Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 16 Nov 2019, 20:24
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Wary 0.9.8 (098) feedback
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 13 of 15 [211 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 11, 12, 13, 14, 15 Next
Author Message
glenco

Joined: 14 May 2010
Posts: 38
Location: Milwaukee

PostPosted: Thu 25 Nov 2010, 17:03    Post subject:  

rerwin
So you are having just about the same problem with your 537 as I was having with my pctel??? Could it be the same kind of problem, one module loading and taking control over the one that is really needed and not so much an init or pause issue?

This request is off base but is there a reason for that loop at the end of pupdial that opens the main connect window again? Pupdial has done this for many versions of puppy now and I just can't figure out why it's like that. When I want to "DISCONNECT or quit trying" I MEAN IT! LOL
I rem'ed out line 686?? in pupdial so it does not loop back to the main connect windows and it had no ill effects that I could see. I did the same in puppy 4.21 and it worked fine also.

Code:
# exec pupdial #v3.91 go back to main window
.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rerwin


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 1954
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Fri 26 Nov 2010, 14:03    Post subject: zzz-compatible pusbmodeswitch script  

Barry,
I eagerly await verification that the zzz replacement for the pusbmodeswitch script "does the job". I hope that it can make it into wary, to relieve me of the "maintenance nightmare" of synchronizing my bash version to the distributed usb_modeswitch dispatcher.

In anticipation but in case it does not get into the final, I have updated my script, once again, to have it use the database directory. That way, wary can contain the /etc/usb_modeswitch.d directory to facilitate drop-in replacement at any time. It is on page 4 with "-6", but as a separate package; here is the direct link to the download: http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?mode=attach&id=34868

Please omit from future versions of wary, the usb_modeswitch database tar.gz file and replace it with the full /etc/usb_modeswitch.d directory. And please also include the "jim" tcl interpreter, so I can experiment if necessary. Thanks.
Richard
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 9068
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Fri 26 Nov 2010, 18:41    Post subject: Re: zzz-compatible pusbmodeswitch script  

rerwin wrote:
Barry,
I eagerly await verification that the zzz replacement for the pusbmodeswitch script "does the job". I hope that it can make it into wary, to relieve me of the "maintenance nightmare" of synchronizing my bash version to the distributed usb_modeswitch dispatcher.

In anticipation but in case it does not get into the final, I have updated my script, once again, to have it use the database directory. That way, wary can contain the /etc/usb_modeswitch.d directory to facilitate drop-in replacement at any time. It is on page 4 with "-6", but as a separate package; here is the direct link to the download: http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?mode=attach&id=34868

Please omit from future versions of wary, the usb_modeswitch database tar.gz file and replace it with the full /etc/usb_modeswitch.d directory. And please also include the "jim" tcl interpreter, so I can experiment if necessary. Thanks.
Richard


Quirky 1.4 is being uploaded now. It is identical to Wary except for the 'zzz' package.

So, just about all posts in this thread will apply to Quirky 1.4, and future posts to the Quirky 1.4 thread will apply to Wary.

Feedback on Quirky 1.4 will determine what elements of zzz make it into the mainline Woof builds.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 5498
Location: GB

PostPosted: Sat 27 Nov 2010, 07:48    Post subject:  

Sorry, John - wrong thread.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Shep

Joined: 08 Nov 2008
Posts: 880
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Sat 27 Nov 2010, 22:47    Post subject:  

In Wary098 with no added .pets, ZTE 3571-Z modem detection is not reliable. Whether booting with a savefile, or using pfix=ram, usually no modem is detected. (Though when modem is successfully detected, it installs readily and works flawlessly until system is shutdown.)

Maybe it is a puppy operating system problem, rather than a problem with modem software pe se.

In brief: no USB system storage icon appears on the pinboard, not even fleetingly, whether booting with modem plugged in, or hot plugging it. Should icon appear briefly at any stage?

lsusb works as expected, and shows new device when plugged in. But problem is that usually /dev/ttyUSB3 fails to get created, and until the modem is available as /dev/ttyUSB3 it's not accessible and so can not be installed.

As I create this post, the 3G modem is working brilliantly, and I see:
Code:
# lsusb
Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001
Bus 001 Device 003: ID 19d2:1010
# ls -l /dev/ttyUSB*
crw-rw---- 1 root root 188, 0 2010-11-28 09:32 /dev/ttyUSB0
crw-rw---- 1 root root 188, 1 2010-11-28 09:32 /dev/ttyUSB1
crw-rw---- 1 root root 188, 2 2010-11-28 09:32 /dev/ttyUSB2
crw-rw---- 1 root root 188, 3 2010-11-28 09:32 /dev/ttyUSB3
crw-rw---- 1 root root 188, 4 2010-11-28 09:32 /dev/ttyUSB4
#

Only one USB port is in use, and I don't know what the other ttyUSB*s refer to.

