Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 01 Oct 2014, 20:30
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Puppy Linux Windows Installer - V1.1 released
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 8 of 23 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, ..., 21, 22, 23 Next
Author Message
ICPUG

Joined: 24 Jul 2005
Posts: 1290
Location: UK

PostPosted: Mon 26 Sep 2011, 08:20    Post_subject:  

been on holiday so sorry about the late response to this:

Noryb009 said:

Quote:
I think I didn't give users an option to choose their sub directory because it has to be in the root directory and has to have no spaces.


It used to be the case that puppy would only search 1 subfolder down from root and the above is true (if subdirectory means where the puppyfolder is stored).

More recent puppies based on recent woofs have this restriction removed, although I never bother to go lower than 1 folder for storing the puppy files myself.

The location of additional sfs files were also restricted to /mnt/home (or c:\) in the past. I think this may have changed in later woofs as well but I am beginning to lose track of all the changes in woof so cannot be certain.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
emil

Joined: 10 Nov 2009
Posts: 618
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Mon 17 Oct 2011, 13:07    Post_subject: sagelive exe installer  

I made an exe installer for the Sage Live CD.
It is huge 680 MB.

Everything went smooth, I used Wine from inside the running Live CD.
To avoid clobbering up my save file I shifted the /root/.wine/drive_c to /mnt/home and symlinked it in /root/.wine.

Earlier I also built some versions on a 32 bit windows machine, which works fine too.

thanks noryb009 and all!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
emil

Joined: 10 Nov 2009
Posts: 618
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Mon 17 Oct 2011, 13:07    Post_subject: sagelive exe installer  

I made an exe installer for the Sage Live CD.
It is huge 680 MB.

Everything went smooth, I used Wine from inside the running Live CD.
To avoid clobbering up my save file I shifted the /root/.wine/drive_c to /mnt/home and symlinked it in /root/.wine.

Earlier I also built some versions on a 32 bit windows machine, which works fine too.

thanks noryb009 and all!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
HiDeHo

Joined: 16 Mar 2011
Posts: 286

PostPosted: Wed 19 Oct 2011, 03:55    Post_subject:  

Hi is this a port of the lin4win project or the wubi installer. please define it here.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jakfish

Joined: 18 Jul 2008
Posts: 756

PostPosted: Wed 19 Oct 2011, 07:35    Post_subject:  

I'm about to give this a whirl on an ancient IBM Thinkpad 570/Win98FE laptop.

A couple of questions about power savings:

1) With my 192MBs of RAM, can I assume that everything but the pupsave file will be loaded in RAM?

2) With plans to forgo the hard drive altogether once puppy is running (in console, I'll try to use "hdparm -y /dev/sda1"), is it possible to have a booting puppy look for the pupsave file on a compact flash on PCMCIA card?

The cf would probably be considered an sdb2 or something akin. I think that a booting puppy will recognize that drive and install its proper drivers. But will it do so in time to look on that drive for the working pupsave file?

Am I on the right track?

Thanks much,
Jake
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
ICPUG

Joined: 24 Jul 2005
Posts: 1290
Location: UK

PostPosted: Wed 19 Oct 2011, 07:55    Post_subject:  

jakfish wrote:
I'm about to give this a whirl on an ancient IBM Thinkpad 570/Win98FE laptop.

A couple of questions about power savings:

1) With my 192MBs of RAM, can I assume that everything but the pupsave file will be loaded in RAM?

...


I can only answer point 1)

With 192MB of RAM recent puppies will not load anything into RAM. The SFS file will be accessed from wherever it is located. I'm not sure what RAM is now required for everything to load into RAM. 512MB is certainly enough but not sure if 256MB is OK.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
ICPUG

Joined: 24 Jul 2005
Posts: 1290
Location: UK

PostPosted: Wed 19 Oct 2011, 08:04    Post_subject:  

HiDeHo wrote:
Hi is this a port of the lin4win project or the wubi installer. please define it here.


As can be seen in the first post (by the thanks) Lin'N'Win was used as the start point for this project. It is essentially an automated version of that built into an exe file. Windows 7 support was added independently.

As far as I am aware wubi was not used in the process.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jakfish

Joined: 18 Jul 2008
Posts: 756

PostPosted: Wed 19 Oct 2011, 09:06    Post_subject:  

Hi, ICPUG,

Thank you for your quick response. Too bad about the RAM, though. B/c if the *.sfs can only be installed on the hard drive, then it would continue to access the hard drive once puppy was fully booted (I've never heard of puppy unmounting its OS sfs, and remounting it on a different drive).

