Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 23 Jul 2014, 20:42
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Wary Puppy 0.9.4 (094) feedback
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 8 of 10 [143 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 6, 7, 8, 9, 10 Next
Author Message
Shep

Joined: 08 Nov 2008
Posts: 851
Location: GIRT-BY-SEA

PostPosted: Wed 03 Nov 2010, 23:28    Post subject:  

In Wary, what is the CLI mimencode utility known as? Or what is the nearest base64 encoder?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Thu 04 Nov 2010, 02:58    Post subject:  

Shep wrote:
In Wary, what is the CLI mimencode utility known as? Or what is the nearest base64 encoder?


I don't think we have one. We do have 'metamail', which if memory serves me correctly can read base64 encoded mail attachments (?)

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
pakt


Joined: 04 Jun 2005
Posts: 1089
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Thu 04 Nov 2010, 04:47    Post subject: Problem with creating savefile in wary-094  

This is a problem I've run into while creating a savefile. Even though there is room at the top of the screen, the bottom of the text is still below the bottom of the screen when the question to encrypt the savefile comes up.

I get similar problems when I run xorgwizard a second time while installing e.g. an Intel or Nvidia driver.

Here's an example screenshot:

_________________
Testing Puppy since v0.9.2 - my desktop OS since v1.0.7
Running SlaxerPup-4.12 - Puppy with a Slackware 12.2 heart Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Shep

Joined: 08 Nov 2008
Posts: 851
Location: GIRT-BY-SEA

PostPosted: Thu 04 Nov 2010, 05:29    Post subject:  

BarryK wrote:
Shep wrote:
In Wary, what is the CLI mimencode utility known as? Or what is the nearest base64 encoder?


I don't think we have one. We do have 'metamail', which if memory serves me correctly can read base64 encoded mail attachments (?)

I've got used to it in others. I'll have to dig up my perl script then, I need the encoder.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10747
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Thu 04 Nov 2010, 06:03    Post subject:  

Here's the latest Mrxvt I added system links to rxvt and urxvt so it would be default I also changed the icons to make it look nicer Smile
ttuuxxx
mr.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   76.37 KB
 Viewed   1086 Time(s)

mr.jpg

mrxvt-0.5.4-i386.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  mrxvt-0.5.4-i386.pet 
Filesize  120.56 KB 
Downloaded  335 Time(s) 

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Shep

Joined: 08 Nov 2008
Posts: 851
Location: GIRT-BY-SEA

PostPosted: Thu 04 Nov 2010, 06:08    Post subject:  

As recommended, I'm trying my ZTE K3571-Z modem with Wary 94, but it does not seem to be auto mounted, it just doesn't show up as an icon on the desktop. (Contrast this with TXZ puppy where the sr0 drive icon appears within seconds of the modem being plugged in.) Clicking on Probe gets me nowhere, no modem is detected. Can you suggest how I can manually mount it, or what pets I should try, if any? I've played around with this on and off for 6 hours, and am making no progress.

I'm not without hope. Last weekend I did manage to fluke it. Can't remember exactly how, or I'd retrace my steps. It involved manually setting a few things such as linking /dev/modem and editing wvdial.conf but I've tried so many things before and since that I'm not sure exactly what worked. I surfed with Wary for about 2 hrs with only 2 or 3 hangups. I did not save the settings believing I had it mastered. Embarassed Embarassed

So I at least know this modem can be made to work. (It's Vodafone's newest entry level modem here.)

I noticed that the modem idled on dark blue, and only when I gave it a big task, such as getting a youtube video, did it switch to light blue. Is this the most efficient way to operate, or is it customary to lock it to operate in the light blue?

If I can run a diagnostic that would assist, let me know. Immedaitely after plugging in the modem, lsusb shows the device existing in one state before it changes to another:
Code:


# for i in 2 4 6 8 10 12 14 16 18 20 22 24 26 28 30 32 34; do printf "$i "; lsusb |grep 19d2; sleep 2; done
2 4 6 Bus 001 Device 036: ID 19d2:1009
8 Bus 001 Device 036: ID 19d2:1009
10 Bus 001 Device 036: ID 19d2:1009
12 Bus 001 Device 036: ID 19d2:1009
14 Bus 001 Device 036: ID 19d2:1009
16 Bus 001 Device 036: ID 19d2:1009
18 Bus 001 Device 036: ID 19d2:1009
20 22 24 Bus 001 Device 037: ID 19d2:1010
26 Bus 001 Device 037: ID 19d2:1010
28 Bus 001 Device 037: ID 19d2:1010
30 Bus 001 Device 037: ID 19d2:1010
32 Bus 001 Device 037: ID 19d2:1010
34 Bus 001 Device 037: ID 19d2:1010
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10747
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Thu 04 Nov 2010, 07:59    Post subject:  

