Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 21 Oct 2014, 14:33
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Lighthouse Pup 5.00 G 185M
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 10 of 46 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, ..., 44, 45, 46 Next
Author Message
Jim1911

Joined: 19 May 2008
Posts: 2457
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Mon 05 Jul 2010, 13:42    Post_subject:  

tazoc wrote:
I tried to compile the latest BibleTime 2.7 but kept getting errors like this one,
Code:
undefined reference to`ldap_sasl_bind@OPENLDAP_2.4_2'
even with all the dependencies installed. Might be a missing or mismatched header file or something. Some of the dependencies, ~35 packages in all, weren't available from Slackware so I went to Debian for some and Slack for others. Next time I'll try using everything from Debian, but it's much more time consuming that way as Debian and Ubuntu divide up many packages into numerous smaller ones.
I installed the 2.7.1 lucid packages from here over your Bibletime-2.5-1C.sfs and it's working fine. I believe that those files can be easily copied over to your sfs.

Cheers,
Jim
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Mon 05 Jul 2010, 16:44    Post_subject:  

I just saw the announcement of 500C (missed the one for B)
Is it worthwhile to go from A to C, or is the D very close for announcement and wait for it?

Also is it safe to migrate the save file from A to C(D) or is it better to start afresh?

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
tazoc


Joined: 11 Dec 2006
Posts: 1157
Location: Lower Columbia Basin WA US

PostPosted: Mon 05 Jul 2010, 17:26    Post_subject:  

@Jim1911,
Thanks for the link, yes 2.7 works from there and I'll upload an updated BibleTime SFS soon.

@Béèm,
I don't anticipate 5.00D for at least a couple of weeks. Save a copy of your 5A pupsave just in case, but it should be fine to upgrade to C. I usually start with a fresh pupsave for baseline testing, and most of my personal files are manually symlinked to, or copied over from a separate partition. If you have any problems with the qps process manager in Mariner or KDE 4, try this qps bugfix pet.
-TazOC

_________________
lhpup.org Lighthouse 64 6.02
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Mon 05 Jul 2010, 17:58    Post_subject:  

Thank you tazoc.
I just wanted to avoid to be in a lucid environment where all of a sudden every other day a new version is coming out.
Will go to C and when migrating I always make a copy of the old save file as a precaution.

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Ray

Joined: 28 Jan 2006
Posts: 32
Location: New Plymouth, New Zealand

PostPosted: Wed 07 Jul 2010, 00:41    Post_subject: Mariner 5.0C  

I have downloaded the latest Lighthouse Mariner iso, checksums match ok, burnt the iso to cd and tried to run on one of my spare computers, amd 64 Athlon 5600, 2gb ram. The boot starts and then the following message:

Loading isolinux Disk Error 80, ax=42E0, Drive 9F

Any suggestions as to how to make this work.

Ray
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
tazoc


Joined: 11 Dec 2006
Posts: 1157
Location: Lower Columbia Basin WA US

PostPosted: Wed 07 Jul 2010, 02:33    Post_subject:  

Ray wrote:
I have downloaded the latest Lighthouse Mariner iso, checksums match ok, burnt the iso to cd and tried to run on one of my spare computers, amd 64 Athlon 5600, 2gb ram. The boot starts and then the following message:
Loading isolinux Disk Error 80, ax=42E0, Drive 9F
Any suggestions as to how to make this work.
Ray
Hi Ray,
First, try burning with a Data CD-R, 700 MB / 80 min.; not a DVD and not an audio CD.

If you're in Linux, mount the CD on the computer that failed to boot and run click-to-verify-mariner right off the CD. It will take several minutes and if it gives any errors, then either the burn failed or your drive is unable to read the disc.

Try booting with the same CD on another computer. If that works, you may need to burn the disc at a slower speed, on the same computer you want to boot it with. In Puppy Linux go to: Menu > Multimedia > CD > Burniso2cd, (or Pburn.)

