Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 19 Dec 2014, 20:13
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Quirky 1.0 feedback
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 8 of 14 [200 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14 Next
Author Message
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Sun 09 May 2010, 08:45    Post subject:  

Quote:
SQLite Manager is a Firefox extension that can manage any SQLite database on your computer.

Sylvander, the reason it never crash here is me didn't knew what it was.

Cool that at leas Q1 survive then. Smile

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
looseSCREWorTWO

Joined: 04 Feb 2010
Posts: 812
Location: Australia, 1999 Toshiba laptop, 512mb RAM, no HDD, 431 Retro & 421 Retro

PostPosted: Sun 09 May 2010, 08:56    Post subject:  

Quirky definitely runs my Acer desktop faster and cooler. However it won't boot on my Pentium 3 Laptop. Everything looks good up to the Video Probing part, then Quirky gives me 3 options:
- Probe
- Select
- Xvesa

Which ever one I choose and whatever I do after that, the boot process "hangs" indefinitely. According to 421 Retro (which runs the PC without any problems) I have a Trident CyberBlade video card, so I re-booted into Quirky, chose the "Select" option and input "trident" but the same thing happened.

_________________
Steve
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ecube


Joined: 11 Jul 2008
Posts: 88
Location: Västerås, Sweden

PostPosted: Sun 09 May 2010, 10:23    Post subject: PartViiew update  

There is a subtle bug i gtkdialog3 which sometimes affects the execution of PartView (Free space in Drives) If you have many partitions the "All Drives" choice may result in a failure. In my experience, with 11 partitions this happens one or two times out of ten.

The error message varies, Typical specimens are

Code:
# The program 'gtkdialog3' received an X Window System error.
This probably reflects a bug in the program.
The error was 'BadIDChoice (invalid resource ID chosen for this connection)'.
  (Details: serial 1202 error_code 14 request_code 53 minor_code 0)
   
# The program 'gtkdialog3' received an X Window System error.
This probably reflects a bug in the program.
The error was 'BadDrawable (invalid Pixmap or Window parameter)'.
  (Details: serial 1005 error_code 9 request_code 64 minor_code 0)
 

I am far too ignorant about the inner live of gtkdialog to attempt any bug exterminations. My rescue action consists of converting the PartView Perl script (pdff.pl) to the Glade format (gtkdialog3 --glade-xml=my_file.glade). The resulting version of pdff.pl is three time larger than the original file, but seems to deliver the correct output without any premature exits.

If you have many partitions, please, test the enclosed pet.
Very Happy
ecube

Quit signal corrected, All Drives button adjusted.
Partview-2.1.pet
Description  PartView version 2.1 (buttons corrected)
pet

 Download 
Filename  Partview-2.1.pet 
Filesize  2.68 KB 
Downloaded  632 Time(s) 

Last edited by ecube on Mon 10 May 2010, 14:24; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jpeps

Joined: 31 May 2008
Posts: 3220

PostPosted: Sun 09 May 2010, 12:30    Post subject:  

Loading openoffice-3.1.1-sfs4.sfs seems to interfere with samba, resulting in an "unknown device (smb)" in the cups dropdown menu. Remove it, and samba appears again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
`f00


Joined: 06 Nov 2008
Posts: 809
Location: the Western Reserve

PostPosted: Sun 09 May 2010, 13:17    Post subject:
Subject description: q100 etcetera
 

@Sylvander - re a few simple questions
fg is short for foreground (usually text) and bg is short for background. Lighter values for text show well on darker backgrounds and vice-versa, but occasionally (depending on the app and gtk rules) there may be odd mixups. Mostly it's pretty cut-and-dry on menus, window decoration and so on (depending on window manager), but 'internal' gtk may vary with very dark gtk themes.

Not sure just what you're using in LHP, but often you can simply copy a theme dir from another pup and see if it works (if dotpets are not available or compatible).

As to the background of the cpu plugin for fbpanel .. 01micko did some work on that (likely in next quirky or check his posts for a workaround). You can also set fbpanel to transparent and edit /usr/sbin/pfbpanel for more transparency (I think the default value was like 37, less is more fully transparent) or use #000000, black or navy in the proper place. Or use conky if you like a bigger graph-display and other useful sysinfo - pwidgets is another similar way if you like them or even gkrellm.

