Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 21 Oct 2014, 15:08
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Fluppy 013
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 84 of 133 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, ..., 131, 132, 133 Next
Author Message
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4379
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Thu 06 Jan 2011, 17:00    Post_subject:  

nooby wrote:
You only need a new partition for Fluppy if you have to do Full install.

I use Fluppy on a netbook with three partitions that the manufactor Acer out there all in NTFS and the Sda3 or (hd0,2) is the one I use for many frugal installs.

I made use of Shinobar's describtion on how to use grub4dosconfig to get a dual boot going.


How did you create the third partition?

I cannot get gparted to show the two NTFS MS partitions so I cannot move things around.

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
magerlab

Joined: 08 Jul 2007
Posts: 731

PostPosted: Thu 06 Jan 2011, 17:15    Post_subject:  

ended up for now with scripts from archlinux wiki
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Samsung_N150
fn keys are still not seen,but i use alt and arrows instead in xbinkeys

noticed that parole plugin starts but can not play anything

tried beryl sfs (from nov 17) just for fun Smile
surprisingly it works (the wm) but cairo-dock crashes
played a bit with my daughter with cube Smile

_________________
skype: desafimager
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
CLAM01

Joined: 22 May 2010
Posts: 79

PostPosted: Thu 06 Jan 2011, 20:07    Post_subject: New Microsoft Primary Partitions  

edoc,

When you buy a computer with a factory install single Microsoft partition on its disk the Microsoft operating system owns the disk (unless there is a tiny vendor's maintenance partition). The Microsoft operating system puts files in the first tracks and in the last tracks. It marks both to stake its territory.

If you do not want the Microsoft operating system at all, start gparted and re-format the whole disk.

If you want the Microsoft partition, but smaller, start Microsoft as Administrator and use Microsoft's shrinking tool. Instructions are in the MS help files.

If you want your Microsoft partition still smaller, shrink, then re-install the Microsoft operating system using the recovery disks, then shrink using the Micorsoft tool again. You can do this a couple of times, causing Microsof to eliminate space it reserves for file recovery.

With Microsoft shrunk, shut down, start with Linux, start gparted, or other, and do what you want with the free space.

Microsoft does not want non-Microsoft programs moving things in its OS partition, so it prevents them being able to. Microsoft does not want people to blow MS completely off their computers for not being able to shrink it, so they made their own tool. They compromised. Their tool is proprietary and MS-specific, and works great with MS. With it there is no need for Linux partitioner developers to waste time hacking MS to figure out how to set and unset MS space-markers.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
maxpro4u


Joined: 19 Jun 2010
Posts: 290
Location: Rittman,Ohio,USA, In dog years,I'm dead

PostPosted: Thu 06 Jan 2011, 20:42    Post_subject:  

magerlab wrote:
ended up for now with scripts from archlinux wiki
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Samsung_N150
fn keys are still not seen,but i use alt and arrows instead in xbinkeys


Try changing the keyboard using the wizard. What happened when you used bindkeys in the control panel?

_________________
Dell D610 1.7M w/1024mb
Testing Slacko and a few others
I'm Max Wachtel and I approve this message.
Registered Linux User #393236
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website YIM MSNM 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4379
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Thu 06 Jan 2011, 21:10    Post_subject:  

Thanks CLAM01!

I had never run into that with a MS install before - it is good info.

Shame on MS for being so monopolistic - and for hardware vendors selling-out to them - so much for user-choice. Sigh.

I will get about the business of relegating the MS-install to it's rightful corner and dunce cap ... if WINE were less of a nuisance I'd wipe the MS install entirely.

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 2227
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Thu 06 Jan 2011, 22:36    Post_subject:  

edoc,

My netbook also comes with Windows 7 Starter - I wish I could buy a blank netbook or with Linux, so I don't have to pay the MS tax, but they don't have it here ...

I didn't get the chance to try Fluppy's gparted to resize MS partition on my netbook because Fluppy crashed before it even booted (I managed to fix this later as discussed in earlier pages of this thread).

I think Fluppy's gparted failure to detect your MS partition is because it is rather old (based on puppy 4.3.1). For my case, I used Fatdog64's gparted instead. It works to resize the NTFS partition - you don't need to do it from Windows. If your machine is not 64-bit capable, you can try gparted from any other newer puppies also.