If you're in Windows, browse the CD in Explorer and verify that it has 17 files and open the file logo.png. It should display a dark blue image with a Lighthouse and LINUX in big letters. If the above doesn't match, re-burn the ISO, making sure to use the burn ISO image function, (burning the .iso file to a data layout won't work.) With Nero, go to "File" menu and select "Recorder > Burn Image (or use www.freeisoburner.com)

If you've already done the burn correctly, sometimes burning again with new blank CD-R at a slower speed will help.

Enter safe at the boot menu. That should get you to a command line, then type xorgwizard. If you're not getting to the boot menu, try another bootable CD-R such as an official Puppy CD to verify the drive is able to boot.

Hope that helps,
TazOC

_________________
lhpup.org Lighthouse 64 6.02
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Ray

Joined: 28 Jan 2006
Posts: 32
Location: New Plymouth, New Zealand

PostPosted: Wed 07 Jul 2010, 03:27    Post_subject:  

tazoc wrote:
Ray wrote:
I have downloaded the latest Lighthouse Mariner iso, checksums match ok, burnt the iso to cd and tried to run on one of my spare computers, amd 64 Athlon 5600, 2gb ram. The boot starts and then the following message:
Loading isolinux Disk Error 80, ax=42E0, Drive 9F
Any suggestions as to how to make this work.
Ray
Hi Ray,
First, try burning with a Data CD-R, 700 MB / 80 min.; not a DVD and not an audio CD.

If you're in Linux, mount the CD on the computer that failed to boot and run click-to-verify-mariner right off the CD. It will take several minutes and if it gives any errors, then either the burn failed or your drive is unable to read the disc.

Try booting with the same CD on another computer. If that works, you may need to burn the disc at a slower speed, on the same computer you want to boot it with. In Puppy Linux go to: Menu > Multimedia > CD > Burniso2cd, (or Pburn.)

If you're in Windows, browse the CD in Explorer and verify that it has 17 files and open the file logo.png. It should display a dark blue image with a Lighthouse and LINUX in big letters. If the above doesn't match, re-burn the ISO, making sure to use the burn ISO image function, (burning the .iso file to a data layout won't work.) With Nero, go to "File" menu and select "Recorder > Burn Image (or use www.freeisoburner.com)

If you've already done the burn correctly, sometimes burning again with new blank CD-R at a slower speed will help.

Enter safe at the boot menu. That should get you to a command line, then type xorgwizard. If you're not getting to the boot menu, try another bootable CD-R such as an official Puppy CD to verify the drive is able to boot.

Hope that helps,
TazOC

TazOC,

Thanks for the prompt reply. I have determined that it is probably a problem with the cd burn process (used Isoburn program). I have used the downloaded disk iso in my Vmware Workstation and it boots the livecd ok so there was nothing wrong with the download. The only problems were that a) it does not see and mount the virtual disk and b) I had to use the xorgwizard force x option (xorgwizard disappeared into the ether when I selected Probe).

I'll try a new burn using K3B and see whether I can get the liivecd to work on a spare computer although my main preference is to install as a virtual machine, I'm trying to reduce the number of computers I'm using - currently 5. I'll have a search through the forums for installing into Vmware Workstation (latest version 7.1).

I'll keep you posted on my success or failure. Thanks again.

Ray
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
tazoc


Joined: 11 Dec 2006
Posts: 1157
Location: Lower Columbia Basin WA US

PostPosted: Wed 07 Jul 2010, 12:47    Post_subject:  

Hi Ray,
Make sure that your burning software closes the session or burns as DAO (disc at once). CD-RW might not fit as the Mariner ISO is 684M and some drives are fussy about CD-RW and certain kinds of DVD/DVD-RW. For maximum compatibility as I noted earlier use an 80 min Data CD-R, ideally burned on the same drive you want to boot from.

