Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 30 Jul 2014, 05:41
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Trying to recover data on Raid 0
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 2 [24 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
CindyJ

Joined: 25 Jan 2011
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Tue 25 Jan 2011, 19:52    Post subject:  Trying to recover data on Raid 0  

I am a real novice (and an idiot for not backing up). I bought the Puppy Live CD (which I guess has several versions) and wanted to try to recover date from a Raid 0 sata drive(s). Not sure if this is possible with the Puppy programs. Only one hard drive shows up and the files on this are gibberish. I just want to be able to copy the data/pictures to a USB external drive. Computer won't boot up (without Puppy) and I get Sata timeout error. Hard drives seem to be working and disk diagnostics shows they are ok. Setups shows them not present. Computer repair companies around here don't seem to know much about the Raid striping (we live in a rural area). I read the other topics here on Raid 0 but didn't understand it.

Is there a somewhat simple way to do this or can offer suggestions. I don't want to pay $450 to $1000 for recovery but am willing to pay $100 or so if I can do this in house myself. Are there programs that can put these two drives back together if they have become confused or someway to figure out the problem? Would this problem correct itself if I could find another motherboard? Our computer is a Dell XPS600.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5218
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Wed 26 Jan 2011, 01:05    Post subject:  

Google tells me that the Dell XPS600 has an nForce4 Serial ATA RAID controller.
This is a host raid (bios raid) device, so under Linux you would need the dmraid utility.
Get dmraid from the second post in this forum thread -
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=60973

Boot your damaged XPS600 with a Puppy 5.1 or 5.2 CD, then you can install the dmraid dotpet from a USB thumb drive, or even connect to the internet and download the dmraid dotpet directly.
Now follow the dmraid instructions I provided in the other post.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
CindyJ

Joined: 25 Jan 2011
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Wed 26 Jan 2011, 01:40    Post subject: Downloading dmraid  

Thanks for replying so quickly. I know this is probably a dumb question. I accessed the internet from the damaged computer and clicked download next to the dmraid section in your other post. It looks like it copied a filed called viewtopic.php onto the file section in Puppy. How do I get this to install. It doesn't open. When I go to Set Run Action, it says it isn't an application. Also, how do I get to the device-mapper module where I see the Code: line?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
GustavoYz


Joined: 07 Jul 2010
Posts: 895
Location: .ar

PostPosted: Wed 26 Jan 2011, 02:17    Post subject:  

Tempestous means that you should download and install the ".pet" file of that post.
Direct Link to the package 'dmraid-1.0.0.rc16.pet':
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?mode=attach&id=33508

Then, you should read the further instructions of tempestuos thread about configuration...

Hope it helps.

_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5218
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Wed 26 Jan 2011, 03:03    Post subject:  

GustavoYz is correct, but let me elaborate further.
When you click on the download link for dmraid-1.0.0.rc16.pet, take note of where the browser downloads to - I think it's /root/my-documents, but that may depend on what browser you are using.

To install the dotpet, just browse to it with ROX, then single-click on it.

CindyJ wrote:
how do I get to the device-mapper module where I see the Code: line?

The "Code:" lines are commands I want you to run in an xterminal, which is identified on the Puppy desktop as "console". This can also be launched from the menu as -
Menu > Utility > Urxvt terminal emulator
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
CindyJ

Joined: 25 Jan 2011
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Wed 26 Jan 2011, 16:21    Post subject: Having trouble loading program  

I'm still having trouble getting the program to load. I found where the file was saved in my root folder. It saves as viewtopic.php. When I left click once, it briefly flashes and then does nothing. Left clicking twice does nothing also. I tried saving it in another folder and it still doesn't load. Is there some other way of opening the file or loading the program? I've tried loading it several times from the other forum thread and it seems to save each time but I just can't get it to open.

Thanks for your help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5218
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Wed 26 Jan 2011, 19:56    Post subject:  

CindyJ wrote:
It saves as viewtopic.php.

That's not a valid download, and clearly not the dotpet in question.
You could consider downloading the dotpet on a different computer, with a different browser. You could even use Windows.
Your download must have this filename - dmraid-1.0.0.rc16.pet
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
CindyJ

Joined: 25 Jan 2011
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Wed 26 Jan 2011, 22:07    Post subject: Next problem  

Ok, I used an external hard drive and got the program loaded- yeah!! I was following the other forum thread and typed in dmraid -s. It looked like the drives were showing up - listed name, stripe, etc. I typed dmraid -a and got this message "dmraid: option requires an argument-- a" Do you know what this means?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5218
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Wed 26 Jan 2011, 23:16    Post subject:  

CindyJ wrote:
typed in dmraid -s. It looked like the drives were showing up - listed name, stripe, etc.

That's a good start.

CindyJ wrote:
I typed dmraid -a and got this message "dmraid: option requires an argument-- a" Do you know what this means?

