Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 23 Jul 2019, 12:13
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Slackpup 0.4 beta
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 5 of 8 [107 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 Next
Author Message
eps

Joined: 03 Jul 2010
Posts: 41

PostPosted: Sat 10 Jul 2010, 20:59    Post subject: pppoe
Subject description: not generate file resolv.conf
 

After completing resolv.conf manually all is ok
nvidia work
internet work
sorry for pppoe not work
thanks
eps
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 8926
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sat 10 Jul 2010, 22:43    Post subject: Re: pppoe
Subject description: not generate file resolv.conf
 

eps wrote:
After completing resolv.conf manually all is ok
nvidia work
internet work
sorry for pppoe not work
thanks
eps


Yes, we have an on-going problem with resolv.conf and pppoe. I thought that I had fixed it sometime ago, but from reports since then it is still a problem.

I would appreciate if you could explain step-by-step what you did manually to get it going...

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4722
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Sat 10 Jul 2010, 23:29    Post subject:
Subject description: Will a TV setup for 4.3.1 work with SPUP 040?
 

Any reason to believe that this TV setup for 4.3.1 will work with SPUP 040?

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=382703

Or is there a possibility that it may just make a mess?

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
TahrPup64 & Lighthouse64-b602 & JL64-603
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10548
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Sun 11 Jul 2010, 02:11    Post subject:  

Barry, I booted into Spup-040 last night some ten hours ago.

I let the OS chose driver. It chose nouveau and it was late at night so I did not take time to test other drivers.

I have NVidia chips and they seems picky.

1. error or bug
The desktop background had horizontal glitches a few pixels wide and ten times long and many such on that line. If one click on Menu then they doubled or so. First time I see that unusual error. I guess me need to use a nvidia pet to get the best driver. But I am lazy so ...

I most likely wait until next Spup to test with other drivers to see if it was driver related.

2. error or bug
Animated Gifs did not start or run as they do in Quirky 1.0

But all else worked. Full screen and streaming audio and video and all the formats I had to test it with so looks very promising.

Pmusic played MP3 which it did not do for me in earlier versions.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
aarf

Joined: 30 Aug 2007
Posts: 3613
Location: around the bend

PostPosted: Sun 11 Jul 2010, 03:06    Post subject:  

micko's test-vid works in spup. reports which videocard is in your computer.
testvid.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   16.18 KB
 Viewed   1268 Time(s)

testvid.jpg


_________________

ASUS EeePC Flare series 1025C 4x Intel Atom N2800 @ 1.86GHz RAM 2063MB 800x600p ATA 320G
_-¤-_

<º))))><.¸¸.•´¯`•.#.•´¯`•.¸¸. ><((((º>
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
aarf

Joined: 30 Aug 2007
Posts: 3613
Location: around the bend

PostPosted: Sun 11 Jul 2010, 03:46    Post subject:  

running with no pwidget and hence no battery warning pop-up, spup04 crashed due to flat battery. on restart, opera then refused to start. fsck on operas separate partition gives
Code:
# fsck /dev/sdb2
fsck 1.41.11 (14-Mar-2010)
e2fsck 1.41.11 (14-Mar-2010)
opera contains a file system with errors, check forced.
Pass 1: Checking inodes, blocks, and sizes
Pass 2: Checking directory structure
Entry 'autosave.win' in /opera-10.60-6386.i386.linux/profile/sessions (52841) has deleted/unused inode 52964.  Clear<y>? yes

Entry 'bookmarks.adr' in /opera-10.60-6386.i386.linux/profile (52795) has deleted/unused inode 52877.  Clear<y>? yes

Entry 'opr00CBP.tmp' in /opera-10.60-6386.i386.linux/profile/cache/g_007C (58563) has deleted/unused inode 58547.  Clear<y>? yes

Entry 'opr00CBQ.tmp' in /opera-10.60-6386.i386.linux/profile/cache/g_007C (58563) has deleted/unused inode 58630.  Clear<y>? yes

Pass 3: Checking directory connectivity
Pass 3A: Optimizing directories
Pass 4: Checking reference counts
Unattached inode 60502
Connect to /lost+found<y>? yes

