Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 29 Aug 2014, 04:09
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » System
swapfile manager
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 3 of 4 [57 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4 Next
Author Message
jpeps

Joined: 31 May 2008
Posts: 3220

PostPosted: Sat 24 Sep 2011, 04:37    Post subject:  

Version 4.1 Better integration of gtimer; streamlined some code.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jpeps

Joined: 31 May 2008
Posts: 3220

PostPosted: Sun 11 Dec 2011, 14:52    Post subject:  

Version 4.2 Automatically defaults to gtkdialog4 but reverts to gtkdialog3 if not available. Added version name to work with pet uninstaller.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
PenguinPupLin

Joined: 23 Dec 2011
Posts: 126
Location: The Little Red Dot

PostPosted: Fri 30 Dec 2011, 13:45    Post subject: swapfile error
Subject description: Malformed setting "vm.swappiness="
 

In urxvt,I get swapfile error:Malformed setting :"vm.swappiness=".
What I did was:
1) In WinXP, fsutil file createnew c"\Wary-511\pup,swp 528244000;then reboot
2) in Wary511,urxvt,
a) mkswap /mnt/home/Wary-511/pup.swp,
b) swapon /mnt/home/Wary-511/pup.swp;
3) use Geany,open roo/.etc/rc.d/rc.local and appended "swapon /mnt/home/Wary511/pup.swp" (without quotes) and saved it to make swapon automatic.
Then I came across the swapfile manager.4.2.pet and installed it,run the program and just set the swappiness at 10 without creating another swapfile as I already have one. Now I get this error message every time I open rxvt.
What should I do ? Any help greatly appreciated.
Another question, I intend to use swapfilemanager in Classic Pup214X-TOP9 to add a swapfile in the same partition where Wary-511 subfolder is located but this time in root where the 214X pupsave resides. Any problem if I do this? Kindly advise(still a noob in Linux).
Edited: Latest development - I deleted the created puppy.swp and use swapfilemanager to created a new swapfile. The swappiness problem is resolved but now I get "..,swapon failed: Device or resource busy" . Need help on this, thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jpeps

Joined: 31 May 2008
Posts: 3220

PostPosted: Sat 31 Dec 2011, 12:48    Post subject:  

"swapon -s" will show you what swapfile it is pointing to. I think "swapon -p" will let you prioritize. It looks like you set up conflicting swapfiles.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
PenguinPupLin

Joined: 23 Dec 2011
Posts: 126
Location: The Little Red Dot

PostPosted: Sun 01 Jan 2012, 04:30    Post subject:  

swapon -s showed only one i.e initrd/mnt/dev_save/swapfile and priority -1
Will swapon -p auto prioritize it as there is only one swapfile?

Having created it in Wary511, how do I add the same swapfile ,without creating another one, in Lighthouse Puppy 5.0.3 after installing the swapfilemanager.pet? Saw yr instruction above,but my apology,being a noob,still not clear how to do it. Appreciate yr help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jpeps

Joined: 31 May 2008
Posts: 3220

PostPosted: Sun 01 Jan 2012, 04:54    Post subject:  

The location is listed in /root/.swapfile. It's easiest to just create a new one in the same location. The other will still be there.

Your swapon -s printout looks good.

example:

Code:

STATE=ON
/mnt/sda2/swapfile
SWAPPINESS=30
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
PenguinPupLin

Joined: 23 Dec 2011
Posts: 126
Location: The Little Red Dot

PostPosted: Sun 01 Jan 2012, 05:08    Post subject:  

Thanks, I'll create another one for Lighthouse then but can I use a different name as it will be in the same drive and partition sda1(hd0,0) as for Wary511?
The one for Wary still showing the same error message:"swapon failed.Device or resource busy" despite there being only one swapfile.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jpeps

Joined: 31 May 2008
Posts: 3220

PostPosted: Sun 01 Jan 2012, 05:53    Post subject:  

PenguinPupLin wrote:
Thanks, I'll create another one for Lighthouse then but can I use a different name as it will be in the same drive and partition sda1(hd0,0) as for Wary511?
The one for Wary still showing the same error message:"swapon failed.Device or resource busy" despite there being only one swapfile.


You can't delete or alter a swapfile until you turn it off with swapoff. Yours is still on.

