Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 19 Dec 2014, 03:27
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
LupQ-510s FINALIZED - Lucid Puppy Quickset edition
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 4 of 15 [221 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, ..., 13, 14, 15 Next
Author Message
charlie6


Joined: 30 Jun 2008
Posts: 1030
Location: South of Belgium

PostPosted: Thu 19 Aug 2010, 11:42    Post subject: Re: mtpaint version  

Hi again,
shinobar wrote:
...Do you like mtpaint version 3.34.40 on lupq-005?

Hmmm...For sure I like it ! (thanks Dmitry !) I'm using it quite daily !
Thanks again!
Cheers, Charlie
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
maxpro4u


Joined: 19 Jun 2010
Posts: 290
Location: Rittman,Ohio,USA, In dog years,I'm dead

PostPosted: Thu 19 Aug 2010, 13:00    Post subject: Re: re: taskbar at top using jwm  

shinobar wrote:
maxpro4u wrote:
Taskbar will not go to top. Says config corrupt.

I am not sure it depends or not on the version of lupq and/or lupu.
anyway, edit /etc/xdg/templates/_root_.jwmrc.
Comment out or delete two '<corner>...' at line 83 and 89.
Code:
<!-- <Corner>white</Corner> -->
<Outline>black</Outline>
</Active>
<Inactive>
<Text>#aaaaaa</Text>
<Title>#fffa71:#ffda51</Title>
<!-- <Corner>#aaaaaa</Corner> -->

Then, menu > Shutdown > Refresh desktop
And re-run JWM configuration.


Deleted lines-refresh-re-run-still says config corrupt

I will check config file from 003 and see what is different.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2631
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Thu 19 Aug 2010, 13:13    Post subject: Re: re: taskbar at top using jwm  

maxpro4u wrote:
Deleted lines-refresh-re-run-still says config corrupt

Does the JWM Configuration Manager leaves /tmp/checklist.temp.*?

Or, restart X, and check out the file '/tmp/xerrs.log'.

Or, on the virtual terminal, type:
Code:
jwm -p

_________________
Google Chrome portable
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
maxpro4u


Joined: 19 Jun 2010
Posts: 290
Location: Rittman,Ohio,USA, In dog years,I'm dead

PostPosted: Thu 19 Aug 2010, 14:39    Post subject: Re: re: taskbar at top using jwm  

shinobar wrote:
maxpro4u wrote:
Deleted lines-refresh-re-run-still says config corrupt

Does the JWM Configuration Manager leaves /tmp/checklist.temp.*?

Or, restart X, and check out the file '/tmp/xerrs.log'.

Or, on the virtual terminal, type:
Code:
jwm -p


here is log file

X.Org X Server 1.7.6
Release Date: 2010-03-17
X Protocol Version 11, Revision 0
Build Operating System: Linux 2.6.24-25-server i686 Ubuntu
Current Operating System: Linux puppypc 2.6.33.2 #1 SMP Thu May 27 10:56:32 EST 2010 i686
Kernel command line: PMEDIA=idehd PDEV1=sda5 psubdir=lupq004 pnpbios=off
Build Date: 23 April 2010 05:11:50PM
xorg-server 2:1.7.6-2ubuntu7 (Bryce Harrington <bryce@ubuntu.com>)
Current version of pixman: 0.16.4
Before reporting problems, check http://wiki.x.org
to make sure that you have the latest version.
Markers: (--) probed, (**) from config file, (==) default setting,
(++) from command line, (!!) notice, (II) informational,
(WW) warning, (EE) error, (NI) not implemented, (??) unknown.
(==) Log file: "/var/log/Xorg.0.log", Time: Thu Aug 19 13:50:27 2010
(==) Using config file: "/etc/X11/xorg.conf"
(==) Using config directory: "/usr/lib/X11/xorg.conf.d"
(EE) Failed to load module "fbdev" (module does not exist, 0)
(EE) AIGLX error: dlopen of /usr/lib/dri/swrast_dri.so failed (/usr/lib/dri/swrast_dri.so: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory)
(EE) GLX: could not load software renderer
cat: /sys/block/fd0/device/vendor: No such file or directory
cat: /sys/block/fd0/device/model: No such file or directory
/usr/bin/jwm
JWM: warning: /root/.jwm/jwmrc-theme[8]: invalid tag in Active: Corner
JWM: warning: /root/.jwm/jwmrc-theme[14]: invalid tag in Inactive: Corner
killall: freememapplet: no process killed
ACPI seems to be supported but not enabled in kernel,
try using acpi=force on next reboot.
kill: usage: kill [-s sigspec | -n signum | -sigspec] [pid | job]... or kill -l [sigspec]
Replacing "NEXTWM="$1"" with "NEXTWM="$1"" (case sensitive) (partial words matched)
Processing: /usr/bin/restartwm

