Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 17 Dec 2017, 19:45
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Documents
PeasyScan Image Scanner Program
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 5 of 8 [114 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 Next
Author Message
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 11741
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sun 19 Oct 2014, 08:02    Post subject:  

Peasyscan v2.7 is posted above. Please read the Update note.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
fuelish

Joined: 15 Mar 2013
Posts: 79

PostPosted: Tue 30 Dec 2014, 15:47    Post subject:  

Installed Peasyscan 2.7 in Slacko 55.

I only see the first screen in Peasyscan, I never see Preferences screen.

Only Start and Auto buttons work.

Start button says Starting scanner OK, but that is all it does

Only Auto would scan.

Scanner connected with USB cable.

My Epson Perfection 1240u flatbed scanner works perfectly in Xsane.

If I succeed with Peasyscan I will try Tesseract OCR next.

I also have an Epson XP-300 connected by wireless I would like to get OCR working on but first I just need to get Peasyscan working better. TIA
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 11741
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Tue 30 Dec 2014, 22:59    Post subject:  

Your Perfection 1240U is handled by the SANE epson2 backend. Please read the Peasyscan Help (the first page of this thread). It discusses a problem with epson2 and a work-around.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
fuelish

Joined: 15 Mar 2013
Posts: 79

PostPosted: Wed 31 Dec 2014, 10:37    Post subject:  

rcrsn51,

I did read the first post but since Xsane works OOB I had hoped Peasyscan would too which is why I did not edit the configuration file.

After editing /etc/sane.d/dll.conf Peasyscan now displays Preferences screen when clicking Start and after selecting 300dpi scanning proceeds. I say proceeds because I hear the scanner working but other than that there is no indication that anything is happing. But when I click Return a preview screen opens in Viewnior and I see my scan. However Viewnior has no means to save the scan. So I close Viewnior. At that point I must click Folder button browse to my-documents and for file name enter test.png and OK. Back in Peasyscan I click Save and a message tells me test.png was saved in my-documents.

Or

To save scan as file when Peasyscan first starts I must click Folder button, browser to my-documents and type test.png click Start, Scan, Return. Then I see my scan in Viewnior. I close Viewnior and in Peasyscan I click Save and a message tells me test.png was saved in my-documents.

So scanning works but every time I start Peasyscan my 300dpi setting is not retained and I must set it again. How can I get Peasyscan to retain this setting?

I did try the configuration file and when opening Peasyscan I am asked to select a configuration file. I select /usr/local/peasyscan/config/config-test.cfg

Code:
<resolution>300</resolution>


But when Peasyscan runs it is still set to the default 50dpi resolution. How can I get Peasyscan to start with 300dpi resolution?

For now I deleted config-test.cfg it doesn’t seem to do anything.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 11741
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Wed 31 Dec 2014, 11:02    Post subject:  

fuelish wrote:
After editing /etc/sane.d/dll.conf Peasyscan now displays Preferences screen when clicking Start and after selecting 300dpi scanning proceeds. I say proceeds because I hear the scanner working but other than that there is no indication that anything is happing.


You should have seen a little "progress" window appear in the upper left corner of your screen.

Did you use the Preview function? On the first page of this thread, there is a recipe and flash video for using Peasyscan. First-time users are sometimes frustrated by Peasyscan because it doesn't work exactly like other scanner apps they have used.

Quote:
However Viewnior has no means to save the scan.

Correct.

Quote:
I did try the configuration file and when opening Peasyscan I am asked to select a configuration file. I select /usr/local/peasyscan/config/config-test.cfg

Code:
<resolution>300</resolution>


But when Peasyscan runs it is still set to the default 50dpi resolution. How can I get Peasyscan to start with 300dpi resolution?


Settings in a Peasyscan configuration file only apply to Auto scanning. But try this:

Click Start.
Set your resolution.
Click Preferences
Select Save Device Settings.

However, depending on the scanner model, this does not always work for me.