Shep wrote:
As recommended, I'm trying my ZTE K3571-Z modem with Wary 94, but it does not seem to be auto mounted, it just doesn't show up as an icon on the desktop. (Contrast this with TXZ puppy where the sr0 drive icon appears within seconds of the modem being plugged in.) Clicking on Probe gets me nowhere, no modem is detected. Can you suggest how I can manually mount it, or what pets I should try, if any? I've played around with this on and off for 6 hours, and am making no progress.

I'm not without hope. Last weekend I did manage to fluke it. Can't remember exactly how, or I'd retrace my steps. It involved manually setting a few things such as linking /dev/modem and editing wvdial.conf but I've tried so many things before and since that I'm not sure exactly what worked. I surfed with Wary for about 2 hrs with only 2 or 3 hangups. I did not save the settings believing I had it mastered. Embarassed Embarassed

So I at least know this modem can be made to work. (It's Vodafone's newest entry level modem here.)

I noticed that the modem idled on dark blue, and only when I gave it a big task, such as getting a youtube video, did it switch to light blue. Is this the most efficient way to operate, or is it customary to lock it to operate in the light blue?

If I can run a diagnostic that would assist, let me know. Immedaitely after plugging in the modem, lsusb shows the device existing in one state before it changes to another:
Code:


# for i in 2 4 6 8 10 12 14 16 18 20 22 24 26 28 30 32 34; do printf "$i "; lsusb |grep 19d2; sleep 2; done
2 4 6 Bus 001 Device 036: ID 19d2:1009
8 Bus 001 Device 036: ID 19d2:1009
10 Bus 001 Device 036: ID 19d2:1009
12 Bus 001 Device 036: ID 19d2:1009
14 Bus 001 Device 036: ID 19d2:1009
16 Bus 001 Device 036: ID 19d2:1009
18 Bus 001 Device 036: ID 19d2:1009
20 22 24 Bus 001 Device 037: ID 19d2:1010
26 Bus 001 Device 037: ID 19d2:1010
28 Bus 001 Device 037: ID 19d2:1010
30 Bus 001 Device 037: ID 19d2:1010
32 Bus 001 Device 037: ID 19d2:1010
34 Bus 001 Device 037: ID 19d2:1010


Hi Shep, your modem is on this page http://www.draisberghof.de/usb_modeswitch/
Basically read the page and install these 2 packages.
ttuuxxx
usb-modeswitch-1.1.4-i386.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  usb-modeswitch-1.1.4-i386.pet 
Filesize  22.5 KB 
Downloaded  338 Time(s) 
usb-modeswitch-data-20100826-i386.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  usb-modeswitch-data-20100826-i386.pet 
Filesize  10.14 KB 
Downloaded  301 Time(s) 

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
rerwin


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 1501
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Thu 04 Nov 2010, 13:28    Post subject: Upgraded HSF modem driver  

I have added the latest HSF modem driver to the update package (now 4) posted here: http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=461900#461900
More details there.
Richard
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
irishrm


Joined: 14 Mar 2009
Posts: 208

PostPosted: Thu 04 Nov 2010, 15:40    Post subject: Sound problem  

Barry's retrovol patch fixed my sound. Thanks-Irishrm
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 3210
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Thu 04 Nov 2010, 18:01    Post subject: mtpaint from Dmitri  

Note to Barry Kauler:

The version of mtpaint I got from Dmitry Groshev was specially modified
and compiled in slack linux. I don't know when it will become available to
public. It seems very stable. It would be nice to have it in the Puppy ISO.

__________________________________________________________

I haven't needed to use any Wacom utilities. It always works well.

The xsetwacom is a command-line Wacom driver configuration tool. It changes the pressure sensitivity, click threshold, button functions, cursor mode and speed, and much more without having to manually modify XF86Config or xorg.conf file.

