Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 24 Oct 2014, 19:53
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Taking the Puppy out for a walk » Announcements
4.3.2-SCSI 2.6.30.5 full older modem support
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 3 of 11 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, ..., 9, 10, 11 Next
Author Message
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10827
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Sun 19 Sep 2010, 08:07    Post_subject:  

Thanks scsijon looking forward to more results, I've been building a new backend for it, and well its been complicated with gtk issues with compiling but I'm getting around it Smile
ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10827
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Sun 19 Sep 2010, 11:40    Post_subject:  

Well I compiled the new backend, should extend the shelf-life of 4 series for a couple of years. It will take some time to put it together because I have to work mon-fri and usually pretty tired when I get home so I kind of slowdown during the week, nevertheless I'll plug away at it, If others could find fixes etc it would help to advance this version much quicker. People were asking for months for 4 series to move ahead, well this is your chance.
ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Stripe

Joined: 23 Jun 2010
Posts: 658
Location: In a field. England

PostPosted: Sun 19 Sep 2010, 12:21    Post_subject:  

Hi ttuuxxx

Wlll try my best (even though I have the technical abilities of a wet paper bag)
tried installing the xorg_xvesa-7.3-1.pet (got it from from the pet 4 folder of woof when I was remastering 4 to try and see if I could get xvesa working better) dont think it makes any difference to xvesa

Hope this helps
Stripe
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
clarf


Joined: 13 Jun 2007
Posts: 612
Location: The old Lone Wolf

PostPosted: Sun 19 Sep 2010, 13:36    Post_subject:  

Hi,

I booted from CD and everything works fine in my old HP L2000 laptop, I have network, sound and Xorg. Non critical errors found, only some minor errors and warnings at xerrs.log:

Quote:
killall: freememapplet: no process killed
killall: powerapplet: no process killed
kill: usage: kill [-s sigspec | -n signum | -sigspec] [pid | job]... or kill -l [sigspec]


They are loaded when JWM is loading the swallow applications, it's the same info that I get when start these applications from term.

A small error with powerapplet:

Quote:
powerapplet: /lib/libc.so.6: version `GLIBC_2.7' not found (required by powerapplet)


Also found some errors about usb-core and usb-hid missing files, right when startx (xwin) is executed. But lsmod and dmesg show they are actually loaded, I must search the cause of this warning. (I wonder if some usb devices could have problems to load...)

Some errors shown with dmesg for lp module:

Quote:
# lp: Unknown symbol parport_unregister_device
bash: lp:: command not found
# lp: Unknown symbol parport_unregister_driver
bash: lp:: command not found
# lp: Unknown symbol parport_negotiate
bash: lp:: command not found
# p: Unknown symbol parport_claim
bash: p:: command not found
# lp: Unknown symbol parp


Xorg "ati" driver run but seems unstable...

Not found any sound or network problem with 4.3.2. For people with issues please post your /tmp/bootsysinit.log and /tmp/bootkernel.log files.

Greetings,
clarf
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10827
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Sun 19 Sep 2010, 15:34    Post_subject:  

Hi clarf nice to have you with us Smile I appreciate you lending us a hand Smile
Thanks for helping.
Also thanks Stripe for giving it a shot Smile
ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
abushcrafter


Joined: 30 Oct 2009
Posts: 1447
Location: England

PostPosted: Sun 19 Sep 2010, 15:39    Post_subject:  

I am afraid I will be sticking to 4.3.2 V3 because the idea of not upgrading was so I not have to transfer/update all of my configuration. This was so I would get on/start my GCSES. The only reason for me to use 4.3.* in the future is if it is more compatible with hardware I will be using the most. Other wise if I am going to do all of that work I will put my effort into getting my work into Woof and switching to puppy 5. Sorry for not telling you before. I need to test the compatibility of Lupu with my computers though it should me fine. So you should assume I wont be helping you with this one Neutral .

I upgraded SeaMonkey in 4.3.2 V3 and have not noticed it being any slower in a few min test I did.

_________________
adobe flash is rubbish!
My Quote:"Humans are stupid, though some are clever but stupid." http://www.dependent.de/media/audio/mp3/System_Syn_Heres_to_You.zip http://www.systemsyn.com/
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10827
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Sun 19 Sep 2010, 15:48    Post_subject:  

abushcrafter wrote:
I am afraid I will be sticking to 4.3.2 V3 because the idea of not upgrading was so I not have to transfer/update all of my configuration. This was so I would get on/start my GCSES. The only reason for me to use 4.3.* in the future is if it is more compatible with hardware I will be using the most. Other wise if I am going to do all of that work I will put my effort into getting my work into Woof and switching to puppy 5. Sorry for not telling you before.

