Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 01 Aug 2014, 10:10
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Fluppy 013
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 86 of 133 [1983 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, ..., 131, 132, 133 Next
Author Message
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Sun 09 Jan 2011, 11:02    Post subject:  

edoc wrote:
Not to rush you, I can't imagine how you keep the pace that you do, but just wondering when Fluppy 11 is due ... approximately.

I need to plan my time to update the 7 computers that I manage.


Within the next couple of days I guess.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
dawnsboy


Joined: 03 Dec 2008
Posts: 248
Location: Indiana - Republic of New Canada

PostPosted: Sun 09 Jan 2011, 11:27    Post subject: No USB on Acer Aspire
Subject description: No usb mouse, external drives or web cam
 

I recently purchased a new Acer Aspire One D255 netbook with Windows XP Home pre-installed. It features the Intel Atom N450 1.66GHz processor, 1GB RAM, 160GB HDD, with webcam, GMA 3150 video adapter. The Windows XP was already optimized for the environment and runs pretty well. So naturally I wanted to put Fluppy on it.

I defragged the hard drive and used gparted to shrink it. I created a new partition at the end of the drive and formatted it for use with Linux. I initially setup the install with Lucid 5.1 as this is the only version of Puppy that will boot from the external (usb) cd. I manually installed Fluppy 010 afterwards.

Fluppy boots just fine. All of the initial setup options were already reflected in the initial boot dialogue. The desktop and selection of applications found in the menu (I scrolled through the menu using the windows key and the arrow keys) look good.

Here is the problem. Fluppy does not detect my external usb mouse, the touchpad, the webcam or any item that I may plug into a usb port such as the cd drive or usb flash drive. I noticed that essentially the same issue exists in Lucid 5.2.


Is there anything I can do about this problem?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2606
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Sun 09 Jan 2011, 11:59    Post subject: firstrun-1.7  

ANNOUNCE: Updated firstrun-1.7
/usr/sbin/countrywizard.qs
Fix change_xrandr was crash with multiple monitors
It does not support 'qc'(Quebec). You can add the entry in the /usr/share/i18n/keymaps as jemimah found.
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=58312

_________________
Google Chrome portable
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
magerlab

Joined: 08 Jul 2007
Posts: 731

PostPosted: Sun 09 Jan 2011, 12:23    Post subject:  

i'd like to if new fluppy goes too far from 10 version:)

on eee pc 701 i used puppeee upgrade with the same savefile
and it worked ok

new osd and gtk(?) notifications are looking good

_________________
skype: desafimager
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Sun 09 Jan 2011, 17:38    Post subject: Re: No USB on Acer Aspire
Subject description: No usb mouse, external drives or web cam
 

dawnsboy wrote:
I recently purchased a new Acer Aspire One D255 netbook with Windows XP Home pre-installed. It features the Intel Atom N450 1.66GHz processor, 1GB RAM, 160GB HDD, with webcam, GMA 3150 video adapter. The Windows XP was already optimized for the environment and runs pretty well. So naturally I wanted to put Fluppy on it.

I defragged the hard drive and used gparted to shrink it. I created a new partition at the end of the drive and formatted it for use with Linux. I initially setup the install with Lucid 5.1 as this is the only version of Puppy that will boot from the external (usb) cd. I manually installed Fluppy 010 afterwards.

Fluppy boots just fine. All of the initial setup options were already reflected in the initial boot dialogue. The desktop and selection of applications found in the menu (I scrolled through the menu using the windows key and the arrow keys) look good.

Here is the problem. Fluppy does not detect my external usb mouse, the touchpad, the webcam or any item that I may plug into a usb port such as the cd drive or usb flash drive. I noticed that essentially the same issue exists in Lucid 5.2.


Is there anything I can do about this problem?


I think it's maybe usb3.0. I'll poke around in the kernel and see if that's something I can just turn on.

Edit: Yeah it is. Hopefully Fluppy011 will work then. Smile

Last edited by jemimah on Sun 09 Jan 2011, 17:46; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Sun 09 Jan 2011, 17:40    Post subject:  

magerlab wrote:
i'd like to if new fluppy goes too far from 10 version:)

on eee pc 701 i used puppeee upgrade with the same savefile
and it worked ok

new osd and gtk(?) notifications are looking good


I think it should be ok. Make backups as always.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
dawnsboy


Joined: 03 Dec 2008
Posts: 248
Location: Indiana - Republic of New Canada

PostPosted: Sun 09 Jan 2011, 17:58    Post subject: Re: No USB on Acer Aspire
Subject description: No usb mouse, external drives or web cam
 

Jemimah wrote:

Quote:
I think it's maybe usb3.0. I'll poke around in the kernel and see if that's something I can just turn on.