But most common is where the modem "is not detected" in which case I find:
Code:

# lsusb
Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001
Bus 001 Device 002: ID 19d2:1010
# ls -l /dev/ttyUSB*
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 11 2010-11-14 10:40 /dev/ttyUSB0 -> usb/ttyUSB0
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 11 2010-11-14 10:40 /dev/ttyUSB1 -> usb/ttyUSB1
# # unplug modem and immediately plug back in
# # wait 20 secs
# ls -l /dev/ttyUSB*
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 11 2010-11-14 10:40 /dev/ttyUSB0 -> usb/ttyUSB0
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 11 2010-11-14 10:40 /dev/ttyUSB1 -> usb/ttyUSB1


In this case, using the Internet Connection Wizard, WVdial gives:
Code:

Scanning your serial ports for a modem.

Port Scan<*1>: Scanning ttyUSB3 first, /dev/modem is a link to it.
ttyUSB3<Info>: No such device or address
Port Scan<*1>: USB3
ttyS0<*1>: ATQ0 V1 E1 -- failed with 2400 baud, next try: 4800 baud
ttyS0<*1>: ATQ0 V1 E1 -- failed with 4800 baud, next try: 9600 baud
ttyS0<*1>: ATQ0 V1 E1 -- failed with 9600 baud, next try: 19200 baud
ttyS0<*1>: ATQ0 V1 E1 -- failed with 19200 baud, next try: 115200 baud
ttyS0<*1>: ATQ0 V1 E1 -- and failed too at 115200, giving up.
ttyS1<*1>: ATQ0 V1 E1 -- failed with 2400 baud, next try: 4800 baud
ttyS1<*1>: ATQ0 V1 E1 -- failed with 4800 baud, next try: 9600 baud
ttyS1<*1>: ATQ0 V1 E1 -- failed with 9600 baud, next try: 19200 baud
ttyS1<*1>: ATQ0 V1 E1 -- failed with 19200 baud, next try: 115200 baud
ttyS1<*1>: ATQ0 V1 E1 -- and failed too at 115200, giving up.
Port Scan<*1>: S2   S3   
ttyS4<Info>: No such device or address
Port Scan<*1>: S4   ACM0 ACM1
ttyUSB0<Info>: No such device or address
Port Scan<*1>: USB0
ttyUSB1<Info>: No such device or address
Port Scan<*1>: USB1
ttyUSB2<Info>: No such device or address
Port Scan<*1>: USB2
ttyUSB4<Info>: No such device or address
Port Scan<*1>: USB4

Sorry, no modem was detected!  Is it in use by another program?
Did you configure it properly with setserial?


If there is a .pet I can run that may help with diagnosing, please point it out. I've done nothing with setserial, though have asked previously whether it's expected that I should.

PIII, 560 MHz, 650 MB.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Shep

Joined: 08 Nov 2008
Posts: 880
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Sat 27 Nov 2010, 23:07    Post subject:  

Deja vue all over again. Laughing Cool Confused

Twice while composing my last post I accidently hit the Insert key and Seamonkey disappeared off the screen and task bar. Mad

Went to MENU and selected Seamonkey. Clicked on Restore, and all TABS opened up, including the text I was typing in the compose window. At least this is an improvement over Seamonkey's old behavior of losing everything. Shocked Shocked

Is this Insert key behavior a carefully preserved feature or a bug Question Question Question
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 5498
Location: GB

PostPosted: Sun 28 Nov 2010, 03:02    Post subject:  

Quote:
At least this is an improvement over Seamonkey's old behavior of losing everything.

Oh no it isn't! (It's the Panto season..)
Loosing all your carefully constructed windows and tabs is a feature of the Mozilla camp.
Opera 11beta (can it really be better than the alpha?) was announced recently. Load it up and forget your woes.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
DaveS


Joined: 09 Oct 2008
Posts: 3726
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun 28 Nov 2010, 03:14    Post subject:  

Sage wrote:

Opera 11beta Load it up and forget your woes.


Well, except for the poor rendering, oh, and the poor Flash performance, oh, and the awkward font control, oh, and no Flashblock. At that point, I went back to Firefox Smile

_________________
Spup Frugal HD and USB
Root forever!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 5498
Location: GB

PostPosted: Sun 28 Nov 2010, 06:02    Post subject:  

Funny? Must be a local or HW issue - I don't have problems with any of those items on your list. Fast is good, reliable is good, stable is good when they relate to browsing. Mozzie doesn't offer any of those.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 9068
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sun 28 Nov 2010, 19:33    Post subject:  

Shep wrote:
In Wary098 with no added .pets, ZTE 3571-Z modem detection is not reliable. Whether booting with a savefile, or using pfix=ram, usually no modem is detected. (Though when modem is successfully detected, it installs readily and works flawlessly until system is shutdown.)