A Total of 1 matches replaced in 1 file searched.
Line: 5 String Found and Replaced
ACPI seems to be supported but not enabled in kernel,
try using acpi=force on next reboot.
Setting up watches.
Watches established.
/usr/local/jwmconfig2/taskbarPlace: line 81: [: too many arguments
EXIT="OK"
EXIT="ok"
Generating /root/.icewm/menu...
Generating /root/.jwmrc...
JWM: warning: /root/.jwm/jwmrc-theme[8]: invalid tag in Active: Corner
JWM: warning: /root/.jwm/jwmrc-theme[14]: invalid tag in Inactive: Corner
killall: freememapplet: no process killed
kill: usage: kill [-s sigspec | -n signum | -sigspec] [pid | job]... or kill -l [sigspec]
Setting up watches.
Watches established.
/usr/local/jwmconfig2/taskbarPlace: line 81: [: too many arguments
EXIT="OK"
JWM: warning: /root/.jwm/jwmrc-theme[8]: invalid tag in Active: Corner
JWM: warning: /root/.jwm/jwmrc-theme[14]: invalid tag in Inactive: Corner
kill: usage: kill [-s sigspec | -n signum | -sigspec] [pid | job]... or kill -l [sigspec]
Setting up watches.
Watches established.
/usr/local/jwmconfig2/taskbarPlace: line 81: [: too many arguments
EXIT="OK"
EXIT="ok"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2631
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Sat 21 Aug 2010, 05:54    Post subject: Update  

Updated to lupq-005. Major bugfix: was lost timezone after rebooting PC.
_________________
Google Chrome portable
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2631
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Sat 21 Aug 2010, 08:36    Post subject: Font issue
Subject description: Abiword cannot display bold characters
 

charlie6 wrote:
using Abiword, bold characters are not bold displayed.

Lupq cuts down Dejavu fonts and has only one file, regular sans.
Bold and italic can be displayed on most applications but abiword.
On abiword, Sans bold ok, but Serif bold no.
Abiword can show next patterns of font styles.

Adding font files enables serif bold on abiword. But should we make the main sfs fat only for abiword?. Can it be an additional pet?
Gnumeric can show serif bold with the diet font set on lupq. OpenOffice has no problem because it has its own fonts in the package.
How do you think?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2631
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Sat 21 Aug 2010, 09:53    Post subject: Re: re: taskbar at top using jwm  

maxpro4u wrote:
JWM: warning: /root/.jwm/jwmrc-theme[8]: invalid tag in Active: Corner
JWM: warning: /root/.jwm/jwmrc-theme[14]: invalid tag in Inactive: Corner

Try another jwm theme.

Anyway, the jwmconfig2 is buggy. I can import the improved code from Puppy-431JP(Japanese edition), maybe on next lupq release.

_________________
Google Chrome portable
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Tasgarth

Joined: 06 Oct 2008
Posts: 202
Location: France, Besancon

PostPosted: Sat 21 Aug 2010, 11:10    Post subject: TEST lupq 005  

TEST lupq 005 :

'azerty' and fr_FR (France), (without Nvidia driver GeForce 7600 GT ),AMD AM2

005.iso is good but the live-CD 005 has updated my lupq004 (Full Install) right, directly Sad
and after I get the prompt . Sad
I typed 'xwin' (querty) ... and I get the good screen with 'azerty', Locale (fr_FR) etc...
TimeZone is right.
----------------------------------------------

--- Iron Browser is good, light and displays (with SRWare Iron) an automatic traduction. Very interesting.
--- And Flash (libflashplayer-10.1.82.76 pet ) is running very well with Iron browser

Cheers,
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
charlie6


Joined: 30 Jun 2008
Posts: 1030
Location: South of Belgium

PostPosted: Sun 22 Aug 2010, 00:44    Post subject: Re: Font issue
Subject description: Abiword cannot display bold characters ... for all fonts
 

Hi shinobar,
shinobar wrote:
...should we make the main sfs fat only for abiword?. Can it be an additional pet?
...How do you think?

oops! Sorry to not have tried other fonts than Times New roman...!
I agree with you. Better keep sfs tiny.

