Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 27 Nov 2014, 08:12
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Networking » Dialup
Dialup/Wireless Modem Upgrade Packages for Puppy 4.3+
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 10 of 13 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13 Next
Author Message
Alucinary


Joined: 09 Sep 2008
Posts: 15
Location: UK

PostPosted: Thu 28 Apr 2011, 16:53    Post_subject: 3G Huawei E160
Sub_title: (UK Providers O2 & 3)
 

Hi Richard,

I have had success using the following in a Debian derivative of Lucid Puppy 5.1. I found a strange quirk in that I had to manually set a 9600 baud rate however I'm pretty confident the dongle is running at normal 3G speeds and ignoring this setting in hardware or something... additionally I cannot access the Wifi card also provided in this dongle but given I have no Wifi to connect to I'm not actually concerned by this yet personally Wink

Alucinary wrote:
Device Name & version (from package or device): Huawei E160
Puppy versions tested: Aquila Puppy (built from Woof using the latest Debian release at this time)
Interface (USB, PCMCIA, PCI, mini-PCI?): USB
Chipset: NA
Device Driver (name & source): NA
WiFi Protocols that work (A, B, G, N): untested
Security Protocols confirmed working (WEP, WPA, WPA2): untested
Configured with (Wizard, Ndiswrapper, Manual, Other?): PGRPS Wizard
Posted by & date: Alucinary 27/4/2011
Location of Original Post: UK
Notes & Issues: I found the following details necessary for my O2 service provider -
serial modem device file: /dev/ttyUSB0
apn: m-bb.o2.co.uk
username: o2bb
password: password
phone number: *99#
phone pin: [BLANK]

also unfortunately in order to get it to connect successfully i had to manually navigate to the options file [/etc/ppp/options] and alter the baud rate to 9600. it would then connect fine using the pgprs-connect. I have not been able to try the wireless router in this device, only the 3G...

(from http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=517953#517953)

If it would be of any help to you I'd be happy to test your files and see if this removes the quirk?

Alucinary

_________________
"My Universe is what happens to my eyes and ears. Anything else is surmise and hearsay. For all I know, these people may not exist. You may not exist. I say what it occurs to me to say."
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rerwin


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 1539
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Thu 28 Apr 2011, 18:42    Post_subject:  

Alucinary,
Thanks for your posting. The PGPRS option is something I do not deal with; I consider it to be for do-it-yourselfers. The upgrade package relates to the "Internet by analog or wireless dialup" option, which should "just work". Or else I need to figure out why it doesn't. That option should set the speed as appropriate, although my understanding is that it is usually ignored.

I accept your offer to try my upgrade. Please install the upgrade package to your lupu installation and then use the dialup option. Use CHOOSE > ERASE if you need to de-select another modem setting, before rebooting or plugging in the modem. Some have reported the need to wait a minute or so between steps in starting up the modem. If you see any problems, you can run pmodemdiag to create a (tarball) file for me to examine. TIA.
Richard
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rerwin


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 1539
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Thu 28 Apr 2011, 19:12    Post_subject:  

bignono1 wrote:
Hello Richard; is there a way to use Hauwei modem e180 with xtreme puppy 420?
Maybe, if you install two packages from the "Integration of 3G Wireless Modem Detection - 4.1.2 & 4.2.1" thread http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=266979&search_id=1181205678#266979
Use only:
- 3G_pupdial-wireless-13.pet
- usb_modeswitch-1.0.2.pet
I do not know whether the packages were included in xtreme puppy, so check out that possibility.
EDIT: I looked at the iso and do not see any sign of the 3G modem support there. So go with the above-named packages

Note that the thread is only for use with puppy 4.12 or 4.2.1, but may work for 4.2.0. Just consider it an experiment, to be tried in a non-critical pupsave environment. For 4.3.1 and later, use the packages for that puppy and later.

