Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 20 Sep 2014, 01:59
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Utilities
CPUtemp - A CPU Temperature Monitor
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 4 of 5 [67 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 Next
Author Message
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9114
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Wed 23 Oct 2013, 23:16    Post subject:  

What kind of processor is this?

From the command line, run: modprobe w83627hf

What messages do you get?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
toronado

Joined: 04 Sep 2013
Posts: 94

PostPosted: Wed 23 Oct 2013, 23:47    Post subject:  

modprobe w83627hf produced no output in the terminal. (it acts as if I just hit enter without typing anything)

CPU: AMD Athlon(tm) XP 2000+ (1.667 MHz)

Edit: Just tried clicking on the flame icon again and it is now producing output! Not sure why. Thanks.

Tried typing "sensors" at the command prompt and got the same identical output as your CPUtemp program. (when I tried that before installing your pet it produced nothing)

Code:
sh-4.1# sensors
w83697hf-isa-0290
Adapter: ISA adapter
in0:          +1.78 V  (min =  +0.10 V, max =  +2.05 V)
in2:          +3.36 V  (min =  +0.64 V, max =  +2.66 V)  ALARM
in3:          +3.02 V  (min =  +0.00 V, max =  +0.58 V)  ALARM
in4:          +3.12 V  (min =  +0.00 V, max =  +0.51 V)  ALARM
in5:          +0.54 V  (min =  +0.51 V, max =  +0.00 V)  ALARM
in6:          +0.85 V  (min =  +0.00 V, max =  +0.00 V)  ALARM
in7:          +3.33 V  (min =  +0.00 V, max =  +0.06 V)  ALARM
in8:          +3.44 V  (min =  +0.58 V, max =  +1.41 V)  ALARM
fan1:        1939 RPM  (min = 9375 RPM, div = 4)  ALARM
fan2:           0 RPM  (min = 1739 RPM, div = 4)  ALARM
temp1:        +33.0 C  (high =  +8.0 C, hyst =  +2.0 C)  ALARM  sensor = thermistor
temp2:        +36.5 C  (high = +80.0 C, hyst = +75.0 C)  sensor = thermistor
beep_enable: enabled



Did this pet include the lm-sensors when I installed it?

Perhaps OT, but would also like to get the hddtemp to work.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9114
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Thu 24 Oct 2013, 04:17    Post subject:  

Quote:
So do I go to /usr/local/bin/CPUtemp and edit line 5? What exactly do I put there?


Code:
modprobe w83627hf
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
toronado

Joined: 04 Sep 2013
Posts: 94

PostPosted: Fri 25 Oct 2013, 02:13    Post subject:  

rcrsn51 wrote:
Quote:
So do I go to /usr/local/bin/CPUtemp and edit line 5? What exactly do I put there?


Code:
modprobe w83627hf
OK, I get it now. It wouldn't work after reboot until I edited the CPUtemp file. Works great now. Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
linuxcbon

Joined: 09 Aug 2007
Posts: 762

PostPosted: Wed 25 Dec 2013, 14:55    Post subject:  

hi,
A little feedback.
Can you make separate pets : lm_sensors and your application , so it doesn't get mixed ?
It worked : I run sensors-detect , in the end it says
Code:
To load everything that is needed, add this to one of the system
initialization scripts (e.g. /etc/rc.d/rc.local):
#----cut here----
# Chip drivers
modprobe it87
/usr/local/bin/sensors -s
#----cut here----

I run the modprobe it87 as asked above and then typing "sensors" shows :
Code:
# /usr/local/bin/sensors
it8718-isa-0228
Adapter: ISA adapter
in0:          +1.04 V  (min =  +0.00 V, max =  +4.08 V)
in1:          +1.84 V  (min =  +0.00 V, max =  +4.08 V)
in2:          +3.33 V  (min =  +0.00 V, max =  +4.08 V)
+5V:          +3.01 V  (min =  +0.00 V, max =  +4.08 V)
in4:          +3.04 V  (min =  +0.00 V, max =  +4.08 V)
in5:          +3.22 V  (min =  +0.00 V, max =  +4.08 V)
in6:          +4.08 V  (min =  +0.00 V, max =  +4.08 V)  ALARM
in7:          +2.00 V  (min =  +0.00 V, max =  +4.08 V)
Vbat:         +3.20 V 
fan1:        2303 RPM  (min =   10 RPM)
fan2:           0 RPM  (min =    0 RPM)
fan3:           0 RPM  (min =    0 RPM)
fan4:           0 RPM  (min =    0 RPM)
temp1:        +34.0 C  (low  = +127.0 C, high = +127.0 C)  sensor = thermistor
temp2:        +39.0 C  (low  = +127.0 C, high = +70.0 C)  sensor = thermal diode
temp3:        +47.0 C  (low  = +127.0 C, high = +127.0 C)  sensor = thermistor
cpu0_vid:    +1.050 V
intrusion0:  OK


It seems the in6: ALARM is a bug, since, it's normal ?
Another bug : +5V: +3.01 V...
The CPU temperatures seem correct.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
linuxcbon

Joined: 09 Aug 2007
Posts: 762

PostPosted: Wed 25 Dec 2013, 15:01    Post subject:  

Nice, now hardinfo displays the sensors, I will ask Barry to add the modprobe and your application... Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9114
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Wed 25 Dec 2013, 15:24    Post subject:  

linuxcbon wrote:
Can you make separate pets : lm_sensors and your application , so it doesn't get mixed ?

