Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 17 Nov 2019, 00:51
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Wary 0.9.8 (098) feedback
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 3 of 15 [211 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, ..., 13, 14, 15 Next
Author Message
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 8730
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sun 14 Nov 2010, 07:08    Post subject:  

Sage wrote:
Following advice (01micko?) re. Opera, d/l Debian-Other from their website, petget offered to open/install - it worked, except closing message tells look under "Utility" - it was correctly listed under "Internet", but the Big Red 'O' was superimposed over 'Pup-Advert-Blocker' and Opera was listed higher up in the sub-menu without its icon.
Some tweaking needed.


Sage, the lupu pet works, though there is still a weird issue with the 'Pup advert blocker' icon... strange.

http://mirror.aarnet.edu.au/pub/puppylinux/pet-packages-lucid/Opera-10.63-Lucid.pet (you may need to right click and 'save as', sometimes these mirrors do this, including ibiblio Rolling Eyes )

It will work, you will find the same on ibiblio and other mirrors.

Quote:
(01micko?)
'tweren't I! I swear! Biilltoo? Let's blame him! Or Bugman!

If you want it as your default browser then run this code:
Code:
echo '#!/bin/sh' >  /usr/local/bin/defaultbrowser

then
Code:
echo 'exec opera "$@"' >> /usr/local/bin/defaultbrowser


I take no responsibility.

Cheers

_________________
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 5498
Location: GB

PostPosted: Sun 14 Nov 2010, 07:22    Post subject:  

Sorry about that, m - must've been Bill - he's been helping me a lot, too. It's no big deal that the 'O' is misplaced because the entire edifice works well. I found the Opera11alpha page, (strangely with Opera11 in Google!) so will give that a spin ASAP. What with Mint10 and a bunch of releases, I may run out of testing machines - three cheers for KVM.
Thanks for the .pet advice, though. And those CLI instructions are exactly what this guy needs. Struggling to get Eudora to sign up from Menu & desktop icon on Mint despite following the statement entries on the Eudora website - poor man's solution: find exe file location, cd, click it! Seemed to function a little better in Wary, fortunately, with the custom-made .pet! Thanks, fellas. How's the cricket shaping up in S. Oz?!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
drblock2

Joined: 19 Jan 2009
Posts: 153

PostPosted: Sun 14 Nov 2010, 07:28    Post subject: Geany bug  

Upgrade from Wary 0.9.6 with delta files succeeded. I was able to update my old pup-save file and everything worked out of the box on my old home brew desktop:

nVidia NV34 [GeForce FX 5200] (no special nVidia driver installed).
ESS Technology ES1969 Solo-1 Audiodrive.
ASUS A7N8X ACPI BIOS Rev 1022 Beta 005 T1 Mother board

Nicoedit now opens non-utf-8 files as reported in Barry's blog, but some additional code page support would be appreciated. Some day, everything will be in utf-8, but we will still have gazillions of "legacy" documents to deal with.

The geany bug, error message "value too large for defined data type" when trying to open files on remote drives connected via smb/cifs is still present. Geany opened remote files in Wary 090, but I observed the problem again in Wary096.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 3680
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Sun 14 Nov 2010, 08:54    Post subject: Re: Wary 0.9.8 (098) feedback  

BarryK wrote:


Billtoo,
Did you use the Video Upgrade Wizard to install the ATI PET? If so, it runs 'aticonfig --initial' after it installs, so you shouldn't have had to do that.


I didn't use the upgrade wizard the first time so:

I booted the live cd with pfix=ram
Clicked on the video upgrade wizard and it downloaded the ati pet.
Rebooted and created the save file.
When it got back to the desktop a popup said to exit to the prompt and
type xwin, I did that and the popup appeared again so I ignored it and
clicked on the Nexuiz directory on the hd and started Nexuiz,it works Smile

So the last popup advising to exit to the prompt keeps coming up even
after you've installed the pet and followed the instructions.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Karl Godt


Joined: 20 Jun 2010
Posts: 4208
Location: Kiel,Germany

PostPosted: Sun 14 Nov 2010, 10:22    Post subject:  

upgrading from 094 to 098 via .deltas : OK
liveCD : Boot OK , detected an older warysave 070 on sdb1 HD which I didn't had chosen . Booting to Ram the driveicon sdb1 had its mount ball and didn't want to unmount . Unmounting via ROX /initrd/mnt/dev_save worked !

The Puppy universal installer installed wary-098 flawlessly into its own folder on sdc7 luci-218 full install .

First time I had been using grub4dos : Impression had been very good !
Some smaller demands from my side ( I think shinobar would be the right person to address ) :
Grub4dos didn't offer to which partition the menu.lst and glrdr files should go to, the 10 full installs didn't got a "root (hdx,y)" but a "UUID CDROM" entry and it took me some tries to recognize that grub4dos is treating its MBR-drive as 'hd0' even if it is 'sdc (hd2)' .

I would suggest to add a line to /etc/rc.d/rc.shutdown :
line 907 : If you haven't already installed Puppy via the universal installer :

I also recocnized the missing `break` between the last two `done` at /sbin/pup_event_frontend_d which I seldom need to recover an accidentially clicked away drive icon.

