Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 30 Jul 2014, 01:44
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Desktop
KDE 3 (Trinity) For Puppy Beta
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 6 of 12 [177 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12 Next
Author Message
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 1369
Location: Malvern, Worcs, UK

PostPosted: Mon 08 Nov 2010, 06:43    Post subject: kde-core-trinity-3.5.12.sfs  

Hi Iguleder

Just to report the following experiences on my HP550 laptop frugal install:

1. kdebase-3.5.12.sfs from directory trinity-beta installed fine on luci235 with a bit of tweaking of the .kde/autostartup [edit]notice from the KDE Control Center that this is actually version 3.5.11[/edit]

2. was able to update same install to luci236 successfully - using it now

3, [edit2]kde-core-trinity-3.5.12.sfs from directory trinity-3.5.12-puppy as you mentioned on the luci235 thread also works on luci236 but in this case this is the only sfs loaded and trinity is started using the window manager[/edit2]

Hope this is helpful
Cheers
Peter

Last edited by peebee on Mon 08 Nov 2010, 16:32; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Mon 08 Nov 2010, 15:58    Post subject:  

So I understand that few application from the jwm menu system are taken automatically in the KDE menu system.
I can easily, but t takes quite some time, move those application in lost & found move to the KDE menu's.

But as I use KDE on several puppy's each with it's proper save file, is there a way to copy the updated KDE menu system to the other save file?
Where is the menu (or menu files) located?

Ideally a conversion routine would be more handy.
The original desktop files in /usr/share/applications should not be touched, as they should still be able to be working when reverting to JWM.

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Mon 08 Nov 2010, 16:42    Post subject: lucid 236 and kde Trinity-core  

Trinity-core media:/
Devices from fstab are reported now in media:/
But no action like mount/unmount can be done as HAL is needed.
And I don't see that HAL is supported or can be started.
f.e. issuing lshal gives an error, while in trinity base this worked.

Any idea how to get HAL working?

EDIT
Stupid me.
I forgot I installed HAL in kde-base.
So I did so now in trinity-core.
Started with hald --daemon=yes.
Issued lshal, but got a message that either hald wasn't running or not ready.
I looked in the process table and didn't see hald.
So for some reason it didn't start or didn't start correctly.
However prerequisite dbus-daemon is running.

Puzzled.

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
technosaurus


Joined: 18 May 2008
Posts: 4284

PostPosted: Mon 08 Nov 2010, 18:15    Post subject:  

I compiled and tested glibc-2.12.1 for wary if anyone wants to take it for a stroll I'll upload it when I get home (+ a patch that I made to compile with -Os - this has been broken and marked as wontfix for 3 years). (glibc is one of the pets you want to test with pfix=ram)
_________________
Web Programming - Pet Packaging 100 & 101
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Mon 08 Nov 2010, 18:23    Post subject:  

technosaurus wrote:
I compiled and tested glibc-2.12.1 for wary if anyone wants to take it for a stroll I'll upload it when I get home (+ a patch that I made to compile with -Os - this has been broken and marked as wontfix for 3 years). (glibc is one of the pets you want to test with pfix=ram)
OK I'll try it in wary 096 with a special test save file, so it won't break anything else and try again Trinity. I'll report back here.
_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
technosaurus


Joined: 18 May 2008
Posts: 4284

PostPosted: Mon 08 Nov 2010, 20:22    Post subject:  

Ok, here is the glibc-2.12.1 pet cut down similar to Barry's but without the binaries.
WARNING - DO NOT TRY TO UNIINSTALL THIS - IF FOR SOME REASON IT FAILS, JUST REINSTALL THE ORIGINAL FROM HERE:
ftp://distro.ibiblio.org/pub/linux/distributions/quirky/pet_packages-wary5/glibc-2.10.1-w5.pet

(Note - patched to allow compilation with -Os)
glibc-2.12-1-i586.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  glibc-2.12-1-i586.pet 
Filesize  1.09 MB 
Downloaded  249 Time(s) 

