Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 28 Nov 2014, 08:31
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Insidious Puppy 001
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 10 of 18 [270 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, ..., 16, 17, 18 Next
Author Message
Karl Godt


Joined: 20 Jun 2010
Posts: 3972
Location: Kiel,Germany

PostPosted: Wed 15 Dec 2010, 12:01    Post subject:  

Quote:
The second attempt with 2.6.35.9 failed too


Compiling a kernel isn't that easy !

I tried out of couriousity make allyesconfig and allmodconfig : 900 -1100 MB of drivers.
On the 1 GHz machine it took more than a half day !

Also to remember to get the aufs directory and the entries into the special makefiles ..!

Kernel 2.6.36 has got aufs already in the fs directory but it seems one has to go to the archive to find it at the moment.

I am not able to use the kernel because two of my HD exited ( I suspect too low temperatures)
One HD died while running make clean inside the linux-2.6.xx.xx directory. I was able to boot into another partition of that HD and fsck messed a little. While examinig lost+found the HD stopped again. Sometimes the Bios recocnizes the HD and sometimes not.

Grub sees the slave as (hd0) but the kernel as sdb while the master is (hd1) at grub and the kernel says sda Sad ( I thing it is because of the nearest joint )

I tried to boot into ram and was able to look inside and running grubinstall but while editing the menu.list at geany after one or two saves the disk had been 'ro' Sad

This made me investigating grubinstall and I found some bugs that affect the install to fd, especially to fd1 . Also floppy-format.sh had to be adjusted. Its because my Bios sees the only fd at a single-end joint as fd1. I am investigating at the moment if it is possible to install grub to a just fdformat formatted floppydisk ( which seems not to work atm ) or if I have to run mkdosfs on the floppy, too , to make it bootable.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Valinote

Joined: 13 Dec 2010
Posts: 93

PostPosted: Sun 19 Dec 2010, 19:06    Post subject: PUI Sanity Check Problem  

Hi, guys. I'm trying to do a full install of Insidious Puppy to a Compaq Presario V4000 laptop with an Intel Pentium M @ 1.7GHz and 500MB of RAM. I used GParted to format and partition the 100GB Toshiba ATA hard drive. I created 2 partitions: 99GB ext3 partition with the boot flag set; and a 1GB linux-swap file. I checked via GParted to make sure both partitions are unmounted. But when I run Puppy Universal Installer, I get an error message that says the following:

A partition sanity check before continuing:
cannot be unmounted!
currently mounted read-write.
does not have inpusave.3fs file in it.

It tells me that bottom line I need to unmount the partition before continuing, but I don't see any indication that it *is* mounted! Can someone please help me? Thanks in advance for any kind advice.

NOTE: I forgot to mention that standard Puppy Lucid 5.2 installs fine without any issues. In that case PUI detects and correctly reports the main partition as /dev/sda1.

-Steve D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Roy

Joined: 31 Dec 2008
Posts: 443

PostPosted: Sun 19 Dec 2010, 23:36    Post subject:  

Quote:
cannot be unmounted!


I've seen this a couple of times in the recent past and -- although I do not know the correct fix -- I have learned to "work around" this problem.

Open up Gparted and look at that partition... see the 'padlock' icon on the same line as that mounted drive? Select that drive's line entry and right click; this should bring a drop-down menu with 'unmount' as a selection. Left click on 'unmount' and you should see the padlock icon go away. Your partition is now unmounted.

-Roy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Shep

Joined: 08 Nov 2008
Posts: 851
Location: GIRT-BY-SEA

PostPosted: Mon 20 Dec 2010, 03:13    Post subject:  

On Tue 07 Dec 2010, Iguleder wrote:
Now I'm trying to build a new Insidious with a new 2.6.35.9 I'm compiling (a slimmer kernel, took hours to configure it). If it looks good I'll upload it, that will be 002.