I upgraded SeaMonkey in 4.3.2 V3 and have not noticed it being any slower in a few min test I did.

That's ok Smile woof 4 series will take a lot less resources than woof 5 series, currently pup-432.sfs <--78MB, I don't think it will be much over 83MB when I'm done updating it, Plus it will have a much newer backend compared to 5 series. Kind of good reasons to stick with 4 series Smile
I'll also update the some of devx later on.
ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
abushcrafter


Joined: 30 Oct 2009
Posts: 1447
Location: England

PostPosted: Sun 19 Sep 2010, 16:01    Post_subject:  

ttuuxxx wrote:
abushcrafter wrote:
I am afraid I will be sticking to 4.3.2 V3 because the idea of not upgrading was so I not have to transfer/update all of my configuration. This was so I would get on/start my GCSES. The only reason for me to use 4.3.* in the future is if it is more compatible with hardware I will be using the most. Other wise if I am going to do all of that work I will put my effort into getting my work into Woof and switching to puppy 5. Sorry for not telling you before.

I upgraded SeaMonkey in 4.3.2 V3 and have not noticed it being any slower in a few min test I did.

That's ok Smile woof 4 series will take a lot less resources than woof 5 series, currently pup-432.sfs <--78MB, I don't think it will be much over 83MB when I'm done updating it, Plus it will have a much newer backend compared to 5 series. Kind of good reasons to stick with 4 series Smile
I'll also update the some of devx later on.
ttuuxxx
Now you made the decision hard Confused Laughing Rolling Eyes Question Neutral Razz .
_________________
adobe flash is rubbish!
My Quote:"Humans are stupid, though some are clever but stupid." http://www.dependent.de/media/audio/mp3/System_Syn_Heres_to_You.zip http://www.systemsyn.com/
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4368
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Sun 19 Sep 2010, 17:59    Post_subject: My system wont display the data CDs in the CD drives  

Downloaded and MD5 the ISO. Burned to CD under PUP511.

Rebooted the PC and am on desktop.

I cannot display the contents of the CD drives. (this system has 2 SATA DVD readers.)

When I click the sr0 or the sr1 icon at the bottom of the desktop, the Pmount facility launches to the desktop. When I click the Mount button, I get a RED messagebox whose text is "ERROR: unable to mount sr1".

The mount command works fine in a terminal window.

Just a note

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4368
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Sun 19 Sep 2010, 20:20    Post_subject: SCSI ???  

Booted this version on my DELL server. Its got 2GB RAM and a non-RAID controller with 2 10K SCSI drives, 1 DVD, and 1 CDROM.

The desktop is not showing my drives and mount doesn't show them either?

Ideas anyone...

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
scsijon

Joined: 23 May 2007
Posts: 1047
Location: the australian mallee

PostPosted: Sun 19 Sep 2010, 20:36    Post_subject: scsijon-box2  

sorry, couldn't wait, Confused should be in the garden pulling weeds Laughing, but.... Laughing puppy rules!

box 2 has ati video card (gigabyte 4350), dialup modem card (winmodem from netcomm), and a usb2 card

lspci here (doesn't seem to have all info others do, like what they mean)
---------------------------------
00:00.0 Class 0600: 8086:2770 (rev 02)
00:01.0 Class 0604: 8086:2771 (rev 02)
00:1c.0 Class 0604: 8086:27d0 (rev 01)
00:1c.1 Class 0604: 8086:27d2 (rev 01)
00:1d.0 Class 0c03: 8086:27c8 (rev 01)
00:1d.1 Class 0c03: 8086:27c9 (rev 01)
00:1d.2 Class 0c03: 8086:27ca (rev 01)
00:1d.3 Class 0c03: 8086:27cb (rev 01)
00:1d.7 Class 0c03: 8086:27cc (rev 01)
00:1e.0 Class 0604: 8086:244e (rev e1)
00:1f.0 Class 0601: 8086:27b8 (rev 01)
00:1f.1 Class 0101: 8086:27df (rev 01)
00:1f.2 Class 0101: 8086:27c0 (rev 01)
00:1f.3 Class 0c05: 8086:27da (rev 01)
01:00.0 Class 0300: 1002:954f
01:00.1 Class 0403: 1002:aa38
04:00.0 Class 0780: 11c1:044c (rev 02)
-----------------------


Problems found:

1/ on install noticed on first screen (f1):
------------
Login [15166]: root login on 'tty1"

Warning: Could not open '/lib/modules/2.6.30.5/kernal/drivers/usb/core/usbcore.ko': no such file or directory
Fatal: Could not open '/lib/modules/2.6.30.5/ketnal/drivers/hid/usbhid/usbhid.ko' No such file or directory.

