xorg not to work on some
# video hardware, so default is commented-out...
# but i want to use it in xorgwizard so leave on...

    Option "RandR" "on"

# With this, Xorg won't talk to HAL to add evdev devices and you'll be back
# with the old Xorg behavior (pre-7.4)...

    Option "AutoAddDevices" "false"

# For no-Hal, kirk also suggests this...

#    Option "AllowMouseOpenFail" "true"

# Xorg 7.4, Ubuntu Jaunty, CTRL-ALT-BACKSPACE is disabled by default...

    Option "DontZap" "false"

EndSection

#everything past here is auto-generated by Puppy's Xorg Wizard...


Section "ServerLayout"
   InputDevice "Synaptics Mouse" "AlwaysCore"
   Identifier     "X.org Configured"
   Screen      0  "Screen0" 0 0
   InputDevice    "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
   InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
   Identifier  "Keyboard0"
   Driver      "kbd"
   Option      "XkbRules" "xorg"
   Option      "XkbModel" "pc102"
   Option      "XkbLayout" "gb" #xkeymap0
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
   Identifier  "Mouse0"
   Driver      "mouse"
   Option       "Protocol" "IMPS/2" #mouse0protocol
   Option       "Device" "/dev/mouse"
   #Option      "Emulate3Buttons"
   #Option      "Emulate3Timeout" "50"
   #Option      "ZAxisMapping" "4 5" #scrollwheel
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
   Identifier "Synaptics Mouse"
   Driver "synaptics"
   Option "Device" "/dev/psaux"
   Option "Protocol" "auto-dev"
   Option "LeftEdge" "1700"
   Option "RightEdge" "5300"
   Option "TopEdge" "1700"
   Option "BottomEdge" "4200"
   Option "FingerLow" "25"
   Option "FingerHigh" "30"
   Option "MaxTapTime" "220"
   Option "MaxTapMove" "220"
   Option "VertScrollDelta" "100"
   Option "MinSpeed" "0.10"
   Option "MaxSpeed" "0.30"
   Option "AccelFactor" "0.0030"
   Option "SHMConfig" "on"
   #Option "Repeater" "/dev/ps2mouse"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
   #DisplaySize     330   210   # mm
   Identifier   "Monitor0"
   VendorName   "CPT"
   ModelName    "140a"
   HorizSync    30-50
   VertRefresh  56-60
   #UseModes     "Modes0" #monitor0usemodes
   Option      "PreferredMode" "1280x800"
   EndSection
   