It looks like Iguleder did not manage this ambitious feat, before leaving for military service.

Quote:
I'm not sure about the future of Insidious, since I go to the army in 6 days.

I fear that the implication of Iguleder's departure is that this Dpup line is destined to proceed no further. Is there any cause for optimism, or is this also how it appears to those who have assisted Iguleder in furthering its development from where gposil left off?

We wish you well, Iguleder. Call back whenever you get the chance. Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Valinote

Joined: 13 Dec 2010
Posts: 93

PostPosted: Mon 20 Dec 2010, 09:01    Post subject:  

Quote:
Left click on 'unmount' and you should see the padlock icon go away.


Roy, thanks for the comeback. I was careful not to save the session from the live CD, so there is no padlock on the kernel partition, and therefore nothing to unmount. I removed the padlock from the swap partition by selecting the "swapoff" command in gparted to move it to ram. So no padlocks in gparted that would indicate that either of the partitions are mounted. I'm stumped!

-Steve D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Roy

Joined: 31 Dec 2008
Posts: 443

PostPosted: Mon 20 Dec 2010, 14:26    Post subject:  

I am sorry, Valinote. Now I'm stumped, too.

Is the unmount option for that partition even available in Gparted or is 'unmount' grayed out for you?

-Roy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Valinote

Joined: 13 Dec 2010
Posts: 93

PostPosted: Mon 20 Dec 2010, 15:02    Post subject:  

If I remember correctly, a right-click shows "Unmount" available on the menu for the ext3 partition, while "Swapout" is the option for the linux-swap partition. There's no "padlock" on either partition though that would indicate either one is mounted. I've reformatted and repartitioned several times with similar negative results. I just can't seem to get by the installer thinking that something is still mounted. Is there any way to do a "manual" install of Insidious Puppy without using the PUI?

-Steve D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5465
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Mon 20 Dec 2010, 15:15    Post subject:  

Quote:
Does Insidous puppy have hal and dbus installed?


#hal
yes|hal|hal,hal-info|exe,dev,doc>null,nls>null|exe,dev,doc>null,nls>null
yes|libhal|libhal1,libhal-dev,libhal-storage1,libhal-storage-dev|exe,dev,doc>null,nls>null
#dbus
yes|dbus|dbus,dbus-x11|exe,dev,doc>null,nls>null|exe,dev,doc>null,nls>null
yes|libdbus|libdbus-1-3,libdbus-1-dev,libdbus-glib-1-2,libdbus-glib-1-dev|exe,dev,doc>null,nls>null
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Karl Godt


Joined: 20 Jun 2010
Posts: 3972
Location: Kiel,Germany

PostPosted: Mon 20 Dec 2010, 16:24    Post subject:  

I got 2.6.35.7 compiled to boot on one desktop machine but failed starting X. The only thing that had been fine was that the penguin logo was shown ....
I compiled 3x 2.6.34.7 from 3,3 to 11 Mb which booted to X and jwm but had no Sound except for `beep`. These 3 kernels wouldn't boot on the other machine : saying could not mount root fs on unknown block ( 2x 0,0 , 1x 2,0 ) .
I searched the net and finally applied barrys DOTconfig from wary040 on it and that worked !
Still I haven't found the Setting that makes it (not) seeing the HDs there.

I have many questions :
make menuconfig :
General setup > Local version append to kernel release
if I append "-i486" would it harm ?
Some scripts are using the `uname -r` command .
Enable loadable module support > Module versioning support
Barrys DOTconfig has this checked . Does it prevent kernels to load modules not compiled within the same charge ( I forgot f.ex. to check many multimedia and network drivers )
Processor type and features > Support for extended (non-PC) x86 platforms
make defconfig has this checked but Barrys DOTconfig not .
What are extended x86 platforms ?
> Disable Bootmem code
What is this ?
> Math emulation
The help says
Quote:
If you don't have a math coprocessor, you need to say Y here; if you |
| say Y here even though you have a coprocessor, the coprocessor will |
| be used nevertheless. (This behavior can be changed with the kernel |
| command line option "no387", which comes handy if your coprocessor |
| is broken. Try "man bootparam" or see the documentation of your boot |
| loader (lilo or loadlin) about how to pass options to the kernel at |
| boot time.) This means that it is a good idea to say Y here if you |
| intend to use this kernel on different machines.