Inode 60502 ref count is 2, should be 1.  Fix<y>? yes

Unattached inode 60504
Connect to /lost+found<y>? yes

Inode 60504 ref count is 2, should be 1.  Fix<y>? yes

Unattached inode 60506
Connect to /lost+found<y>? yes

Inode 60506 ref count is 2, should be 1.  Fix<y>? yes

Pass 5: Checking group summary information
Block bitmap differences:  +9172 +9174 +11856 -226480 -(226484--226486) -(226577--226583) -(226585--226598) -(226640--226651) -(226653--226667) -246076 -(247361--247378) -(247395--247406)
Fix<y>? yes

Free blocks count wrong for group #1 (42, counted=39).
Fix<y>? yes

Free blocks count wrong for group #27 (985, counted=1037).
Fix<y>? yes

Free blocks count wrong for group #30 (1, counted=32).
Fix<y>? yes

Free blocks count wrong (41089, counted=41169).
Fix<y>? yes

Inode bitmap differences:  -52877 -52964 -58547 -58630 +60502 +60504 +60506
Fix<y>? yes

Free inodes count wrong for group #26 (1407, counted=1409).
Fix<y>? yes

Free inodes count wrong for group #29 (1849, counted=1851).
Fix<y>? yes

Free inodes count wrong for group #30 (1967, counted=1964).
Fix<y>? yes

Free inodes count wrong (59302, counted=59303).
Fix<y>? yes


opera: ***** FILE SYSTEM WAS MODIFIED *****
opera: 3193/62496 files (36.0% non-contiguous), 208815/249984 blocks
#

opera recovers after the fsck. had to re-import bookmarks from backup and all was going as before.

_________________

ASUS EeePC Flare series 1025C 4x Intel Atom N2800 @ 1.86GHz RAM 2063MB 800x600p ATA 320G
_-¤-_

<º))))><.¸¸.•´¯`•.#.•´¯`•.¸¸. ><((((º>
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 11223
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Sun 11 Jul 2010, 04:37    Post subject:  

I have the same Xorg issue as micko, http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=431740#431740
I like the size of this release and hope we don't need to blowup the iso size because of Xorg, even vesa didn't work right, had different coloured lines like the above URL.
ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4722
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Sun 11 Jul 2010, 08:53    Post subject:  

aarf wrote:
micko's test-vid works in spup. reports which videocard is in your computer.
cf29-testvid1.jpg
Description  Testvid looks good on my CF-29.

Will check the other laptops later today.

Thanks for the app!
jpg

 Download 
Filename  cf29-testvid1.jpg 
Filesize  69.12 KB 
Downloaded  367 Time(s) 

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
TahrPup64 & Lighthouse64-b602 & JL64-603
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10548
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Sun 11 Jul 2010, 10:08    Post subject:  

Yes thanks for the picture. Me have those lines in Spup 040 too using nouveau as 01micko fǵive example.
_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Abnormalter


Joined: 31 Jan 2010
Posts: 95
Location: Russia

PostPosted: Sun 11 Jul 2010, 12:43    Post subject: SlackPup 040 firstly testing...  

Thanks, dear Barry! It's good work!

It's my shortly testing Puppy.

What works wery well in Slack Puppy 040:

1. Small RAM using: without X -- about 22-23 Mb; undex X ~= 37-38 Mb (by Htop).
(It's best, against using RAM as ~= 30 / 42-45 Mb under Lucid Puppy 5x,
and shortly value as use 15-16 / 30 Mb under Puppy 4.2x;
Use values: under X / without X.)

2. Any popular my hardware supports 'in box', include sound cards... Smile

II. Problems. Hmm... any testings points is not just fine...

Need Tool (because it is passed by SlackPup):
/usr/bin/htop
(Use my Htop partial patch, please.)

Rename please:
/usr/bin/mtpaintsnapshot.shTRIO => /usr/bin/mtpaintsnapshot.sh

Bugs:
1. Desktop background settings won't work.
2. At second start the Puppy, or by using 'Boot Manager configure bootup', can be trow black screen, and need X restarting for resolving it...
3. Thumbnails won't displays in ROX folders.