Section "Modes"
   Identifier "Modes0"
   #modes0modeline0
EndSection

Section "Device"
   # Available Driver options are:-
   # Values: <i>: integer, <f>: float, <bool>: "True"/"False",
   # <string>: "String", <freq>: "<f> Hz/kHz/MHz"
   # [arg]: arg optional
   #Option     "NoAccel"               # [<bool>]
   #Option     "SWcursor"              # [<bool>]
   #Option     "Dac6Bit"               # [<bool>]
   #Option     "Dac8Bit"               # [<bool>]
   #Option     "BusType"               # [<str>]
   #Option     "CPPIOMode"             # [<bool>]
   #Option     "CPusecTimeout"         # <i>
   #Option     "AGPMode"               # <i>
   #Option     "AGPFastWrite"          # [<bool>]
   #Option     "AGPSize"               # <i>
   #Option     "GARTSize"              # <i>
   #Option     "RingSize"              # <i>
   #Option     "BufferSize"            # <i>
   #Option     "EnableDepthMoves"      # [<bool>]
   #Option     "EnablePageFlip"        # [<bool>]
   #Option     "NoBackBuffer"          # [<bool>]
   #Option     "DMAForXv"              # [<bool>]
   #Option     "FBTexPercent"          # <i>
   #Option     "DepthBits"             # <i>
   #Option     "PCIAPERSize"           # <i>
   #Option     "AccelDFS"              # [<bool>]
   #Option     "IgnoreEDID"            # [<bool>]
   #Option     "DisplayPriority"       # [<str>]
   #Option     "PanelSize"             # [<str>]
   #Option     "ForceMinDotClock"      # <freq>
   #Option     "ColorTiling"           # [<bool>]
   #Option     "VideoKey"              # <i>
   #Option     "RageTheatreCrystal"    # <i>
   #Option     "RageTheatreTunerPort"    # <i>
   #Option     "RageTheatreCompositePort"    # <i>
   #Option     "RageTheatreSVideoPort"    # <i>
   #Option     "TunerType"             # <i>
   #Option     "RageTheatreMicrocPath"    # <str>
   #Option     "RageTheatreMicrocType"    # <str>
   #Option     "ScalerWidth"           # <i>
   #Option     "RenderAccel"           # [<bool>]
   #Option     "SubPixelOrder"         # [<str>]
   #Option     "ShowCache"             # [<bool>]
   #Option     "DynamicClocks"         # [<bool>]
   #Option     "VGAAccess"             # [<bool>]
   #Option     "ReverseDDC"            # [<bool>]
   #Option     "LVDSProbePLL"          # [<bool>]
   #Option     "AccelMethod"           # <str>
   #Option     "DRI"                   # [<bool>]
   #Option     "ConnectorTable"        # <str>
   #Option     "DefaultConnectorTable"    # [<bool>]
   #Option     "DefaultTMDSPLL"        # [<bool>]
   #Option     "TVDACLoadDetect"       # [<bool>]
   #Option     "ForceTVOut"            # [<bool>]
   #Option     "TVStandard"            # <str>
   #Option     "IgnoreLidStatus"       # [<bool>]
   #Option     "DefaultTVDACAdj"       # [<bool>]
   #Option     "Int10"                 # [<bool>]
   #Option     "EXAVSync"              # [<bool>]
   #Option     "ATOMTVOut"             # [<bool>]
   #Option     "R4xxATOM"              # [<bool>]
   Identifier  "Card0"
   Driver      "radeon" #card0driver
   VendorName  "Unknown Vendor"
   BoardName   "Unknown Board"
   BusID       "PCI:1:5:0"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
   Identifier "Screen0"
   Device     "Card0"
   Monitor    "Monitor0"
   DefaultDepth 24
   Subsection "Display"
      Depth       24
      Modes       "1280x800"
   EndSubsection
EndSection

#PuppyHardwareProfile=ATI_Radeon__XpressFD1630154WB4
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
broomdodger


Joined: 09 May 2008
Posts: 269
Location: Santa Cruz, CA

PostPosted: Wed 07 Apr 2010, 21:25    Post_subject:  

CHLee wrote:
bug report:
1. hardinfo can not list the kernel module, it was because missing the lsmod in /sbin.
2. gnome-mplayer can not play the file with space, it was because the defaultmediaplayer and defaultvideoplayer script missing the "" for $@, it should:
exec gnome-mplayer "$@"

Unfortunately that is not the case with SeaMonkey
exec mozstart "$@"
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
OverDrive

Joined: 02 Jan 2006
Posts: 165
Location: Cleveland, OHIO,USA

PostPosted: Wed 07 Apr 2010, 21:53    Post_subject: Fbpanel bug or feature?  

Fbpanel Menu automatically closes every so many seconds when your slowly "cruisin" the menu. I personally find this annoying. This is using pfix=ram. Is there line in a config file I can edit?

OverDrive

_________________
Instant Puppy Fan!!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
tlchost

Joined: 05 Aug 2007
Posts: 1727
Location: Baltimore, Maryland USA

PostPosted: Wed 07 Apr 2010, 21:58    Post_subject: Edit - Right Click open as text -zgrsny - Pidgin  

When Edit icon is clicked on desktop, no program runs
right click on file - open as text does not work
Gesny returns error
dymbol lookuperror: /usr/X11R7/lib/libX11.so.6 undefined symbol: xcb_take_socket

Pidgin265 pet installs, Pidgin does not run from Internet Menu
Returns error
error when loading shared librries: libXss.so1 cannot open shared object file: no such file or directory

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10827
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Wed 07 Apr 2010, 22:41    Post_subject:  

here's a quick Quirky startup button
ttuuxxx
start.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   3.24 KB
 Viewed   1180 Time(s)

start.jpg

quirkystartbutton.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  quirkystartbutton.pet 
Filesize  2.59 KB 
Downloaded  315 Time(s) 

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
broomdodger


Joined: 09 May 2008
Posts: 269
Location: Santa Cruz, CA

PostPosted: Wed 07 Apr 2010, 22:54    Post_subject:  

