Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 21 Nov 2014, 15:02
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Network
Net-setup-20140422
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2631
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Sat 05 Jun 2010, 23:58    Post_subject:  Net-setup-20140422
Sub_title: net-setup/'Network Wizard' bugfix and improvement
 

Bugfix and improvement of network-setup scripts by Japanese Forum.
http://shino.pos.to/party/bridge.cgi?puppy/test/net_setup-20140422.pet

(OLD)
net-setup-20100310.pet from here.

  1. improved WEP wireless connection with wait which seems required for some hardwares.
  2. proper error messages when connection failed
  3. use one available connection even if multiple interfaces exist
  4. automatical setting in case eth0 and DHCP available
  5. allow manual disconnection and/or re-connection even when Wake-on-lan active.


Original topic:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=53354

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2631
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Mon 28 Jun 2010, 03:45    Post_subject: Recent woof problem
Sub_title: It calls rc.basic instead of rc.network
 

The rc.sysinit of recent woof, maybe 100216 and later, has a problem in automatic setting with this net-setup.

It calls rc.basic instead of rc.network for the first run.
The /etc/rc.d/rc.sysinit should be modified:

/etc/rc.d/rc.sysinit at line 532- or so
Code:
  *)
  #this only sets up interface 'lo'...
  /etc/rc.d/rc.network_basic &
  ;;

rewrite to: (edited on 28 Jun 2010)
Code:
  *)
  #100628 shinobar: launch rc.network if eth0 is usable
  #this only sets up interface 'lo'...
  RCNETWORK=/etc/rc.d/rc.network_basic
  # eth0 usable?
  /sbin/ifconfig eth0 &>/dev/null && [ -x /etc/rc.d/rc.network ] && RCNETWORK=/etc/rc.d/rc.network
  $RCNETWORK &
  ;;

Or, adding code for Pwireless2 (edited on 3 Jul 2010)
Code:
*)
  #3jul10 shinobar: launch rc.network/Pwireless2 if eth0 is usable
  #this only sets up interface 'lo'...
  RCNETWORK=/etc/rc.d/rc.network_basic
  # eth0 usable?
  if /sbin/ifconfig eth0 &>/dev/null ;then
    if [ -x /etc/rc.d/rc.network ]; then
      RCNETWORK=/etc/rc.d/rc.network
    elif [ -e /etc/init.d/Pwireless2 ]; then
      chmod 755 /etc/init.d/Pwireless2
    fi
  fi
  $RCNETWORK &
 ;;

Edited_times_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7081
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Mon 28 Jun 2010, 20:44    Post_subject:  

shinobar,
Ok, I have changed rc.sysinit in Woof.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2631
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Tue 29 Jun 2010, 20:54    Post_subject: rc.sysinit  

BarryK wrote:
I have changed rc.sysinit in Woof.

Thanks Barry.
Concider another improvement of rc.sysinit.
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=57252

EDIT:
as for calling rc.network or Pwireless2,
/etc/rc.d/rc.sysinit at line 493- or so
Code:
 *) #try determine which tool was used to setup networking...
  if [ -s /etc/simple_network_setup/connections ];then #100306
   NETCHOICE='sns'
  else
   CHECKOLDWIZ="`ls -1 /etc/*[0-9]mode 2>/dev/null`" #ex: eth0mode, wlan0mode.
   if [ "$CHECKOLDWIZ" != "" -a -d /usr/local/net_setup ];then
    NETCHOICE='net_wiz_classic'
   else
    CHECKNEWWIZ="`ls -1 /etc/network-wizard/network/interfaces 2>/dev/null`"
    if [ "$CHECKNEWWIZ" != "" ];then
     NETCHOICE='net-setup.sh'
    else
     [ -f /usr/local/Pwireless2/interface ] && NETCHOICE='Pwireless2' #100304
    fi
   fi
  fi
 ;;

rewrite:
Code:
 *) #try determine which tool was used to setup networking...
  if [ -s /etc/simple_network_setup/connections ];then #100306
   NETCHOICE='sns'
  else
   CHECKOLDWIZ="`ls -1 /etc/*[0-9]mode 2>/dev/null`" #ex: eth0mode, wlan0mode.
   if [ "$CHECKOLDWIZ" != "" -a -d /usr/local/net_setup ];then
    NETCHOICE='net_wiz_classic'
   else
    CHECKNEWWIZ="`ls -1 /etc/network-wizard/network/interfaces 2>/dev/null`"
    if [ "$CHECKNEWWIZ" != "" ];then
     NETCHOICE='net-setup.sh'
    elif [ -f /usr/local/Pwireless2/interface ]; then
    NETCHOICE='Pwireless2' #100304
    elif [ -x /etc/rc.d/rc.network ]; then   # 30jun10 shinobar
    NETCHOICE='net-setup.sh'
   elif [ -x /etc/init.d/Pwireless2 ]; then   # 30jun10 shinobar
     NETCHOICE='Pwireless2'
    fi
   fi
  fi
 ;;
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7081
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Thu 01 Jul 2010, 19:59    Post_subject:  

So on the very first boot, it will default to running net-setup.sh.

I don't want that. SNS is my preferred choice.

The network_tray ion in the tray displays with a big red cross in it at first boot, and mouse-over pops up a message to click the 'connect' icon to make a connection to the Internet. Given that there are many different ways to connect to the Internet, I prefer this manual approach for now.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2631
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Tue 17 Jun 2014, 04:20    Post_subject: net_setup-20140422  

UPDATE:
http://shino.pos.to/party/bridge.cgi?puppy/test/net_setup-20140422.pet

1. WPA-AES support
2. more wait before scan

_________________
Google Chrome portable
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
ASRI éducation


Joined: 09 May 2009
Posts: 2580
Location: France

PostPosted: Wed 18 Jun 2014, 07:45    Post_subject: Re: net_setup-20140422  

shinobar wrote:
UPDATE:
http://shino.pos.to/party/bridge.cgi?puppy/test/net_setup-20140422.pet

1. WPA-AES support
2. more wait before scan

Thank you.

_________________
Projet ASRI éducation => Association | Forum | Dépôt | Espace kids
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4435
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Wed 18 Jun 2014, 16:50    Post_subject:  

#1
Is this going to WOOF-CE?

#2
Also, if the motherboard has 2 LAN adapters where only 1 (for example eth1) has the active cable to the switch, will this autodetect it?

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Network
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0727s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0080s) ][ GZIP on ]