Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 11 Nov 2019, 21:16
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Wary 0.9.8 (098) feedback
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 15 [211 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, ..., 13, 14, 15 Next
Author Message
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 6734
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Sun 14 Nov 2010, 00:25    Post subject:  

01micko wrote:
James C wrote:

Strange where the Intel line came from,no Intel anything on the box anywhere.Almost like it was trying to download the wrong pet,and it failed at that too.

PET="$1" #ex: xorg_upgrade_intel-2.10.0-w5.pet


"ex" means "example".. it's just a comment Wink denoted by the hash symbol in bash

James.. I don't think that driver supports your card anyway, so maybe it was supposed to fail? Confused
Quote:
GeForce 3 series:
Ti, Ultra, GTS/Pro

GeForce 256 series:
256, 256 DDR

TNT / TNT2 series:
RIVA TNT2/TNT2 PRO, Aladdin TNT2, RIVA TNT2 Model 64/Model 64 Pro, RIVA TNT, RIVA TNT2 Ultra

Riva 128 PCI series:
Riva 128/128ZX

Riva 128 AGP series:
Riva 128 AGP

Vanta series:
Vanta/Vanta LT

Quadro 2 Pro series:
Quadro2 Pro



That's from the thread when I compiled nvidia-76.* for one of the other kernels Barry was using.


Well, it installed and it works.......pretty fair numbers for "glxgears".


17078 frames in 5.0 seconds = 3415.600 FPS

At least it didn't crash and burn.... Laughing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2674
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Sun 14 Nov 2010, 01:29    Post subject: Re: NVIDIA driver 265 failed but 260 micko build works  

01micko wrote:
you can try the one in the drivers thread I compiled in wary last week. Works for me. http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=61763

Thanks micko. It works.
NVIDIA Geforce 8800GTX.

BTW, the secondlife viewer(1 nor 2) fails.
I have failed every version of Wary and Qirky.
Lucid is OK, Puppy-4.3.1(JPqs3) is OK.
I am not sure what library is missing or mismatching.

_________________
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 9068
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sun 14 Nov 2010, 01:39    Post subject: Re: Wary 0.9.8 (098) feedback  

Billtoo wrote:
I'm running 098 from a 4gb flash drive.
I have sound but retrovol is still x'ed out so I change volume by using
the remote of my speaker system.
I used the ati pet, then exited to the prompt and entered "aticonfig
--initial" then "xwin" to get back to the desktop.Hardware acceleration
is working.
I'm afraid if I run the alsa sound wizard it will wreck the sound
altogether so I'm sticking with things the way they are...changed my
mind and ran it, got woof woof and still have sound but retrovol is
still x'ed out and doesn't work.
But this computer is new and Wary works *very* well on it Smile
Thanks


Billtoo,
Did you use the Video Upgrade Wizard to install the ATI PET? If so, it runs 'aticonfig --initial' after it installs, so you shouldn't have had to do that.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 8726
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sun 14 Nov 2010, 01:40    Post subject:  

Barry

Something is wrong that I can't pinpoint to do with my acx device and ndiswrapper.

Yesterday in my sneaky testing on my P3 the thing just connected with no fuss.

Today in 098 it just refuses to connect, I even tried tempestuous' command line method. In Sns and network wizard I get no results in the scan. Usually there is about 7 or 8 access ponts detected by that card. I plugged in my usb tp-link dongle (rt73 device) and it connected with no fuss, albeit slowly (it's a distance thing, that's why I prefer the acx with an external antenna.)

As a sanity check I booted back into my sneaky installation and it was straight online with the acx device. So it's weird.. sns doesn't get far enough to catch a log, guess I'll try dmesg or something to look for clues, or look in the kernel log.

Anything change from yesterday that you can put your finger on?

Cheers

_________________
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 9068
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sun 14 Nov 2010, 01:43    Post subject: Re: NVIDIA driver 265 failed  

shinobar wrote:
Thanks the Warry-098.