I am eager to hear of your experience with that very old setup. Is there any reason you cannot upgrade to 4.3.1 and its upgrade? Much has been improved since 4.2.
Richard

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Alucinary


Joined: 09 Sep 2008
Posts: 15
Location: UK

PostPosted: Thu 28 Apr 2011, 19:30    Post_subject: success :)  

Richard,

I have just tried your upgrade package and have been successful Smile

Once again it insisted that the maximum baud rate is 9600 and so set the desired baud rate to this. A quick check at speedtest.net however shows this is not actually the case (download speed of 0.46mbps at the time I tried). So all in all it works fine (and is a lot easier than how I was trying to connect before!) but still reports an odd quirk...

I have attached the diagnostics file for you incase you wanted to view it but I am happy personally for it to carry on thinking I can only have 9600 baud rate so long as it provides me higher in reality Wink

Alucinary
pmodemdiag-20110428.tar.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  pmodemdiag-20110428.tar.gz 
Filesize  27.99 KB 
Downloaded  403 Time(s) 

_________________
"My Universe is what happens to my eyes and ears. Anything else is surmise and hearsay. For all I know, these people may not exist. You may not exist. I say what it occurs to me to say."
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
vanchutr

Joined: 05 Aug 2006
Posts: 427

PostPosted: Thu 28 Apr 2011, 19:53    Post_subject:  

Richard,

I have just tried your 3G_pupdial-wireless-13.pet package and have been successful on Icepup 006
Thank you
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rerwin


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 1539
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Thu 28 Apr 2011, 21:00    Post_subject:  

vanchutr wrote:
Richard,

I have just tried your 3G_pupdial-wireless-13.pet package and have been successful on Icepup 006
Thank you
If Icepup 006 is the "bleeding edge" puppy developed recently, please do not use 3G_pupdial-wireless-13.pet on it! I have stated several times, most recently yelling in all caps, that it is only for puppies 4.1 and 4.2. It was coded for that era and should not be used beyond its design environment.

Continuing to use the obsolete packages on a new puppy sets the wrong example for others. If they run into any trouble, there is no one to help them out with that hybrid concoction -- I have long forgotten the details of how I implemented that and have no interest in going back into history. All of my development is being done on the 4.3.1 (+lupu) package. That is where I need the feedback from users, so I can make corrections there.

EDIT: I have now examined the icepup iso file and see that it is based on the current level of "woof" and is similar internally to wary 5.1.1. Therefore, the 4.3.1+ upgrade is not appropriate for it. You do not need to install an obsolete modem implementation onto icepup. Barry's updated modem support is already included in icepup 006. Lucid pup does not use Barry's "zzz" version of modem support. Any modem support for icepup 006 must come from Barry, who has re-assumed responsibility for it.
Richard
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
vanchutr

Joined: 05 Aug 2006
Posts: 427

PostPosted: Thu 28 Apr 2011, 22:07    Post_subject:  

I don't know much about kernel or something about woof-made.
On ly one thing that my laptop can connect wireless with my USB-3G modem (-ZTE...) after installed your package (in icepup 006)
I must say thanh your package. That's all.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
aarf

Joined: 30 Aug 2007
Posts: 3620
Location: around the bend

PostPosted: Sun 01 May 2011, 16:33    Post_subject:  

puppeee4.4rc2, pupdail version unknown. Internet dailer version 1.53.

my connection is on /dev/ttyACM1 or sometimes /dev/ttyACM0. sometimes the default in the display window goes to ttyACM2
there is no way of getting /dev/ttyACM2 back to /dev/ttyACM0 by probing or manual probing. to fix it i have to use geany and go into /etc/wvdial.conf and edit it back to
Code:
Modem = /dev/ttyACM0

_________________

ASUS EeePC Flare series 1025C 4x Intel Atom N2800 @ 1.86GHz RAM 2063MB 800x600p ATA 320G
_-¤-_

<º))))><.¸¸.•´¯`•.#.•´¯`•.¸¸. ><((((º>
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5465
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Mon 02 May 2011, 12:43    Post_subject:  

Rerwin. Thank you of exploring Ice Puppy-006. That build is quite experimental to test new kernel, but is has guts of Snow Puppy-016, which is made using 16.4.2011 woof.
Is there any need to install your made rerwin_wary511_update-1.pet to the Ice Puppy/Snow Puppy.
I noticed that there is also pinstall.sh, which removes obsolete files.
etc/udev/rules.d/41-usb_modeswitch-puppy.rules was the only file which did exist in Ice Puppy.