Very oldest bug:
4. Xlock won't work! Replace it now, from my Xlock patch, please!

Strange tasks: 'delayedrun' script runs in a cicle (see SlackPup process' screenshot, who display the tasks). But any others Puppy, for example Lupu 5 or Luci-209, haven't it strange 'delayedrun' many tasks: see my other process' screenshot, please.

Software Set:
The Gview image viewer is bad choose... return back the Viewnior viewer, please!

Other tested me subsystem of Slack Puppy 040 works fine...
Patching-for-SlackPup-040.tar.gz
Description  My patches for
gz

 Download 
Filename  Patching-for-SlackPup-040.tar.gz 
Filesize  45.84 KB 
Downloaded  324 Time(s) 
SlackPup-040-process@X.png
Description  SlackPuppy process...
png

 Download 
Filename  SlackPup-040-process@X.png 
Filesize  36.85 KB 
Downloaded  395 Time(s) 
Luci-2xx-process@X.png
Description  Typical Puppy' process...
png

 Download 
Filename  Luci-2xx-process@X.png 
Filesize  28.45 KB 
Downloaded  368 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Abnormalter


Joined: 31 Jan 2010
Posts: 95
Location: Russia

PostPosted: Sun 11 Jul 2010, 17:26    Post subject: wi-fi problem  

UPD: I find that wlan0 have not save intarface. Need to reload Wi-fi profile & DHCP after start OS!.. Sad
@ Atheros Comm. AR5001 Wireless Network Adaper, by Asua eeepc 900
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4722
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Sun 11 Jul 2010, 23:17    Post subject:
Subject description: Precord not working?
 

Precord does not appear to be working.

GUI comes up.

I changed the default recorded file location and checked the level settings - and the pop-up window shows the mic audio but noting appears to be written to the file.

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
TahrPup64 & Lighthouse64-b602 & JL64-603
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4722
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Sun 11 Jul 2010, 23:18    Post subject:
Subject description: 040 working well on ACER ASPIRE 5535-5452
 

040 working well on ACER ASPIRE 5535-5452

Display looks great, Seamonkey seems stable, Wifi working fine in Barry's Simple Network app,

So far just the Precord problem.

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
TahrPup64 & Lighthouse64-b602 & JL64-603
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4722
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Sun 11 Jul 2010, 23:23    Post subject:
Subject description: TestVid for ACER ASPIRE 5535-5452
 

040 did not autodetect in xorg identifying the video card so I used the generic setting that matched this laptop.

TestVid references quickpet for the purpose of grabbing the recommended video driver set -- is there a version of quickpet for spup 040?

TestVid for ACER ASPIRE 5535-5452
acer-graphicscardinfo.jpg
Description 
jpg

 Download 
Filename  acer-graphicscardinfo.jpg 
Filesize  73.08 KB 
Downloaded  359 Time(s) 

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
TahrPup64 & Lighthouse64-b602 & JL64-603
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4722
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Mon 12 Jul 2010, 09:20    Post subject:
Subject description: Wifi Problem?
 

Wifi has suddenly stopped working in spup 040 on the ACER ASPIRE notebook.

The Wifi "sees" the router.

The pop-up error reads:

Quote:
Access Point: Not Asociated

Output of 'wpa_cli-i wlan0 status'

Failed to connect to wpa_supplicant - wpa_ctrl_open "No such file or directory."


I have powered-down and up and have tried adding "pfix-fsck" to GRUB, no joy.

What might have caused this, please?

EDIT:

As noted later in this thread I had to switch from Barry's to Dougal's network app. Not sure what is happening but believe some of the intermittent problems here are overheated hardware. I have purchased an additional A/C unit and hope to have it working tonight (had to exchange the first one).

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
TahrPup64 & Lighthouse64-b602 & JL64-603

Last edited by edoc on Mon 19 Jul 2010, 21:05; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 5 of 8 [107 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0781s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0237s) ][ GZIP on ]