Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 25 Oct 2014, 03:33
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Lucid Puppy 5.1 Bug Reports and Fixes
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 8 of 25 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, ..., 23, 24, 25 Next
Author Message
sinc


Joined: 22 Jul 2009
Posts: 523
Location: Tampa, FL USA

PostPosted: Sat 14 Aug 2010, 22:57    Post_subject:  

edoc wrote:

Code:
dhcpcd --version

http://puppylinux.org/wikka/dhcpcd


hmm, i guess theres a newer version than included with lupu Question oh well thanks for the update, i'll try it out
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Sun 15 Aug 2010, 01:28    Post_subject:  

My Ethernet connection is still not persistent
between boots

So tried this,
http://puppylinux.org/wikka/dhcpcd
powered down and restarted

Ethernet connection retained Cool
Thanks guys

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Sun 15 Aug 2010, 01:38    Post_subject:  

XaraLx (package manager)
Is a program I find reliable and prefer to Inkscape

Not the Lucid version Confused
First time I was doing a logo for 5.2 (Luci)
Just about to save
when it crashed Crying or Very sad

Second time it also crashed
but I had saved the file
Only the saved file was not in my list of xar files

Maybe I should reinstall it?
Anyone else having issues?

Save us from logos like this:

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7836
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sun 15 Aug 2010, 02:58    Post_subject:  

Lobster wrote:
XaraLx (package manager)
Is a program I find reliable and prefer to Inkscape

Not the Lucid version Confused
First time I was doing a logo for 5.2 (Luci)
Just about to save
when it crashed Crying or Very sad

Second time it also crashed
but I had saved the file
Only the saved file was not in my list of xar files

Maybe I should reinstall it?
Anyone else having issues?

Save us from logos like this:

Lobster, Any terminal output? Maybe it's a bad library.

Cheers

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
piratesmack


Joined: 16 Sep 2009
Posts: 100

PostPosted: Sun 15 Aug 2010, 02:58    Post_subject:  

I think I may have found a bug. I went through the 'Classic configuration experience' and set my hwclock type to UTC, but the script '~/Startup/settime' still sets the system time to localtime:
Code:

#added by playdayz to make timezone persistent
hwclock --hctosys --localtime


Thank you guys for all the hard work you put into Puppy 5.1.

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5237
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sun 15 Aug 2010, 03:42    Post_subject:  

Network connection drops out after no activity.

So tried this update of dhcpcd.
http://puppylinux.org/wikka/dhcpcd
powered down and restarted

Network connection retained Cool
Thanks guys!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Sun 15 Aug 2010, 05:30    Post_subject: Re: simpress 3.2.1 doesn't run a slide show  

01micko wrote:
Béèm wrote:
I receives a pps (slide show) and wanted to run it with OOo 3.2.1
Simpress loads the pps, but when I push F5 to run the show nothing happens.

This did work in earlier lucid's.


Béèm..

What you describe actually works for me.. I made an SFS out of coolpup's pet on the wiki.. whose SFS/.pet are you using and where from?

BTW, running Rolf's (rhadon) "googphilosphy.pps", available from his Opera sharing thingy when he is online.

Cheers
I should really think of making notes what I did and how I do things. So I think I got the GB version from the puppylinux:openoffice page and transformed it to a sfs.
As said it did work in earlier lucid's, but can't remember in which one I did run a pps the last time.

The reason I created a sfs is, that I didn't want to increase my save file with an extra 145MB to install the pet and I got stuck on the manual method described. Didn't find how to refer to the /mnt/home/openoffice directory from within puppy.