The frugal install booted fine !
Nothing bad to report until now !
Well done !
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2674
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Sun 14 Nov 2010, 10:43    Post subject: Grub4dos  

Karl Godt wrote:
First time I had been using grub4dos : Impression had been very good !
Some smaller demands from my side ( I think shinobar would be the right person to address ) :
Grub4dos didn't offer to which partition the menu.lst and glrdr files should go to, the 10 full installs didn't got a "root (hdx,y)" but a "UUID CDROM" entry and it took me some tries to recognize that grub4dos is treating its MBR-drive as 'hd0' even if it is 'sdc (hd2)' .

Thanks for testing, Karl Godt.
But i am afraid i cannot follow the problem you are listing up on the UUID.
Shall we talk at another topic?
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=51697

_________________
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
JonT

Joined: 06 Dec 2009
Posts: 62
Location: northeast Tennessee, USA

PostPosted: Sun 14 Nov 2010, 11:26    Post subject:  

Fresh (each time) frugal install on Inspiron 1100 (2004 bios) works fine with i810 driver. flsynclient works and easy wireless connect (D-Link card with Atheros AR2414 chip, ath5k driver - had problems in wary 094, not 096). Sound and videos play fine.

Video upgrade wizard recommended mesa-6.5.2-w5;installed it. The OpenGL portion of hardinfo/Display gives:
Code:
Vendor   Unknown
Renderer   Unknown
Version   Unknown
Direct Rendering   No


Adding mesa-demos-7.6-w5 plus the dependency freeglut-2006-02-08-w5 (ignoring the xorg_base dependency which crashes X much like Shinobar's experience) gives
Code:
Vendor   Tungsten Graphics, Inc
Renderer   Mesa DRI Intel(R) 845G 20061017 x86/MMX/SSE2
Version   1.3 Mesa 6.5.2
Direct Rendering   Yes


glxgears gives about 1800 frames per 5 sec, probably the highest I have seen on this laptop.

Ummm ... After a crash, I downloaded the mesa, etc. PETs directly for faster reinstall and now notice that mesa-demos and freeglut have disappeared from ibiblio ... surely the file privileges would have kept me from doing a move instead of a copy??? ... surely ...

Pnethood most often crashes my router, but that's nothing new. No further problems with apps noted. Retrovol is fine.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
DaveS


Joined: 09 Oct 2008
Posts: 3726
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun 14 Nov 2010, 11:52    Post subject:  

Firefox4_beta7.sfs with dbus included http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=467154#467154
_________________
Spup Frugal HD and USB
Root forever!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 3680
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Sun 14 Nov 2010, 11:53    Post subject: Wary 0.9.8 (098) feedback
Subject description: nvidia
 

I'm running 098 on a 4gb ext4 formatted flash drive which has the
wary_devx_098.sfs and kernel_src-2.6.31.14-patched.sfs on it.
I installed 098 to this drive with the universal installer after
booting the live cd and used grub4dos to install the boot loader to
the flash drive.
On first boot I just rebooted and saved to the entire partition.
On the next boot I'm prompted to load the sfs files which I do.
I start seamonkey and go to the nvidia web site to get the driver for
my graphics card. http://www.nvidia.com/Download/index.aspx?lang=en-us
I download NVIDIA-Linux-x86-260.19.21.run and reboot the computer.

Back at the desktop I exit to the prompt and go to the my-documents
directory and do "sh NVIDIA-Linux-x86-260.19.21.run" when it is
finished I let it change my xorg.conf file.
I enter "xwin" to get back to the desktop.
# report-video
VIDEO REPORT: Wary Puppy, version 098

Chip description:
oem: NVIDIA
product: G84 Board - p402h00 Chip Rev

Driver used by Xorg:


Video mode used by Xorg:
Resolution: Depth 24 Depth: "Display"

...the above also recorded in /tmp/report-video
#
Accelerated graphics is working now.My card is an Nvidia Geforce 8600
GT.

Earlier today I tried the video upgrade wizard and downloaded the pet
that it recommended but it didn't work so I started over with a new
flash drive install, this one.

I think this NVIDIA-Linux-x86-260.19.21.run driver just came out in
the past few days, I had used the NVIDIA-Linux-x86-260.19.12.run
driver in earlier versions of Wary.

Anyhow, it's working good for me Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pakt


Joined: 04 Jun 2005
Posts: 1156
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Sun 14 Nov 2010, 12:34    Post subject: Re: NVIDIA driver 265 failed  

shinobar wrote:

Tried on my PC with NVIDIA Geforce 8800GTX.
First boot, nv or vesa i am not sure, got 1200x1048x24.
Installed nvidia-265 driver from the Video Upgrade Wizard.
Down to console, xorgwizard, chose nvidia, select 1200x1048x24, test.
After 'Test now', the PC freezes with black screen.

Got same symptom with nvidia-256 driver while upgrading on PC with “GeForce 8200M G” graphics. 01micko's nvidia-256 pet worked fine.