For me, I had 3 partition there: the "recovery partition", the "boot" partition, and the "OS partition". Don't touch the first two. You will know the OS partition because it's the largest one (and usually the last one).

What you need to do is:
a) boot to Windows and do the necessary setup first (don't connect to Internet if you don't want to). Let the process run into finish, and watch in amusement how many re-boots are required to setup a supposedly pre-installed operating system ... but avoid the temptation to cut short the process. Why do this? This to ensure that Windows is properly installed, that it has decompressed any system files it needs, so that it has taken the harddisk space that it requires to run. If you're adventurous, you can try to trim it and uninstall the bloatware craps that usually come pre-installed, otherwise leave it there - you won't bother with it anymore anyway.

b) The boot the puppy OS, run gparted, and resize the OS partition to a reasonable size (ie, a couple of GBs over the currently used space).

c) Create an extended partition which covers the entire free space freed by b) above. The benefit of doing this rather than going straight to d) is that later on, you can split the partition into two or more partitions if you wish. If you don't create an extended partition, you can't split it because the maximum number of partition (4) has been reached. (Remember the partitioning scheme is still based on the same scheme devised 30 years ago for 10 MB harddisk ...)

d) Create an ext3 (or ext2 or ext4 or any other partition as you wish) in this extended partition.

e) Install Fluppy

f) Optional - you can access the ext2/3/4 you created in d) from Windows if you want to. Here's how: Boot to Windows, and install the ext2 filesystem driver here:
Main code - install this first http://www.ext2fsd.com/?p=19
Patches from Bo Branten here http://branten.se/nt/. With this, sharing data from puppy / Windows is a snap. That's also the reason you shouldn't allocate too much extra space for Windows in step b).

HTH, cheers!

_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13.
Contributed Fatdog64 packages thread
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4379
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Thu 06 Jan 2011, 23:04    Post_subject:  

Are you booting Fatdog64 on your netbook or are you saying that the Fatdog64 gparted will work in Fluppy?

This is a used MSI so the MS install was already there.

I only see two partitions on the desktop. 100MB (Syetem Reserved) and 149GB (everything else).

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 2227
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Fri 07 Jan 2011, 00:21    Post_subject:  

edoc wrote:
Are you booting Fatdog64 on your netbook or are you saying that the Fatdog64 gparted will work in Fluppy?

I'm booting Fatdog64 in my netbook (Atom N450 is 64bit-capable). When I said "use gparted from other puppies" - what I mean is to boot those other puppies and use the gparted available there. Not direct copying of their gparteds to Fluppy.
Quote:
This is a used MSI so the MS install was already there.

I only see two partitions on the desktop. 100MB (Syetem Reserved) and 149GB (everything else).


It's ok, that means you don't have the "online recovery partition". This "recovery" partition usually only exist if the laptop maker doesn't ship recovery CD (to save costs). If that's the case you can skip the step c) (creation of extended partition) if you wish, because you still have 1 more slot for additional partition later.

_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13.
Contributed Fatdog64 packages thread
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
106498

Joined: 18 Nov 2007
Posts: 250
Location: NZ

PostPosted: Fri 07 Jan 2011, 01:05    Post_subject:  

FINALLY!!!!!!!

I have tracked down what was causing fluppy to temporarily freeze (and other recent puppies too) on my Toshiba nb200.

Well, I don't really know. But I do know how to fix it! You have to disable the tickless feature of the kernel. This apparently could increase power usage and temperatures a little. But it is a price that I will have to pay for now, I guess.

In your bootloader (e.g. grub or grub4dos) add the following kernel option:
Code:
processor.max_cstate=1

Also this option is recommended to improve power saving:
Code:
usbcore.autosuspend=1


My grub4dos entry looks like this now:
Code:

title fluppy 009
  find --set-root --ignore-floppies /fluppy/initrd.gz
  kernel /fluppy/vmlinuz pmedia=atahd psubdir=fluppy processor.max_cstate=1 usbcore.autosuspend=1
  initrd /fluppy/initrd.gz