Maybe it is a puppy operating system problem, rather than a problem with modem software pe se.

In brief: no USB system storage icon appears on the pinboard, not even fleetingly, whether booting with modem plugged in, or hot plugging it. Should icon appear briefly at any stage?

lsusb works as expected, and shows new device when plugged in. But problem is that usually /dev/ttyUSB3 fails to get created, and until the modem is available as /dev/ttyUSB3 it's not accessible and so can not be installed.

As I create this post, the 3G modem is working brilliantly, and I see:
Code:
# lsusb
Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001
Bus 001 Device 003: ID 19d2:1010
# ls -l /dev/ttyUSB*
crw-rw---- 1 root root 188, 0 2010-11-28 09:32 /dev/ttyUSB0
crw-rw---- 1 root root 188, 1 2010-11-28 09:32 /dev/ttyUSB1
crw-rw---- 1 root root 188, 2 2010-11-28 09:32 /dev/ttyUSB2
crw-rw---- 1 root root 188, 3 2010-11-28 09:32 /dev/ttyUSB3
crw-rw---- 1 root root 188, 4 2010-11-28 09:32 /dev/ttyUSB4
#

Only one USB port is in use, and I don't know what the other ttyUSB*s refer to.

But most common is where the modem "is not detected" in which case I find:
Code:

# lsusb
Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001
Bus 001 Device 002: ID 19d2:1010
# ls -l /dev/ttyUSB*
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 11 2010-11-14 10:40 /dev/ttyUSB0 -> usb/ttyUSB0
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 11 2010-11-14 10:40 /dev/ttyUSB1 -> usb/ttyUSB1
# # unplug modem and immediately plug back in
# # wait 20 secs
# ls -l /dev/ttyUSB*
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 11 2010-11-14 10:40 /dev/ttyUSB0 -> usb/ttyUSB0
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 11 2010-11-14 10:40 /dev/ttyUSB1 -> usb/ttyUSB1


In this case, using the Internet Connection Wizard, WVdial gives:
Code:

Scanning your serial ports for a modem.

Port Scan<*1>: Scanning ttyUSB3 first, /dev/modem is a link to it.
ttyUSB3<Info>: No such device or address
Port Scan<*1>: USB3
ttyS0<*1>: ATQ0 V1 E1 -- failed with 2400 baud, next try: 4800 baud
ttyS0<*1>: ATQ0 V1 E1 -- failed with 4800 baud, next try: 9600 baud
ttyS0<*1>: ATQ0 V1 E1 -- failed with 9600 baud, next try: 19200 baud
ttyS0<*1>: ATQ0 V1 E1 -- failed with 19200 baud, next try: 115200 baud
ttyS0<*1>: ATQ0 V1 E1 -- and failed too at 115200, giving up.
ttyS1<*1>: ATQ0 V1 E1 -- failed with 2400 baud, next try: 4800 baud
ttyS1<*1>: ATQ0 V1 E1 -- failed with 4800 baud, next try: 9600 baud
ttyS1<*1>: ATQ0 V1 E1 -- failed with 9600 baud, next try: 19200 baud
ttyS1<*1>: ATQ0 V1 E1 -- failed with 19200 baud, next try: 115200 baud
ttyS1<*1>: ATQ0 V1 E1 -- and failed too at 115200, giving up.
Port Scan<*1>: S2   S3   
ttyS4<Info>: No such device or address
Port Scan<*1>: S4   ACM0 ACM1
ttyUSB0<Info>: No such device or address
Port Scan<*1>: USB0
ttyUSB1<Info>: No such device or address
Port Scan<*1>: USB1
ttyUSB2<Info>: No such device or address
Port Scan<*1>: USB2
ttyUSB4<Info>: No such device or address
Port Scan<*1>: USB4

Sorry, no modem was detected!  Is it in use by another program?
Did you configure it properly with setserial?


If there is a .pet I can run that may help with diagnosing, please point it out. I've done nothing with setserial, though have asked previously whether it's expected that I should.

PIII, 560 MHz, 650 MB.

Shep,
Try Quirky 1.4, I had it working with the same modem.

Try it both ways, plugged in at bootup, and hot-plug, see if you get any difference.

In PupDial, for me it detected ttyUSB1 (or was that 0?). There is a "ttyUSB3" button, click that and then it will work.

