Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 20 Apr 2014, 19:43
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Ease of HD Install? Needs Work...
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 2 [19 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
joeaverage
Guest


PostPosted: Sat 11 Jun 2005, 23:36    Post subject:  Ease of HD Install? Needs Work...  

I tried 1.02 recently, and though I liked it a lot, I ended up going with Damn Small Linux because DSL's install script was quick and painless. I didn't have to create an extra partition like Puppy requires.

I'd still like to install Puppy to HD someday, if it can install as easily as DSL.

-j.
Back to top
Bruce B


Joined: 18 May 2005
Posts: 11050
Location: The Peoples Republic of California

PostPosted: Sun 12 Jun 2005, 02:52    Post subject:  

Puppy has two types of hard drive installations:

Type 1 - which uses an existing FAT32 or Linux ext2 partition provided there is enough free space.

Type 2 - which takes over an existing partition - this is the same thing DSL does.

----------

I guess I don't understand specifically what circumstance you ran into with Puppy that you didn't with DSL
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Sun 12 Jun 2005, 03:18    Post subject: Find your distro  

Your comments are perfectly fair and valid
Smile
Added your easy install comment here
http://www.goosee.com/puppy/wikka/Distros
this info needs updating

here is another review
http://www.tuxmachines.org/node/467

I have Puppy on its own HD but to be honest never use that option. I boot from CD, info is stored on the connected HD.

Recently gave recent copies of Austrumi, DSL and Puppy to a friend to see which is preferred with his standard Netgear wifi.

If DSL works for you then use it. DSL is improving, the last version seemed much improved. It is also ideal for low resource machines.

I really liked featherweight but could not install to HD (and it needed to be installed to HD) - it is based on feather. I like the elegance of Beatrix.

I use Puppy. It is the first distro I actually use. Every day. Through choice. I could be using XP, Ubuntu, Red Hat and so on. You have to find what works for you.

I like Puppy. I like the people who use and develop Puppy. I use Puppy.

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
tonhou
Guest


PostPosted: Mon 13 Jun 2005, 04:16    Post subject: Install to HD  

Installing 1.03 to HD is very difficult - I haven't succeeded. The problem is with the state of CD mount/unmount. I began installing to a 200 MHz Pentium with 64Mb RAM. I booted into Puppy CD with option 2 and then started the Install to HD menu item - but it could not recognise the CD as the install CD and wanted it to be changed, which of course is not possible.

Has anyone installed Puppy 1.03 to a 64Mb RAM system successfully?

--Tony
Back to top
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Mon 13 Jun 2005, 04:45    Post subject: HD Install  

The Option 2 install - started as 'for Developers only'
So it may be difficult but it is getting easier . . .

I have a spare hard drive - gonna try installing Puppy 1.0.3
and document the process Smile

OK that took me 15 minutes (I timed it) on HD now

The Wiki page is a muddle . . . so gonna try and sort it a little . .
http://www.goosee.com/puppy/wikka/HardDiskInstall

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
tonhou
Guest


PostPosted: Mon 13 Jun 2005, 14:44    Post subject:  

Hmm . . . thanks for the reply. Are you sure you only have 64Mb RAM (not copying anything to RAM)? The problem I have is with the CD in the drive it then wants it to be changed to the install CD (which it already is!). Seems to me that the script is only setup for installing to HD if things are running from RAM.

--Tony
Back to top
dvw86


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 636
Location: Washington State

PostPosted: Mon 13 Jun 2005, 20:37    Post subject:  

I did an install to HD with Grub, and it was fairly easy. I choose boot option 2 (No Save to Hard Drive) when first booting off of the CD. The hard drive was already empty and unformatted. I then used cfdisk to format the drive as ext2. Finally, while running the install to hard drive script, I went with option 2 and put Grub on the MBR. It worked great. In fact I'm rethinking the compact flash card in my "Ultimate Puppy Machine" in favor of my spare 120GB drive. Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tonhou
Guest


PostPosted: Tue 14 Jun 2005, 00:28    Post subject:  

Yes .......... but my question is : Is it possible to install to HD from a system which only has 64Mb of RAM -Puppy running off CD not from RAM!! The script doesn't seem to allow it.

