Page 1 of 1

MAC changer GUI 1.2

Posted: Sun 23 Jan 2011, 21:47
by sc0ttman
macchanger
change your MAC address

(I know that can be done with ifconfig, but it broke my connection when I tested it, but this one never has)

I am not sure why you might change MAC address,
but you may need to change your mac address if:

- you are on a network that accepts only a limited number of or fixed mac addresses, and have too many devices

(my old xbox wifi adapter required me to look into this)

Here is a command line interface (terminal) tool for doing just that.

Usage:

Code: Select all

macchanger [options] device 
-h, --help Print this help 
-V, --version Print version and exit 
-s, --show Print the MAC address and exit 
-e, --endding Don't change the vendor bytes 
-a, --another Set random vendor MAC of the same kind 
-A Set random vendor MAC of any kind 
-r, --random Set fully random MAC 
-l, --list[=keyword] Print known vendors 
-m, --mac=XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX Set the MAC XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX 
I've attached a simple GUI for it, too.

UPDATED GUI, June 2013

Version 1.2
- added network interface selection at start of process :)
- small fixes and error code fixes

UPDATED GUI, July 2011:

Version 1.1
- allows for creation of random MAC addresses
- creates startup script in /root/Startup to keep settings
- can create new random address at each boot

Posted: Mon 24 Jan 2011, 11:55
by chrome307
@ sc0ttman

Thank you very much for this :) ....and all the other great apps you provide!!

I needed this application for my Linux Dreambox

Posted: Mon 18 Jul 2011, 15:45
by sc0ttman
GUI updated to 1.1

now supports random MAC addresses and startup script in /root/Startup

lost eth0

Posted: Sun 06 Nov 2011, 23:12
by n01fu
mac changer and loaded an address of aa:aa:aa:aa:aa:aa,and after reboot my eth0 disappeared. i unloaded macchanger and could still not find my internal nic.

anyone have a suggestion on how to recover it?

Posted: Sat 21 Apr 2012, 13:41
by cleg223
I've noticed this pet does not support a menu entry, is there any chance of a version which provides this?

Posted: Sat 21 Apr 2012, 17:10
by sc0ttman
cleg223 wrote:I've noticed this pet does not support a menu entry, is there any chance of a version which provides this?

Code: Select all

[Desktop Entry]
Categories=Network
Comment=Macchanger - edit your MAC address
Encoding=UTF-8
Exec=macchanger-gui
GenericName=Macchanger - edit your MAC address
Icon=/usr/local/lib/X11/mini-icons/pc-2x.xpm
Name=Macchanger - edit your MAC address
Terminal=false
Type=Application
Paste the above text in a text editor and save as /usr/share/applications/mac_changer.desktop

Posted: Fri 12 Oct 2012, 19:11
by Bill_Gates
sc0ttman, I love your MAC Changer app however it only changes eth0 why not wlan0 as well?

Posted: Sat 13 Oct 2012, 13:26
by sc0ttman
Bill_Gates wrote:sc0ttman, I love your MAC Changer app however it only changes eth0 why not wlan0 as well?
Cos I know nothing about network interfaces, how to find/choose them, etc... Someone is welcome to enlighten me, and I will post an update.

Posted: Sat 13 Oct 2012, 20:20
by muggins
https://tails.boum.org/forum/Macchanger ... 9__t_work/
ifconfig wlan0 down

macchanger -a -e wlan0

ifconfig wlan0 up
You could probably automate this by adding the above to /etc/rc.d/rc.local.

Posted: Sun 16 Jun 2013, 11:19
by sc0ttman
updated to 1.2,

- added network interface selection (delete as needed from choice!)
- small fixes

Posted: Sun 04 Aug 2013, 23:25
by stefe1
after all the advice in this thread I still cant get macchanger to work.

would you make a pet file which adds the menu entry by default?

I tried to use the command prompt to change my mac and it worked.
however it just goes back to normal after a reboot.

would you post the script to make the changes permanent and also tell us where to add the script (which file and place i mean??)