Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 30 Aug 2014, 08:27
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Wary Puppy 5.0-final feedback
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 5 of 21 [308 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, ..., 19, 20, 21 Next
Author Message
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2618
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Sun 02 Jan 2011, 06:35    Post subject: alsaconf fix  

Hi, Barry. Welcome back home and a happy new year.

Does the alsaconf calls depmod?

# diff alsaconf.old alsaconf
Code:
30a31,33
> # 2jan2011 shinobar: depmod
> DEPMOD=$(which depmod-FULL) || DEPMODE=$(which depmod)
> #$DEPMOD
455a459
>     [ -f $MODDIR/modules.pcimap ] || $DEPMOD  # 2jan2010 shinobar

_________________
Google Chrome portable
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2618
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Sun 02 Jan 2011, 07:43    Post subject: rc.services  

Adding a small sleep after touching the flag makes stable sound detection for me.
Wary-500j02 on HP Compaq nc4010

/etc/rc.d/rc.services, line 22-23
Quote:
[ $GOODFLAG -eq 1 ] && touch /tmp/rc_d_rc_services_alsa_ok #read by /usr/sbin/delayedrun,
sleep 1


EDIT: 10 Jan 2010
The problem was not there.
Making sleep in /etc/init.d/10alsa was effective.
Insert sleep under the line 15, after all modprobe:
Quote:
modprobe snd-mixer-oss
modprobe snd-seq-oss
modprobe snd-pcm-oss
for I in $(seq 4); do
[ -c /dev/mixer ] && break
sleep 1
done


_________________
Google Chrome portable
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html

Last edited by shinobar on Sun 09 Jan 2011, 22:17; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
pskin

Joined: 11 Dec 2009
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Sun 02 Jan 2011, 12:04    Post subject: ffmpeg and libvpx on vortex86MX (gecko edubook)  

@Barry,
I have managed to compile the latest svn source of ffmpeg
and libvpx. I am not sure how to test these thoroughly.
I tried ffplay on a variety of formats (mpeg, .avi DivX, etc) and managed
to see the movies with sound. I got some alsa pcm underrun messages
on the console, but there seemed to be no problems with the movie.
What other formats should be tested?
How do I test the rest of ffmpeg?
(I am not even sure about what it is supposed to do.)
How do I test libvpx?

I am afraid I hardly know anything about multimedia stuff.
Any pointers from anyone are welcome.

I am not certain about mmx support in vortex86Mx but I went ahead
and configured with --enable-mmx anyway. If problems come up I'll
try changing the config.

For the ffmpeg configuration the --enable-libfaad option apparently
no longer exists since it is not needed, according to some discussion
on the ffmpeg-dev forum.

-pskin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ravensrest


Joined: 22 Feb 2008
Posts: 321
Location: Hood Canal, WA

PostPosted: Sun 02 Jan 2011, 12:15    Post subject:
Subject description: Updating from Wary 104 to 5.0
 

Shep,
I simply mounted the Wary 5.0 iso and copied the initrd.gz, vmlinuz and wary_500.sfs to my wary104 directory (renamed the corresponding old files so they wouldn't run), and ran it. It automatically updated beautifully from my old warysave.3fs file.
BS
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
00wau


Joined: 29 Dec 2010
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sun 02 Jan 2011, 14:55    Post subject: alsaconf and alsawizard
Subject description: no driver for ES1978 or ES1968 (Maestro)
 

Hello,

this Puppylinux Version cannot find my Soundcard (ES1978 or ES1968 / Maestro).

With Lupu 5.1.7 the same, but when I run alsaconf in a console from tty2 it finds it.

Please help me with what to do, as I cannot run alsaconf in a shell anymore.

Thank you!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Frank Cox

Joined: 01 Nov 2009
Posts: 381

PostPosted: Sun 02 Jan 2011, 16:54    Post subject: Re: Too Much  

rjbrewer wrote:


I have the same wireless card and don't have problems; not likely
to be a kernel issue.