I am asking, because I seem to find people testing my builds and they are asking questions in several threads...and I try to keep up if there is problems which could be cured.

Thank you of all your hard efforts trying to help people with modem connections. I have tried to help by compiling extra wireless drivers, mostly in Snow Puppy thread, but also some old phoneline drivers. I have noticed they are much difficult stuff than wireless drivers. I appreciate your work really.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rerwin


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 1539
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Wed 11 May 2011, 23:25    Post_subject:  

pemasu,
Sorry to be so long in responding to your above posting. I somehow missed it and have been away for a week.

Regarding the rerwin_wary511_update-1 package, it would be OK to install it on Ice Puppy if you are not planning to upgrade soon to the newer woof base that Barry is working on. Since you posted, he has confirmed my fixes in the package, although he implemented one of them differently than I did.

Although all the file removal in the pinstall script is scary, it merely cleans out files that were used as I evolved the modem support. That handles any puppy installation no matter how the user modified it with my modem updates and augments Barry's cleanup efforts in woof/wary.

aarf wrote:
my connection is on /dev/ttyACM1 or sometimes /dev/ttyACM0. sometimes the default in the display window goes to ttyACM2
there is no way of getting /dev/ttyACM2 back to /dev/ttyACM0 by probing or manual probing. to fix it i have to use geany and go into /etc/wvdial.conf and edit it back to
Code: Modem = /dev/ttyACM0
That is very interesting. This behavior suggests that you have multiple devices that use the ttyACM devices and that they get assigned numbers based on outside factors. You should be able to try each possibility by using the "Test" button, which is labeled ttyACM-something, different from the selection/detection. If that is the case, click on it to test the device shown in the button. The name should cycle through all of the ttyACM names. If it does not work that way, I have something more to fix, it would appear.

I think 4.4 is quite up to date with modem support, although I have a "final" set of changes that could be added to it. I plan to build a package with those changes but tailored for puppeee. But I doubt they would fix the problem you see.

Could you re-create the situation and then run pmodemdiag to create a diag file (/root/pmodemdiag-(something).tar.gz), then post or PM the file? I anticipated such a situation in my coding, but do not have multiple ACM devices to run a complete test with. I hope you can do that for me. Thanks.
Richard
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rerwin


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 1539
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Sat 25 Jun 2011, 16:13    Post_subject: modem-modprobe package fixed for lupu 5.2+  

'Embarassed' With much embarrassment, I have discovered that I caused the modem-modprobe package of 4/21 to hang up when being installed into lupus 5.2 and 5.25 (and any puppy that defaults to the full depmod utility). That is now corrected in the newly uploaded "6/23" version of modem-modprobe.

Beyond fixing that gaffe, the new package removes the cause of repeated "invalid operand" messages being logged and now supports the new Lucid Puppy Retro version based on the 2.6.30.2 kernel, allowing it to include more modem and wifi drivers not already present.

Most of those drivers should be obtained from the "Simplified Puppy 4.3.1/4.3.2 Upgrade Center" forum thread and not from tempestuous' thread for additional kernel 2.6.30.2 drivers. The Upgrade Center drivers are tailored such that any or all of them can be included in an updated (2.6.30.2-based) puppy. All but one of those packages can be added to lupu-retro -- the "4.3.1.1 upgrade" package must not be installed in lupu, since the modem-modprobe package already provides its functionality. However, the driver package for the VIA wifi devices should not be included in a lupu upgrade unless you absolutely must have it. That is because it makes some significant changes when installed, that are not otherwise needed.