I haven't used VMWare, but with VirtualBox I also must choose the vesa driver to get X running in Lighthouse. Once LHP is up and running in a virtual machine, it is necessary to unmount the CD-ROM in Lighthouse with Pmount Drives or other method, before using VirtualBox or VMWare to mount a different ISO. Be sure that copy2ram is in effect when booting in a VM (if your VM has at least 512 MB allotted it should do so by default. Don't use safe or nocopy at the boot menu when booting in a VM as the CD-Drive will not be able to unmount.
TazOC

_________________
lhpup.org Lighthouse 64 6.02
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Capt-CDD


Joined: 28 Aug 2008
Posts: 6
Location: 7 MM Lake of the Ozarks MO. USA

PostPosted: Wed 07 Jul 2010, 16:20    Post_subject: Slackware  

Tazoc,
First and foremost I want to thank you for your great work. I have been using LH since the 5.0A release and it is my favorite pup by far!

I noticed in the 5.0c release that we were supposed to be able to get slackware straight from the repositories with dependencies through PPM. That would have solved a big problem for me as I needed; blueman, a bluetooth manger for my head set setup for SIP. When I went in to PPM it came up with the regular puppy selections. I tried to add Slackware 1.13 but it did download the database files, but it did not give me a slackware selection. I tried to follow Barry's guide to editing DISTRO_PET_REPOS, DISTRO_COMPAT_REPOS, and DISTRO_SPECS but could not understand exactly what I was to edit and with what URLs and/or info.

So my questions are two fold. 1. should the Slackware have come up automagically in 5.0C. I did upgrade from 5.0B so did not know if I needed to start fresh or what.

2. If I do still have to edit the files above could someone explain it I in a little simpler terms. I have been a puppy user for years and hence have followed Barry's directions many times in the past but this time I just don't comprehend what I'm supposed to do.

Oh and I did install Blueman from GSLAP but it failed on load I suspect due to depenedencies. All I got was flie/directory does not exist.

If I can't resolve this, any recommendations for another bluetooth audio manager and good softphone application would also be appreciated..

Thanks again for a top shelf Distro! Lighthouse 5.0C is super!!!

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Wed 07 Jul 2010, 16:30    Post_subject: first install 500C  

Finally could take the time to frugally install 500C.
First nice surprise: no need anymore for nocopy. LH loads fully in memory now (was not the case with 500A)
Second surprise: desktop drive icons retain the size information even with the Belgian locale configures from the beginning.

So this is a good start to continue testing.

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Wed 07 Jul 2010, 18:12    Post_subject:  

When hovering with the mouse over the xload in the system tray, like in 500A, the cpu freq is 0,000 GHz.
I know I got the reply that sometimes icewm doesn't display the cpu freq there, but hoped the issue was solved.
I know conky displays correctly, but as I have a small screen, conky is always covered.
Still hoping for improvement.

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
CLAM01

Joined: 22 May 2010
Posts: 79

PostPosted: Wed 07 Jul 2010, 18:50    Post_subject:
Sub_title: Frequency Scaling
 

Béèm,
Frequency monitoring has to be set up manually: Right-click the desktop for the menu, go to utility and all the way to the top in the submenu. Five down is CPU Frequency Scaling Tool. Left-click to open and sset it up, your frequency will appear in the box when you mouse-over.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Thu 08 Jul 2010, 15:01    Post_subject:
Sub_title: Frequency Scaling
 

CLAM01 wrote:
Béèm,
Frequency monitoring has to be set up manually: Right-click the desktop for the menu, go to utility and all the way to the top in the submenu. Five down is CPU Frequency Scaling Tool. Left-click to open and sset it up, your frequency will appear in the box when you mouse-over.
Thank you, that did it.
_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
tazoc


Joined: 11 Dec 2006
Posts: 1157
Location: Lower Columbia Basin WA US

PostPosted: Thu 08 Jul 2010, 22:02    Post_subject: Re: Slackware  

Capt-CDD wrote:
I noticed in the 5.0c release that we were supposed to be able to get slackware straight from the repositories with dependencies through PPM. That would have solved a big problem for me as I needed; blueman, a bluetooth manger for my head set setup for SIP. When I went in to PPM it came up with the regular puppy selections. I tried to add Slackware 1.13 but it did download the database files, but it did not give me a slackware selection. I tried to follow Barry's guide to editing DISTRO_PET_REPOS, DISTRO_COMPAT_REPOS, and DISTRO_SPECS but could not understand exactly what I was to edit and with what URLs and/or info.