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Stripe

Joined: 23 Jun 2010
Posts: 658
Location: In a field. England

PostPosted: Sun 15 Aug 2010, 09:20    Post_subject:  

Hi Brown Mouse

Have looked at the nvidia site and they recomend the same driver for the 200 series
Have checked the way I install puppy510 and the driver from usb

1. boot up computer from usb device
2. Install to hard drive as frugal install without changing anything (apart from installing/changing grub menu, remembering to save changes to grub) (eg saving as puppy510)
3. reboot computer and quit without saving (as dont want to save pupsave to usb device)

4. on restart choose the newly instaled puppy fron grub (eg puppy510 frugal)

5. reboot again this time saving to folder that puppy is installed in (eg puppy510) (choosing 1.25Gb save file size as I have plenty of room on hard drive and avoiding problems with save file not being large enough) (personaly save as EXT3 in case of power faliures)

6. open quickpet and choose 256.35 driver and download/install, I say no when it asks if I want to exit to xorgwizard. (can do it all in the complete configuration experiance)

7. run the complete configuration experiance, set keyboard time zone etc,
When I get to the driver choice select choose and type in "nvidia" when it asks to move the NV driver click OK, I choose 1280X1024 as my screen resolution (depending on the size of monitor you are using)

8.when it asks again for the resolution I choose 1280x1024x24 and not the 1280x1024x16 it suggests, (more colours and better display) choose test and hit return

9. when the test screen apears click on ok

10 It will then tell you the screen resolution, refresh rates and the driver being used (if it says nvidia the driver has loaded OK and it is using it)
click on ok.

11. if it takes you to the command line type "xwin" hit return and this will return you to the desktop

12 I always reboot at this point (should save automaticaly) but dont think it is needed.

This works for me with a geforce 210 card Hope this helps
Stripe

(if it does work and you have sound problems just shout)

01micko is right the 196.35.24 driver (from the PPM) will work with this card and if the above does not work is the next one to try.

01micko has a lot more knowledge and experiance than me and he wrote a lot of the code for 510, so knows his onions.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Brown Mouse


Joined: 09 Jun 2009
Posts: 449
Location: Tenerife Canary Islands

PostPosted: Sun 15 Aug 2010, 11:43    Post_subject:  

Stripe wrote:
Hi Brown Mouse

Have looked at the nvidia site and they recomend the same driver for the 200 series
Have checked the way I install puppy510 and the driver from usb

1. boot up computer from usb device
2. Install to hard drive as frugal install without changing anything (apart from installing/changing grub menu, remembering to save changes to grub) (eg saving as puppy510)
3. reboot computer and quit without saving (as dont want to save pupsave to usb device)

4. on restart choose the newly instaled puppy fron grub (eg puppy510 frugal)

5. reboot again this time saving to folder that puppy is installed in (eg puppy510) (choosing 1.25Gb save file size as I have plenty of room on hard drive and avoiding problems with save file not being large enough) (personaly save as EXT3 in case of power faliures)

6. open quickpet and choose 256.35 driver and download/install, I say no when it asks if I want to exit to xorgwizard. (can do it all in the complete configuration experiance)

7. run the complete configuration experiance, set keyboard time zone etc,
When I get to the driver choice select choose and type in "nvidia" when it asks to move the NV driver click OK, I choose 1280X1024 as my screen resolution (depending on the size of monitor you are using)

8.when it asks again for the resolution I choose 1280x1024x24 and not the 1280x1024x16 it suggests, (more colours and better display) choose test and hit return

9. when the test screen apears click on ok

10 It will then tell you the screen resolution, refresh rates and the driver being used (if it says nvidia the driver has loaded OK and it is using it)
click on ok.

11. if it takes you to the command line type "xwin" hit return and this will return you to the desktop

12 I always reboot at this point (should save automaticaly) but dont think it is needed.

This works for me with a geforce 210 card Hope this helps
Stripe

(if it does work and you have sound problems just shout)

01micko is right the 196.35.24 driver (from the PPM) will work with this card and if the above does not work is the next one to try.

01micko has a lot more knowledge and experiance than me and he wrote a lot of the code for 510, so knows his onions.


