Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 23 Nov 2014, 01:54
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
Use puppy to be a server (detailed)
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [7 Posts]  
Author Message
samarai


Joined: 09 May 2010
Posts: 60
Location: Amoy fj China

PostPosted: Wed 02 Jun 2010, 01:19    Post subject:  Use puppy to be a server (detailed)  

Install puppylinux to the hard disk ,you will only use 30M of memory when your PC were boot.

First of all, you need to partition the hard disk in accordance with district.





Remember, the hard disk must have one active partition, otherwise your PC will not find a bootable media and won't boot.
Set in accordance with the following methods it will work.



Then install the puppy to your hard disk.



General election:
Choose "Internal (IDE or SATA) hard drive"
Next.
select where are you install from, a CD or from dictinary .

You can eeference other article for Puppy Universal Installer






Save the menu.lst file, the installation was successful.
Reboot ..

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Let puppy boot into the the command line and do not into graphical interface .

Open /etc/profile
find "exec xwim"
edit this line to be "# exec xwim"

Let puppy does not automatically login root account, and to manually login

Open /etc/inittab
make this line "tty1::respawn:/sbin/getty -n -l /bin/autologinroot 38400 tty1"
to be "tty1::respawn:/sbin/getty 38400 tty1"

Then install All softs,chick here to downland.

After the completion of what you need to configure mysql.
Enter the following command sequence:

Code:
addgroup mysql
adduser -G mysql mysql adduser-G mysql mysql


then input your Password:

Code:
then go on:
cp /usr/local/mysql/share/mysql/my-medium.cnf /etc/my.cnf
cd /usr/local/mysql
bin/mysql_install_db --user=mysql
chown -R root .
chown -R mysql var
chgrp -R mysql .
bin/mysqld_safe --user=mysql &


Then modify /etc/rc.d/rc.local
Add at the end:

Code:
echo -e "\033[0;33;1mStarting services...\033[0m" >/dev/console
echo -n " dhcpcd eth0" >/dev/console
/usr/sbin/dhcpcd eth0
sleep 3
echo -n " Cronjob" >/dev/console
/usr/sbin/crond &
echo -n " Openssh" >/dev/console
/usr/local/sbin/sshd &
echo -n " Apache2" >/dev/console
/usr/local/apache2/bin/apachectl start
echo -n " MySQL" >/dev/console
/usr/local/mysql/bin/mysqld_safe --user=mysql &
echo -n " Pure-ftp" >/dev/console
/usr/sbin/pure-ftpd -S 21 -4 -A -c 10 -C 5 -H -i &

#echo -n " Starting nat for eth1" >/dev/console
#sysctl -w net.ipv4.ip_forward=1
#iptables -F
#iptables -P INPUT ACCEPT
#iptables -P FORWARD ACCEPT
#iptables -t nat -A POSTROUTING -o eth0 -j MASQUERADE
#ifconfig eth1 192.168.0.1 netmask 255.255.255.0




Server normal startup.



Open you other PC's browser view it.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Create a database on mysql:
# /usr/local/bin/mysql/bin/mysql

mysql> create database phpbb;
Query OK, 1 row affected (0.01 sec)

mysql> grant all on phpbb.* to bbsadmin@localhost identified by 'passwd';
Query OK, 0 rows affected (0.00 sec)

Then you can use this database.
db name:phpbb
db user:bbsadmin
db passwd:passwd

Go~ let go to install a phpbb or other~

_________________
Arrow welcome to Amoy lads' club,Xmlad.com I am Chinese' youth I'm Xiamen's lad.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
scabz


Joined: 30 Apr 2009
Posts: 308
Location: Tallahassee FL US

PostPosted: Wed 02 Jun 2010, 15:35    Post subject:  

Hey i use Webserver Puppy it works great for a dedicated server - http://www.browserpuppy.com/server.html
Then install your favorite mail server and you are good to go.
"Edit" Xmail works great on Webserver Puppy but needs to be compiled, thats what i use.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address Yahoo Messenger 
samarai


Joined: 09 May 2010
Posts: 60
Location: Amoy fj China

PostPosted: Wed 02 Jun 2010, 19:31    Post subject:  

scabz wrote:
Hey i use Webserver Puppy it works great for a dedicated server - http://www.browserpuppy.com/server.html
Then install your favorite mail server and you are good to go.
"Edit" Xmail works great on Webserver Puppy but needs to be compiled, thats what i use.



When you see this pic ,it just means I don't need X any more, the computer can free more MEM to do other job,and I don't like the "Xampp" ,in my opinion ,every soft compiled by my self,and use the options also by my self, see this.

I think if one guy want to use a web server,they First, they should not use Xampp, build from src and step to step, he will knows more ABC than to use.
Very Happy
And I so sorry, our school forbid the port 25 ,so I haven't try mail server any more~

_________________
Arrow welcome to Amoy lads' club,Xmlad.com I am Chinese' youth I'm Xiamen's lad.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
scabz


Joined: 30 Apr 2009
Posts: 308
Location: Tallahassee FL US

PostPosted: Thu 03 Jun 2010, 13:11    Post subject:  

yeah you deff.. learn more if you start from scratch, but i am lazy and have done it that way many times b4 and spent 2 much time. I dont want my girl to get mad so i cant spend as much time messing with computers these days.

good instructions, on the mail sever you dont have to use port 25 hell i cant use it my isp blocks it so use a different port.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address Yahoo Messenger 
samarai


Joined: 09 May 2010
Posts: 60
Location: Amoy fj China

PostPosted: Sat 05 Jun 2010, 08:05    Post subject:  

Quote:
good instructions, on the mail sever you dont have to use port 25 hell i cant use it my isp blocks it so use a different port.


But without port 25, your mail wouldn't go to the Wide area network,isn't?
Sorry, next time I will try once to test the mail server..

_________________
Arrow welcome to Amoy lads' club,Xmlad.com I am Chinese' youth I'm Xiamen's lad.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
scabz


Joined: 30 Apr 2009
Posts: 308
Location: Tallahassee FL US

PostPosted: Sun 06 Jun 2010, 16:00    Post subject:  

its been like 3 maybe 2 yrs sense i set it up and a lot has been forgotten, from memory i think i an using port 587, i have to route all outgoing mail though my isp's server incoming mail is fine they just block outgoing for me.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address Yahoo Messenger 
samarai


Joined: 09 May 2010
Posts: 60
Location: Amoy fj China

PostPosted: Tue 08 Jun 2010, 22:09    Post subject:  

scabz wrote:
its been like 3 maybe 2 yrs sense i set it up and a lot has been forgotten, from memory i think i an using port 587, i have to route all outgoing mail though my isp's server incoming mail is fine they just block outgoing for me.


Laughing In chinese, we call this things is "Tragedy".
Nowadays, the ISP is going to more and more abominable

_________________
Arrow welcome to Amoy lads' club,Xmlad.com I am Chinese' youth I'm Xiamen's lad.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [7 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0745s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0148s) ][ GZIP on ]