But the Intel (536 & 537*) modem drivers are not directly available at the Upgrade Center. They must be extracted from a puppy 4.3.1 CD or image, pup-431-scsi-intel_modems.iso. From the pup-431.sfs file, copy and merge the entire /lib/modules/2.6.30.2/intelmodem directory into lupu-retro (/lib/modules/2.6.30.2/).

The full instructions for remastering an upgraded puppy are in the Upgrade Center thread. Just install the modem-modprobe package instead of the 4.3.1.1-Upgrade package.

I am continuing to research modem-modprobe support of the new debian/2.6.30.2-based Dpup, but have encountered an Xorgwizard/xwin bootup issue that will take some work.

Regarding normal remastering: that does not work for lupu 5.25 retro/2.6.30.2, because it has been updated for newer puppies. The special upgrade version in the modem-modprobe package includes a modified version of the older remaster script. Therefore, if you plan to remaster the retro, you can use modem-modprobe for that. When it is installed, it presents a dialog window for starting the special remaster. Be sure to leave that unanswered until you have made all of your updates to puppy.

Please report any new (or unresolved) problem you might encounter from this new package, so I can address it. Thank you.
Richard
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rerwin


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 1539
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Mon 04 Jul 2011, 16:18    Post_subject: usb_modeswitch 1.1.8 and database 20110619  

I have upgraded the modem-modprobe package with the latest version of the usb_modeswitch function, 1.1.8 and database 20110619, as package version 20110702. While it supports more modems, it also simplifies the task of trying new mode-switching configurations.

Instead of requiring test configurations to be merged into the released database, usb_modeswitch 1.1.8 expects test configurations to be placed into directory /etc/usb_modeswitch.d. The release database now resides in directory /usr/share/usb_modeswitch and should not be modified by users. If a test config requires a new udev rule, that rule should go into /etc/udev/rules.d, so as not to disturb the released rules.

If you already have the 20110623 modem-modprobe package installed, there is no need to replace it if you are not affected by the changes in the new mode switcher. If you need them, I expect to attach here a modeswitch-only package once I get it to also be usable with wary.
Richard
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
benny7440


Joined: 20 Apr 2009
Posts: 416

PostPosted: Fri 15 Jul 2011, 15:39    Post_subject:    

Question I originally posted my situation somewhere else & was advised to post it in here, instead; so I'm doing it now.

I've a VAIO VGN AR250G Notebook - 512 MB RAM - running any of the following linux oss: (1) PL 431 (Live CD, only), (2) PL 511 (installed at sda2), (3) PL 525 (frugal) & (4) Wary 5.* (frugal -I'm using it right now).

Although I've a broad band connection it has been down sometimes, so I want to have a backup comm. syst., just in case (&, besides, I've the right to have one according the ISP's contract).

A couple of days ago I, following a good counsel from tempestuous, downloaded wary 5.* & it's behaving ok. It also detected 'my modem' at: port /dev/tty_SAGS3. This's more than the other puppies combined did in the past.

After clicking the <Test> button it reported: "Sorry, the modem was not detected as ttyS_AGS3". So I read a lot about modems (still need to go to the Wikipedia's page as well as others mentioned in the documentation that comes with "wvdial" but, now I've a confusion about all this:
---> According to my ISP I needed to do this modem detection in windows first for them to be able to set my dialup acct. but I decided to try with linux first; that's why I'm using Wary now; but according to the documentation I must have some info provided by the ISP...
...Which one comes first, Tel # + Login Name + Login PWD (these are provided by the ISP) for making the modem's configuration or I must configure the modem first (somehow)?<---


As you might already see from what I've written above, I need much help due to a lack of understanding of modems communication.