Barrys DOTconfig : # CONFIG_MATH_EMULATION is not set

> Built-in kernel command line
> ()
Barry : CONFIG_CMDLINE="video=640x480"
how about adding "panic=SEC" for laptops that do not have a reset button ?
I am bootin my puppies with debug and panic params nowerdays ...

> Device Drivers > < > ATA/ATAPI/MFM/RLL support (DEPRECATED) --->
Barrys : unchecked
> <*> Serial ATA and Parallel ATA drivers --->
Barrys are all integrated and still the DOTconfBK-kernel became just 2204 Kb .... The two HD are Seagates and Seagate doesn't show in the list.
Which is the parameter that makes a kernel autodetect internal (U)DMA HDs ?
as far as I can see about differences are :
BK : Symbol: NEED_DMA_MAP_STATE [=n] ; mine =y
Symbol: PATA_OPTIDMA [=y] ; mine =m |
| Prompt: OPTI FireStar PATA support (Very Experimental)
> DMA Engine support --->
Barry : [ ] ; mine [*] > [ ] DMA Engine debugging, <M> Intel I/OAT DMA support, [*] Network: TCP receive copy offload, [*] Async_tx: Offload support for the async_tx api, <M> DMA Test client

File systems > [*] Miscellaneous filesystems --->
> <M> Aufs (Advanced multi layered unification filesystem) support
> [ ] NFS-exportable aufs
enabling this gave error and halt
> Maximum number of branches (127) --->
what does this mean ? They range from 127 to 32767 .
The aufs patches by Barry are `diff -urN` and `diff --git` ones . diff -rupN is working but the patches with something added to the last line had been rejected. I use "-uaNd" and recursively "-uraNd" with comparatively good success until today.

And I have to apologize : Kernel 2.6.36 still had no aufs inside.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5465
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Mon 20 Dec 2010, 16:33    Post subject:  

My DOTconfig for 2.6.35.7. Kernel is in my Snow Puppy 513RC now. Working quite ok.
It has smp, hyperthreading, rfkill, suspend to ram, hibernate to disk enabled and acpi debugging for powertop better statistics.

Dunno about your questions, barrys choices just worked for me, I just added those properties above.

Just remove .gz, it is plain text file.
DOTconfig_2_6_35_7.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  DOTconfig_2_6_35_7.gz 
Filesize  93.95 KB 
Downloaded  221 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Karl Godt


Joined: 20 Jun 2010
Posts: 3972
Location: Kiel,Germany

PostPosted: Mon 20 Dec 2010, 17:13    Post subject:  

Quote:
Is there any way to do a "manual" install of Insidious Puppy without using the PUI?

1. : I remastered a dpup005 and was running it in RAM and intalled it to 2 tiny partitions frugally and full using the `puppyinstaller`.
At the end of the turn I made a pupsave to the frugal installed partition and did choose no to copy the sfs to disk. But The script seems to have a bug and it copied it. Laughing
Your partition might have an inpu-001.sfs on it Rolling Eyes
You can also unmount it from the console
Code:
umount /dev/sda1 || umount -a

There seems to be a bug at pup_event_frontend_d that might call mut , partprobe , mount and other commands, one might be able to delete /dev/sda , /dev/sda1 files and running two pup_event_frontend_d might delete several drive icons on the desktop . I detected that while handling a lot with plugging in/out USB pens.
Otherwise it is just `cp -r / /mnt/sda1/` and `grubconfig` .
Your Bios might not like your HD because it is too large. Or the CYL/HDS/SEC are wrongly adjusted . Watch for the PSU also !
HTH
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
johnmd