___further personal q100
Made a couple personal sfs with one of ttuuxxx's dotpets and wine, arora, opera and qtcmd working nicely - that really helped to keep the savefile small-ish Smile Some boot-errormessages about 2fs (my upgraded savefile) that 'went away' after some re-do of the OpenWith and SendTo in Rox (not sure if it simply settled or whether it was related Neutral ).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 3551
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Sun 09 May 2010, 13:44    Post subject:  

@f00

1. Explanations regarding fg and bg understood.

2. "Not sure just what you're using in LHP"
(a) [LHP]->JWM Theme = Black-VG.
(b) The blue-glassy sliders are also nice. [Not sure how I configured that]

3. "often you can simply copy a theme dir from another pup and see if it works"
(a) Precise instructions needed. [I'm new to this] Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9364
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sun 09 May 2010, 14:21    Post subject:  

jpeps wrote:
Loading openoffice-3.1.1-sfs4.sfs seems to interfere with samba, resulting in an "unknown device (smb)" in the cups dropdown menu. Remove it, and samba appears again.


Here is something to try. If you look in the folder /usr/lib/cups/backend, you will see the file "smb" which is a symlink to /opt/samba/bin/smbspool.

Instead of using the symlink, copy the actual smbspool file over and rename it to "smb"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jpeps

Joined: 31 May 2008
Posts: 3220

PostPosted: Sun 09 May 2010, 15:52    Post subject:  

rcrsn51 wrote:


Instead of using the symlink, copy the actual smbspool file over and rename it to "smb"


Now that's truly quirky......and it worked. I'll have to think about that one... Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9364
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sun 09 May 2010, 16:10    Post subject:  

You could try mounting the openoffice sfs file and looking for the folder /opt/samba/...

Maybe something in it is breaking the smb symlink.

Is this behaviour specific to Quirky?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jpeps

Joined: 31 May 2008
Posts: 3220

PostPosted: Sun 09 May 2010, 16:36    Post subject:  

rcrsn51 wrote:
You could try mounting the openoffice sfs file and looking for the folder /opt/samba/...

Maybe something in it is breaking the smb symlink.

Is this behaviour specific to Quirky?


Link looks okay, and smbspool works when copied over as you suggested.
Yes...this is unique to quirky..same OO prints with 4.4, etc. I also tried loading
samba-3.0.26 without luck (also rebooted, etc). Maybe the link negates the cups fix ??

Code:

lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 23 2010-05-09 12:37 smb -> /opt/samba/bin/smbspool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9364
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sun 09 May 2010, 18:58    Post subject:  

@jpeps:

I can confirm the problem. I wonder if it has something to do with the open office sfs and the puppy sfs both using the /opt folder. As a result, the CUPS daemon loses track of the smbspool file through the symlink.

Interestingly, when I moved the smbspool file into /root and symlinked the backend file to there, CUPS still worked.

Loading the devx sfs does not affect CUPS, but it doesn't use /opt.

Has there been a change in the layered filesystem with Quirky that would cause this?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Sun 09 May 2010, 19:01    Post subject: quirky 100 you2pup no download  

In quirky 100 I wanted to download a video.
So I pasted the url, defined the directory and file name.
The download didn't start as apparently the site of the url isn't known in wget. This is the contents of the file name I gave.
Code:
wget: missing URL
Usage: wget [OPTION]... [URL]...

Try `wget --help' for more options.
the extension of the file name is as expected mp4.
Looks like the url pasted didn't make it to the wget command.

Anybody having this?

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dalderton

Joined: 22 Apr 2007
Posts: 145

PostPosted: Sun 09 May 2010, 20:00    Post subject:  

very strange , usb mouse works fine on live cd but not when I do a full install.Then I cant get out of the program properly and when I reboot the keyboard will not work when the cursor comes up halfway through the boot. I have a dvorak switchable keyboard and it wont work on dvorak or querty settings . The mouse has always worked on all puppy versions that I have used in the last few years from about 2.1.
However this is the first Puppy that centres my Monitor.
Regards Dennis.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jpeps

Joined: 31 May 2008
Posts: 3220

PostPosted: Sun 09 May 2010, 20:09    Post subject:  

rcrsn51 wrote:
@jpeps:

I can confirm the problem. I wonder if it has something to do with the open office sfs and the puppy sfs both using the /opt folder. As a result, the CUPS daemon loses track of the smbspool file through the symlink.

Interestingly, when I moved the smbspool file into /root and symlinked the backend file to there, CUPS still worked.

Loading the devx sfs does not affect CUPS, but it doesn't use /opt.

Has there been a change in the layered filesystem with Quirky that would cause this?


It may have something to do with the complexity of the linked path, which causes it to fail. I noticed a similar problem placing a linked .mozilla directory in /root, which easily corrupted and failed. This worked in other distros, so I'm guessing the layered file system adds complexity.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9364
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sun 09 May 2010, 23:52    Post subject:  

@jpeps:

This is not a Quirky issue - it's CUPS. I went back to Puppy 4.3.1 and installed Open Office. CUPS 1.1.23 worked fine.

I then upgraded CUPS to 1.3.11. The smb symlink problem appeared.

I uninstalled Open Office and CUPS went back to normal.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 8 of 14 [200 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0941s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0060s) ][ GZIP on ]