--Tony
Back to top
dvw86


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 636
Location: Washington State

PostPosted: Tue 14 Jun 2005, 01:07    Post subject:  

Could you try using a USB drive to store the pup file while you installed Puppy to the hard drive? I have ran puppy that way with no formatted hard drive. I may be wrong, but I would think that would free up the hard drive for the install.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Tue 14 Jun 2005, 02:43    Post subject: Maybe not . . .  

tonhou wrote:
Yes .......... but my question is : Is it possible to install to HD from a system which only has 64Mb of RAM -Puppy running off CD not from RAM!! The script doesn't seem to allow it.

--Tony


Confused

There are posts either here or on the old forum that I seem to remember allow something like this (or did I have some sort of a hallucination). However the simplest solution might be to use the bare bones Puppy. This WILL put Puppy in RAM but give you more room to install from. The standard script itself does not copy from CD.

Check out the News page on the wiki for news of a 24meg Puppy - if you write directly to the Rev. he might write what you require into his unleashed Puppy . . . or pray for your salvation (if you are unlucky)

Sorry we can not be of more help, some of us are Linux Newbies, trying to help the best we can . . . Smile

Forgive us - for we are ignorant Shocked

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
tonhou
Guest


PostPosted: Tue 14 Jun 2005, 03:10    Post subject:  

Thanks for the suggestions. I think perhaps the title of this thread says it! Ease of HD Install? Needs Work . . .

--Tony
Back to top
wscarl

Joined: 16 May 2005
Posts: 99
Location: NY

PostPosted: Wed 22 Jun 2005, 00:28    Post subject: HD Install with 64meg you need two cdrom and two copies of p  

HD Install with 64meg you need two cdrom's and two copies of puppy- ITs work just installed on and old Parkard Hell Twisted Evil with 64meg ram 4gig HD
CDrom (slaved in temp second CDROM, with second copy of puppy, after having your problem). Problem Solved!!!!! Very Happy Idea
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
wscarl

Joined: 16 May 2005
Posts: 99
Location: NY

PostPosted: Wed 22 Jun 2005, 00:44    Post subject: Note the install is for 1.0.3 duel cdrom's and duel puppy cd  

Note: the HD install is for 1.0.3 using duel cdrom's and duel puppy cd's on 64meg memory system work's!!!!!!!!!!!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
wscarl

Joined: 16 May 2005
Posts: 99
Location: NY

PostPosted: Wed 22 Jun 2005, 00:48    Post subject: Re: Install to HD  

tonhou wrote:
Installing 1.03 to HD is very difficult - I haven't succeeded. The problem is with the state of CD mount/unmount. I began installing to a 200 MHz Pentium with 64Mb RAM. I booted into Puppy CD with option 2 and then started the Install to HD menu item - but it could not recognise the CD as the install CD and wanted it to be changed, which of course is not possible.

Has anyone installed Puppy 1.03 to a 64Mb RAM system successfully?

--Tony

YES Idea by using a second cdrom with a second copy of puppy 1.03
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
wscarl

Joined: 16 May 2005
Posts: 99
Location: NY

PostPosted: Wed 22 Jun 2005, 01:08    Post subject: Re: Maybe not . . .Yes - with add, hardware/software  

Lobster wrote:
tonhou wrote:
Yes .......... but my question is : Is it possible to install to HD from a system which only has 64Mb of RAM -Puppy running off CD not from RAM!! The script doesn't seem to allow it.

--Tony


Confused

There are posts either here or on the old forum that I seem to remember allow something like this (or did I have some sort of a hallucination). However the simplest solution might be to use the bare bones Puppy. This WILL put Puppy in RAM but give you more room to install from. The standard script itself does not copy from CD.

Check out the News page on the wiki for news of a 24meg Puppy - if you write directly to the Rev. he might write what you require into his unleashed Puppy . . . or pray for your salvation (if you are unlucky)

Sorry we can not be of more help, some of us are Linux Newbies, trying to help the best we can . . . Smile

Forgive us - for we are ignorant Shocked

Think out side the Loster trap - sometimes there is an easy fix - Like a second cdrom and second copy of puppy 1.03 to get the job done! Laughing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 [19 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0665s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0065s) ][ GZIP on ]