Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 20 Sep 2014, 06:08
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Legacy OS (TEENpup) Feedback is it booting?
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 7 [99 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 Next
Author Message
john biles


Joined: 17 Sep 2006
Posts: 1408
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Thu 02 Sep 2010, 18:55    Post subject:  Legacy OS (TEENpup) Feedback is it booting?
Subject description: Is it booting or not booting for you? let me know please.
 

Hello everyone,
Ladislav who runs Distrowatch says he gets this error when booting Legacy OS ?

Quote:
I can't boot your new release. The message is "ERROR, cannot find
Puppy on 'idecd' boot media."

I had no problems with your previous versions.

Ladislav


I've read 2 comments on this forum that shows Legacy OS is booting for those 2 users?

_________________
Legacy OS 2.1 LTS Released! Install me on a new! EXT2 Partition with 500Mb of swap and I'll be happy. Razz
Legacy OS 4 Released! Install to newer legacy hardware / early EeePC's Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5757
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Thu 02 Sep 2010, 19:00    Post subject:  

I've successfully booted the live cd of Legacy OS on two different computers......my old P3 with an old dvd-rom drive and my main Linux box with a new dvd-rw drive...............no problems on either computer.

EDIT:
Just successfully booted the live cd on my XP box w/ a cd-rw drive too.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sullysat


Joined: 16 Oct 2007
Posts: 364
Location: San Antonio, TX

PostPosted: Fri 03 Sep 2010, 00:35    Post subject:  

Hey john,

I'm running live in a virtual box with 256MB of RAM and its working fine so far. Boots good.

_________________
Puppy Files Mirror - http://www.wisdom-seekers.com/puppy.html
Classic Puppy Page - http://www.wisdom-seekers.com/puppy214x.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
calexand

Joined: 20 Nov 2009
Posts: 87

PostPosted: Fri 03 Sep 2010, 02:15    Post subject:  

Hello John,
Will not load for me. I get a "hard" freeze and have to turn machine off.
IBM 8141-2JU/P4HT 3.0GhZ/1 Gig RAM/Intel i915 Graphics/80 GiB SATA/Gigabit Ethernet/C-Media 5.1 Surround sound PCI card.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5757
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Fri 03 Sep 2010, 02:38    Post subject:  

Just in case a non-booting condition exists because of some graphics issue, the three computers I successfully booted Legacy OS in have the following onboard graphics...............
Intel 810, S3 Graphics ProSavage and Intel 865.....all allowed successful booting of the live cd.
HTH>
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4784
Location: GB

PostPosted: Fri 03 Sep 2010, 02:48    Post subject:  

No problems on several machines. This distro behaves better than anything since Puppy v1.0.8r1.
However:
Quote:
IBM 8141-2JU/P4HT 3.0GhZ/1 Gig RAM/Intel i915 Graphics/80 GiB SATA

doesn't sound much like a 'legacy' machine to me.
Just when will the message get through to that nation?!
Don't use Intel cpu, don't use Intel graphics chipsets, don't throw dosh at that worthless company, you don't need 3GHz nor 1Gb RAM to run a compact distro. It ain't 'patriotic' to behave like a lemming, that's what folks who use the other OS do. Sell that box and build yourself something more reliable with recycled parts from your local amenity dump or wherever. Rip off your go-faster stripes.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
8-bit


Joined: 03 Apr 2007
Posts: 3368
Location: Oregon

PostPosted: Fri 03 Sep 2010, 03:27    Post subject:  

I got the same message as shown in your first post when I tried to boot from a CD.
When I tried from a frugal install, vmlinuz loaded, initrd.gz loaded, a search was done of all my hard drive partitions for a personal settings file, and then I got the same message as I previously stated.