Try a 098 or earlier wary; the extended pcmcia and usb module
loading may have something to do with it; a wild guess.

Sometimes it may switch interfaces if more than one install is on
the drive. A reboot and second attempt may work.


I have no problems in 431 and I have rebooted and tried many times.
I can connect with no security in Wary. What can I do to fix the problem if it is the pcmia loading or usb module?

This is a frugal install so I will try moving the install to a separate partition .

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Sun 02 Jan 2011, 17:17    Post subject:  

Frank Cox, did you follow the advise of rcrsn51 and enter the pass-frase preceded by sConfused
What network device do you get for the pcmcia card and which for the USB device?

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Frank Cox

Joined: 01 Nov 2009
Posts: 381

PostPosted: Sun 02 Jan 2011, 18:09    Post subject:  

Béèm wrote:
Frank Cox, did you follow the advise of rcrsn51 and enter the pass-frase preceded by sConfused
What network device do you get for the pcmcia card and which for the USB device?
]

Yes I tried putting an s before the passphrase. Not sure what you mean by the network devices.
The only thing I find to do with the wireless is :

Description: Intel Corporation Pro/Wireless 2200BG Network Connection
Vendor: 8086 Device: 4220 Kernel Module: ipw2200
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4422
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Sun 02 Jan 2011, 18:29    Post subject:  

Frank Cox wrote:
Béèm wrote:
Frank Cox, did you follow the advise of rcrsn51 and enter the pass-frase preceded by sConfused
What network device do you get for the pcmcia card and which for the USB device?
]

Yes I tried putting an s before the passphrase. Not sure what you mean by the network devices.
The only thing I find to do with the wireless is :

Description: Intel Corporation Pro/Wireless 2200BG Network Connection
Vendor: 8086 Device: 4220 Kernel Module: ipw2200


Beem apparently mistook my usb-pcmcia comment as a reference
to your wifi device.

_________________

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Sun 02 Jan 2011, 18:38    Post subject:  

Frank Cox wrote:
Béèm wrote:
Frank Cox, did you follow the advise of rcrsn51 and enter the pass-frase preceded by sConfused
What network device do you get for the pcmcia card and which for the USB device?
]

Yes I tried putting an s before the passphrase. Not sure what you mean by the network devices.
The only thing I find to do with the wireless is :

Description: Intel Corporation Pro/Wireless 2200BG Network Connection
Vendor: 8086 Device: 4220 Kernel Module: ipw2200
It is s:, not s
You told what the hardware device was.
What are the network devices, ethX, wlanX or what ever?

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Frank Cox

Joined: 01 Nov 2009
Posts: 381

PostPosted: Sun 02 Jan 2011, 19:32    Post subject: s  

Béèm wrote:
Frank Cox wrote:
Béèm wrote:
Frank Cox, did you follow the advise of rcrsn51 and enter the pass-frase preceded by sConfused
What network device do you get for the pcmcia card and which for the USB device?
]

Yes I tried putting an s before the passphrase. Not sure what you mean by the network devices.
The only thing I find to do with the wireless is :

Description: Intel Corporation Pro/Wireless 2200BG Network Connection
Vendor: 8086 Device: 4220 Kernel Module: ipw2200
It is s:, not s
You told what the hardware device was.
What are the network devices, ethX, wlanX or what ever?


It was yesterday , i followed the directions, if they said s: I am sure that is what I did but I will try again on my next opportunity.

The wireless shows up as eth1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Sun 02 Jan 2011, 19:39    Post subject: Re: s  

Frank Cox wrote:
It was yesterday , i followed the directions, if they said s: I am sure that is what I did but I will try again on my next opportunity.

The wireless shows up as eth1
Please be precise then when you report having done an advise.
Is it eth1 for both your hardware devices?