If you use a different name, it will be a different swapfile on the same partition.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
PenguinPupLin

Joined: 23 Dec 2011
Posts: 126
Location: The Little Red Dot

PostPosted: Sun 01 Jan 2012, 06:25    Post subject:  

But once I boot out of Wary,wouldn't it be turned off ? Then I 'll boot into Lighthouse to create another one by a different name, leaving the other one alone as swapfile(which was the default name). Will this do? Sorry,I'm still a noob.

Anyway,I've gone ahead to create a swapfile of the same name for Lighthouse Puppy as for Wary511 since they can both share the same swapfile running at different times as I don't wish to have more than one swapfile to confuse it and hv to set priority(don't know how).

Lastly, although the message "swapon failed.Devce or resource is busy" appeared in both Lighthouse and Wary, typing "free" in terminal showed some swap memory were used. Not sure if this means the swapfile is working alright and the message has something to do with the swappiness setting.

Also noticed that with swapfile auto-on,booting time is longer.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
PenguinPupLin

Joined: 23 Dec 2011
Posts: 126
Location: The Little Red Dot

PostPosted: Sun 01 Jan 2012, 12:20    Post subject:  

Could you confirm that creating a swapfile of the same name and in the same harddisk partition in Lighthouse and Wary511 is alright? When I reboot or shutdown the system,is the cache in the swapfile cleared, so that when I boot into another Puppy, there is no conflict or anything? I ask because now my Lighthouse boots up and gives me a message (as far as I can remember) like "multi-user hald message: bash /etc/rc.sysctl/ no such file or directory" and stays like this for sometime before finally booting into xserver. Pardon me for nagging you as I'm trying out various puppy linux distros to see which one or two works best for my notebook and leave it at that for longterm use and also before I do the same for my friends similar notebook specs. Thanks in advance.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jpeps

Joined: 31 May 2008
Posts: 3220

PostPosted: Sun 01 Jan 2012, 12:54    Post subject:  

PenguinPupLin wrote:
Could you confirm that creating a swapfile of the same name and in the same harddisk partition in Lighthouse and Wary511 is alright?


When you install it, it creates an entry in /root/.swapfile. It doesn't care if you've got a similar entry in another distro.

If you're seeing swap usage, that would explain the "busy" messages. The system can only use one swapfile or swap partition. The one in use must be turned off to create a new one. Swapfile was intended when there is no swap partition already in use.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
PenguinPupLin

Joined: 23 Dec 2011
Posts: 126
Location: The Little Red Dot

PostPosted: Mon 02 Jan 2012, 03:20    Post subject:  

That's reassuring,thank you. Any idea about the hald message "multi-user -sh: /.etc/.bashrcsysctl: No such file or directory" that I got when booting up Lighthouse puppy 5.0.3 mariner after I've created the swapfile, not that I think it must have anything to do with it. Anyway,it still boots up after a while.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jpeps

Joined: 31 May 2008
Posts: 3220

PostPosted: Mon 02 Jan 2012, 06:31    Post subject:  

Something ( "multi-user") is looking for a missing or misplaced file. It's definitely not swapfile manager.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
PenguinPupLin

Joined: 23 Dec 2011
Posts: 126
Location: The Little Red Dot

PostPosted: Wed 04 Jan 2012, 04:37    Post subject: Using winfonts to create swap space
Subject description: Winfonts.pet uses windows pagefile.sys as swap space
 

As an experiment and to test it, I follow Shinobar's instruction to use winfonts.pet to create a swap space that uses windows pagefile.sys as swap space.
First,I turn my existing swap off with your swapfilemanager. Then I installed and run winfonts3.4.pet to set swap space - my pagefile.sys has about 785MB of virtual memory. After rebooting X server, I uninstalled swapfile manger to avoid any conflict just in case. But I noticed,free in console still shows vm.swappiness=60. How is this so? Does it matter or is it useful to leave it? If necessary,how to remove it? On the other hand,if I still wish to set swappiness,how can I do so without swapfilemanager? Any advice appreciated.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jpeps

Joined: 31 May 2008
Posts: 3220

PostPosted: Wed 04 Jan 2012, 14:25    Post subject:  

edit "/proc/sys/vm/swappiness"; 60 is default
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 3 of 4 [57 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » System
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0727s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0043s) ][ GZIP on ]