Thanks having put mtpaint-3.34.40 inside the iso !
Cheers, Charlie
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
charlie6


Joined: 30 Jun 2008
Posts: 1030
Location: South of Belgium

PostPosted: Sun 22 Aug 2010, 00:46    Post subject: Re: Font issue  

double post ...sorry
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2631
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Sun 22 Aug 2010, 01:02    Post subject: Type1 fonts
Subject description: /invalidfont in /findfont error while opening a .ps file
 

charlie6 wrote:
on lupq-003, got this error while opening a .ps file which is readable in pup420.
This the error code I got.
I think it could be a problem of missing installed font, does'nt it?

As you know the font set on lupq is dieted.
But intalling the Type1 fonts from that of luci-510 may avoid the problem.
Here is Type1 fonts extracted from quirky-120 and the same as lupu-510.
Will you try it?

It also allows abiword bold serif and roman.
Containing these fonts will enlarge the .iso file 1MB or so...

_________________
Google Chrome portable
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
ecube


Joined: 11 Jul 2008
Posts: 88
Location: Västerås, Sweden

PostPosted: Sun 22 Aug 2010, 10:15    Post subject:  

Hi Shinobar,

Thanks for lupq-005. It is a better choice for me than lupu 5.1

I have added some patches, which I think will make lupq-005 even better.
    freememapplet_tray-2.2-q1.pet
    network_tray_ecube-2.4.1.pet
    Partview-2.1.pet
    .jwmrc-tray

Try them.

Keep up the good work
Very Happy
Olov.
~
tray.jpg
Description 
jpg

 Download 
Filename  tray.jpg 
Filesize  31.49 KB 
Downloaded  309 Time(s) 
lupq.tar.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  lupq.tar.gz 
Filesize  12.59 KB 
Downloaded  288 Time(s) 

Last edited by ecube on Sun 22 Aug 2010, 22:26; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2631
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Sun 22 Aug 2010, 18:48    Post subject: Partview and etc.  

ecube wrote:
    freememapplet_tray-2.2-q1.pet
    network_tray_ecube-2.4.1.pet
    Partview-2.1.pet
    .jwmrc-tray

Your partview is much better than Barry's, i think.

Another ones may be of the recent woof, exept network-tray-ecube is a slight different, right?
Next Lucid Puppy 5.1.1 or luci-217, playdays going to follow them, but I have some discussion on the new network-tray and freemem.

As for the jwmconfig2, we have better code on Puppy-431JP(Japanese edition), and i can import it.

Anyway thanks for your contribution.

_________________
Google Chrome portable
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2631
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Sun 22 Aug 2010, 19:50    Post subject: Network Tray  

I personally do not like Bary's new network tray.
  1. The icon is not familiar. The old icon is common, same as the gtk icon and Windows.
  2. Too many information on the splash. The old one is simple, more information available with right click.

How do you think?

Anyway the new trays are now in the recent woof, and becomes the new standard of Puppy and puplets...
nettray_woof.png
 Description   Barry's most recent one
 Filesize   1.47 KB
 Viewed   1643 Time(s)

nettray_woof.png

nettray_classic.png
 Description   Classic
 Filesize   1.02 KB
 Viewed   1603 Time(s)

nettray_classic.png


_________________
Google Chrome portable
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
sinc


Joined: 22 Jul 2009
Posts: 523
Location: Tampa, FL USA

PostPosted: Sun 22 Aug 2010, 20:16    Post subject:  

i agree with you about the free memory applet. the old one was better.

you seem to have an independent idea of where you want things to go, have you considered taking over one of the other distribution pups that are not currently being developed. such as dpup which has a great start but gposil has unfortunately not been back for a while. or spup that barry started, etc? just wondering.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 4 of 15 [221 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, ..., 13, 14, 15 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0985s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0064s) ][ GZIP on ]