Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 21 Aug 2014, 10:20
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Wary Puppy 5.0-final feedback
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 7 of 21 [308 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, ..., 19, 20, 21 Next
Author Message
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Mon 03 Jan 2011, 08:14    Post subject:  

Fank Cox wrote:
I have no problems in 431 and I have rebooted and tried many times.
I can connect with no security in Wary. What can I do to fix the problem if it is the pcmia loading or usb module?
I understand from this that he has two wireless devices, a pcmcia one and an usb one which I assume is in the same PC.
_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4422
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Mon 03 Jan 2011, 09:15    Post subject:  

Béèm wrote:
Fank Cox wrote:
I have no problems in 431 and I have rebooted and tried many times.
I can connect with no security in Wary. What can I do to fix the problem if it is the pcmia loading or usb module?
I understand from this that he has two wireless devices, a pcmcia one and an usb one which I assume is in the same PC.


Okay; Franks question is in response to previous statements I made
about the Wary versions after 098 having an extended module
loading delay that causes problems with the functioning of various
devices.

_________________

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
neurino


Joined: 15 Oct 2009
Posts: 360

PostPosted: Mon 03 Jan 2011, 18:55    Post subject:  

I'ts the second software I try to compile today that gives me this error:

Code:

/usr/libexec/gcc/i486-t2-linux-gnu/4.3.4/cc1: symbol lookup error: /usr/lib/libmpfr.so.1: undefined symbol: __gmp_get_memory_functions


Softwares are rather different: a sound editor (SoX) and an image viewer (GPicView) so I started thinking there's somethin' wrong in my compiling environment.

(honestly I'm using Wary104 not Wary5 but I guess not that different...)

Thank you!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
technosaurus


Joined: 18 May 2008
Posts: 4335

PostPosted: Mon 03 Jan 2011, 20:28    Post subject:  

neurino wrote:
I'ts the second software I try to compile today that gives me this error:

Code:

/usr/libexec/gcc/i486-t2-linux-gnu/4.3.4/cc1: symbol lookup error: /usr/lib/libmpfr.so.1: undefined symbol: __gmp_get_memory_functions
answer is here: http://www.mpfr.org/faq.html#undef_ref1
You can follow the lfs method and compile the mpfr, gmp, mpc (and libelf) into gcc statically to prevent this kind of situation.

Note: lfs does not specify libelf, but the new (much better) lto optimizations require it

_________________
Web Programming - Pet Packaging 100 & 101
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
obxjerry


Joined: 29 Jan 2010
Posts: 394
Location: Louisville, Kentucky

PostPosted: Mon 03 Jan 2011, 20:55    Post subject:  

Just my 2 cents worth on wireless: it really is a combination. I have 3 old laptops, 2 PC wireless cards and a usb dongle.

The Winbook Si my wife uses hates everything. It prefers the usb dongle, even though that one has to ndiswrapper the Windows driver. Today I installed Wary 104 on it. By a lot, it is the best Puppy as far as connecting to wireless on that machine. It never boots up and connects. With Wary, right click on connect, left click on autoconnect and you're there (Thank you rjbrewer). That's 2 to 12 clicks better than 431. It did take several tries to get it to connect the first time, maybe a dozen, doing the same thing over and over. That's par for the course on that machine.

My Thinkpad 600E hates new Puppies as far as wireless. It won't run the newer kernels at all. A different Puppy means doing the same thing dozens of times before it finally connects. After the first time it's good and you can switch PC cards pretty easy. It hasn't made friends with the usb dongle yet.

The Thinkpad R51 doesn't like the usb dongle. It has the slot and antenna for an internal card so that may be coming. I have learned it's the combination that matters.

As far as Wary 104, the only complaint my wife has is the 24 hour clock in the bottom right corner.

_________________
It may be that my sole purpose in life is simply to serve as a warning to others

Meddle Not In The Affairs Of Dragons For You Are Crunchy And Taste Good With Ketchup

I'd rather be sailing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
JIGNESH_MODI

Joined: 05 Mar 2009
Posts: 40
Location: Pune (India)

PostPosted: Tue 04 Jan 2011, 00:40    Post subject:  

