Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 22 Sep 2014, 04:35
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Multimedia
Avidemux in Lucid`s Package Manager doesn`t work.
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
sunburnt


Joined: 08 Jun 2005
Posts: 5031
Location: Arizona, U.S.A.

PostPosted: Wed 22 Sep 2010, 22:41    Post_subject:  Avidemux in Lucid`s Package Manager doesn`t work.  

Installed it, says it`s ok, load AVI to delay the audio ( copy video and audio ).
The "delay audio" checkbox won`t work so I can`t set the delay amount.
After selecting the input file the main Avidemux window won`t redraw itself...
Don`t know about the x264 and ac3 codecs but Mplayer plays the AVI fine.

Any one have experience with Lucid Puppy`s Avidemux package?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
stu90


Joined: 25 Feb 2010
Posts: 1401
Location: England. Dell Inspiron 1501. Dpup

PostPosted: Thu 23 Sep 2010, 07:46    Post_subject:  

I use the portable version of Avidmux on Lucid Puppy.

Download is near the bottom on this page:
http://portablelinuxapps.org/
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
sunburnt


Joined: 08 Jun 2005
Posts: 5031
Location: Arizona, U.S.A.

PostPosted: Thu 23 Sep 2010, 15:23    Post_subject:  

Thanks stu90; I downloaded it and I`ll try it tonight.
I already removed the stock Avidemux that the Package Manager installed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
abushcrafter


Joined: 30 Oct 2009
Posts: 1447
Location: England

PostPosted: Thu 23 Sep 2010, 18:07    Post_subject: Re: Avidemux in Lucid`s Package Manager doesn`t work.  

sunburnt wrote:
After selecting the input file the main Avidemux window won`t redraw itself...
Try moving the window.

To see the output from Avidemux look for the combo-box which by default has "input" selected, choose "output".
Now do you get your audio delay?

_________________
adobe flash is rubbish!
My Quote:"Humans are stupid, though some are clever but stupid." http://www.dependent.de/media/audio/mp3/System_Syn_Heres_to_You.zip http://www.systemsyn.com/
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
stu90


Joined: 25 Feb 2010
Posts: 1401
Location: England. Dell Inspiron 1501. Dpup

PostPosted: Thu 23 Sep 2010, 20:12    Post_subject:  

Edit. forgot to say to make sure to set the portable version to executable or it won't work.
Right click File>Properties and tick the 3 boxes under Exce.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
sunburnt


Joined: 08 Jun 2005
Posts: 5031
Location: Arizona, U.S.A.

PostPosted: Fri 24 Sep 2010, 12:02    Post_subject:  

Hi abushcrafter; Yes I did move the window and it moved normally,
but the portion that was covered by the file select dialog never redrew.

### NOTE: It occurred to me that Avidemux may have been parsing the input video.
This would make the main window unresponsive, but you`d think it would say something.

stu90; The file you pointed me to was an EXE file according to the ROX file browser.
It didn`t redraw the main window immediately either, but very quickly it did so.
I`m not sure, but it seems the EXE version is faster, but I don`t know if that would make it faster at parsing.

stu90, your file did a great job of editing the audio! But the std. one may have worked also.
I think I may try it for encoding a video, I`ve tried Avidemux for this before and it failed miserably.

### Q... I`ve suggested that SFS files be used for a new app. package format.
( MUCH better than .pet or .tar.gz )
This makes me wonder if an app. and all it`s dependencies can be made into an EXE.
Maybe an even better way to go for a standardized app. package format?
BOTH the SFS file and EXE file package types don`t need to be installed.
No file tracking is needed they can be added and removed with little effort and leftover mess!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Multimedia
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0506s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0030s) ][ GZIP on ]