Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 21 Dec 2014, 20:38
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Networking » Ethernet
Etherlink III Puppy 4.31 retro i n Thinkpad 770E 266MHz
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
sindi

Joined: 16 Aug 2009
Posts: 397

PostPosted: Mon 01 Nov 2010, 12:32    Post_subject:  Etherlink III Puppy 4.31 retro i n Thinkpad 770E 266MHz
Sub_title: driver found 3c589_cs, dhcp does not work
 

Non-cardbus 10MBit/sec Etherlink III works with BasicLinux in the Thinkpad and with Browserlinux (431 based) in a DELL 300MHz Inspiron 3500 laptop.

In Thinkpad 770E Puppy loads driver 3c589_cs, finds live network,
but does not assign proper IP address. (ipV 169... instead). Manual setup does not work either.

A pc_net based non-cardbus card does work in the Thinkpad.
Puppy 4.31 kernel 2.6.21.7.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Aitch


Joined: 04 Apr 2007
Posts: 6825
Location: Chatham, Kent, UK

PostPosted: Wed 03 Nov 2010, 13:43    Post_subject:  

Quote:
Manual setup does not work either.


???

If Puppy finds a live network, it seems to be loading the correct driver

Try typing ifconfig in a console....if you get a 169.254.x.x address, it is probably either not finding your router, if you have one, or a DNS problem

see http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=50515

HTH

Aitch Smile

Edited_times_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
sindi

Joined: 16 Aug 2009
Posts: 397

PostPosted: Wed 03 Nov 2010, 15:47    Post_subject: Puppy 4.31 retro not working with Etherlink III non-cardbus
Sub_title: Loads driver, cannot find router
 

I know it is not finding the router
(ifconfig eth0 gives the other number)
but why only with this particular card,
which works with another linux in the same computer?
Other cards work in this computer.
dhcpcd is already running. If I assign the
correct IP number manually (with gateway and
dns number as found for the other card) it
still cannot connect to the router or the internet.
I gave up and put the card in a Windows laptop.
I tried this repeatedly, same results.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Networking » Ethernet
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0508s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0125s) ][ GZIP on ]