I have porblem in connecting BSNL 3G datacard usb modem of teracom company


this is what i got in wary 5 :-

--> WvDial: Internet dialer version 1.53
--> Initializing modem.
--> Sending: ATZ
ATZ
OK
--> Sending: ATQ0 V1 E1 S0=0 &C1 &D2 +FCLASS=0
ATQ0 V1 E1 S0=0 &C1 &D2 +FCLASS=0
OK
--> Sending: AT+CGDCONT=1,"IP","bsnlnet"
AT+CGDCONT=1,"IP","bsnlnet"
OK
--> Modem initialized.
--> Sending: ATDT*99#
--> Waiting for carrier.
ATDT*99#
CONNECT
~[7f]}#@!}!}!} }9}#}%B#}%}(}"}'}"}"}&} } } } }%}&[1d] N)6[10]~
--> Carrier detected. Waiting for prompt.
~[7f]}#@!}!}"} }9}#}%B#}%}(}"}'}"}"}&} } } } }%}&[1d] N)z}]~
--> PPP negotiation detected.
--> Starting pppd at Tue Jan 4 07:55:15 2011
--> pid of pppd: 20277
--> Disconnecting at Tue Jan 4 07:55:16 2011
--> The PPP daemon has died: A modem hung up the phone (exit code = 16)
--> man pppd explains pppd error codes in more detail.
--> Try again and look into /var/log/messages and the wvdial and pppd man pages for more information.
--> Auto Reconnect will be attempted in 5 seconds
--> Initializing modem.
--> Sending: ATZ
ATZ
OK
--> Sending: ATQ0 V1 E1 S0=0 &C1 &D2 +FCLASS=0
ATQ0 V1 E1 S0=0 &C1 &D2 +FCLASS=0
OK
--> Sending: AT+CGDCONT=1,"IP","bsnlnet"
AT+CGDCONT=1,"IP","bsnlnet"
OK
--> Modem initialized.
--> Initializing modem.
--> Sending: ATZ
ATZ
OK
--> Sending: ATQ0 V1 E1 S0=0 &C1 &D2 +FCLASS=0
ATQ0 V1 E1 S0=0 &C1 &D2 +FCLASS=0
OK
--> Sending: AT+CGDCONT=1,"IP","bsnlnet"
AT+CGDCONT=1,"IP","bsnlnet"
OK
--> Modem initialized.
--> Sending: ATDT*99#
--> Waiting for carrier.
ATDT*99#
CONNECT
~[7f]}#@!}!}!} }9}#}%B#}%}(}"}'}"}"}&} } } } }%}&`b!N
~
--> Carrier detected. Waiting for prompt.
~[7f]}#@!}!}"} }9}#}%B#}%}(}"}'}"}"}&} } } } }%}&`b!NAm~
--> PPP negotiation detected.
--> Starting pppd at Tue Jan 4 07:55:26 2011
--> pid of pppd: 20448
--> Disconnecting at Tue Jan 4 07:55:26 2011
--> The PPP daemon has died: A modem hung up the phone (exit code = 16)
--> man pppd explains pppd error codes in more detail.
--> Try again and look into /var/log/messages and the wvdial and pppd man pages for more information.
--> Auto Reconnect will be attempted in 10 seconds
--> Initializing modem.

hope u will find solution for it...
note:- i have install linux driver for it from website which is deb file , after installing that driver it detects modem
http://www.teracom.in/htmls/3G.html

It didnot detects modem first,but after installing deb file provided by modem teracom than it detects.

some one using 3g bsnl on other linux check how he did
http://broadbandforum.in/bsnl-broadband/63062-bsnl-3g-in-linux/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 1388
Location: Malvern, Worcs, UK

PostPosted: Tue 04 Jan 2011, 03:42    Post subject: My Thinkpad works  

obxjerry wrote:
My Thinkpad 600E hates new Puppies as far as wireless. It won't run the newer kernels at all.


Hi obxjerry

I also have a Thinkpad 600E with 192MB ram, a swap partition, and a Netgear pcmcia wifi card. How much memory do you have? Do you have a swap partition?

I've got nearly all the new Puppies to run OK in frugal install (not using CD).

There is a problem with pcmcia detection and with my Netgear card in some puppies (wary included) but I have found a combination that works which I can share with you.

I've even got sound to work!!

Cheers
Peter
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
neurino


Joined: 15 Oct 2009
Posts: 360

PostPosted: Tue 04 Jan 2011, 06:07    Post subject:  

technosaurus wrote:
neurino wrote:
I'ts the second software I try to compile today that gives me this error:

Code:

/usr/libexec/gcc/i486-t2-linux-gnu/4.3.4/cc1: symbol lookup error: /usr/lib/libmpfr.so.1: undefined symbol: __gmp_get_memory_functions
answer is here: http://www.mpfr.org/faq.html#undef_ref1
You can follow the lfs method and compile the mpfr, gmp, mpc (and libelf) into gcc statically to prevent this kind of situation.

Note: lfs does not specify libelf, but the new (much better) lto optimizations require it


thanks technosaurus, I already read that FAQ, anyway is this supposed to be a bug or a common practice? Rolling Eyes
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
chrome307


Joined: 15 Jan 2009
Posts: 713

PostPosted: Tue 04 Jan 2011, 06:59    Post subject:  

Thanks for this, I was looking at updating my OS from 4.31 and this seemed promising.