While testing the nVidia pc, I noticed Seamonkey wouldn't start. Running either 'seamonkey' or 'defaultbrowser' in a terminal produced:
Code:
# seamonkey
/usr/lib/seamonkey-2.0.7/run-mozilla.sh: line 131: 18396 Bus error               "$prog" ${1+"$@"}
#

I had no problem running Seamonkey on the Intel machine.

I get above error both before and after installing the nVidia driver, so that shouldn't have anything to do with it. (Firefox installed with PPM runs fine but Seamonkey problem remains.)

BTW, upgrading the Intel driver worked fine, once I had fixed the 'fontmap' problem.

_________________
Methinks Raspberry Pi were ideal for runnin' Puppy Linux
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11775
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Sun 14 Nov 2010, 12:43    Post subject:  

Fresh frugal install (Lin'N'Win)
I downloaded the pidgin 2.7.5 pet from the wary package library and transformed it to a sfs.
Pidgin is working now, but the pidgin icon doesn't display in the system tray. Instead I have a kinda document icon with a small red cross.

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch

Last edited by Béèm on Sun 14 Nov 2010, 13:52; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Karl Godt


Joined: 20 Jun 2010
Posts: 4208
Location: Kiel,Germany

PostPosted: Sun 14 Nov 2010, 13:38    Post subject:  

OK : One pup_event_frontend_d has to run in the background for hotplugging events like inserting an USB drive.

Thanks to zigbert :
/sbin/pup_event_frontend_d :
line 90+ :
Code:
#parameters
VERSIONP1="`cat /etc/DISTRO_SPECS | grep DISTRO_NAME | cut -f 2 -d \'`"
VERSIONP2="`cat /etc/DISTRO_SPECS | grep DISTRO_VERSION | cut -f 2 -d "="`"
while [ $# != 0 ]; do
   I=1
   while [ $I -lt `echo $# | wc -c` ]; do
      case $1 in
         -r|--recover-drive-icon) RECOVERDRIVEICON=1;;
         -v|--version) echo pup_event_frontend_d $VERSIONP1" "$VERSIONP2; exit;;
         -h|--help)
echo 'Usage: pup_event_frontend_d [-OPTION]

Options
  -h          Show this message
  -v          Show pup_event_frontend_d version number
  -r          Recovering of driveicons only, no deamon mode'; exit;;
      esac
      shift
      I=$(($I+1))
   done
done

#v424 experiment, automatic unmounting...

line 804+ :
Code:
if test "`echo $RECOVERDRIVEICON`" == "1"; then
RECOVERDRIVEICON=0
break
fi
done #2 second loop.


###END###

/usr/sbin/eventmanager :
line 315+ :
#v403 /sbin/clean_desk_icons can read this, then wipe all current icons...
[ "$ICONPARTITIONS" != "$NEWICONPARTITIONS" ] && echo "ICONPARTITIONS" > /tmp/pup_event_icon_change_flag
[ "$ICONDESK" != "$NEWICONDESK" ] && echo "ICONDESK" > /tmp/pup_event_icon_change_flag
Code:
[ "$NEWICONWIPE" = "true" ] && echo "ICONWIPE" > /tmp/pup_event_icon_change_flag ; exec `pup_event_frontend_d -r` &#v411

/sbin/clean_desk_icons seems not to run properly : didn't recover the drive icon but added a second USB icon on the floppy icon.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 5498
Location: GB

PostPosted: Sun 14 Nov 2010, 13:55    Post subject:
Subject description: MORE BAD NEWS!
 

The good news was that 096 got me to orgwiz, but then couldn't find a compatible card/res/driver combo that worked. The bad, bad news is that 098 won't even boot beyond the 'switch' before Col. Panic shows his ugly mug.
For YT, even worse news is that the only PCI-E cards I possess are nV, which are incompatible with this ATI-based 939 board (MS7184/7093) so I have to use the onboard graphics, which was also intended to save some amps by avoiding those grisly all-singing-dancing video cards. Absolute bummer as I've built the case into my new lounge setup to drive the tele. Back to the drawing board for us all...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tronkel


Joined: 30 Sep 2005
Posts: 1122
Location: Vienna Austria

PostPosted: Sun 14 Nov 2010, 14:28    Post subject:  

@sage

Try booting from live CD using the kernel cheat code "puppy pfix=ram" and see if that will boot your system.

If it boots up successfully like this, then something has gone amiss inside your pupsave - assuming you have one. Sometimes upgrading a pupsave file to a bumped Puppy version can cause this.

_________________
Life is too short to spend it in front of a computer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 5498
Location: GB

PostPosted: Sun 14 Nov 2010, 14:39    Post subject:  

This is the liveCD, tronk - I always use pfix=ram in these situations. There is a swap partition available, but nothing installed that's relevant (a Slack-64bit on disk).
The good news is that Lupu boots up flawlessly with minimum intervention, on-board graphics, live-CD, nothing saved or installed (except Slack).
Sorry, chaps, this is a home-grown Wary feature. Guess The Boss will have some comments when he awakes tomorrow.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 3 of 15 [211 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, ..., 13, 14, 15 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.2232s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0744s) ][ GZIP on ]