Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 21 Apr 2014, 10:45
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Lucid Puppy Error "unable to mount sr1"
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [8 Posts]  
Author Message
rbsvijay

Joined: 30 Aug 2010
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Mon 30 Aug 2010, 11:03    Post subject:  Lucid Puppy Error "unable to mount sr1"
Subject description: Error while mounting DVD Drive
 

I love working on Lucid Puppy.

I've installed Puppy on HDD.

Got this error " unable to mount sr1 "

/dev/cdrom and dev/dvd is linked to sr1

I ran the following commands on console

mount /dev/dvd /mnt/data
got output: mount: block device /dev/dvd is write-protected, mounting read-only


mount -t iso9660 /dev/dvd /mnt/data
got output: mount: block device /dev/dvd is write-protected, mounting read-only
mount: wrong fs type,bad option,bad superblock on /dev/dvd
missing code page or other error
In some cases useful info is found in syslog - try
dmesg | tail or so

Someone pls help
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Mon 30 Aug 2010, 14:31    Post subject:  

What type of media did you put in the DVD drive?
_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rbsvijay

Joined: 30 Aug 2010
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Tue 31 Aug 2010, 01:05    Post subject:  

Thanks for taking a look @ this issue

version:Lucid Puppy 5.1

Yes,I'm able to read and write CD's

The issue is with DVD media.I tried all DVD formats and major brands.

It's not able to mount any type of DVD Media

It throws unable to mount sr1 error.

I don't think there is an issue with DVD writer.As it's a 2 month old Buffalo Writer working fine in Windows.

DVD writer was working fine earlier 2 weeks ago with same Lucid Puppy 5.1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4422
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Tue 31 Aug 2010, 01:30    Post subject:  

My cd/dvd writer is always sr0.
_________________

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rbsvijay

Joined: 30 Aug 2010
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Tue 31 Aug 2010, 04:52    Post subject:  

Yes sr0 is linked to my laptop Internal DVD writer.Laptop Internal DVD Writer doesn't work.

I'm using Buffalo External USB writer which is linked as sr1 using CD/DVD setup in Lucid Puppy.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Karl Godt


Joined: 20 Jun 2010
Posts: 3860
Location: Kiel,Germany

PostPosted: Tue 31 Aug 2010, 07:33    Post subject:  

I can say for CD drive :

data cd gets mounted
music cd not, but played.

perhaps to load additional driver like
lib/modules/2.6.33.2/kernel/drivers/block/ ...pkgcdvd
could make it possible to mount media CD/DVD ?

perhaps it is about preventing copying media /protection/encryption ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
rbsvijay

Joined: 30 Aug 2010
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Tue 31 Aug 2010, 12:52    Post subject:  

I tried adding Driver moduleslike pkgdvd,dvdusb to load on startup

Still it throws error unable to mount sr1

FYI: I have an external USB Buffalo DVD Writer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
8-bit


Joined: 03 Apr 2007
Posts: 3285
Location: Oregon

PostPosted: Wed 15 Sep 2010, 15:09    Post subject:  

Do you have a Windows install on one of your drives?
Can you see the contents of the DVD if you click on it in windows?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [8 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0438s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0037s) ][ GZIP on ]