Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 21 Dec 2014, 07:36
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Wary Puppy 5.0-final feedback
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 11 of 21 [308 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, ..., 19, 20, 21 Next
Author Message
technosaurus


Joined: 18 May 2008
Posts: 4424

PostPosted: Mon 10 Jan 2011, 14:15    Post subject:  

I never could figure out why opening urls broke in some programs after gtk-2.14 (as upstream devs moved away from the deprecated code)

gtk+-2.23.90 release indicated this:
622125 Note that gtk_show_uri needs gvfs to spawn URLs
(we don't have gvfs)

which means I now know what to look for in abiword, ayttm etc.. to patch them (any others that you can think of where external URLs don't open?)

or would it just be better in the long run to add gvfs, its not really gnome dependent - just a gio module IIRC?

Edit: on second thought, how does it make sense to require gvfs for this? maybe it would be better to patch gtk using getenv("DEFAULTBROWSER") and fork() exec() {apparently system() is not secure?}

_________________
Web Programming - Pet Packaging 100 & 101
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10847
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Mon 10 Jan 2011, 19:21    Post subject:  

technosaurus wrote:
I never could figure out why opening urls broke in some programs after gtk-2.14 (as upstream devs moved away from the deprecated code)

gtk+-2.23.90 release indicated this:
622125 Note that gtk_show_uri needs gvfs to spawn URLs
(we don't have gvfs)

which means I now know what to look for in abiword, ayttm etc.. to patch them (any others that you can think of where external URLs don't open?)

or would it just be better in the long run to add gvfs, its not really gnome dependent - just a gio module IIRC?

Edit: on second thought, how does it make sense to require gvfs for this? maybe it would be better to patch gtk using getenv("DEFAULTBROWSER") and fork() exec() {apparently system() is not secure?}


Hi technosaurus usually they are looking for either ghelp or yelp, one of these days we\ll going to need two scripts called ghelp and yelp and able to convert the string value for default browsers, since yelp is just a mozilla based browser with a small gui over it.
If you have the Gnumeric sources laying around open as text
/root/gnumeric-1.10.12/src/wbc-gtk-actions.c
then do a text search in Geany for ghelp
then change the 2 lines to
argv[0] = (char *)"defaultbrowser";
argv[1] = (char *)"http://projects.gnome.org/gnumeric/doc/gnumeric.shtml";
save it and compile it
now it will open to the online docs in any puppy version
ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
dogle

Joined: 11 Oct 2007
Posts: 359

PostPosted: Mon 10 Jan 2011, 19:26    Post subject:
Subject description: Adblock
 

Despite Wary's great virtues, the unexpected absence of Adblock is a showstopper for me.

I've found Adblock so useful this past year, so I'm back to 4.3.1 now. Even sc0ttman's esteemed blacklisting PET. though perhaps a most valuable complement, is no substitute (and neither that nor Adblock are in the official PPM repository).

Sure, I can download Adblock2 (though the former Adblock floated my boat very nicely), but so for that matter could I download Seamonkey (a la Lupu) or most any net-specific stuff.

So I wonder why Seamonkey is in, yet Adblock out? Space saving? (how much bigger is Seamonkey2? .... and that's a barrel of worms for another thread!).

I see that usr/local/lib/X11/mini-icons/adblock.xpm is still lurking in there, so was the omission an oversight?


I am very impressed by Barry's built-in-installation-help-on-first-shutown, which seems to address the second-biggest-problem reported by our collective newbies very nicely.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10847
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Mon 10 Jan 2011, 19:29    Post subject:  

updated tano same link and name, fixed the lib link
ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10847
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Mon 10 Jan 2011, 19:40    Post subject:
Subject description: Adblock
 

dogle wrote:
Despite Wary's great virtues, the unexpected absence of Adblock is a showstopper for me.