Tried on my PC with NVIDIA Geforce 8800GTX.
First boot, nv or vesa i am not sure, got 1200x1048x24.
Installed nvidia-265 driver from the Video Upgrade Wizard.
Down to console, xorgwizard, chose nvidia, select 1200x1048x24, test.
After 'Test now', the PC freezes with black screen.


It seems that there is something wrong with the 256 nVidia PET -- 01micko also got a black screen. He has created a 260* PET, which is a more recent version that should support all the same cards, that works for him, so I will switch over to that.

01micko announced that on the 096 feedback thread.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 9068
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sun 14 Nov 2010, 01:52    Post subject:  

01micko wrote:
Barry

Something is wrong that I can't pinpoint to do with my acx device and ndiswrapper.

Yesterday in my sneaky testing on my P3 the thing just connected with no fuss.

Today in 098 it just refuses to connect, I even tried tempestuous' command line method. In Sns and network wizard I get no results in the scan. Usually there is about 7 or 8 access ponts detected by that card. I plugged in my usb tp-link dongle (rt73 device) and it connected with no fuss, albeit slowly (it's a distance thing, that's why I prefer the acx with an external antenna.)

As a sanity check I booted back into my sneaky installation and it was straight online with the acx device. So it's weird.. sns doesn't get far enough to catch a log, guess I'll try dmesg or something to look for clues, or look in the kernel log.

Anything change from yesterday that you can put your finger on?

Cheers


097 and 098 are just about identical. The only thing that I can think that might be a factor is the little delay placed into /etc/init.d/10alsa -- that will also delay execution of all the other scripts in /etc/init.d, as they are executed sequentially.

Hmmm, if that is the cause, I will change things so that /etc/init.d/10alsa executes in a separate process that does not delay the others.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2674
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Sun 14 Nov 2010, 02:03    Post subject: secondlife viewer  

shinobar wrote:
BTW, the secondlife viewer(1 nor 2) fails.
I have failed every version of Wary and Qirky.
Lucid is OK, Puppy-4.3.1(JPqs3) is OK.
I am not sure what library is missing or mismatching.

Missing libGLU.so.1.
So, going to install mesa-6.5.2-w5 then the dependency check recommends xorg_base-1.7.6-lupu.
Is it right?
mmm... failed to download mesa-6.5.2-w5... Crying or Very sad

_________________
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html

Last edited by shinobar on Sun 14 Nov 2010, 02:11; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 8726
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sun 14 Nov 2010, 02:05    Post subject:  

Hoorah for 3G modems!

I just plugged it in and it worked on my old P3, which is still usb 1.1. Solves my slow network issue for now.

I was able to reproduce James' problem with my slow connection. There is no check if there is a pet there or not, just the call to petget to install whatever driver, if it's not there you get James' error. So, if there's a download fail petget tries to run.

Other than that, when I plugged in the fast connection provided by my huawei-169 video upgrade worked as expected. Same driver as James.

Cheers

_________________
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 9068
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sun 14 Nov 2010, 02:36    Post subject:  

01micko wrote:
I was able to reproduce James' problem with my slow connection. There is no check if there is a pet there or not, just the call to petget to install whatever driver, if it's not there you get James' error. So, if there's a download fail petget tries to run.

Other than that, when I plugged in the fast connection provided by my huawei-169 video upgrade worked as expected. Same driver as James.

Cheers


Yeah, but I don't understand why so many reports that installation fails. Slow connection should not make any difference. This line:

rxvt -bg yellow -e wget ${PET_URL}${PET_FOLDER}\$PET

should only finish when the PET has fully downloaded, unless an error causes wget to terminate.

Looks like we need some more rigorous code in here, that checks for complete download and keeps trying until success. Um, but wget defaults to retrying until succeeds, at least it tries a certain number of times.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2674
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Sun 14 Nov 2010, 02:39    Post subject: mesa, secondlife viewer  

shinobar wrote:
Missing libGLU.so.1.
So, going to install mesa-6.5.2-w5 then the dependency check recommends xorg_base-1.7.6-lupu.
Is it right?