Got this info from http://www.linlap.com/wiki/toshiba+nb200

_________________
An expert is just a beginner with experience.
Shamelessly representing TdeM!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Fri 07 Jan 2011, 08:38    Post_subject: Re: Testing Fluppy on Toshiba Satellite L305
Sub_title: Fluppy on Toshiba Satellite L305
 

tlcstat wrote:
Greetings,
Thanks for a great disto (fluppy 10). I don't have a netbook but it runs better than any puppy I've tried so far. Currently using it on a Toshiba Satellite L305. Thing that got me to testing Fluppy is the fact that it had bluetooth and I like using my bt mouse. At this point I have loaded the OpenOffice.sfs, the Google Chrome Stable.deb off of their site (I had to copy a link to the desktop from /opt/google/chrome, Kompozer, Nero Linux 4, medibuntu, gpfind, firefox (pet). My Motorola Quantico tethers just fine using the PupDial and of course I preload the modprobe usbserial instructions for internet. Still trying to get DVD95Converter to run (library problem). And I haven't tried bluetooth dialup with my phone yet. Will keep you posted. O' yes I'm booting puppy from my Ubuntu Maverick ext4 partition. Puppy is the first linux system I was able to get working until I found Ubuntu over a year ago. Ubuntu let me get weaned from M$. I've been 100% Linux for over a year. My wife is all Linux except for Quicken running in wine. Anyway its nice to have a really great Puppy to work with. If I can get all of my apps going I may just switch full time.
Thanks
tlcstat


There is a google chrome sfs linked in the first post that might be better.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Fri 07 Jan 2011, 08:41    Post_subject:  

magerlab wrote:
ended up for now with scripts from archlinux wiki
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Samsung_N150
fn keys are still not seen,but i use alt and arrows instead in xbinkeys

noticed that parole plugin starts but can not play anything

tried beryl sfs (from nov 17) just for fun Smile
surprisingly it works (the wm) but cairo-dock crashes
played a bit with my daughter with cube Smile


Yeah, I'm switching out the parole plugin for mozplugger that opens the real parole - that seems to work better.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Fri 07 Jan 2011, 08:44    Post_subject:  

jamesbond wrote:
.
I think Fluppy's gparted failure to detect your MS partition is because it is rather old (based on puppy 4.3.1). For my case, I used Fatdog64's gparted instead. It works to resize the NTFS partition - you don't need to do it from Windows. If your machine is not 64-bit capable, you can try gparted from any other newer puppies also.


It's not the gparted from 4.3.1, it's Technosaurus' 4.4 build. Anyhoo, I've updated both Gparted and Libparted for the next release.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4379
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Fri 07 Jan 2011, 13:14    Post_subject:  

Not to rush you, I can't imagine how you keep the pace that you do, but just wondering when Fluppy 11 is due ... approximately.

I need to plan my time to update the 7 computers that I manage.

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
maxpro4u


Joined: 19 Jun 2010
Posts: 290
Location: Rittman,Ohio,USA, In dog years,I'm dead

PostPosted: Fri 07 Jan 2011, 14:21    Post_subject:
Sub_title: samba for fluppy
 

I installed shinobar's samba-3.0.26-3.sfs to my full install of fluppy.
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=483453#483453

It works fine but now the extended partition icons on my desktop are gone Shocked

_________________
Dell D610 1.7M w/1024mb
Testing Slacko and a few others
I'm Max Wachtel and I approve this message.
Registered Linux User #393236
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website YIM MSNM 
BHINTZ

Joined: 08 Aug 2006
Posts: 143

PostPosted: Fri 07 Jan 2011, 15:42    Post_subject: VirtualBox  

Has anyone gotten VirtualBox to work in Fluppy?

I get the following message:

Kernel driver not installed (rc=-1908)

The VirtualBox Linux kernel driver (vboxdrv) is either not loaded or there is a permission problem with /dev/vboxdrv. Please reinstall the kernel module by executing

'/etc/init.d/vboxdrv setup'

as root. Users of Ubuntu, Fedora or Mandriva should install the DKMS package first. This package keeps track of Linux kernel changes and recompiles the vboxdrv kernel module if necessary.

When I attempt to run that command, nothing happens. This is the only thing that has not worked so far in using Fluppy.

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 84 of 133 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, ..., 131, 132, 133 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1249s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0267s) ][ GZIP on ]