I've found Adblock so useful this past year, so I'm back to 4.3.1 now. Even sc0ttman's esteemed blacklisting PET. though perhaps a most valuable complement, is no substitute (and neither that nor Adblock are in the official PPM repository).

Sure, I can download Adblock2 (though the former Adblock floated my boat very nicely), but so for that matter could I download Seamonkey (a la Lupu) or most any net-specific stuff.

So I wonder why Seamonkey is in, yet Adblock out? Space saving? (how much bigger is Seamonkey2? .... and that's a barrel of worms for another thread!).

I see that usr/local/lib/X11/mini-icons/adblock.xpm is still lurking in there, so was the omission an oversight?


I am very impressed by Barry's built-in-installation-help-on-first-shutown, which seems to address the second-biggest-problem reported by our collective newbies very nicely.

hi dogle the thing is that extensions in Mozilla based products have two areas where where they can be install,
The first one is usr/lib/seamonkey/extensions/ this one works fine until you start up Seamonkey and it builds a user one for all your custom extensions, located in /root/.mozilla/seamonkey/343e4r34rr.default/extensions now this one is default and you no longer can add extentions to the previous one. since the newer one is default. But the second one has a different 343e4r34rr.default number/name on each pc so it would be impossible to make pets work for adding extentions. because its a different users id on each pc, not a direct location.
ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10847
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Mon 10 Jan 2011, 20:02    Post subject:  

If Barry made his Seamonkey/Firefox packages the way I do, then it could be possible.
But first you would have to backup your bookmarks and reinstall any extensions that you've installed.
Barry alters the default font size and other settings tailored for puppy in the root/Seamonkey/2323g232j etc I tailor the settings in /usr/lib/seamonkey/etc etc, That way if you add an extension to /ur/lib/seamonkey/extensions all you would have to do is delete root./.mozilla and restart seamonkey and all the tailored settings would be back in /root/mozilla/seamonkey once again. Where as if you delete root./.mozilla in any of Barry's default installs, you'll lose all the tailored settings that Barry made.
ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
technosaurus


Joined: 18 May 2008
Posts: 4424

PostPosted: Mon 10 Jan 2011, 21:09    Post subject:  

ttuuxxx wrote:
Hi technosaurus usually they are looking for either ghelp or yelp, one of these days we\ll going to need two scripts called ghelp and yelp and able to convert the string value for default browsers, since yelp is just a mozilla based browser with a small gui over it.
ttuuxxx

not _usually_ ... that is gnumeric specific, and others may be as well

this is what I am talking about:
(abiword:32138): WARNING **: Operation not supported

may have the same gtk_show_uri issues in recent versions of gimp, thunar, gitg, vitkeyboard, gparted, gedit, shotwell, exo, gnome-mplayer, midori, glade, GNU typing tutor, gobby, frogr, ... a really long list of apps use it now

the question is - do we compile gvfs and recompile gtk, or just patch gtk and recompile - I am game for either way (although PCManFM relies heavily on gvfs, so I lean that way)

this warning appears any time you attempt to do anything involving a url call with gtk_show_uri and possibly others (if you compile abiword in gtk+-2.12 then that whole code block gets skipped and uses an alternate _working_ method) ... but you will get this same warning any time an application tries to open a link using gtk_show_uri - it causes ayttm to lock up

https://bugs.launchpad.net/linuxdcpp/+bug/354148

part of the code is in glib's appinfo.c & it has some gvfs code elsewhere IIRC - so that may mean a whole recompile if it is fixed in glib or gvfs is added

found a possible fix using xdg-open: here
void show_uri(GtkWidget *widget, gpointer _uri)
{
/* Because gtk_show_uri is broken */
gchar *uri = g_shell_quote(_uri);
g_message("Showing %s", uri);
gchar *cmd = g_strdup_printf("xdg-open %s", uri);
g_spawn_command_line_async(cmd, NULL);
g_free(uri);
g_free(cmd);

