Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 02 Sep 2014, 17:39
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Networking » Ethernet
Acer 6930 -- Can't seem to get wired Ethernet working.
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [3 Posts]  
Author Message
Dgertis

Joined: 23 Nov 2008
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sat 02 Oct 2010, 19:41    Post subject:  Acer 6930 -- Can't seem to get wired Ethernet working.  

Hello,

I am using Puppy Linux 5.1.1 and am having no luck in connecting to my ISP via internet. I am also having trouble with wireless, but will save that for another day. When I pull up the network wizards, I can see my Atheros hardware under eth0. When I try and test it, it shows there is a live network; however, auto dhcp doesn't connect --> keeps saying it was expecting a different xid. I tried manually entering the data into the static IP section but no luck. As far as the hardware goes the two LEDs light up when connected and seem to work.

I am now to linux, so it is difficult for me to know how to troubleshoot this -- any help would be appreciated. Let me know what info you need and what commands/tools I need to use to obtain it and I will do my best to get it.

Dave
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5246
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Sat 02 Oct 2010, 20:43    Post subject:  

It's very suspicious that both your ethernet AND wifi devices fail.
This sounds like a low-level issue (kernel/resources) ...
... and sure enough, the ACPI issue reported here sounds like it's your problem -
https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+source/linux/+bug/407824

Their solution is to boot with the "pci=use_crs" kernel parameter.
Open /boot/grub/menu.lst in Geany. Find the first line that starts with "kernel", it will look something like "kernel /boot/vmlinuz root=/dev/sda1 ..."
and to the end of that line add a space, then "pci=use_crs" without the quotation marks.
Save. Reboot.
If this still fails, you could try "acpi=off" instead, but this is quite severe.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5246
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Mon 11 Oct 2010, 07:01    Post subject:  

So after a week has passed, does the boot parameter work?

This is quite specialised information, and could be valuable to anyone else with an Acer 6930.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [3 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Networking » Ethernet
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0428s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0055s) ][ GZIP on ]