Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 27 Nov 2014, 09:26
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Lucid Puppy 5.1- A Full-Featured Compact Distro
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 139 of 145 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 137, 138, 139, 140, 141, 142, 143, 144, 145 Next
Author Message
playdayz


Joined: 25 Apr 2008
Posts: 3789

PostPosted: Fri 20 Aug 2010, 21:44    Post_subject:  

Quote:
Just a quick point--Hotmail will no longer work with Seamonkey


Weird. Why would that be? I guess I don't understand the politics.

------------------------------------------------------------------------

Is it time for the return of PuppyBrowser, MU's awesome creation? I am using it now in luci-217. It measure 8.5MB *and* includes Composer! It can be updated to 1.1.19, but not to 2+ afaik.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Stripe

Joined: 23 Jun 2010
Posts: 658
Location: In a field. England

PostPosted: Fri 20 Aug 2010, 23:54    Post_subject:  

Hi Playdayz

Browser wise I would always go for firefox personaly because of its add ons, but after using my old box for a week, as long as a browser does what is required to do, is light enough on resources (to be run as a live CD or for people with older hardware) and has a small footprint for the overall distro size, I dont think it matters what it is, as everybody has their own favourites and as long as they are caterd for in the PPM they can always change it to suit their own needs.

Hope this helps
Stripe
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
DaveS


Joined: 09 Oct 2008
Posts: 3726
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat 21 Aug 2010, 01:29    Post_subject:  

After a few days of using:
I TOTALLY LOVE THIS PUPPY
More to come after a bit more use.
At last, Puppy is back on track.........

A HUGE thanks to all involved. This gargantuan effort has paid off in Spades...................

_________________
Spup Frugal HD and USB
Root forever!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4422
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Sat 21 Aug 2010, 02:34    Post_subject:  

I'm always amazed how fast this 134mb iso Puppy is, even compared
to much smaller 4.xx Puppies.

Installed Seamonkey 1.1.18 and a few older pets on my full install.
Borrowed a few files from Fluppy Pupremaster (based on Dougals remaster script) and created a new iso. The 500mb uncompressed full install became a 187mb iso file.

Used "bootflash" and "burn iso to cd" and both ended up perfect clones of the full install. (all settings saved)

Booted the 187mb cd into Inspiron 4000, 800mhz with just 128mb ram.
Booted slowly but steadily.
Made a 256mb swap part. and did a full install. (slowly)

It runs very well;
A youtube download of Lady Gaga's Bad Romance looks and
runs great at almost full screen. Smile

_________________

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
CatDude


Joined: 03 Jan 2007
Posts: 1497
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat 21 Aug 2010, 09:30    Post_subject:  

Hi

kevin bowers wrote:
Just a quick point--Hotmail will no longer work with Seamonkey. Or it will let you access your e-mail only as text, no pics, nearly all links blocked.

Try this:
In the Seamonkey address bar, enter the following: about:config and press Enter
Click on the I'll be careful, I promise button.

In the Filter bar, enter useragent and you should see four results,
on the one that reads general.useragent.extra.seamonkey
depending on your version of Seamonkey it will have a value something like this: SeaMonkey/2.0.6

Double click on that value, and in the window that appears, change the value to this: SeaMonkey/2.0.6; Firefox/3.6.8
In other words, just add the ; Firefox/3.6.8 after whatever version is already there.

Close then restart Seamonkey, then go and visit hotmail, and see if it is any better. Wink

CatDude
.

_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
kevin bowers

Joined: 20 Dec 2009
Posts: 143

PostPosted: Sat 21 Aug 2010, 16:10    Post_subject: Seamonkey and Hotmail  

CatDude,

You're awesome! Simply fooling Hotmail into thinking you have the browser they want! Cool trick, thanks! I wonder if it'll work on my older boxes with Puppy 301 installed?

