Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 18 Sep 2014, 13:58
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
HD Install Script -selects wrong Cdrom - solved?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [4 Posts]  
Author Message
arfritus

Joined: 12 Jun 2005
Posts: 4
Location: Lincoln U.K.

PostPosted: Sun 12 Jun 2005, 19:24    Post subject:  HD Install Script -selects wrong Cdrom - solved?  

Since about 1.0.1 I have not been able to use the install script.
Problem seems to be with the later drive mounter and installer interaction.

I have just one optical drive, a Liteon DVD-RW which comes up in the Mounter as two drives, CDrom2 being the active one.
Unfortunately the Install Script picks the wrong one - even after trying to alter fstab to fix it.
So for me the Install to HD stops there, (I have not seen the "upgrade" option yet so perhaps that comes later .

Puppy 9.8 rc2 running fine here

Thanks for the puppy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sun 12 Jun 2005, 21:45    Post subject:  

Seems like you haven't run the CD/DVD drive Wizard, to make sure that /dev/cdrom and /dev/dvd point to the correct drive.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
arfritus

Joined: 12 Jun 2005
Posts: 4
Location: Lincoln U.K.

PostPosted: Mon 13 Jun 2005, 15:00    Post subject: HD install script - cdrom selection  

Thanks for the response,
I had tried the wizard each time and things there looked OK.

I am using 1.0.3 Moz from the cd (no save) just now and have been looking at the drive mounter, all looks normal.

My install is quite old - 9.8rc2, it seems this odd behaviour occurs when 1.0.3 looks at, or gets data from the older installation.

I will backup and then do a manual install of 1.0.3 as a fresh starting point.

If that works I have no problem.

I will let you know how it goes in a few days

Thank You for Puppy linux
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
arfritus

Joined: 12 Jun 2005
Posts: 4
Location: Lincoln U.K.

PostPosted: Mon 20 Jun 2005, 15:11    Post subject: Bug ? - Wrong CDrom ? Ooops  

I did thought that I did everything properly the first time, but I must have done something wrong.
I started 1.0.3 from a cold Boot and all went OK, smooth update, nice.

Sorry for the false alarm, arfritus is humble.

ooops
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [4 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0558s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0112s) ][ GZIP on ]