Stripe

Thanks for your time and trouble with this.
unfortunately most of this does not work for me and I have literally spent hours trying to rectify the problem.
I downloaded a fresh Lucid 510.iso this morning checked the MD5sum and proceeded to do a frugal install.
I tried the suggested drivers and found as you said that 256-35 was the only one I could get to run.After each attempt I did a clean install to make sure nothing was left in the system.
The resolution Puppy booted to before installing the drivers was 1440x900 which was ideal for me.
Having then installed the 235-35 drivers I couldn't select this resolution and the ones that would function were far too large.
I then discovered from the menu>settings tab an nvidia entry and when clicking on,it came up with all the nvidia settings.From there I was able to select my desired choice of 1440x900.
At this point I thought my troubles were over but using that resolution put the task bar midway on my monitor.I tried each resolution,some of which wouldn't work at all and the ones that did would have made it unusable as they were far to large.
Not sure where I go from here but I presume now that there must be some incompatibility with my hardware.
I should mention at this point,I'm also using PCLinuxOS'S and have always had issues with nvidia drivers and can never seem to achieve the same resolution for them all so I certainly don't blame Puppy.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
ArnaudN

Joined: 29 Apr 2007
Posts: 71
Location: France

PostPosted: Sun 15 Aug 2010, 11:51    Post_subject:  

While investigating on my own problem of connection at boot, I have found following code in /etc/rc.d/rc.network
Code:
# Dougal: add reloading of bcm43xx
if grep -Fq bcm43xx /proc/modules ; then
  rmmod bcm43xx
  sleep 1
  modprobe bcm43xx
  sleep 1
fi

but in lucid puppy 5.1, the corresponding module is no more "bcm43xx", but "b43". I know because the wifi chipset in my laptop is this one.
Maybe rc.network should take that into account.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
duke93535


Joined: 05 May 2005
Posts: 194
Location: California , High Desert

PostPosted: Sun 15 Aug 2010, 12:28    Post_subject:  

How come XDG (menu manager) is breaking off the menus into submenus without being told to by the configurations in /etc/xdg/menus/puppy-xxxxx.menu files?

For example, only one item (rox) in submenu under file managers and the configuration calls for a higher number of 10.

This problem is not in Quirky 1.2, so I am wandering why or what is different, is it Ubuntu?


duke
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Stripe

Joined: 23 Jun 2010
Posts: 658
Location: In a field. England

PostPosted: Sun 15 Aug 2010, 13:13    Post_subject:  

[quote="Brown Mouse"]
At this point I thought my troubles were over but using that resolution put the task bar midway on my monitor./quote]

When this happens got to menu/shutdown/restart xserver as this sometimes helps and sorts the screen out (I think it resets xserver to the same resolution as nvidia)

Stripe
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 1464
Location: Malvern, Worcs, UK

PostPosted: Sun 15 Aug 2010, 13:31    Post_subject: Wifi connection drops  

bigpup wrote:
Network connection drops out after no activity.

So tried this update of dhcpcd.
http://puppylinux.org/wikka/dhcpcd
powered down and restarted

Network connection retained Cool
Thanks guys!


The version of dhcpcd in puppy5.1 is 5.1.5 - the version in the link is 5.2.6

HOWEVER loading it doesn't help for me - my connection still drops after c. 5 mins - my output from /var/log/messages is below (I'm not sure why the date is not shown consistently ???)

Does it matter that I get "cfg80211: Calling CRDA for country: US" even though I am in the UK ???

To make my connection stay up I have to have the following file in startup

while [ 1 ]; do
iwconfig wlan0 essid samthecat
sleep 30
done

I notice a post about the Broadcom B43xx module name change - is this the problem???