I'd rather not. I slightly modify the sensors binary to be compatible with the CPUtemp script. It works better if they are packaged together. If you look in CPUtemp, you will see the full path /usr/local/bin/sensors so it doesn't use some other version already installed.

Quote:
It seems the in6: ALARM is a bug, since, it's normal ?
Another bug : +5V: +3.01 V...
The CPU temperatures seem correct.

There are ways of fine-tuning sensors so the output makes sense with your hardware.

Quote:
I run the modprobe it87 as asked above

Not all processors need this module.

Quote:
I will ask Barry to add the modprobe and your application...

Add them to what? BK has retired.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
linuxcbon

Joined: 09 Aug 2007
Posts: 762

PostPosted: Wed 25 Dec 2013, 15:51    Post subject:  

rcrsn51 wrote:
I'd rather not. I slightly modify the sensors binary to be compatible with the CPUtemp script. It works better if they are packaged together. If you look in CPUtemp, you will see the full path /usr/local/bin/sensors so it doesn't use some other version already installed.

What did you modify ? Ok so there can be 2 "sensors" , one in /usr/bin and one in /usr/local/bin ?

rcrsn51 wrote:
There are ways of fine-tuning sensors so the output makes sense with your hardware.

How ?

rcrsn51 wrote:
Add them to what? BK has retired.

To any puppy he wants, he is still active, even retired. It doesn't matter. I can ask, he can do what he wants.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9114
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Wed 25 Dec 2013, 16:55    Post subject:  

linuxcbon wrote:
What did you modify ?

I remove the degree symbol because there were problems getting it to display correctly in non-English character sets.

Quote:
Ok so there can be 2 "sensors" , one in /usr/bin and one in /usr/local/bin ?

Yes. IIRC, some Puppy builders are including the sensors package.

Quote:
How ?

The procedure is described in the sensors documentation. I have never tried it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7802
Location: qld

PostPosted: Wed 25 Dec 2013, 17:42    Post subject:  

rcrsn51 wrote:
linuxcbon wrote:
What did you modify ?

I remove the degree symbol because there were problems getting it to display correctly in non-English character sets.

Quote:
Ok so there can be 2 "sensors" , one in /usr/bin and one in /usr/local/bin ?

Yes. IIRC, some Puppy builders are including the sensors package.

Quote:
How ?

The procedure is described in the sensors documentation. I have never tried it.

IIRC, the script/source (yes I had some affect in C/C++ sources too, could have been me though) must be encoded UTF-8 for the degree symbol, however, this may fall over if the users opts for non UTF-8 locale.

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
linuxcbon

Joined: 09 Aug 2007
Posts: 762

PostPosted: Thu 09 Jan 2014, 14:53    Post subject:  

To display correct voltage values, the software needs to be corrected with a "correction" file : /etc/sensors.conf
Those "correction factors" depend on the mother board model. People who love maths can calculate them.
Example :
Code:
chip "it8718-*"
compute  in3  @ * (6.8/10+1), @ / (6.8/10+1)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ardvark


Joined: 01 Jul 2013
Posts: 985
Location: USA

PostPosted: Thu 09 Jan 2014, 22:16    Post subject:  

Hi...

Works nice, thank you! Smile

Regards...

_________________
Our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ loves and cares about you most of all!

PLEASE READ! You don't have to end up here!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mercedes350se

Joined: 16 Apr 2008
Posts: 633

PostPosted: Mon 17 Feb 2014, 00:03    Post subject:  

I have a missing

libgio-2.0.so.0

Where to get it? I am using 4.1.2.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ardvark


Joined: 01 Jul 2013
Posts: 985
Location: USA

PostPosted: Mon 17 Feb 2014, 01:06    Post subject:  

Mercedes350se wrote:
I have a missing

libgio-2.0.so.0

Where to get it? I am using 4.1.2.


Hi...

Does the file below solve this issue? Smile

Regards...
libgio.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  libgio.pet 
Filesize  145.7 KB 
Downloaded  124 Time(s) 

_________________
Our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ loves and cares about you most of all!

PLEASE READ! You don't have to end up here!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mercedes350se

Joined: 16 Apr 2008
Posts: 633

PostPosted: Mon 17 Feb 2014, 06:19    Post subject:  

Sure does. Thank you.

Interestingly if I run CPUtemp in console I get 47C but hardinfo>sensors returns 42C. Hmm.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 4 of 5 [67 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Utilities
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0944s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0046s) ][ GZIP on ]