Bear with me CindyJ, I don't have a RAID system with which to test, myself.
I think the "-a" switch needs the "y" (yes) argument. Thus -
Code:
dmraid -a y
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
CindyJ

Joined: 25 Jan 2011
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Thu 27 Jan 2011, 00:07    Post subject: Next Step  

Thank you I think this part worked. It says:
Raid set "nvidia_dciffcae" was activated.

However, after this it says
The dynamic shared library "libdmraid-events-nvidia.so" could not be loaded: libdmraid-events-nvidia.so: cannot open shared object file: no such file or directory. It says this three times for dciffcae, dciffcae1, dciffcae2.

I entered ls /dev/mapper

It came back in yellow on white - hard to read but it seems to be

Control nvidia_dciffcae nvidia_dciffcae1 nvidia_dciffcase2

Not sure if this means all is working or not. If it is working, I'm not sure about the next step. I'm guessing I type after code:
mkdir /mnt/raid
mount /dev/mapper/nvidia_dciffcae/mnt raid

If this is correct, what do I do next or where do I look for the data. Am I mounting all three things (the regular one and 1 and 2) or is it changing the 1 and 2 to just the regular dciffcae?

Do I need to be clicking on the Mount icon?

Thanks,
Cindy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
CindyJ

Joined: 25 Jan 2011
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Thu 27 Jan 2011, 00:29    Post subject: More Info  

Ok, I have some more info. Two drives showed up at the bottom on the Puppy Program. one says dm-1 and the other dm-2. dm-1 is showing 39mb and dm-2 is showing 465g which was the hard drive space. Before we only had the one on there showing sda-1 at 39mb (along with the disk drive and external hard drive). I'm thinking I should mount the 465 one using the mount icon? I don't want to mess anything up so I'm going to wait to here from you before I do anything else.

Thanks,
Cindy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5218
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Thu 27 Jan 2011, 01:42    Post subject:  

CindyJ wrote:
The dynamic shared library "libdmraid-events-nvidia.so" could not be loaded: libdmraid-events-nvidia.so: cannot open shared object file:

That may be due to the somewhat non-standard location of the dmraid files I packaged. I will rework these locations shortly, but just press on for now.

CindyJ wrote:
Two drives showed up at the bottom on the Puppy Program. one says dm-1 and the other dm-2.

That's interesting - Puppy's automount function can now see 2 new drives. There's a fair chance that just clicking on these icons will automount, but for now - DON'T. Let's do things by the book.

CindyJ wrote:
I entered ls /dev/mapper
It came back in yellow on white - hard to read but it seems to be

Control nvidia_dciffcae nvidia_dciffcae1 nvidia_dciffcase2

OK, there appears to be 3 RAID partitions listed. We will try to mount them at /mnt/raid0, /mnt/raid1, and /mnt/raid2. After the "dmraid -a y" command, do this -

EDIT: commands amended, and confirmed to be correct.
Code:
mkdir /mnt/raid0
mkdir /mnt/raid1
mkdir /mnt/raid2
mount /dev/mapper/nvidia_dciffcae /mnt/raid0
mount /dev/mapper/nvidia_dciffcae1 /mnt/raid1
mount /dev/mapper/nvidia_dciffcae2 /mnt/raid2

Take careful note of where the spaces occur.
If these commands seem to run successfully, browse with ROX into /mnt/raid0 /mnt/raid1 and /mnt/raid2 to see if there are files there.

Last edited by tempestuous on Thu 24 Feb 2011, 09:28; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
CindyJ

Joined: 25 Jan 2011
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Thu 27 Jan 2011, 01:53    Post subject: so far no luck  

Ok, I typed all that in. It came back and said:
mount: special device /dev/nvidia_dciffcae does not exist.

This came back for each one. I can click on the icons at the bottom and the mount screen comes up. However, when I look under the drive section it is showing the sda1 as before. Is there something else I need to do in the mount section to select these drives? Is this a bad sign?

Also, I'm afraid to turn the computer off until I've done all I can. When I turned it on this last time, it had some trouble booting up (not sure if this was a problem from the last session or a cd drive problem). I had to turn it off and on a couple of times to get it to completely boot up.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5218
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Thu 27 Jan 2011, 03:46    Post subject:  

Ah, sorry, this mount command is wrong -
Code:
mount /dev/nvidia_dciffcae /mnt/raid0


it should be -
Code:
mount /dev/mapper/nvidia_dciffcae /mnt/raid0

and so on, for the other two devices.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5218
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Thu 27 Jan 2011, 06:32    Post subject:  

And I just updated the dmraid dotpet, here -
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=459111#459111
This new version has more Puppy-compatible file locations, and it also includes upgraded libdevmapper libraries.

Because of the revised file locations, though, a fresh boot to the Puppy CD would be well advised.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 [24 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0832s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0038s) ][ GZIP on ]