Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 22 Sep 2014, 00:37
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Fluppy 013
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 8 of 133 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, ..., 131, 132, 133 Next
Author Message
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Wed 09 Jun 2010, 08:36    Post_subject:  

I will add CONFIG_B43_FORCE_PIO to the next kernel and see if that will fix it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Roy

Joined: 31 Dec 2008
Posts: 442

PostPosted: Wed 09 Jun 2010, 21:53    Post_subject:  

Thanks!

Looking forward to trying it.

-Roy
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
JustGreg

Joined: 24 May 2005
Posts: 675
Location: Connecticut USA

PostPosted: Thu 10 Jun 2010, 19:18    Post_subject:
Sub_title: Fluppy 002 and Intel Classmate
 

I have an Intel Classmate with a 800 by 480 (7 inch) screen, Celeron 900 MHz processor, 512 Mbytes of ram and 2 Gbyte USB flash drive. Fluppy install correctly and runs. I did find the battery monitor did not work correctly. It detected the use of AC power, but, did not show the correct battery condition. The monitor has the battery discharged at all times and not charging. I also tried Lucid Puppy 5.0 and the battery monitor with Lucid worked correctly. The battery was charging properly.

I do not think the issue of the Classmate and battery monitor is a major one and needs to be fixed. In case of the Classmate and its small keyboard, I can only use it for a limited period before I give up typing and go to hunt and peck. This post is to tell how Fluppy works on different hardware.

_________________
Enjoy life, Just Greg
Live Well, Laugh Often, Love Much
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Thu 10 Jun 2010, 19:26    Post_subject:  

Out of curiousity what are the contents of /proc/acpi/battery/BAT0/state?

There is a script in /root/Startup that decides whether to run vattery or vattery-old-version. Vattery-old-version works in some cases where the battery reports unexpected things, so you could try running it and see if that fixes it and I can adjust the script if it works.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
JustGreg

Joined: 24 May 2005
Posts: 675
Location: Connecticut USA

PostPosted: Thu 10 Jun 2010, 20:22    Post_subject:
Sub_title: Classmte Battery Solved?
 

I checked /proc/acpi/battery/BAT0/state and found there is no BAT0 directory. However, there is a BAT1 directory with all the information. So the problem is the Vattery is looking in wrong directory. Will the vattery-old look at the correct directory?

Yes, I have tried both vattery an vattery-old-version in console terminal window. The vattery-old-version fails with an error saying no BAT0 directory. The vattery program just reports the battery is discharge due to the lack of the information. This is a ClassMate specific issue to me since everything else has BAT0.

_________________
Enjoy life, Just Greg
Live Well, Laugh Often, Love Much
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Thu 10 Jun 2010, 20:50    Post_subject:  

That is pretty weird. I don't think either vattery is setup for that. I bet acpitool can figure it out, try 'acpitool -B'. At some point I should make a SuperVattery that tries all the methods.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
JustGreg

Joined: 24 May 2005
Posts: 675
Location: Connecticut USA

PostPosted: Thu 10 Jun 2010, 22:53    Post_subject:
Sub_title: acpitool is cool
 

yes, jemimah, acpitool does work. If acpitool -b is used then the information is all on one line to the std output. With acpitool -B, one gets multiple lines of output.. I tried to make a symlink from BAT1 to BAT0, but, the proc directory will not allow it. Something to think about in the future.

I did play with acpitool. It is neat. It provides a lot of information.

_________________
Enjoy life, Just Greg
Live Well, Laugh Often, Love Much
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 2161
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Fri 11 Jun 2010, 19:30    Post_subject:  

jemimah,

Just trying out fluppy 002 in my newish laptop. Same problem with Roy - wireless firmware is not there (I copy from quirky), it's not extracted automatically (I untarrred myself). Apart from that, everything seems to be in order Very Happy

Thanks!

_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13.
Contributed Fatdog64 packages thread
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
smokey01


Joined: 30 Dec 2006
Posts: 1818
Location: South Australia

PostPosted: Sat 12 Jun 2010, 00:50    Post_subject:  

jemimah, fluppy is just brilliant on my kogan netbook.

Up until fluppy I couldn't be bothered using it but now I use it quite often. Many thanks.

Are you aware of any scheduling or planning software that will work with puppy? Osmo is nice but it doesn't seem to have a planning function. I would like something simple. It doesn't have to be as complex as MS Project. I did see something called ganttpv but I'm not sure if it works on puppy.

