Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 01 Oct 2014, 23:09
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Wary Puppy 5.0-final feedback
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 2 of 21 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, ..., 19, 20, 21 Next
Author Message
DaveS


Joined: 09 Oct 2008
Posts: 3726
Location: UK

PostPosted: Wed 29 Dec 2010, 12:09    Post_subject:  

Terryphi wrote:
Haven't we totally converted you yet? Wink


99% Smile

_________________
Spup Frugal HD and USB
Root forever!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
DaveS


Joined: 09 Oct 2008
Posts: 3726
Location: UK

PostPosted: Wed 29 Dec 2010, 12:41    Post_subject:  

Barry, I dont know why this should be but Wary runs cooler on my system. I have been monitoring this over time, and Lucid runs at around 58 deg while Wary runs at around 50deg. Now, the actual numbers dont matter, but temperature HAS to be a measure of work being done right?
I have been checking it by booting clean, loading Opera, and leaving it open on Yahoo mail, which gives the system some load.
Fascinating.............
Others have reported fast boot times. Overall, Wary must be efficient. No other conclusion is realistic.....

_________________
Spup Frugal HD and USB
Root forever!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
tlchost

Joined: 05 Aug 2007
Posts: 1705
Location: Baltimore, Maryland USA

PostPosted: Wed 29 Dec 2010, 13:13    Post_subject: No Audio  

Wary doesn't detect my onboard sound chip....Quirky and older Puppies do...using the non-small iso.

Help would be appreciated.

Thom
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
taca0

Joined: 06 May 2009
Posts: 120

PostPosted: Wed 29 Dec 2010, 14:06    Post_subject:    

I still can not resolve the problem of the X crash when plays videos with xv driver. I only find that the problem is with the Libxv maybe sounds obvious but... some one could knows how to fix it??
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Flapdoodle

Joined: 03 Jul 2008
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Wed 29 Dec 2010, 14:21    Post_subject:  

Oh, very nice!
Mouse pad is smoother and responsive,
Ethernet is faster,
Runs cooler.

May have found a minor bug....
The lower right time thingy says GMT+7, but when I look at set timezone it says it is set correctly at GMT-7

It does not seem to cause any problems though.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Wed 29 Dec 2010, 14:51    Post_subject:  

Dave take up temperature. Wary5 on my Acer D250 show 27C which is incredibly low. Could not be trusted can it?

How else can one get the temp without installing some pet for it?

I went to system and hardware info. What can I coomand on CLI console?

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
DaveS


Joined: 09 Oct 2008
Posts: 3726
Location: UK

PostPosted: Wed 29 Dec 2010, 15:48    Post_subject:  

nooby wrote:
Dave take up temperature. Wary5 on my Acer D250 show 27C which is incredibly low. Could not be trusted can it?

How else can one get the temp without installing some pet for it?

I went to system and hardware info. What can I coomand on CLI console?


Dont know Nooby. I just use hardinfo like you....

_________________
Spup Frugal HD and USB
Root forever!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Wed 29 Dec 2010, 15:55    Post_subject:  

I am in another puppy now not sure which one. How does one know which puppy one are in? Wary tells with big chars but some of the otehrs don't reveal it at all.

I feel so lost. Smile But this one also says it is 27C and that is not likely true at all.

This is Acer D250 and a newly bought Acer D255 has 46 to 52C or something and this D250 stay on 27 all the time so could something be wrong with the sensor maybe?

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Flapdoodle

Joined: 03 Jul 2008
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Wed 29 Dec 2010, 16:05    Post_subject:  

nooby wrote:
How else can one get the temp without installing some pet for it?


When I said my machine was cooler, I go by feeling the air exiting the cooling fan. Since it has a variable speed fan, (3 speed I believe) I can get an idea by the sound, the feel of heat, and how much air is blowing.

We have cute things in chat such as OMG, It may sound corny, but I would like to submit TGFP (Thank God for Puppy)
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Wed 29 Dec 2010, 16:15    Post_subject:  

Flap, I am embarrassed. Sure that is a good way to find out. I have several such Digital Temp gadgets to use one only need to fix the probe with a tape or something on same distance each time to get a comparable reliable result.

I go by how often the Fan need to cool the CPU down that should indicate if it goes too high.

The D255 engage the Fan more often on same puppy so that means it is less good at keeping itself low temp.

One way to find out what puppy I am in is to go to Help and often teh Dev present what puppy it is there. I found that out today. by accident phew.

Edit. Tested Wary 5 and Fluppy same distance on both to the Digital probe and Wary fast got up to 30C while Fluppy very slowly has reached 30 after some 30 minutes. the room temperature is 23C so Fluppy and Wary runs cool on this acer D250

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
neurino


Joined: 15 Oct 2009
Posts: 360

PostPosted: Wed 29 Dec 2010, 17:29    Post_subject:  

Which are changes from Wary 104 (RC)?

Except SM and it's scrolling issues, that don't bother me: I switched instantly to Chrome since javascript engine in SM is extreeemely slow (try to write a mail in Gmail and use the link dialog...) but I guess it's just the js engine, not a Wary problem.

Is it worth the update?

Great work anyway!

edit: I tried skiboardsonline forum link in SeaMonkey 2.0.11 but I have no problems scrolling, it's a bit slow in refreshing but it's almost common with that browser, in my opinion.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
DaveS


Joined: 09 Oct 2008
Posts: 3726
Location: UK

PostPosted: Wed 29 Dec 2010, 17:45    Post_subject:  

neurino wrote:

edit: I tried skiboardsonline forum link in SeaMonkey 2.0.11 but I have no problems scrolling, it's a bit slow in refreshing but it's almost common with that browser, in my opinion.


True enough, it was just way better in earlier versions is all.....

_________________
Spup Frugal HD and USB
Root forever!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Wed 29 Dec 2010, 18:44    Post_subject:  

DaveS wrote:
LOL.. skiboardsonline.com still scrolls awful.
Everything else looks great so far.
Rolling Eyes Lighthouse 500G and SeaMonkey 2.0.11 no problems.
_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Wed 29 Dec 2010, 23:54    Post_subject:  

Terryphi wrote:
I tested a new frugal install and an upgrade of a frugal install. Everything I have tested so far has worked as expected. Great work Barry!

One small point though. In the Blog you said "the first-boot dialog window that offers you a choice of locale now defaults to UTF8 on". It did not for me - at least I don't think it did and I have plenty of RAM. I did not check locale at the terminal so cannot be completely sure. Certainly, when I went to "Desktop -> Chooselocale country localisation" UTF-8 was not on. This could have been misreporting by the selection dialog. However, when I selected UTF-8 it was saved and worked as expected .


That decision was reverted, also reported in my blog. UTF-8 still has some issues.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Wed 29 Dec 2010, 23:57    Post_subject:  

Flapdoodle wrote:
May have found a minor bug....
The lower right time thingy says GMT+7, but when I look at set timezone it says it is set correctly at GMT-7

It does not seem to cause any problems though.


That is not a bug. There is a *very* long history of discussing this on the forum.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 21 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, ..., 19, 20, 21 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0883s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0097s) ][ GZIP on ]