Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 25 Oct 2014, 23:01
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Video
[SOLVED] Safe to have an xorg.conf file?
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
Mzg

Joined: 04 Oct 2010
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Wed 06 Oct 2010, 17:13    Post_subject:  [SOLVED] Safe to have an xorg.conf file?
Sub_title: Or is it not generic enough?
 

Hello.

I got puppy 5.11 to work well on my laptop, but I noticed that it created a fairly specific xorg.conf file (e.g. specifying a radeon video driver and setting the screen resolution/depth to 1280x800/24).

I will take this bootable CD (and a flash drive with the pupsave - or possibly just a remastered CD) around to several computers, one of which is my desktop computer with a nvidia card, and a monitor with a native resolution of 1680x1050.

Will the generated xorg.conf pose a problem, or will puppy autodetect and override its entries?

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2631
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Wed 06 Oct 2010, 17:38    Post_subject: Re: Safe to have an xorg.conf file?
Sub_title: Or is it not generic enough?
 

Mzg wrote:
I got puppy 5.11 to work well on my laptop, but I noticed that it created a fairly specific xorg.conf file (e.g. specifying a radeon video driver and setting the screen resolution/depth to 1280x800/24).

I will take this bootable CD (and a flash drive with the pupsave - or possibly just a remastered CD) around to several computers, one of which is my desktop computer with a nvidia card, and a monitor with a native resolution of 1680x1050.

Will the generated xorg.conf pose a problem, or will puppy autodetect and override its entries?

Did you try it?
I like to ask you what happens.

Something for a help:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=438056#438056
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=445124#445124
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Mzg

Joined: 04 Oct 2010
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Wed 06 Oct 2010, 19:14    Post_subject:  

Yeah, I tried it and my computer exploded, a carrot walked in the door with an umbrella, and it started to rain outside Very Happy

No, seriously, I'll try it later when I have got my puppy configured like I want it and am ready for remastering.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Keanen

Joined: 10 Dec 2009
Posts: 49

PostPosted: Wed 06 Oct 2010, 20:15    Post_subject:  

I've tried that in the past. Here's what happens:

The live Puppy boots up at the resolution it was previously set to if it's available, and autodetects what video card is in the computer. When you go and plug it into another computer after that, it will keep the settings of the last computer and change things as necessary, like before.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Mzg

Joined: 04 Oct 2010
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Wed 06 Oct 2010, 22:38    Post_subject: Yay  

I made my remaster with an edited xorg.conf file. I removed all sections about monitors and video cards, and left those to be autodetected. I left the sections about mouse/touchpad settings, because I tend to get issues with my laptop (synaptics module not loading) if there is no xorg file.

I am now testing on my desktop computer, with the 1680x1050 res monitor and a nvidia GTX260 GPU. Mouse/keyboard is USB (wireless). Everything is working well, including mouse scroll wheel and additional buttons on the mouse. When booting up, I got the standard wizard for choosing video driver and monitor resolution. Manually selecting those works fine for me, so I'm happy Smile

I have yet to try the remaster CD on my laptop, it'll be fun to see if the touchpad is working... :S
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Mzg

Joined: 04 Oct 2010
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Thu 07 Oct 2010, 15:54    Post_subject: not so easy  

I had to keep more of the xorg file than that to get my touchpad to work - for some reason. Or maybe I did something wrong. Anyway, I ended up saving the entire (configured for my laptop) xorg file - hoping that it'll work on my desktop as well. Off to test now, will edit this post with results within the next hour.

EDIT:
Tested, and the result of this was that I got the Xorg Video Wizard on bootup on the desktop, like above. I selected stuff manually, and everything works perfectly.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Keanen

Joined: 10 Dec 2009
Posts: 49

PostPosted: Thu 07 Oct 2010, 18:44    Post_subject:  

What did I tell you? It works perfectly.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
technosaurus


Joined: 18 May 2008
Posts: 4353

PostPosted: Thu 07 Oct 2010, 19:28    Post_subject:  

when you remaster, you need to manually specify any machine specific config files to be copied - otherwise it basically just adds all of your installed pets to the main sfs and crams it back in the iso. This is to prevent someone unintentionally making a puplet that only works on one machine.

I wrote a manual howto (using all gui tools) that gives you a bit more control for this type of thing, but is mainly just educational.
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=53241

_________________
Web Programming - Pet Packaging 100 & 101
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Mzg

Joined: 04 Oct 2010
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Fri 08 Oct 2010, 11:06    Post_subject:  

Yes, I know, that's why I started this thread in the first place Smile

@ Keanen: I had to see it for myself to make sure Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Video
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0596s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0044s) ][ GZIP on ]