2/ Video installed ok in vesa

In x-org seemed to probe ok, but when it restarted X, colours were mixed and fonts, "backlit"
Dropped back to # and retried with xorgconfig, same result, eventually worked out every second drop to # and xwin start was bad

Will try selecting instead of probe and see what happens (will amend this when tried)

ammendment: Very Happy
tried selections for all three ati combinations and vesa, all fail and don't select frequencies, ended up going back to the xvesa from first screen of xorgwizard, which works marvelously. Confused BTW, this just drops you back to the prompt, there is no message to type in xwin to start, maybe a line or two is needed for newbies..... Laughing

3/ Modem found and initialised first time, but the initialization took a lot of time (maybe a warning needs to be inserted)

4/ package installs ok both online and from memstick

more later, I must get some work done out there Rolling Eyes

regards
scsijon

edit:ammeded for video

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
runtt21


Joined: 07 Jun 2008
Posts: 1650
Location: BigD Texas

PostPosted: Sun 19 Sep 2010, 20:50    Post_subject:  

ttuuxxx said ," Plus it will have a much newer backend compared to 5 series"

Yeah!!! Very Happy


Does that include the X11 stuff ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Country Bumkin

Joined: 25 Jul 2009
Posts: 29
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Sun 19 Sep 2010, 22:56    Post_subject:  

Some minor items to fix....

Gparted - swapoff function fails with this error message.

swapoff: invalid option -- v
BusyBox v1.15.0.svn (2009-07-25 18:23:53 GMT-Cool multi-call binary

Usage: swapoff [-a] [DEVICE]

Stop swapping on DEVICE

Options:
-a Stop swapping on all swap devices


Also the inclusion of ntpdate is useful but /etc/services file is missing these entries for ntp

ntp 123/tcp
ntp 123/udp

Regards C Bumkin
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
clarf


Joined: 13 Jun 2007
Posts: 612
Location: The old Lone Wolf

PostPosted: Mon 20 Sep 2010, 00:59    Post_subject:  

A newer backend for 4.3.2, Great ttuuxxx a smart move...

About the usb modules errors, If I do a rmmod for all the usb modules (usbcore, usbhid, usb_storage, etc) and then I try to reload them, I get the same error:

Quote:
Warning: Could not open '/lib/modules/2.6.30.5/kernel/drivers/usb/core/usbcore.ko': no such file or directory
Fatal: Could not open '/lib/modules/2.6.30.5/kernel/drivers/hid/usbhid/usbhid.ko' No such file or directory.
Fatal: Could not open '/lib/modules/2.6.30.5/kernel/drivers/usb/storage/usb-storage.ko' No such file or directory.
...


Those modules exists and are loaded by initrd at boot (for this reason they are shown by lsmod), later these files in initrd are copied to '/lib/modules/2.6.30.5/initrd/, but actually they are not seen by the modprobe command after Puppy transfers control from initrd.

modprobe should load these "transferred" initrd modules that are not located in the zp432305.sfs FileSystem, that´s the way it work in other Puppies to save some space and avoid use of redundant files already present in initrd. But I don´t see a custom modprobe script like in earlier Puppies...

I Should read Woof documentation about it. There is no reason to copy initrd modules if modprobe doesn´t use them, there is some weird bug here.

Greetings,
clarf
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Stripe

Joined: 23 Jun 2010
Posts: 658
Location: In a field. England

PostPosted: Mon 20 Sep 2010, 03:14    Post_subject:  

Hi all

Regarding the usb module errors, they do not happen on a full install.

Have been having a good look at the video/audio, and it is as good as it gets, (seems slightly better using smplayer-0.6.7-i386.pet, but that needs the qt4-4.3.2.pet about 7mb for the pair, and I dont think gxine and pmusic would get anywhere near that)

Have been looking for other options, to make the guis more user friendly and better looking while still retaining the quality and size but havent found anything yet..

Stripe
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 3 of 11 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, ..., 9, 10, 11 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Taking the Puppy out for a walk » Announcements
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1139s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0108s) ][ GZIP on ]