Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 28 Jul 2014, 17:10
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware
gxine will not see a switched out cdplayer on same machine
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [4 Posts]  
Author Message
Takilla

Joined: 28 Oct 2005
Posts: 53
Location: Lakeside and Phoenix, Arizona

PostPosted: Wed 25 Jan 2006, 03:09    Post subject:  gxine will not see a switched out cdplayer on same machine  

When I switch CD players on a machine installed with Puppy 1.0.7 on HD
gxine will no longer play a music cd. I have to do this due to bad cd players and other reasons-but then I have to reinstall pup.

Is there a way to get puppy to recognize the new cdplayer?(without a new install)

I am dealing with this issue on Dell GX1s, P2s, 266 and 350.

thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 10936
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Wed 25 Jan 2006, 13:58    Post subject:  

Do other applications (e.g. burniso2cd) also not see the new hardware?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Takilla

Joined: 28 Oct 2005
Posts: 53
Location: Lakeside and Phoenix, Arizona

PostPosted: Thu 26 Jan 2006, 14:30    Post subject:  

I will have to recreate the situation as I recrtified it by finding a cd player that worked. Are you suggesting that gxine is the problem and not puppy? And may the solution be in gxine settings? It so which one? I will try and recreate this problem today.

Thanks

ps Did my private message ever get to you?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Takilla

Joined: 28 Oct 2005
Posts: 53
Location: Lakeside and Phoenix, Arizona

PostPosted: Fri 03 Mar 2006, 13:12    Post subject:  

It Seems that some older cdroms simply will not work well and cannot match up to newer aps, these cdroms also will not boot a cd even if they are forced to boot with smart boot manager.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [4 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0454s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0101s) ][ GZIP on ]