Page 1 of 1

[SOLVED] ZTE MF110 modem

Posted: Sun 31 Oct 2010, 16:58
by andym3
Hello, forum, haven't seen you in a while. :D

As the title probably told you already, I'm having some issues with a ZTE MF110 modem under Puppy Linux. I'm using the latest Puppeee on an Eee PC 701, but I also want to get it working with Puppy 4.1.2 on an old Celeron (500MHz, 64MB RAM) laptop.

Anyway, PupDial picks it up as /dev/ttyUSB1, so there doesn't seem to be a problem with detecting it (4.1.2 might suffer from that). The thing is, my carrier does not use phone number, username and password to connect, just the APN. The problem is wvdial doesn't let me connect without those. I can probably substitute *99# for the phone number, but I can't put anything in the username and password fields; wvdial just waits a minute or so for some "prompt", then gives up and runs pppd, which times out soon enough and leaves the modem in some kind of loop. I have to unplug and replug it to try again.

The modem works; I've tested it on Ubuntu, its derivatives (incl. Lubuntu, after installing ModemManager) and Fedora.

Any suggestion is welcome.

Posted: Wed 03 Nov 2010, 19:04
by Aitch
Sorry, long thread

Try PMing rich/rerwin, if you don't figure it out

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=37828

or jemimah. pupeee's dev [also long thread]

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=48288

Aitch :)

Posted: Fri 05 Nov 2010, 01:35
by potong
Well hit me with a kipper!

I've just written a mini howto on this (well almost ZTE MF112) dongle here.

HTH

Potong

Posted: Fri 05 Nov 2010, 02:27
by Aitch
Potong

Nice! :D

Aitch :)

Posted: Tue 19 Jul 2011, 07:11
by andym3
It's been forever, but I recently got this sorted out (Fluppy 013 with a Huawei E172 + my SIM from Digi.Mobil).

Phone no.: *99#
Username: whatever
Password: whatever
APN: internet

These settings work for Orange Romania too, I tried it.

Posted: Tue 19 Jul 2011, 10:27
by Aitch
andym3

Cool, Simple is best, eh?

Can you add 'Solved' to the Subject line on your first post, please

[edit icon top r/h corner]

thanks

Aitch :)

Posted: Wed 20 Jul 2011, 21:57
by muggins
I don't think he should add "Solved" as, AFAIK, he didn't get the ZTE MF110 working.

Posted: Thu 21 Jul 2011, 06:44
by andym3
@Aitch, indeed, I forgot about that. Sorry.
@muggins, I recall the MF110 was detected, but I didn't know the correct configuration, so it's pretty much solved. :D

Posted: Thu 21 Jul 2011, 07:34
by vanchutr
To Aitch, Muggins
This is my confi to setup MF100

(1) usb_modeswitchzte4.conf

Code: Select all

# Configuration for the usb_modeswitch package, a mode switching tool for
# USB devices providing multiple states or modes
#
# This file is evaluated by the wrapper script "usb_modeswitch_dispatcher"
# in /usr/sbin
# To enable an option, set it to "1", "yes" or "true" (case doesn't matter)
# Everything else counts as "disable"


# Disable automatic mode switching globally (e.g. to access the original
# install storage)

DisableSwitching=0


# Enable logging (results in a extensive report file in /var/log, named
# "usb_modeswitch_<interface-name>"

#######
### 

EnableLogging=1  

########################################################
# ZTE MF628+ (tested version from Telia / Sweden)
# ZTE MF626
#
# Contributor: Joakim Wennergren

DefaultVendor=  0x19d2
DefaultProduct= 0x2003

TargetVendor=   0x19d2
TargetProduct=  0x2003

#TargetProduct=  0x0031

MessageEndpoint=0x01
MessageContent="55534243123456782000000080000c85010101180101010101000000000000"

# if that command doesn't work, try the other ("eject") 

MessageContent="5553424312345678000000000000061b000000030000000000000000000000"
wvdialzte4.conf

Code: Select all

[Dialer Defaults]
Modem = /dev/ttyUSB3
Baud = 57600
Init1 = 
Init2 = ATZ
Init3 = ATQ0 V1 E1 S0=0 S10=200 &C1 &D2 +FCLASS=0
Carrier Check = yes
Dial Command = ATDT

[Dialer isp1]
Phone = *99#
Username = MYUSERNAME
Password = MYPASSWORD
Stupid Mode = yes
Auto Reconnect = yes

[Dialer isp1apn]
Init5 = AT+CGDCONT=1,"IP","v-internet"

[Dialer isp2]
Phone = *99#
Username = MYUSERNAME
Password = MYPASSWORD
Stupid Mode = yes
Auto Reconnect = yes

[Dialer isp2apn]
Init5 = AT+CGDCONT=1,"IP","v-internet"

[Dialer pin]
Init1 = AT+CPIN=

[Dialer wireless]
#To force only 2G or 3G, uncomment the Init4 line and append 0 (2G) or 2 (3G), and substitute your operator's name for MYOPS.
#Init4 = AT+COPS=0,0,"MYOPS",
#Init6-Init9 lines are available for user purposes; the commented examples can be used as described:
#To force the 3G quality of service level, uncomment the Init6/Init7 line pair and set value two places each, for 384k/144k/64k, omitting the "k" (e.g., =1,4,64,384,64,384).
#To list all the APNs stored in the modem, uncomment the Init8 line; check the Connection status log for lines beginning with +CGDCONT:.
#To list the operator identifier stored in the modem, uncomment the Init9 line; check the Connection status log for a line beginning with +COPS:.
#Init6 = AT+CGEQMIN=1,4,64,384,64,384
#Init7 = AT+CGEQREQ=1,4,64,384,64,384
#Init8 = AT+CGDCONT?
#Init9 = AT+COPS?
Script to setup

Code: Select all

#!/bin/bash

### ZTE

cd /root/my-applications/bin

cp usb_modeswitchzte4.conf /etc/usb_modeswitch.conf
cp wvdialzte4.conf /etc/wvdial.conf

/usr/sbin/usb_modeswitch -W -c /etc/usb_modeswitch.conf

/sbin/modprobe usbserial vendor=0x19d2 product=0x2003

echo "Initializing modem. Please wait..."
sleep 60

echo "Done. Connecting with pupdial..."

pupdial
Some infos:

Code: Select all

.........
OK
--> Modem initialized.
--> Sending: ATDT*99#
--> Waiting for carrier.
ATDT*99#
CONNECT
--> Carrier detected.  Waiting for prompt.
--> Don't know what to do!  Starting pppd and hoping for the best.
--> Starting pppd at Thu Jul 21 14:35:22 2011
--> pid of pppd: 11554