Edit: yes it does, at least back to Seamonkey 112. Gotta love it!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
CatDude


Joined: 03 Jan 2007
Posts: 1497
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun 22 Aug 2010, 10:36    Post_subject: Re: Seamonkey and Hotmail  

Hi

kevin bowers wrote:
You're awesome! Simply fooling Hotmail into thinking you have the browser they want! Cool trick, thanks!


I am glad that you found it useful,
unfortunately i discovered something that i was not keen on.

After making the change as outlined in my earlier post, hotmail was fine,
but when i went to do a google image search things where not as they normally are.

So i decided to undo the change and install this instead: User Agent Switcher

If you want to, you can get a more up to date list from this page
look for the line:
Direct download of user agent xml file

It is now just a case of switching the User Agent when i need to access hotmail (or any other stupid site Laughing ),
then switching back to the default User Agent when done.

CatDude
.

_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4391
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Sun 22 Aug 2010, 11:42    Post_subject: Undelete?  

Using http://startpage.com (I don't use google) I came upon a couple of discussions of Undelete methods, so far this seems the most user-friendly:
http://amadeus.uprm.edu/~undelete/u_friend.html

Is this available for Lucid 5.1?

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
timremy

Joined: 27 Jun 2009
Posts: 238

PostPosted: Mon 23 Aug 2010, 19:12    Post_subject: usb install
Sub_title: how
 

hello anyone

i installed lucid 5.10 on a dvd and it went ok. it worked.

then i thought i would try a usb. i went to the universal

installer and selected usb and followed the prompts like

i did with other distros. when i tried to run from the usb stick,

i get a message like not bootable.

is there a special way to run from a usb stick or can

someone show me where i went wrong??

thank you

timremy
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9260
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Mon 23 Aug 2010, 19:49    Post_subject:  

Read here.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
timremy

Joined: 27 Jun 2009
Posts: 238

PostPosted: Mon 23 Aug 2010, 21:25    Post_subject: usb
Sub_title: install
 

hello rcrsn51

perfect advice. thank you.


timremy
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
stu90


Joined: 25 Feb 2010
Posts: 1401
Location: England. Dell Inspiron 1501. Dpup

PostPosted: Tue 24 Aug 2010, 13:25    Post_subject:  

Cross post this into here in case anyone is interested Cool

Turn Lucid 5.1 in to a Home Media Center with Boxee in 4 easy steps:
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=59119
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
ragaman

Joined: 14 Jan 2007
Posts: 186

PostPosted: Wed 25 Aug 2010, 22:56    Post_subject:  

LUPU was one of the best pups released in terms of ease in use. However, everything went downhill once I installed the NVIDIA driver (173 for FX5500 Video Card). The screen flickered, window decoration became red and I lost the taskbar. No option for refresh rate was available in the screen resolution changer utility.

Using VESA, I uninstalled the NVIDIA driver then restarted. The desktop remained unchanged (flickering, window decoration red, no taskbar). Somehow, I couldn't roll back to the desktop I had before the NVIDIA driver was installed.

Solution was simple: Wipe the drive clean and install TEENPup.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
darkcity


Joined: 23 May 2010
Posts: 2479
Location: near here

PostPosted: Fri 27 Aug 2010, 11:07    Post_subject: Internet cuts out  

Still with puppy 5.1 the internet connection will stop working after a certain amount of time. Rebooting or going through setup again will usually get it back up. Im using a desktop athlon 1000Hz computer with a RealTek USB wireless stick. Any ideas?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4422
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Fri 27 Aug 2010, 11:35    Post_subject: Re: Internet cuts out  

darkcity wrote:
Still with puppy 5.1 the internet connection will stop working after a certain amount of time. Rebooting or going through setup again will usually get it back up. Im using a desktop athlon 1000Hz computer with a RealTek USB wireless stick. Any ideas?


The "Pwireless2 .pet" seems to be very stable on the different 5.1
versions I'm testing;

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?search_id=1039507558&t=48816

_________________

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 139 of 145 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 137, 138, 139, 140, 141, 142, 143, 144, 145 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1135s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0308s) ][ GZIP on ]