Thanks
Peter

=====================
/var/log/messages
Aug 15 17:18:49 puppypc user.info kernel: cfg80211: Using static regulatory domain info
Aug 15 17:18:49 puppypc user.info kernel: cfg80211: Regulatory domain: 00
Aug 15 17:18:49 puppypc user.info kernel: (start_freq - end_freq @ bandwidth), (max_antenna_gain, max_eirp)
Aug 15 17:18:49 puppypc user.info kernel: (2402000 KHz - 2472000 KHz @ 40000 KHz), (600 mBi, 2000 mBm)
Aug 15 17:18:49 puppypc user.info kernel: (2457000 KHz - 2482000 KHz @ 20000 KHz), (600 mBi, 2000 mBm)
Aug 15 17:18:49 puppypc user.info kernel: (2474000 KHz - 2494000 KHz @ 20000 KHz), (600 mBi, 2000 mBm)
Aug 15 17:18:49 puppypc user.info kernel: (5170000 KHz - 5250000 KHz @ 40000 KHz), (600 mBi, 2000 mBm)
Aug 15 17:18:49 puppypc user.info kernel: (5735000 KHz - 5835000 KHz @ 40000 KHz), (600 mBi, 2000 mBm)
Aug 15 17:18:49 puppypc user.info kernel: cfg80211: Calling CRDA to update world regulatory domain
Aug 15 17:18:49 puppypc user.info kernel: b43-phy0: Broadcom 4311 WLAN found (core revision 13)
Aug 15 17:18:49 puppypc user.info kernel: HDA Intel 0000:00:1b.0: power state changed by ACPI to D0
Aug 15 17:18:49 puppypc user.info kernel: HDA Intel 0000:00:1b.0: PCI INT A -> Link[C12E] -> GSI 10 (level, low) -> IRQ 10
Aug 15 17:18:49 puppypc user.debug kernel: HDA Intel 0000:00:1b.0: irq 21 for MSI/MSI-X
Aug 15 17:18:49 puppypc user.debug kernel: HDA Intel 0000:00:1b.0: setting latency timer to 64
Aug 15 17:18:49 puppypc user.debug kernel: phy0: Selected rate control algorithm 'minstrel'
Aug 15 17:18:49 puppypc user.info kernel: Registered led device: b43-phy0::tx
Aug 15 17:18:49 puppypc user.info kernel: Registered led device: b43-phy0::rx
Aug 15 17:18:49 puppypc user.info kernel: Registered led device: b43-phy0::radio
Aug 15 17:18:49 puppypc user.info kernel: Broadcom 43xx driver loaded [ Features: PML, Firmware-ID: FW13 ]
Aug 15 17:18:49 puppypc user.info kernel: [drm] Initialized drm 1.1.0 20060810
Aug 15 17:18:49 puppypc user.info kernel: i915 0000:00:02.0: PCI INT A -> Link[C12E] -> GSI 10 (level, low) -> IRQ 10
Aug 15 17:18:49 puppypc user.debug kernel: i915 0000:00:02.0: setting latency timer to 64
Aug 15 17:18:49 puppypc user.debug kernel: i915 0000:00:02.0: irq 22 for MSI/MSI-X
Aug 15 17:18:49 puppypc user.info kernel: [drm] set up 7M of stolen space
Aug 15 17:18:49 puppypc user.info kernel: [drm] initialized overlay support
Aug 15 17:18:49 puppypc user.info kernel: b43 ssb0:0: firmware: requesting b43/ucode13.fw
Aug 15 17:18:49 puppypc user.info kernel: b43 ssb0:0: firmware: requesting b43/b0g0initvals13.fw
Aug 15 17:18:49 puppypc user.info kernel: b43-phy0: Loading firmware version 410.2160 (2007-05-26 15:32:10)
Aug 15 17:18:49 puppypc user.warn kernel: Console: switching to colour frame buffer device 80x30
Aug 15 17:18:49 puppypc user.info kernel: fb0: inteldrmfb frame buffer device
Aug 15 17:18:49 puppypc user.info kernel: registered panic notifier
Aug 15 17:18:49 puppypc user.info kernel: acpi device:00: registered as cooling_device6
Aug 15 17:18:49 puppypc user.info kernel: input: Video Bus as /devices/LNXSYSTM:00/LNXSYBUS:00/PNP0A08:00/LNXVIDEO:00/input/input7
Aug 15 17:18:49 puppypc user.info kernel: ACPI: Video Device [C099] (multi-head: yes rom: no post: no)
Aug 15 17:18:49 puppypc user.info kernel: [drm] Initialized i915 1.6.0 20080730 for 0000:00:02.0 on minor 0
Aug 15 17:18:51 puppypc user.info kernel: b43-phy0: Loading firmware version 410.2160 (2007-05-26 15:32:10)
Aug 15 17:18:51 puppypc user.debug kernel: wlan0: direct probe to AP 94:44:52:0e:80:f3 (try 1)
Aug 15 17:18:51 puppypc daemon.info dhcpcd[6806]: version 5.2.6 starting
Aug 15 17:18:51 puppypc user.debug kernel: wlan0: direct probe responded
Aug 15 17:18:51 puppypc user.debug kernel: wlan0: authenticate with AP 94:44:52:0e:80:f3 (try 1)
Aug 15 17:18:51 puppypc user.debug kernel: wlan0: authenticated
Aug 15 17:18:51 puppypc user.debug kernel: wlan0: associate with AP 94:44:52:0e:80:f3 (try 1)
Aug 15 17:18:51 puppypc user.debug kernel: wlan0: RX AssocResp from 94:44:52:0e:80:f3 (capab=0x11 status=0 aid=1)
Aug 15 17:18:51 puppypc user.debug kernel: wlan0: associated
Aug 15 17:18:51 puppypc user.info kernel: cfg80211: Calling CRDA for country: US
Aug 15 17:18:52 puppypc daemon.info dhcpcd[6806]: wlan0: rebinding lease of 192.168.2.2
Aug 15 17:18:53 puppypc daemon.info dhcpcd[6806]: wlan0: acknowledged 192.168.2.2 from 192.168.2.1
Aug 15 17:18:53 puppypc daemon.info dhcpcd[6806]: wlan0: checking for 192.168.2.2
Aug 14 18:18:53 puppypc user.notice powerapplet: Abort, unable to open /proc/acpi/battery/---/info
Aug 15 17:18:55 puppypc user.notice powerapplet: Abort, unable to open /proc/acpi/battery/---/info
Aug 16 16:18:58 puppypc daemon.info dhcpcd[6806]: wlan0: leased 192.168.2.2 for infinity
Aug 16 16:18:58 puppypc daemon.info dhcpcd[6806]: forked to background, child pid 7292
Aug 16 16:24:00 puppypc daemon.info dhcpcd[7292]: wlan0: carrier lost
Aug 16 16:24:00 puppypc user.debug kernel: wlan0: deauthenticated from 94:44:52:0e:80:f3 (Reason: 3)
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
sinc