Quote:
For now I deleted config-test.cfg it doesn’t seem to do anything.

See above.

[Edit] I tested "Save Device Settings" with an Epson XP-310 that uses the Epkowa driver. It worked correctly.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
fuelish

Joined: 15 Mar 2013
Posts: 79

PostPosted: Wed 31 Dec 2014, 13:32    Post subject:  

I see the progress window now. Preview works now.

rcrsn51 wrote:
On the first page of this thread, there is a recipe and flash video for using Peasyscan.


In this post when I clicked Download message said General Error, An Error Occurred. IIRC I did see this post but I don’t generally look at videos.

Quote:
Settings in a Peasyscan configuration file only apply to Auto scanning. But try this:

Click Start.
Set your resolution.
Click Preferences
Select Save Device Settings.

However, depending on the scanner model, this does not always work for me.


This works with my Epson Perfection 1240u flatbed scanner. Resolution now stays set to 300dpi. If I press Reset resoution returns to 50dpi.

I also got OCR to work:

Select Text - OCR mode
Click Folder button
Browse to my-documents, enter file name test.txt
Click Start, Scan, Return
Scan opens in Viewnior as out.png
Close Viewnior
Click Save
In OCR popup select English, Convert
Message says Image saved in /root/my-documents/test.txt

Tesseract OCR did better than OCR that came with this scanner. Two column machine text was converted to one colum with no breaks for paragraphs in text document. Only a few mistakes with fractions inserted by Word as symbols such as 1/4, 1/2 and 3/4, very impressive!

Quote:
[Edit]I tested "Save Device Settings" with an Epson XP-310 that uses the Epkowa driver. It worked correctly.


I will now try to get this working with Epson XP-300 on a laptop wirelessly. If I run into issues I will post here.

Thank you for your help. And thank you for your excellent software!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 11741
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Wed 31 Dec 2014, 13:43    Post subject:  

Excellent!

Thanks for the info about the flash video. It was another attachment that disappeared under the new forum restrictions.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
fuelish

Joined: 15 Mar 2013
Posts: 79

PostPosted: Fri 02 Jan 2015, 12:05    Post subject:  

I am now working with Peasyscan on a laptop in Slacko 55 with an Epson XP-300. The XP-300 prints fine wirelessly.

I installed the epkowa driver from this post and made the recommended changes to the configuration files. When I start Peasyscan it says No scanner detected.

If I use USB cord and plug XP-300 in directly Peasyscan works fine.

How can I get XP-300 to work wirelessly with Peasyscan? TIA
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 11741
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Fri 02 Jan 2015, 13:02    Post subject:  

I tested this with my XP-310 and it worked correctly.

1. In WiFi mode, it has the IP address 192.168.2.12

2. In /etc/sane.d/epkowa.conf, I added the line
Code:
net 192.168.2.12

3. In /etc/sane.d/dll.conf, I blacklisted epson2 and verified that epkowa was listed at the end.

4. I ran Peasyscan. It detected the scanner. In the Peasyscan title bar, it said
Code:
epkowa:net:192.168.2.12


With my unit, the default connection method is DHCP. So if you reboot the unit, there is a chance that its IP address may change. Are you sure that you used the correct IP in epkowa.conf?

Do you have the firewall running?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
fuelish

Joined: 15 Mar 2013
Posts: 79

PostPosted: Fri 02 Jan 2015, 13:51    Post subject:  

Turning firewall on or off made no difference.

I blacklisted epson and epson2 in /etc/sane.d/dll.conf

I was confused by the post I linked to and put this instead of an IP address.


Code:
net aaa.bbb.cc.dd



I looked in CUPS for printer IP which was 192.168.1.2. I put IP address in /etc/sane.d/epkowa.conf and Peasyscan is working wirelessly with XP-300, wonderful!