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2081
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Sun 02 Jan 2011, 21:03    Post subject: Wary Puppy 5.0-final feedback
Subject description: woof
 

I set up woof in wary 5.0 and made a version of wary 5.0 with the
2.6.34.1 kernel.

# report-video
VIDEO REPORT: Wary Puppy, version 500

Chip description:
oem: NVIDIA
product: G84 Board - p402h00 Chip Rev

Driver used by Xorg:
nv

Video mode used by Xorg:
Resolution: Depth 24 Depth: "Display"

...the above also recorded in /tmp/report-video
#
# glxgears
447 frames in 5.1 seconds = 87.357 FPS
440 frames in 5.0 seconds = 87.202 FPS
440 frames in 5.0 seconds = 87.278 FPS
440 frames in 5.0 seconds = 87.293 FPS
#
# uname -r
2.6.34.1
#

I installed devx,kernel source sfs, and the newest nvidia driver for my
graphics card:

# glxgears
Running synchronized to the vertical refresh. The framerate should be
approximately the same as the monitor refresh rate.
46190 frames in 5.0 seconds = 9237.993 FPS
51977 frames in 5.0 seconds = 10395.371 FPS
51971 frames in 5.0 seconds = 10394.047 FPS
51992 frames in 5.0 seconds = 10398.235 FPS
51965 frames in 5.0 seconds = 10392.873 FPS
#
# report-video
VIDEO REPORT: Wary Puppy, version 500

Chip description:
oem: NVIDIA
product: G84 Board - p402h00 Chip Rev

Driver used by Xorg:
nvidia

Video mode used by Xorg:
Resolution: Depth 24 Depth: "Display"

...the above also recorded in /tmp/report-video
#
I added some pets that I made in Wary 5.0 too.
It's working pretty well so far Smile

Edit: This newer kernel is working well on my newer hp desktop too, retrovol is working now, with the older kernel I had sound but retrovol didn't work.
2011-01-03_12-23-15-thumb.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   28.72 KB
 Viewed   2113 Time(s)

2011-01-03_12-23-15-thumb.jpg

2011-01-02_19-44-04-thumb.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   48.01 KB
 Viewed   2188 Time(s)

2011-01-02_19-44-04-thumb.jpg


Last edited by Billtoo on Mon 03 Jan 2011, 13:28; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Frank Cox

Joined: 01 Nov 2009
Posts: 381

PostPosted: Mon 03 Jan 2011, 00:12    Post subject: Re: s  

Béèm wrote:
Frank Cox wrote:
It was yesterday , i followed the directions, if they said s: I am sure that is what I did but I will try again on my next opportunity.

The wireless shows up as eth1
Please be precise then when you report having done an advise.
Is it eth1 for both your hardware devices?


I thought it was impossible to have an eth1 unless an eth0 existed but I am not an expert on this subject.

There is an eth1 that is the wireless and an eth0 that is the Ethernet connection to the same Linksys router that provides the wireless signal. The incoming signal is cable. I
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4422
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Mon 03 Jan 2011, 00:23    Post subject: Re: s  

Frank Cox wrote:
Béèm wrote:
Frank Cox wrote:
It was yesterday , i followed the directions, if they said s: I am sure that is what I did but I will try again on my next opportunity.

The wireless shows up as eth1
Please be precise then when you report having done an advise.
Is it eth1 for both your hardware devices?


I thought it was impossible to have an eth1 unless an eth0 existed but I am not an expert on this subject.

There is an eth1 that is the wireless and an eth0 that is the Ethernet connection to the same Linksys router that provides the wireless signal. The incoming signal is cable. I


The interface to the ipw2200 minicard can be either eth0 or eth1; it
will say wireless in either case.
An external card (pcmcia or usb) would usually say wlan.

Beem still doesn't understand that you have 2 laptops that both
use the same type internal wireless card.

_________________

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 5 of 21 [308 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, ..., 19, 20, 21 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1060s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0107s) ][ GZIP on ]