Thanks in advanced for any help that you might provide upon this subject. Below I'm including some useful info:

Code:
# lspci -n
00:00.0 0600: 8086:27a0 (rev 03)
00:01.0 0604: 8086:27a1 (rev 03)
00:1b.0 0403: 8086:27d8 (rev 02)
00:1c.0 0604: 8086:27d0 (rev 02)
00:1c.1 0604: 8086:27d2 (rev 02)
00:1c.2 0604: 8086:27d4 (rev 02)
00:1c.3 0604: 8086:27d6 (rev 02)
00:1d.0 0c03: 8086:27c8 (rev 02)
00:1d.1 0c03: 8086:27c9 (rev 02)
00:1d.2 0c03: 8086:27ca (rev 02)
00:1d.3 0c03: 8086:27cb (rev 02)
00:1d.7 0c03: 8086:27cc (rev 02)
00:1e.0 0604: 8086:2448 (rev e2)
00:1f.0 0601: 8086:27b9 (rev 02)
00:1f.1 0101: 8086:27df (rev 02)
00:1f.2 0106: 8086:27c5 (rev 02)
00:1f.3 0c05: 8086:27da (rev 02)
01:00.0 0300: 10de:0398 (rev a1)
06:00.0 0280: 8086:4222 (rev 02)
0a:03.0 0607: 104c:8039
0a:03.1 0c00: 104c:803a
0a:03.2 0180: 104c:803b
0a:04.0 0480: 10cf:202a
0a:08.0 0200: 8086:1092 (rev 02)
#


Hope the above helps![/code]
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Shep

Joined: 08 Nov 2008
Posts: 851
Location: GIRT-BY-SEA

PostPosted: Fri 15 Jul 2011, 22:40    Post_subject:  

benny7440 wrote:
Although I've a broad band connection it has been down sometimes, so I want to have a backup comm. syst., just in case (&, besides, I've the right to have one according the ISP's contract).

You are speaking of a dialup 56.6 kbits/sec modem here are you?

Are you pressuring your ISP to make their broadband more reliable? Confused

Quote:
Which one comes first, Tel # + Login Name + Login PWD (these are provided by the ISP) for making the modem's configuration

Yes, that.

The ISP will already be providing other users with dialup accounts, so they will have their protocols already determined. All they need to do is tell you their dial-in number, and your account's login name and password. Usually their web site will have a page where you can get the server IPs for their DNS (and the mail servers, if you aren't using web mail).

Wary works well with my external dialup modem.

Some dialup providers used to have a passwordless login account where you could dialin with your modem and give your name, details and credit card number, to setup a dialin account for yourself, but I doubt that they would have that these days for a handful of backup accounts. You're doing this over the phone with a customer service person?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
benny7440


Joined: 20 Apr 2009
Posts: 416

PostPosted: Sun 17 Jul 2011, 10:52    Post_subject:  

Thanks, Shep, for responding!

Yes, I guess the internal modem with this notebook is a 56.6 Kbits/sec analog dialup type of modem, it has 2 ports: ethernet cable & the typical phone line type.

Well, I'm not pressuring my ISP for making the line more reliable. It has been down, AFAIK, just 2 times for almost 2 years (5 days the first time & '1' the other day); I don't think it's a bad service, at lest in my area.

Since they just offer their assistance in working weekdays from 7am-7pm I'll have to wait for calling them again until Tuesday (Monday is a holiday here).

After I launch <Internet Connection Wizard>, Wary detects the internal modem but that's as far as I've gone with it. Apparently, it (I) needs the phone #, login UN & PWD of my ISP to go further in its configuration.
In the meantime, I've remembered that I used to use a sister's dialup acct. many years ago from another ISP; I'm thinking of calling my sister & asking her for the dailing details just to check out the possibilities I'll have with my ISP before Tuesday. I'll keep posting the results of my trials &, if any changes are required by me for making it work, I'll include the details.

Yes, you're right, I've been doing this over the phone & was advised to use a cellular phone when I call them for configuring the acct., since they have to give me certain instructions & the phone line will be busy due to the fact that the computer will be using the modem in the meantime.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 10 of 13 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Networking » Dialup
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1304s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0122s) ][ GZIP on ]