Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 23 Sep 2014, 00:44
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » REQUESTS
Speed Dial for SeaMonkey?
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [8 Posts]  
Author Message
dalderton

Joined: 22 Apr 2007
Posts: 145

PostPosted: Sat 29 May 2010, 04:59    Post subject:  Speed Dial for SeaMonkey?  

Has anyone or can anyone get the Firefox Speed Dial addon
to work with SeaMonkey?
The latest SeaMonkey works well but after using Opera and Firefox with Speed Dial it is too painfull the use the normal Bookmark system.
I wish I had the skill to try it myself but I only know enough to know how much I dont know.
Regards in hope Dennis.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Makoto


Joined: 03 Sep 2009
Posts: 1795
Location: Out wandering... maybe.

PostPosted: Sat 29 May 2010, 06:38    Post subject:  

It's not the FF extension, but DaveS has put together an alternate method of creating a speed-dial page here.
_________________
[ Puppy 4.3.1 JP, Frugal install | 1GB RAM | 1.3GB swap ] * My Pidgin Builds for Puppy 4.3.1+
In memory of our beloved American Eskimo puppy (1995-2010) and black Lab puppy (1997-2011).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dalderton

Joined: 22 Apr 2007
Posts: 145

PostPosted: Sun 30 May 2010, 04:45    Post subject:  

Thanks for the tip ,I will give it a go.
Regards Dennis
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dalderton

Joined: 22 Apr 2007
Posts: 145

PostPosted: Sun 30 May 2010, 23:56    Post subject:  

Did that and it works OK,Very usefull
Regards Dennis
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
DaveS


Joined: 09 Oct 2008
Posts: 3726
Location: UK

PostPosted: Mon 31 May 2010, 01:48    Post subject:  

dalderton wrote:
Did that and it works OK,Very usefull
Regards Dennis


Another useful Seamonkey tip here http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=55118
Using this with speedial set as home page allows turning off all but the navigation bar to allow full use of screen size for web pages. There is also a great little SM2 add on called compact menu that changes menu access to a single button on the navigation bar instead of a whole bar all ti itself. How it SHOULD be! Its here https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/seamonkey/addon/4550/ but only for SM2

_________________
Spup Frugal HD and USB
Root forever!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dalderton

Joined: 22 Apr 2007
Posts: 145

PostPosted: Mon 31 May 2010, 04:39    Post subject:  

DaveS
Many thanks,these tips have turned Seamonkey into a nice modern Browser. It is fast as well .I have been using Opera 10.54 Lite but it is not very reliable and has a few odd things about it and while Chrome is very fast I am afraid that I dont quite trust the big Goog!
All we need now is the New Tab button to incorporate the Speed Dial automatically and it would be the full bag.
Thanks again Dennis
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
DaveS


Joined: 09 Oct 2008
Posts: 3726
Location: UK

PostPosted: Mon 31 May 2010, 05:12    Post subject:  

dalderton wrote:
DaveS
Many thanks,these tips have turned Seamonkey into a nice modern Browser. It is fast as well .I have been using Opera 10.54 Lite but it is not very reliable and has a few odd things about it and while Chrome is very fast I am afraid that I dont quite trust the big Goog!
All we need now is the New Tab button to incorporate the Speed Dial automatically and it would be the full bag.
Thanks again Dennis


From the menu, edit>preferences>browser> display on browser start up, select 'home page'. Make speed dial your home page, then opening a new tab will load speedial automatically.

_________________
Spup Frugal HD and USB
Root forever!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dalderton

Joined: 22 Apr 2007
Posts: 145

PostPosted: Mon 31 May 2010, 21:18    Post subject:  

DaveS Thanks for that I had looked at that but not thought it through. The dropdown at the top of the preferences was the key to it. All fixed, thanks again.
I put it down to rapidly advancing senility.
Regards Dennis,
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [8 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » REQUESTS
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0555s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0068s) ][ GZIP on ]