//GError *err = NULL;
//if (!gtk_show_uri(NULL, uri, GDK_CURRENT_TIME, &err)) {
// g_warning("error showing `%s' %s", uri, err->message);
// g_error_free(err);
//}
}

I had written a small script to replace xdg-open before we started including it (for some app I forget which) based loosely on defaulthandler but more simplified

basically it did this:
file:// gets stripped and opened in rox
ftp:// and http:// opens in defaultbrowser
all else are rox $@ #uses rox's mime handling
(unresolved - links that don't have http:// and end in other than htm or html? ... possibly [ ! `rox $@` ] && defaultbrowser $@ ... can't remember exactly)

_________________
Web Programming - Pet Packaging 100 & 101
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Mon 10 Jan 2011, 21:34    Post subject:  

Rox has URI handling too - you just need to setup the symlinks in /root/Choices/URI


Code:
# ls -al /root/Choices/URI/
total 4
drwxr-xr-x  2 root root  110 2011-01-06 16:43 .
drwxr-xr-x 11 root root 4096 2010-06-14 18:34 ..
lrwxrwxrwx  1 root root   33 2011-01-10 16:40 cdda -> /usr/local/bin/defaultmediaplayer
lrwxrwxrwx  1 root root   33 2011-01-10 16:40 dvb -> /usr/local/bin/defaultmediaplayer
lrwxrwxrwx  1 root root   33 2011-01-10 16:40 dvd -> /usr/local/bin/defaultmediaplayer
lrwxrwxrwx  1 root root   29 2011-01-10 16:40 file -> /usr/local/bin/defaultbrowser
lrwxrwxrwx  1 root root   13 2011-01-10 16:40 ftp -> /usr/bin/gftp
lrwxrwxrwx  1 root root   29 2011-01-10 16:40 http -> /usr/local/bin/defaultbrowser
lrwxrwxrwx  1 root root   27 2011-01-10 16:40 mailto -> /usr/local/bin/defaultemail
lrwxrwxrwx  1 root root   33 2011-01-10 16:40 rtsp -> /usr/local/bin/defaultmediaplayer


xdg-open:

Code:
#!/bin/bash
case "$1" in 
        '') exit
                ;;
        *://*) exec rox -U "$1"
                ;;
        *@*.*) exec rox -U "mailto:${1}"
                ;;
        *) exec rox "$1"
                ;;
esac
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
technosaurus


Joined: 18 May 2008
Posts: 4424

PostPosted: Mon 10 Jan 2011, 22:45    Post subject:  

jemimah wrote:
xdg-open:
Code:
#!/bin/bash
case "$1" in 
        '') exit
                ;;
        *://*) exec rox -U "$1"
                ;;
        *@*.*) exec rox -U "mailto:${1}"
                ;;
        *) exec rox "$1"
                ;;
esac
That should work - but could it be trying to open mailto:mailto: in that part (I'm not sure of the mechanics)

should I patch gtk only to use xdg-open then and just comment the glib code or is it too late in the game and we need to patch all the individual apps

btw the actual xdg-open relies on gvfs now too

_________________
Web Programming - Pet Packaging 100 & 101
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Tue 11 Jan 2011, 10:11    Post subject:  

Nah, if you give it a URI it breaks out before it gets to that line. That bit is not required anyway - that's just so I can open an email address using Rover.

I think patching glib is the best solution. It needs the patch to look for mounted drives under /mnt rather than /media anyway.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7100
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Tue 11 Jan 2011, 20:12    Post subject: Re: PPM issue  

gcmartin wrote:
Running LIveDVD Wary 5. SM is steady and I'm not getting any issues with anything else thus far....except for 1. PPM.
Seems after installing a couple of packages, I get a PPM Windowbox with message as follows:
Code:
Puppy has searched for any missing
shared libraries of the packages
xorg_upgrade_intel-2.10.0-w5
No missing shared libraries

Puppy has examined all user-installed
packages and found these missing
babl gegl
what is the recommended course of action when I see this?
Thanks in advance


babl and gegl are dependencies of the gimp package. If you had installed gimp via PPM, normally the deps would also have got installed.