Regards

Smokey

_________________
Puppy Software <-> Distros <-> Puppy Linux Tips
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Sat 12 Jun 2010, 10:14    Post_subject:  

smokey01 wrote:

Are you aware of any scheduling or planning software that will work with puppy? Osmo is nice but it doesn't seem to have a planning function. I would like something simple. It doesn't have to be as complex as MS Project. I did see something called ganttpv but I'm not sure if it works on puppy.


Ganntpv needs python - which I don't think I want to add to the base install. Technosaurus made a python pet a while ago that seems to work quite well so you could probably get it to work with a little effort.

I did spend the better part of a day a few months ago looking for something like this in the Puppy size range, but came up negative. Most of the suggestions online were for cloud based services. Sad
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
gronos04

Joined: 30 Dec 2006
Posts: 54
Location: Radfordia QLD

PostPosted: Sat 12 Jun 2010, 13:53    Post_subject:  

Hi Jemimah
Have been running fluppy002 for a few days on my Panasonic Toughbook cf-18

As with a number of others
Quote:

Same problem with Roy - wireless firmware is not there (I copy from quirky), it's not extracted automatically (I untarrred myself).

Wireless is - ipw2200: Intel(R) PRO/Wireless 2200/2915 Network Driver, 1.2.2kmpr
Suspend works from terminal but not from gui.
Touch screen setup is no go but that could be for any number of reasons which I haven't investigated yet.
Did the z cutter business but had no noticeable decrease in boot up time. Will get the stop watch.
Installed skype and qt 3.3.8 . No dependencies missing but it takes 35 seconds to open then fails to log me in. So something is busted there will investigate that also.
I find this a very polished puplet with a number of innovative ideas and plenty of useful applications.

Warren
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Sat 12 Jun 2010, 16:03    Post_subject:  

gronos04 wrote:
Hi Jemimah
Have been running fluppy002 for a few days on my Panasonic Toughbook cf-18

As with a number of others
Quote:

Same problem with Roy - wireless firmware is not there (I copy from quirky), it's not extracted automatically (I untarrred myself).

Wireless is - ipw2200: Intel(R) PRO/Wireless 2200/2915 Network Driver, 1.2.2kmpr
Suspend works from terminal but not from gui.
Touch screen setup is no go but that could be for any number of reasons which I haven't investigated yet.
Did the z cutter business but had no noticeable decrease in boot up time. Will get the stop watch.
Installed skype and qt 3.3.8 . No dependencies missing but it takes 35 seconds to open then fails to log me in. So something is busted there will investigate that also.
I find this a very polished puplet with a number of innovative ideas and plenty of useful applications.

Warren


The zdrive cutter will only shave a off a few seconds, this is noticeable in Puppeee, which can boot in 10 or 15 seconds if tuned, but probably not in Fluppy. The main advantage for Fluppy is that it'll probably chop 15MB of the size of the zdrive.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
smokey01


Joined: 30 Dec 2006
Posts: 1818
Location: South Australia

PostPosted: Sat 12 Jun 2010, 17:09    Post_subject:  

jemimah wrote:


Ganntpv needs python - which I don't think I want to add to the base install. Technosaurus made a python pet a while ago that seems to work quite well so you could probably get it to work with a little effort.

I did spend the better part of a day a few months ago looking for something like this in the Puppy size range, but came up negative. Most of the suggestions online were for cloud based services. Sad


I did find GanttProject which is very nice and I got it to work. It does need JRE which is 36M and it is about 9.5M so a bit large. I guess if you already have OO + JRE installed then it's not so much to add but definitely not recommended as part the the puppy suite.

It is a nice package though.

_________________
Puppy Software <-> Distros <-> Puppy Linux Tips
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
TomRhymer

Joined: 18 Sep 2009
Posts: 95

PostPosted: Sat 12 Jun 2010, 19:42    Post_subject: Boot error problem  

I just found out something about the 'boot error' problem. It's not just with the save file, adding any file to the flash drive after install causes it. This happens if you add a file either in Linux or using Windows. Rerunning the Bootinst program fixes it, but any time you add a file, you need to rerun it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Sun 13 Jun 2010, 23:17    Post_subject:  

Fluppy03 has been posted. Hopefully all the firmware is there now.

This also has the Xorg upgrade I did for Puppeee. This will enable PineTrail chipsets to workl, and some other cool features. All Xorg drivers are now installed.

I also added the acerhdf module and the nvidia module to the kernel.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 8 of 133 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, ..., 131, 132, 133 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0928s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0138s) ][ GZIP on ]