The ideal thing would be to do the IDE>HD>CF Adapter deal, but I can not get that to work with the IBM Thinkpad 570. Other computers, yes; not w/ this one, however.

Wait a minute. Would I be able to put the entire installation of puppy on the cf (PCMCIA) and merely have the loader on the c: hard drive? Does the loader itself determine and load available drives?

I doubt it, somehow. In DOS, to get the PCMCIA slot recognized, users need CardSoft or some other *.sys files and drivers.

Jake
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Aitch


Joined: 04 Apr 2007
Posts: 6825
Location: Chatham, Kent, UK

PostPosted: Thu 20 Oct 2011, 11:28    Post_subject:  

jakfish

I messed about with both a 560 and 570 IBM lappy

I seem to recall that different versions of puppy load the pcmcia driver at different times, and it needs loading very early in the boot process

I was trying 214R and 412/431 IIRC.....with help from either MU or tempestuous......too long ago for me to be certain

I believe the CF-pcmcia adapter did work with a 4gb microdrive [1" hard drive]....but there were other issues.....I was using a boot floppy in an IBM external floppy drive on its own port/cable, I think, which had a dos driver on it, as I didn't have a built-in CD, plus a usb CDRW....It booted OK that way
I succeeded in watching videos/youtube on it, though in the end I upgraded....it was easier.....though it remained in use as a hard drive swapper for quite a while.....so easy Wink

The Windoze loader at the start of this thread didn't exist then....I had W98 on the 3.2gb hard drive.....later swapped for a 5400rpm 10gb, which improved it a bit too [didn't try 7200 drives as they run hotter, and use more power, I believe]

Aitch Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jakfish

Joined: 18 Jul 2008
Posts: 756

PostPosted: Fri 21 Oct 2011, 04:18    Post_subject:  

Hi, Aitch,

I was able to solve this dilemma by stumbling over an amazing piece of software:

[/url]http://www.plop.at/en/bootmanager.html#noinstall

Users burn an image of this boot manager onto a floppy (there are other ways of installation, too), then install it on the hard drive (comes w/ full uninstall), and upon reboot, a menu appears of boot devices, one of which is USB.

I almost fell over b/c IBM 570 BIOS never had this option, and I thought such a thing was hard-wired.

On another computer, I made a USB-install of Puppy 4.31 Retro (the Thinkpad 570 needs the Retro to see the hard drive). Then booted from PLOP/USB and off I went.

A bit of a warning: I was having great difficult with an erratic boot of linux until I realized that the physical slot of the 570 USB port is narrow and some USB drives won't fully seat. Since the problem is erratic, I kept thinking it was a bad kernel or wrong OS (I initially tried ttuuxx's 2.14).

Jake
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Aitch


Joined: 04 Apr 2007
Posts: 6825
Location: Chatham, Kent, UK

PostPosted: Fri 21 Oct 2011, 11:42    Post_subject:  

Hi Jake

Yes, I forgot to mention PLOP....used it later, and recommended a few times, too

Damn bios was next to useless....though it does offer network boot

I think I had a weird effect with usb ports, but because I tended to add pcmcia gadgets, [including usb2] on to make things work faster, I hadn't noticed the usb slot issue.....not worth digging it out now just to check, either....it's resting peacefully Wink

They're good'n'tough though, those old IBMs - mine survived a flight of stairs fall, and worked faultlessly afterwards....but it's not recommended treatment Laughing

Aitch Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jakfish

Joined: 18 Jul 2008
Posts: 756

PostPosted: Fri 21 Oct 2011, 16:38    Post_subject:  

The thin form factor is lots of fun, but mine seems to fall apart a little bit more every time I use it. The little screen-blanking hole (upper left) caved in only b/c of age. And the head phone jack has to be inserted juuuust right. The screen went dark for one entire boot, for no real reason.

Tick, tick, tick Smile But what can we whine about when the price is 50USD?

Jake
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Aitch


Joined: 04 Apr 2007
Posts: 6825
Location: Chatham, Kent, UK

PostPosted: Mon 24 Oct 2011, 18:49    Post_subject:  

$50....?!!

Wanna buy another one? Laughing

Aitch Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jakfish

Joined: 18 Jul 2008
Posts: 756

PostPosted: Tue 25 Oct 2011, 00:28    Post_subject:  

Actually, I am looking for one with with more durable innards. But UK to US shipping can be prohibitive. Smile

Jake
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
noryb009

Joined: 20 Mar 2010
Posts: 539

PostPosted: Sun 06 Nov 2011, 15:00    Post_subject:  

Uploaded 530 and 530 PAE - link
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 8 of 23 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, ..., 21, 22, 23 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0845s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0070s) ][ GZIP on ]