So my questions are two fold. 1. should the Slackware have come up automagically in 5.0C. I did upgrade from 5.0B so did not know if I needed to start fresh or what.
Yes, with a clean install of 5.00 C, slackware-13.1-official, slackware-13.1-slacky, puppy-woof and puppy-wary repos are preset on first open of PPM. This feature is new for 5.00 C. You could boot with pfix=ram and try it out.

The scripts in /usr/local/petget and the files in /root/.packages were updated. Possibly they were not updated by the upgrade mechanism from B to C. However even with a clean install, PPM is not perfect, for instance, the Quirky repo is selected, but not available in both LHP 5.00C and the latest SlackPup, so this is work in progress. I submitted that bug on the Slackpup 0.3 Beta bugs thread.
Quote:
2. If I do still have to edit the files above could someone explain it I in a little simpler terms. I have been a puppy user for years and hence have followed Barry's directions many times in the past but this time I just don't comprehend what I'm supposed to do.
I hesitate to recommend a fix I haven't fully tested myself, so backup your pupsave first. Then copy over the 5 files named with ALL_CAPS in the 5.00C main file's /root/.packages into /root/.packages, and maybe all the scripts in /usr/local/petget to /usr/local/petget. If you have a frugal install, these are at /initrd/pup_ro2/root/.packages and /initrd/pup_ro2/usr/local/petget.
Quote:
Oh and I did install Blueman from GSLAP but it failed on load I suspect due to depenedencies. All I got was flie/directory does not exist.

If I can't resolve this, any recommendations for another bluetooth audio manager and good softphone application would also be appreciated..
I received python import errors even with blueman, bluez, bluez-hcidump and libglade installed from Slack repos via PPM. I will keep working on this and let you know if and when I get it to run without errors, although I don't have any bluetooth hardware to fully test it with.

Mariner 5C has a relative symlink named python to python2.5 in /usr/bin/. You can change it to point to python2.6 in ROX-Filer or by pasting this into a terminal:
Code:
ln -snf /usr/bin/python2.6 /usr/bin/python
however I'm still getting import errors after that switch when typing blueman-applet or blueman-manager in a terminal. If switching to python2.6 breaks anything,
Code:
ln -snf /usr/bin/python2.5 /usr/bin/python
will switch back.
Quote:
Thanks again for a top shelf Distro! Lighthouse 5.0C is super!!!
You're welcome, I use Lighthouse myself almost all day, almost every day. It's a lot of work, researching, incorporating and testing updates and fixing bugs, but when it works better than before, it's a good feeling. I learn something every day; for instance, one simple change often has unforeseen consequences! I'm lucky if some of my work is helpful to others, just as many others' work is invaluable to mine.
-TazOC

_________________
lhpup.org Lighthouse 64 6.02
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Fri 09 Jul 2010, 07:47    Post_subject: National Language Keyboard (Belgim) support in wine not ok  

I did choose the be-latin1 keyboard. I also did choose the be one for xkbd.

In native mode (geany etc...) I have no problems with the accented characters and dead key support.

But in wine, I have no accented characters and ê displays as ^e and ô as ^o.

In lucid I have no problems in wine, so I have the impression that LightHouse is to be incriminated.

Any idea if a correction is possible?

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 10 of 46 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, ..., 44, 45, 46 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1256s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0199s) ][ GZIP on ]