The basic usage and options can be viewed by issuing man xsetwacom.

http://linuxwacom.sourceforge.net/index.php/howto/xsetwacom

_____________________________________________________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
kenj777

Joined: 31 Oct 2010
Posts: 3
Location: South Carolina, USA

PostPosted: Thu 04 Nov 2010, 18:42    Post subject: AC '97 modem problem  

rerwin

I installed your
hsfmodem-7.80.02.06full-dellhybrid.pet
on my
Compaq Presario 2500 with
ALi Corporation M5457 AC'97 Modem Controller
and it solved all my modem problems with Wary_094.
Thanks for all your hard work.

Ken
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Thu 04 Nov 2010, 18:44    Post subject: Re: Problem with creating savefile in wary-094  

pakt wrote:
This is a problem I've run into while creating a savefile. Even though there is room at the top of the screen, the bottom of the text is still below the bottom of the screen when the question to encrypt the savefile comes up.

I get similar problems when I run xorgwizard a second time while installing e.g. an Intel or Nvidia driver.

Here's an example screenshot:


That's weird. I am going to try updating to the latest 'dialog' application, see if that fixes it.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Thu 04 Nov 2010, 18:57    Post subject:  

Shep wrote:
As recommended, I'm trying my ZTE K3571-Z modem with Wary 94


Shep,
This is the same model I have. Read my blog for the saga on this.

The most important thing is, with Wary 094, the modem must be plugged in when you power-up, and run a pristine Wary (with pfix=ram if necessary). Then it "just works", modem detected as /dev/ttyUSB3, you only need to edit, phone number '*99#' and APN 'vfprepaymbb' (prepaid in Australia) and click 'Connect' button.

The problem occurs on a reboot, which is where rerwin's suggestion to try updated packages. -- these will be in the next Wary, coming soon.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Thu 04 Nov 2010, 19:01    Post subject: Re: mtpaint from Dmitri  

don570 wrote:
Note to Barry Kauler:

The version of mtpaint I got from Dmitry Groshev was specially modified
and compiled in slack linux. I don't know when it will become available to
public. It seems very stable. It would be nice to have it in the Puppy ISO.


don570,
As you are in contact with Dmitry, would you mind asking him if he can post the source code, or at least a patch for 3.34.56?

I would like to compile it in Wary (so it won't have that libtiff problem).
And it will be in the next release of Wary. I am particularly interested in this as I too will soon have a input tablet to play with!

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Shep

Joined: 08 Nov 2008
Posts: 851
Location: GIRT-BY-SEA

PostPosted: Thu 04 Nov 2010, 21:51    Post subject:  

BarryK wrote:
Shep wrote:
As recommended, I'm trying my ZTE K3571-Z modem with Wary 94


Shep,
This is the same model I have. Read my blog for the saga on this.

The most important thing is, with Wary 094, the modem must be plugged in when you power-up, and run a pristine Wary (with pfix=ram if necessary). Then it "just works",

It does "just work" now, but it didn't until I'd installed those 2 usb-modemswitch pets that ttuuxxx pointed out. (I'm just checking in case you believe they were not necessary when they were.) In a pristine Wary on its first run I deliberately left the wvdial APN box blank to see what would happen, and it still connected okay to the CJ network.. Shocked Shocked It's a voda modem that I set up with a Crazy Johns profile in XP. So am I correct in inferring that a blank APN causes it to default to the most recent profile in the modem?

I'm not an astute shopper. Only when I got home did I realise that I'd gone out of my way to buy an unproven modem that doesn't even take a microSP card! Mad Mad I think I would advise others to go with the tried & true blue Crazy Johns modem which takes an 8G card. (Ending up with a 3571 was actually a mistake, totally inintentional. I went with CJ because they give 2GB per month for $15, Voda just 1.5GB for the same.)

Code:

--> Modem initialized.
--> Sending: ATX1DT*99***1#
--> Waiting for carrier.
ATX1DT*99***1#
CONNECT 3600000
--> Carrier detected.  Waiting for prompt.
--> Don't know what to do!  Starting pppd and hoping for the best.
--> Starting pppd at Fri Nov  5 12:01:20 2010
--> pid of pppd: 10938


Would reconnects be speedier if it didn't wait for a nonexistent prompt? After the first hangup I changed to *99***1# but have no idea what difference it might have; I think it made none. Confused

It's good to confirm there's a puppy where this modem will work, but I'm looking forward to optimising it. This continual switching between dark blue and light blue introduces a few seconds of latency every time. After I hit <enter> I can count to 10 before anything happens.

Thanks for the advice Barry. Will take a look at your blog now .......
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 8 of 10 [143 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 6, 7, 8, 9, 10 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1116s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0091s) ][ GZIP on ]