Edit: Yeah it is. Hopefully Fluppy011 will work then. Smile


Yeah is right. Very Happy

I will test Fluppy011 as soon as it is available.

Thank you very much Jemimah.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Sun 09 Jan 2011, 18:23    Post subject:  

dawnsboy, I ahve both same machine as you have but also the older? D250 and I use Fluppy 8, 9, amd 10 on that one with usb mouse and I write from it now.

But the D255 are much more "touchy" and nervous? but as I remember it did actually accept to use usv mouse. I tested two different makes on it.

Dell and Labtec.

Do you have them attached when you boot up?

Ooops I do frugal boot and you have a full install. Maybe Jemimah knows if that change how it respond to hardware during the script or BIOS doing post? Late at night here so I go silent. Smile

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dawnsboy


Joined: 03 Dec 2008
Posts: 248
Location: Indiana - Republic of New Canada

PostPosted: Sun 09 Jan 2011, 22:09    Post subject:  

Actually I did a frugal install. The mouse was the least of my worries as the touchpad, webcam and usb ports do not work with Fluppy010. I was able to test touchpad and external mouse simply by attempting to use them. Flash drives plugged into usb ports were not detected. I checked the webcam by pressing the windows key which caused the icewm menu to popup. From there I used the arrow keys to start the webcam application. It reported an error and could not find the webcam.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Mon 10 Jan 2011, 00:45    Post subject:  

dawnsboy , we have to ask Jemimah about it. I know too little.
_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
maxpro4u


Joined: 19 Jun 2010
Posts: 290
Location: Rittman,Ohio,USA, In dog years,I'm dead

PostPosted: Mon 10 Jan 2011, 08:30    Post subject:
Subject description: full install
 

I just tried to do a full install from a remastered fluppy10 CD. The cd boots fine and runs well but when I tried to install it- upon reboot the boot stalls with "sh-3.00". Does anyone know what that means?
_________________
Dell D610 1.7M w/1024mb
Testing Slacko and a few others
I'm Max Wachtel and I approve this message.
Registered Linux User #393236
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Mon 10 Jan 2011, 08:35    Post subject:  

What type of install is it? How far did it get before hanging?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
maxpro4u


Joined: 19 Jun 2010
Posts: 290
Location: Rittman,Ohio,USA, In dog years,I'm dead

PostPosted: Mon 10 Jan 2011, 08:55    Post subject:
Subject description: full install
 

jemimah wrote:
What type of install is it? How far did it get before hanging?


Full install-it stalled right at the beginning with "sh-3.00". I already deleted the full install and did a manual frugal install and am using it now to post with but I can try another full install. I did a full install the other day using the regular fluppy10 cd and it worked fine.

_________________
Dell D610 1.7M w/1024mb
Testing Slacko and a few others
I'm Max Wachtel and I approve this message.
Registered Linux User #393236
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Mon 10 Jan 2011, 12:37    Post subject:  

on one old HP/Compaq I had both full install and frugal install and that way I could boot into the frugal to ask things and then go back to the full and test out the suggestions forum members had.

Take very little space to have a say 1GB of frugal install? Smile

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Mon 10 Jan 2011, 18:10    Post subject:  

edoc wrote:
nooby wrote:
You only need a new partition for Fluppy if you have to do Full install.

I use Fluppy on a netbook with three partitions that the manufactor Acer out there all in NTFS and the Sda3 or (hd0,2) is the one I use for many frugal installs.

I made use of Shinobar's describtion on how to use grub4dosconfig to get a dual boot going.


How did you create the third partition?

I cannot get gparted to show the two NTFS MS partitions so I cannot move things around.


Sorry I noticed your question today.

I trust the Acer or OME did it unless Jolicloud wubi install did it? I do have only two partitions on my Acer D255 which I bout as a reserve computer but never use due the fan very noisy.

The d250 supersilent Smile

I never do partitions other than on USB. One can not do MS win7 recovery iof one do a partition on it.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 86 of 133 [1983 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, ..., 131, 132, 133 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1005s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0218s) ][ GZIP on ]