Pprocess and pfbpanel -- drag to resize -- much flashing

taskbar menu -- Shutdown has "exit to prompt"
contextual menu -- Shutdown does not

Edit icon on desktop works fine here
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
upnorth


Joined: 11 Jan 2010
Posts: 262
Location: Wisconsin UTC-6 (-5 DST)

PostPosted: Wed 07 Apr 2010, 22:59    Post_subject: resolv.conf cleanup
Sub_title: resolv.conf cleanup no xml in ipinfo
 

Just noticed that if I manually clean up the binary crap in resolv.conf file, ipinfo no longer spits xml markup to the screen under DNS tab. Cool

I just wonder if that was choking gtkdialog somehow.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9203
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Thu 08 Apr 2010, 00:22    Post_subject:  

Now that Quirky is using GRUB4DOS, there is an interesting change in philosophy. In previous Puppies, installing GRUB's stage1 code to the MBR was seen as dangerous and there were warnings about doing so.

However, the GRUB4DOS installer only installs to the MBR with no warnings about potential side effects with the other existing operating systems.

In fact, the safest way to install GRUB, onto the partition boot sector, does not appear to be supported in GRUB4DOS.

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Terryphi


Joined: 02 Jul 2008
Posts: 763
Location: West Wales, Britain.

PostPosted: Thu 08 Apr 2010, 01:23    Post_subject: Re: Fbpanel bug or feature?  

OverDrive wrote:
Fbpanel Menu automatically closes every so many seconds when your slowly "cruisin" the menu. I personally find this annoying. This is using pfix=ram. Is there line in a config file I can edit?

OverDrive


Yes, I can confirm that I have seen this too with a frugal install.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
tronkel


Joined: 30 Sep 2005
Posts: 1101
Location: Vienna Austria

PostPosted: Thu 08 Apr 2010, 03:09    Post_subject:  

@rcrsn51

Thanks for the tip about installing the Brother DCP7030 printer.
I didn't know of the existence of this pet for debbi.

Maybe it ought to get included in Quirky?

_________________
Life is too short to spend it in front of a computer
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website AIM 
tubby

Joined: 24 Jan 2009
Posts: 317

PostPosted: Thu 08 Apr 2010, 03:50    Post_subject:  

Running pfix=ram from the cd, boots ok and looks really nice and no problem with the video probe would love to install and put it through its paces but the show stopper for me is no built in wireless found on my Toshiba Satellite.
This has been cured with the 432 release by ttuuxxx, but i cannot find what the difference is between the two releases.

tubby
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
JOff

Joined: 08 Apr 2010
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Thu 08 Apr 2010, 05:07    Post_subject: Odd screen resolution 1600x900  

MSI box with Atom and Intel graphics.

Quirky 018 booted well and looks good.
I can confirm the menu closing after a few seconds, normally I would not have recognized that but when slowly browsing the menus for unknown items it happens.

My LCD has a physical resolution of 1600x900. It should also be fine with the graphics card.

I had to resort to 1320x760 as the resolution with the least distortion (looks O.K.).

How can I force the correct resolution from the beginning?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
ecube


Joined: 11 Jul 2008
Posts: 88
Location: Västerås, Sweden

PostPosted: Thu 08 Apr 2010, 06:14    Post_subject: PartView missing  

I noticed that PartView was missing.

For Official 4.3.2 ttuuxxx has accepted to update PartView using the attached pet. My argument was:"Showing all drives as default is slow on low-end hardware."

Ignoring the buglets everything works fine.
Keep up the good work. Laughing
ecube
Partview.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  Partview.pet 
Filesize  1.76 KB 
Downloaded  306 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10827
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Thu 08 Apr 2010, 06:21    Post_subject: Re: PartView missing  

ecube wrote:
I noticed that PartView was missing.

For Official 4.3.2 ttuuxxx has accepted to update PartView using the attached pet. My argument was:"Showing all drives as default is slow on low-end hardware."

Ignoring the buglets everything works fine.
Keep up the good work. Laughing
ecube

The only thing is, that when you switch to all drivers the other screen stays open, so you have 2 screens, that was why I didn't include your latest. If you get it to close the screen and only display 1 at a time, that would be much nicer, great work by the way Smile
ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 3 of 17 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, ..., 15, 16, 17 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1331s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0142s) ][ GZIP on ]