(Of course) installing xorg_base-1.7.6-lupu broke the desktop.

Tried with new pupsave.
First, installed mesa-6.5.2-w5 from PPM.
PPM says missing dependency with 'xorg_base'. I ignored this.
Next, installed micko's nvidia 260 driver.
Xorgwizard got nvidia driver with 1920x1080x24.

Now, the secondlife viewer2 successfully running Very Happy

... Check dependency says still 'xorg_base' missing... Cool
missing.png
 Description   
 Filesize   3.28 KB
 Viewed   1317 Time(s)

missing.png


_________________
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 8726
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sun 14 Nov 2010, 02:49    Post subject:  

Quote:
rxvt -bg yellow -e wget ${PET_URL}${PET_FOLDER}\$PET


Yep that should do it, however I don't think James has a slow connection, all I can put it down to is ibiblio refusing the connection and wget exits. That's what it looked like to me, the download didn't even start.

I have rigorous code in quickpet to prevent this, it's really probably a bit excessive. Maybe just a check that the pet exists would be enough and a "try again later" message for failure.

_________________
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 6734
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Sun 14 Nov 2010, 03:07    Post subject:  

01micko wrote:
Quote:
rxvt -bg yellow -e wget ${PET_URL}${PET_FOLDER}\$PET


Yep that should do it, however I don't think James has a slow connection, all I can put it down to is ibiblio refusing the connection and wget exits. That's what it looked like to me, the download didn't even start.

I have rigorous code in quickpet to prevent this, it's really probably a bit excessive. Maybe just a check that the pet exists would be enough and a "try again later" message for failure.


No slow connection,high speed dsl. No problem with Quickpet for example.....downloaded a ton of packages in Lucid/Luci testing without a problem.

On both machines, video-upgrade wouldn't download but I used the PPM to download and install the pets.
Not actually that big of a deal to me,just don't like things that don't work........................... Laughing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 8726
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sun 14 Nov 2010, 03:56    Post subject:  

come to think about it,, the default for wget is 10 tries (in /etc/wgetrc), in quickpet I use wget -t0 which is the unlimited tries parameter. I guess that would help because when I tested and it failed it did linger for 20 seconds or so, so it may have exhausted the 10 tries.

The way I understand it, wget tries, if it fails waits 1 second, tries again, then waits 2 seconds, tries, and so on up to 10 times.

_____________________________________________

I'll be doing a minor update to pupRadio in the coming days, there is one channel not working, SCCtv, historical movies, getting 404 error so it's either moved or gone I guess. These channels sure have stood the test of time! Laughing

_________________
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 5495
Location: GB

PostPosted: Sun 14 Nov 2010, 05:01    Post subject:  

Following advice (01micko?) re. Opera, d/l Debian-Other from their website, petget offered to open/install - it worked, except closing message tells look under "Utility" - it was correctly listed under "Internet", but the Big Red 'O' was superimposed over 'Pup-Advert-Blocker' and Opera was listed higher up in the sub-menu without its icon.
Some tweaking needed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pakt


Joined: 04 Jun 2005
Posts: 1156
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Sun 14 Nov 2010, 06:56    Post subject:
Subject description: Oversized menus remain in wary-098
 

Barry, the problem with the savefile/xorgwizard menu extending below the edge of the screen is still present in wary-098.

Your mod in rc.country, “FONTMAP='’ #101112“, doesn’t blank the variable for some strange reason. The contents of /etc/fontmap is still “lat1-12.psfu”.

I modified rc.country with shinobar’s fix, “#echo -n “$FONTMAP” > /etc/fontmap”, and that solved the problem. Now /etc/fontmap doesn’t exist and the savefile/xorgwizard menus are correct.

I’ll do some limited testing to see if not setting the fontmap variable has any effect on running wary in Swedish.

_________________
Methinks Raspberry Pi were ideal for runnin' Puppy Linux
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 15 [211 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, ..., 13, 14, 15 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0812s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0222s) ][ GZIP on ]