I seem to have two minor problems, firstly my laptop with the Intel 845g video chipset does not work with Xorg even though I have chosen Intel i810 as the driver Sad

Secondly I do have sound available to me, but only using terminal ( alsamixer ), but not available using the ALSA soundcard wizard

ALSA.png
Description 
png

 Download 
Filename  ALSA.png 
Filesize  31.94 KB 
Downloaded  244 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
technosaurus


Joined: 18 May 2008
Posts: 4335

PostPosted: Tue 04 Jan 2011, 07:47    Post subject:  

neurino wrote:
thanks technosaurus, I already read that FAQ, anyway is this supposed to be a bug or a common practice? Rolling Eyes
Its just one of those things that happens when you change an api and why gtk+ has things that have been deprecated for years and debian stable is know as debian stale. This kind of thing shouldn't be done unless the major version number is changed. When you add to the API you should change the minor version number, but if you change existing parts or remove them, a major version bump is warranted. .... so if you are thinking about updating a library take the a version number change into careful consideration.
_________________
Web Programming - Pet Packaging 100 & 101
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Tue 04 Jan 2011, 10:57    Post subject:  

For you guys who liked the video support in Quirky 1.3, I have created a PET for Wary 5.0 that combines all the necessary packages from Quirky 1.3 that will bump Xorg up to version 7.5:

http://bkhome.org/blog/?viewDetailed=02065

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
obxjerry


Joined: 29 Jan 2010
Posts: 394
Location: Louisville, Kentucky

PostPosted: Tue 04 Jan 2011, 13:37    Post subject:  

Quote:
Hi obxjerry

I also have a Thinkpad 600E with 192MB ram, a swap partition, and a Netgear pcmcia wifi card. How much memory do you have? Do you have a swap partition?

I've got nearly all the new Puppies to run OK in frugal install (not using CD).

There is a problem with pcmcia detection and with my Netgear card in some puppies (wary included) but I have found a combination that works which I can share with you.

I've even got sound to work!!

Cheers
Peter


Peter@ Thanks for offering to help. I'm really OK with that computer running 421-retro full install. I'll occasionally try a live cd or bit of hardware as an experiment but there's nothing I have a burning desire to change on it. The display is growing dimmer as it gets older so it's days may be numbered.

It runs just about as fast with 160mb of ram as it does with more so that's what it has. I do have a swap file. I use a Zyxel pcmcia wifi card in that machine. I did have problems getting the sound to work but I'm there now thanks to help I got here on the forum.

_________________
It may be that my sole purpose in life is simply to serve as a warning to others

Meddle Not In The Affairs Of Dragons For You Are Crunchy And Taste Good With Ketchup

I'd rather be sailing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4781
Location: GB

PostPosted: Tue 04 Jan 2011, 15:05    Post subject:  

No takers on the RC thread, so asking again on this live one. Any ideas why my ISA sound card settings aren't retained in a FULL installation? How to fix it? Very unusual that settings don't stick for a FULL install. As explained earlier, there can be lots of advantages in using an ISA sound card with on-board amp, as well as Wary being intended for older kit.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jrb


Joined: 11 Dec 2007
Posts: 1030
Location: Smithers, BC, Canada

PostPosted: Tue 04 Jan 2011, 16:54    Post subject:  

BarryK wrote:
For you guys who liked the video support in Quirky 1.3, I have created a PET for Wary 5.0 that combines all the necessary packages from Quirky 1.3 that will bump Xorg up to version 7.5:

http://bkhome.org/blog/?viewDetailed=02065

Thanks so much for this Barry. Have installed on my desktop:
Code:
VIDEO REPORT: Wary Puppy, version 500

Chip description:
 Intel Corporation 82915G/GV/910GL Integrated Graphics Controller

Driver used by Xorg:
intel

Video mode used by Xorg:
Resolution:  Depth 24  Depth: "Display"

and it is running nicely. GoogleEarth5.2 loaded instantly and performed well. DVD's playing well.

One glitch, flashplayer in Opera is broken although its still working in Seamonkey. (Opera accesses the same libflashplayer.so, so I'm assuming it has something to do with the files that were replaced.)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
amc

Joined: 31 Dec 2010
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Tue 04 Jan 2011, 20:25    Post subject: Replace kernel in Wary 5.0 for wifi support?  

Since the wifi in Puppy 5.15 Beta works on my old Vaio laptop (see post above), but the wifi in Wary 5.0 does not "associate" using this laptop, I decided to try to switch the kernel in Wary 5.0 like in this post (http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=60180). I was able to switch the kernels and get Wary 5.0 to boot with the 5.15 Beta kernel, but now I don't see any of the wifi drivers in the Network Manager!

Is there some other stuff (besides that detailed in the "How To" post) that I should move from 5.15 into Wary to make this work? I am not sure about what all the wifi dependencies are from one Puppy to the next.

Thanks,
-Aaron
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 7 of 21 [308 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, ..., 19, 20, 21 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.2245s ][ Queries: 12 (0.1166s) ][ GZIP on ]