I too am using DHCP so now my question is what will happen when the IP changes? Is there a way to set this up so Peasyscan will find my XP-300 even if the IP changes?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 11741
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Fri 02 Jan 2015, 14:00    Post subject:  

Excellent.

fuelish wrote:
I too am using DHCP so now my question is what will happen when the IP changes? Is there a way to set this up so Peasyscan will find my XP-300 even if the IP changes?

The standard solution is to give the unit a static IP address, like 192.168.1.200. Some networkable printers have this option in their own control panel. Or you can set it from their web interface. (In your case, launch a web browser and go to 192.168.1.2.)

However, my XP-310 has neither! And the same issue applies to your CUPS printer. I may have read somewhere that you can set static IP through the Windows setup.

Or read here under Networked Printers for a way to handle this through the hosts file. I have not tested this with the Epson scanner driver.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
fuelish

Joined: 15 Mar 2013
Posts: 79

PostPosted: Mon 05 Jan 2015, 09:28    Post subject:  

When I reboot puppy can’t find the scanner. Puppy hasn’t been able to find my printer since 2013. I have to set it up every time I want to print. I’ve gotten so used to doing this in puppy that its become the new normal.

Is there any version of puppy that can find my printer by its self (without using a static IP)? I prefer Slacko but would consider switching.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 11741
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Mon 05 Jan 2015, 09:42    Post subject:  

fuelish wrote:
Puppy hasn’t been able to find my printer since 2013. I have to set it up every time I want to print. I’ve gotten so used to doing this in puppy that its become the new normal.

Is there any version of puppy that can find my printer by its self (without using a static IP)? I prefer Slacko but would consider switching.

??????

Is this because the IP address of the printer changed? The IP address of the Puppy machine is irrelevant.

This sounds like a problem with your savefile not retaining the settings. Have you tried this with a clean install?

Quote:
When I reboot puppy can’t find the scanner.

This is probably related to the printer issue.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
fuelish

Joined: 15 Mar 2013
Posts: 79

PostPosted: Mon 05 Jan 2015, 11:25    Post subject:  

The scanner and printer issue are the same. I should have explained better.

CUPS retains the IP of the printer. CUPS does this correctly on all of my computers. The IP address CUPS uses will be the IP address the printer had when I set up the printer. However the address of the printer can change.

My router/modem is only on when I use it. When I turn off the computers and printer I turn off the router/modem. The router/modem is a MiFi device. The next time I turn on everything each piece of equipment can get a different addresses.

CUPS is looking for the printer at an IP address that it may well no longer have. This is why CUPS (puppy) can’t find my printer.

So I would like to know if there is a version of puppy that can deal with this situation and find my printer without using a static IP address for the printer?


Thanks again. I do appreciate all the help you have given me!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 11741
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Mon 05 Jan 2015, 11:37    Post subject:  

fuelish wrote:
So I would like to know if there is a version of puppy that can deal with this situation and find my printer without using a static IP address for the printer?

You can use the technique of adding an entry to your /etc/hosts file that associates the network printer's IP address with a name. Then you only need to change the hosts file instead of re-installing the printer in CUPS. I used this method with my Epson XP-310 as follows:

1. The printer's current IP address is 192.168.2.12

2. In the file /etc/hosts, add the line: 192.168.2.12 Epson

3. In the scanner config file /etc/sane.d/epkowa.conf, use the line: net Epson

4. CUPS auto-detects the printer as: lpd://192.168.2.12:515/PASSTHRU

5. Instead, do a manual install using LPD/LPR Host or Printer.

6. Make the device URI: lpd://Epson:515/PASSTHRU

If you reboot your system and the printer's IP address changes, you only need to update the hosts file with the new IP. To find the printer's IP address, run PeasyPort from the Network menu. Scan your subnet for Port 515.

Last edited by rcrsn51 on Mon 20 Feb 2017, 15:00; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 5 of 8 [114 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Documents
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0614s ][ Queries: 14 (0.0069s) ][ GZIP on ]