Joined: 22 Jul 2009
Posts: 523
Location: Tampa, FL USA

PostPosted: Sun 15 Aug 2010, 13:59    Post_subject: Re: Wifi connection drops  

peebee wrote:
The version of dhcpcd in puppy5.1 is 5.1.5 - the version in the link is 5.2.6

HOWEVER loading it doesn't help for me - my connection still drops after c. 5 mins - my output from /var/log/messages is below (I'm not sure why the date is not shown consistently ???)


yeah it didn't fix the connection for me either.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5237
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sun 15 Aug 2010, 15:27    Post_subject:  

Brown Mouse,
Quote:

The resolution Puppy booted to before installing the drivers was 1440x900 which was ideal for me.
Having then installed the 235-35 drivers I couldn't select this resolution and the ones that would function were far too large.
I then discovered from the menu>settings tab an nvidia entry and when clicking on,it came up with all the nvidia settings.From there I was able to select my desired choice of 1440x900.
At this point I thought my troubles were over but using that resolution put the task bar midway on my monitor.I tried each resolution,some of which wouldn't work at all and the ones that did would have made it unusable as they were far to large.
Not sure where I go from here but I presume now that there must be some incompatibility with my hardware.
I should mention at this point,I'm also using PCLinuxOS'S and have always had issues with nvidia drivers and can never seem to achieve the same resolution for them all so I certainly don't blame Puppy.


After you change resolution or settings with the Nvidia program in menu> settings try this. If your monitor has an auto adjust button, press it and see if that has any effect.
I have to do this on mine any time I us Nvidia drivers. This makes the monitor adjust for the settings I just changed.

Quote:

O1micko,
...what bigpup said or simply restart X


Also, in the Nvidia X server settings program > "X server display configuration", do not use the apply button but make sure you select save to X configuration file.
Restart X to make sure the new settings are being used.

Edited_times_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 8 of 25 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, ..., 23, 24, 25 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1313s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0070s) ][ GZIP on ]