_________________
Web Programming - Pet Packaging 100 & 101
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Tue 09 Nov 2010, 05:37    Post subject:  

So I started afresh with pfix=ram and created a fresh save file as well.
I repeated every step I did before and installed the new glibc.
I got one step further, but I block on another issue about version info of a dll. These kind of things I still don't know how to solve.
Code:
# kstartupconfig
kdostartupconfig: error while loading shared libraries: libaudio.so.2: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
*****installation of libaudio*****
# kstartupconfig
kdostartupconfig: /lib/libc.so.6: version `GLIBC_2.11' not found (required by /opt/trinity/lib/libkdecore.so.4)
kdostartupconfig: /usr/lib/libjpeg.so.62: no version information available (required by /usr/lib/libqt-mt.so.3)
*****installation of GLIBC 2.11*****
# kstartupconfig
kdostartupconfig: /usr/lib/libjpeg.so.62: no version information available (required by /usr/lib/libqt-mt.so.3)
#
Would libjpeg have to be replaced?
How can I see which version I have?

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
maxpro4u


Joined: 19 Jun 2010
Posts: 290
Location: Rittman,Ohio,USA, In dog years,I'm dead

PostPosted: Tue 09 Nov 2010, 13:38    Post subject:  

perhaps i am missing something but after setting the time-upon reboot it reverts back 1 day! It happens every boot. Running on luci235. I am going to start over using 236 next and see if there is any difference.
_________________
Dell D610 1.7M w/1024mb
Testing Slacko and a few others
I'm Max Wachtel and I approve this message.
Registered Linux User #393236
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Tue 09 Nov 2010, 13:52    Post subject:  

maxpro4u, I had this in kdebase also and all of a sudden it didn't do this anymore. I tried in 235,236 and squeeze 009.
Now in trinity-core after every boot, my clock is one hour ahead.
Could be due to Daylight Saving Time facility not being present.

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
darkduck

Joined: 18 Sep 2010
Posts: 42

PostPosted: Tue 09 Nov 2010, 13:57    Post subject:  

I had similar issue with 1hour ahead. Was sorted by activating time sincronization at Autostart.
_________________
My blog: http://linuxblog.darkduck.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Tue 09 Nov 2010, 14:37    Post subject:  

If there is no Internet connection, then there is no sync.
What server did you choose to sync on?

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 1369
Location: Malvern, Worcs, UK

PostPosted: Tue 09 Nov 2010, 16:29    Post subject: [Solved] 23hrs difference  

[Solved] - see later post - small edit to file settime in /root/Startup needed.

Mine is displaying 23hours behind - which looks like 1 hour in front if you only look at time.....

I've tried to do a time synch but this has made no difference.

Cheers
Peter

Last edited by peebee on Sun 14 Nov 2010, 16:40; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
maxpro4u


Joined: 19 Jun 2010
Posts: 290
Location: Rittman,Ohio,USA, In dog years,I'm dead

PostPosted: Tue 09 Nov 2010, 17:12    Post subject: Re: 23hrs difference  

peebee wrote:
Mine is displaying 23hours behind - which looks like 1 hour in front if you only look at time....


me too... Rolling Eyes

_________________
Dell D610 1.7M w/1024mb
Testing Slacko and a few others
I'm Max Wachtel and I approve this message.
Registered Linux User #393236
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Tue 09 Nov 2010, 17:19    Post subject:  

Do you have this with trinity-core also?
_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
maxpro4u


Joined: 19 Jun 2010
Posts: 290
Location: Rittman,Ohio,USA, In dog years,I'm dead

PostPosted: Tue 09 Nov 2010, 19:01    Post subject:  

Béèm wrote:
Do you have this with trinity-core also?

what do you mean by "also"? Frugal install of 236(clean),reboot(create savefile),add the 2 kde sfs to boot mgr,reboot,install the kde pet,reboot.

_________________
Dell D610 1.7M w/1024mb
Testing Slacko and a few others
I'm Max Wachtel and I approve this message.
Registered Linux User #393236
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 6 of 12 [177 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Desktop
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0791s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0063s) ][ GZIP on ]