Quirky 1.4 announcement:
http://bkhome.org/blog/?viewDetailed=01997

There is something else that you can try if you want, while running Wary 098. Install my 'zzz' package (which is really the only difference between Wary 098 and Quirky 1.4):

http://distro.ibiblio.org/pub/linux/distributions/quirky/pet_packages-quirky/zzz_scripts_simple_bk-201011.pet

...reboot, then plugin your modem.
...oh, yeah, if you have been playing with PupDial, might be a good idea to initialise it, click the CHOOSE button then the Erase button, before the reboot.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Shep

Joined: 08 Nov 2008
Posts: 880
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Mon 29 Nov 2010, 02:43    Post subject:  

BarryK wrote:
There is something else that you can try if you want, while running Wary 098. Install my 'zzz' package (which is really the only difference between Wary 098 and Quirky 1.4):

http://distro.ibiblio.org/pub/linux/distributions/quirky/pet_packages-quirky/zzz_scripts_simple_bk-201011.pet

I'm back on dial-up today, as the wireless modem, having given 15 hours of stirling service yesterday, insists on having a day off today, despite my 45 mins of relentless prodding. Sad
So for now I'll chose the 12 sec download of your .pet over the 8 hour download of quirky. Will see how it goes.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Shep

Joined: 08 Nov 2008
Posts: 880
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Mon 29 Nov 2010, 03:05    Post subject:  

I keep the lynx2-8-7-i486.pet on my HD so I can quickly install lynx in whatever puppy I'm trialling to allow me to read a couple of low traffic usenet groups. Its performance in reading a newsgroup on wary098 was lamentable.

In using lynx to read text newsgroups it's expected that when you hit enter then the highlighted message will download and display, but (with Wary098 + USB modem combo) this is true only about 33% of the time. In the other 67% of cases the modem light will change to lightblue and I'll wait expectantly, but there's no change in the screen, it stays at the list of message subjects and the expected message does not appear.

Half the time I can get the message to display by hitting refresh ^R and waiting a bit longer. But in a few cases I have to move to another subject and read it, then go back to the one I originally wanted and try again to get it to work.

I've never experienced anything like this on any puppy using dial-up. (I haven't tried dial-up with Wary; I'm trying to avoid mixing dial-up modem and wireless modem.)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Shep

Joined: 08 Nov 2008
Posts: 880
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Tue 30 Nov 2010, 07:49    Post subject:  

BarryK wrote:
There is something else that you can try if you want, while running Wary 098. Install my 'zzz' package (which is really the only difference between Wary 098 and Quirky 1.4):

http://distro.ibiblio.org/pub/linux/distributions/quirky/pet_packages-quirky/zzz_scripts_simple_bk-201011.pet

...reboot, then plugin your modem.

Installed your pet and have now booted 3 times in total; each time the modem detection and operation succeeded. Smile It is clear that the modem must be plugged in each time after puppy is up and running, as you instruct.
Code:
--> WvDial: Internet dialer version 1.53
--> Initializing modem.
--> Sending: ATZ
ATZ
OK
--> Sending: ATS0=0&C1&D2S11=55
ATS0=0&C1&D2S11=55
OK
--> Modem initialized.
--> Sending: ATX1DT*99***1#
--> Waiting for carrier.
ATX1DT*99***1#
CONNECT 3600000
--> Carrier detected.  Waiting for prompt.
--> Don't know what to do!  Starting pppd and hoping for the best.
--> Starting pppd at Tue Nov 30 20:39:31 2010
--> pid of pppd: 7480

Is this as expected?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 5370
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Tue 30 Nov 2010, 14:16    Post subject: new version of mtpaint 3.34.59  

I compiled a new version of mtpaint 3.34.59 in Lighthouse 4.43
and have been testing for a few hours

http://www.datafilehost.com/download-32618fdc.html

compiled with
Code:
./configure --bindir=/usr/bin  release intl


It now has ability to open damaged files and
another feature is pressing key E shows a palette of colors.

It works in Wary 098 as well.

_______________________________________---
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 4047
Location: Worcestershire, UK

PostPosted: Wed 01 Dec 2010, 07:43    Post subject: pcmcia problems  

I have an old Thinkpad 600E laptop which does not have built in wifi but does have a pcmcia slot for which I have purchased a Netgear card.

This combination worked well for me using Puppy 4.3.1

However although the latest puppies including wary098 boot up OK there does seem to be a problem with pcmcia support - which has also been reported by others.

A solution proposed has been to uncomment the line in /etc/init.d/rc.pcmcia to cause pcmcia-socket-startup to work.

This does indeed seem to kick the pcmcia sockets into action and works OK with some pcmcia cards but in the case of my Netgear MA401 if this is plugged in wary098 crashes dead shortly afterwards.

As wary is targetted as the puppy of choice for older systems it would be nice to get the pcmcia sub-system working again as it did in puppy431.

Thanks
Peter
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 13 of 15 [211 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 11, 12, 13, 14, 15 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0935s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0126s) ][ GZIP on ]