Solution, run PPM and install babl and gegl. Actually, babl is a dependency of gegl, so if you choose gegl in PPM then babl will also get installed.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7100
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Tue 11 Jan 2011, 20:49    Post subject:  

gerry wrote:
Just upgraded Wary 104 to 500. EDIT: Booted using Wary-500 cd, pressed "Enter" whenever prompted.

Somewhere in the process, I got a screen that said (more or less):

Either uninstall Puppy2 files, or install the following deps: Click "Install" icon when after Puppy is running and has internet access.

{long list}

Well I copied the list onto a piece of paper as instructed, and after reboot clicked on install, and started the package manager, but so far as I can see, it knows nothing about all these dependencies.

Questions:

What Puppy2 files? How would I delete them? Would I miss them if I did?

If I do need these deps, how do I find them?

Could it be the pets that I have installed? The "Check dependencies of installed packages" shows nothing missing.

gerry


The upgrading code in /etc/rc.d/rc.update has been changing.

There is no support for upgrading from any of the Wary betas or RC to the 5.0 final. Try it and you will get strange results.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7100
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Tue 11 Jan 2011, 20:58    Post subject:  

DaveS wrote:
Béèm wrote:
DaveS wrote:
LOL.. skiboardsonline.com still scrolls awful.
Everything else looks great so far.
Still not convinced that FireFox is bad and that SeaMonkey is ok? Cool


To the Dark Side I have gone.... Opera! Closed source... Heretic...
Beware the Inquisition Smile


Yes, I tried it last week, it runs nicely.

There was one problem for me, my blog. If you bring up my blog and look at the code blocks, long lines are wrapped, overlapping and unreadable. On SM, Firefox and Internet Explorer, the long code lines do not wrap.

Code blocks should display as-is, long lines should not wrap, and even if they do they should not overlap.

Annoying, because that one bug makes Opera 11 unusable for me.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7100
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Tue 11 Jan 2011, 21:01    Post subject: Re: Wireless-Backlight  

Frank Cox wrote:
Anyway I reset the router and set the security to WEP and re- created
the pass-phrase. No luck.

Reset the router again to disabled-no security and it connected fine. Cab the driver have anything to do with this problem? Is there something I could be doing? i doubled checked the paraphrase in Lubuntu again just to be sure and it worked fine.


It might be due to the older ipw2200 driver in the "old" 2.6.31.14 kernel.

I will be bringing out a variant of Wary soon built with a more recent kernel, that might work.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7100
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Tue 11 Jan 2011, 21:07    Post subject: Re: compiling ffmpeg  

pskin wrote:
BK wrote:
Quote:
As far as I can recall, the only pkgs not compiled for a 486 CPU are ffmpeg and libvpx ...but I am not sure about mplayer. These were configured for a 686 CPU as otherwise the 'configure' script wouldn't use the MMX instructions -- even though MMX was introduced with the 486. Which was annoying, maybe I could have hacked the 'configure' script.
I think that I posted some notes on how to compile ffmpeg, it can be configured for a 486 CPU and recompiled.


Barry, Thanks, I found your blog entry about configuring ffmpeg.
Am I right in thinking that I should configure it for 486 and that
I do not want to use MMX since the Vortex86MX does not support it?
Or am I mistaken and MMX is supported?

I'll have a go at remastering wary for edubook if I can get these few things compiled.

-pskin


The Vortex86mx does have the MMX instructions, but they don't use that name for legal reasons.

The problem is in the configure script of ffmpeg, it disables mmx if you choose i486. I don't know their rationale.

Anyway, choosing i486 and not using mmx is ok, probably slows video rendering a bit.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 11 of 21 [308 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, ..., 19, 20, 21 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1177s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0068s) ][ GZIP on ]