Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 22 Sep 2014, 04:34
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware
gxine will not see a switched out cdplayer on same machine
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
Takilla

Joined: 28 Oct 2005
Posts: 53
Location: Lakeside and Phoenix, Arizona

PostPosted: Wed 25 Jan 2006, 03:09    Post_subject:  gxine will not see a switched out cdplayer on same machine  

When I switch CD players on a machine installed with Puppy 1.0.7 on HD
gxine will no longer play a music cd. I have to do this due to bad cd players and other reasons-but then I have to reinstall pup.

Is there a way to get puppy to recognize the new cdplayer?(without a new install)

I am dealing with this issue on Dell GX1s, P2s, 266 and 350.

thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 11069
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Wed 25 Jan 2006, 13:58    Post_subject:  

Do other applications (e.g. burniso2cd) also not see the new hardware?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Takilla

Joined: 28 Oct 2005
Posts: 53
Location: Lakeside and Phoenix, Arizona

PostPosted: Thu 26 Jan 2006, 14:30    Post_subject:  

I will have to recreate the situation as I recrtified it by finding a cd player that worked. Are you suggesting that gxine is the problem and not puppy? And may the solution be in gxine settings? It so which one? I will try and recreate this problem today.

Thanks

ps Did my private message ever get to you?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Takilla

Joined: 28 Oct 2005
Posts: 53
Location: Lakeside and Phoenix, Arizona

PostPosted: Fri 03 Mar 2006, 13:12    Post_subject:  

It Seems that some older cdroms simply will not work well and cannot match up to newer aps, these cdroms also will not boot a cd even if they are forced to boot with smart boot manager.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0394s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0029s) ][ GZIP on ]