Joined: 09 Mar 2008
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Mon 20 Dec 2010, 21:58    Post subject: hard drive install  

Hi Valinote
I found the same problem when trying to do a hd install of Insidious. Think there may be something wrong with the installer - but the good news is that there is a simple workaround to get a frugal install. Check out this bit of Barry K's website:

http://www.puppylinux.com/hard-puppy.htm

"Some people like to do a frugal install of Puppy manually, and this is quite simple also. You choose what partition, then copy the files 'vmlinuz', 'initrd.gz' and 'pup_xxx.sfs' (and maybe 'z*.sfs') from the CD to the partition. Normally you would place the files at '/' in the hard drive partition, but Puppy has support for installing into a subdirectory.
Note: if you do this from Windows, you may see the files on the CD are upper-case characters, so after copying them to the hard drive partition please rename them to lower-case letters -- see the "Warning to MS Windows users" box below."

So just fire up the live cd again, mount both the cd itself and the partition where you want to put your hd install and copy across the three/four files.

then add something like:

title Puppy Linux Insidious 001
rootnoverify (hd0,3)
kernel (hd0,3)/vmlinuz root=/dev/ram0 pmedia=atahd
initrd (hd0,3)/initrd.gz

[adapted to fit your disk partitions] to your /boot/grub/menu.lst file and you're ready to go [assuming you have grub legacy and not grub 2]

Hope it works for you,as it has for me.
Best wishes, John
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Tue 21 Dec 2010, 04:08    Post subject: Re: hard drive install  

johnmd wrote:


title Puppy Linux Insidious 001
rootnoverify (hd0,3)
kernel (hd0,3)/vmlinuz root=/dev/ram0 pmedia=atahd
initrd (hd0,3)/initrd.gz

[adapted to fit your disk partitions]
...
Best wishes, John


Hi John,

thanks indeed for telling us this.

I had to change (hd0,3) to (hd0,2) but other than that it just worked.

What does the root=/dev/ram0 do? ?

The only bad thing about that code is that if one have several luci or lupu in frugal mode then it ask you which pupsave file to load each time instead of just booting so should one not add a psubdir to the kernel line?

anyway. You showed how I could boot puppies that failed with another code but using your code they do boot so hope they stay that way.

Thanks indeed for telling us what works for you.
Hopefully it will boot forever on my Acer too.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
johnmd

Joined: 09 Mar 2008
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Tue 21 Dec 2010, 15:57    Post subject:  

Hi Nooby
If you want several puppies all on one partition - i think you just set up a separate folder for each and put each puppy's 3or4 files into this folder instead of in / as i did, and then just direct grub to that folder instead of to the / of the partition as a whole [which is what i did]. So lines 3 and 4 of grub would look more like this:

kernel (hd0,3)/puppy1/vmlinuz root=/dev/ram0 pmedia=atahd
initrd (hd0,3)/puppy1/initrd.gz

with your particular folder identifying names instead of <puppy1>

I think the root=/dev/ram0 just tells puppy where to mount its imaginary/virtual file system while it's running - maybe someone who really understands it can explain better, I hope so.

Best wishes, John
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Tue 21 Dec 2010, 17:07    Post subject:  

Thanks John,

I was wrong about Lupu-515, that one and Luci-246 fails to boot but several puppies that failed to boot before now boot when I added root=/dev/ram0

So it does something important but does not help with two of more known puppies.

I guess the reason that Insidious and Fluppy don't even need root=/dev/ram0 to boot is that they have more drivers that the Lupu and Luci puppies maybe don't have?

But I can be wrong.

You are right about the subdir when I added that one then it did not list all the others.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 10 of 18 [270 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, ..., 16, 17, 18 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1211s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0146s) ][ GZIP on ]