The PC is a Compaq Presario with AMD dual-core processor, SATA cdrom and SATA harddrive with secondary PATA harddrive.
3 gigs memory. Nvidia video card. And an Adaptec scsi card.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
calexand

Joined: 20 Nov 2009
Posts: 87

PostPosted: Fri 03 Sep 2010, 03:59    Post subject:  

Wow. Just unbelievably wow...
CA
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 3444
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Fri 03 Sep 2010, 04:32    Post subject:  

1. Failure to load.
Last successful line:
Mounting /dev/hdc on (/initrd)/mnt/dev_ro1... Done
First line to fail:
Mntg pup_214.sfs off /dev/hdc...mounting on (/initrd)/pup_ro2... FAILED

2. Hardware:
Mobo = ASUS A7A266 [2002]
CPU = 1000MHz AMD Athlon
RAM = 3x256MB
Nvidia NV5M64 [RIVA TNT model 64/model 64 pro](rev 15)
Pioneer DVD-RW


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4784
Location: GB

PostPosted: Fri 03 Sep 2010, 09:14    Post subject:  

Quote:
RAM = 3x256MB

Might be worth unhooking one of those Ram strips? Some board/OS combinations don't like/won't work with all three slots populated. What does the ASUS manual say?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Roger Hunter

Joined: 05 Jan 2008
Posts: 209

PostPosted: Fri 03 Sep 2010, 10:49    Post subject:  

It won't boot on my Gateway P4 system.

Dies at entering the number of puppy install to be used.

Must not like my USB keyboard because it won't respond to any keypress.

Roger
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
wuwei


Joined: 15 Sep 2007
Posts: 774
Location: de

PostPosted: Fri 03 Sep 2010, 12:42    Post subject:  

I get a similar message as Ladislav does:

Quote:
cannot find Puppy on 'idehd'


Did a frugal install directly from the ISO to a subdirectory on my Linux partition (4 files). Grub stanza is (no pupsave yet):

Code:
# Linux bootable partition config begins
  title LegacyOS Frugal-ext3 (on /dev/hdb5)
  rootnoverify (hd1,4)/legacy
  kernel (hd1,4)/legacy/vmlinuz root=/dev/ram0 PMEDIA=atahd PDEV1=hdb5 PUPMODE=12 SFSFILE=ext3,hdb5,/legacy/pup_214.sfs ZDRV=ext3,hdb5,/legacy/zdrv_214.sfs
  initrd (hd1,4)/legacy/initrd.gz
# Linux bootable partition config ends


Am I right in assuming that using a subdirectory might cause the problem? Puppies of series 2 didn't have that option, yet, if I recall correctly.
Does Legacy? Ttuuxxx's 214X does have the subdirectory option, though.

Oh, and PMEDIA=idehd makes no difference at all.

Last edited by wuwei on Fri 03 Sep 2010, 15:17; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5757
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Fri 03 Sep 2010, 13:48    Post subject:  

I'm still having no problem booting the cd.......running live on my main Linux box now.All ide drives if that could be a clue.
legacy os.png
 Description   
 Filesize   315.24 KB
 Viewed   2719 Time(s)

legacy os.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
8-bit


Joined: 03 Apr 2007
Posts: 3368
Location: Oregon

PostPosted: Fri 03 Sep 2010, 15:19    Post subject:  

I got the CD to boot fully on a DELL desktop with IDE drives and 384 megs of ram and a 900mhz intel processor.
Also, had to run vesa as my Radon Rage 64meg video card did not work to bring me to a working desktop.
The reaction time on clicking on anything was really slow.
And I do not know if it was just being slow, but clicking on a desktop icon seemed to not work whereas selecting the same app from the menu did.
But it was still very slow.
On my other desktop PC with the SATA drive and SATA dvd R/W, it booted the kernel, initrd.gz, and then did a search of all drives for a personal settings file and dropped to a grub command line, not being able to find the files it needed on the CD.
The checksum on the ISO was ok also.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 3444
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Fri 03 Sep 2010, 16:07    Post subject:  

1. @ Sage
"What does the ASUS manual say?"
I'm no expert, but...
It seems to me to be saying that:
All 3 SDR DIMM sockets can hold 3 matching 64/128/256/512MB/1GB RAM cards.
So all should be OK, and seem to be so for lots of other Puppies.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 7 [99 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0778s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0045s) ][ GZIP on ]